Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(189) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (972,552)
2/25/2014
3.7
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (189)
Q and A (308)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Lee Song Chow | September 18 2013

After upgraded to the 3.0 version, I have to downgrade it back to the older version just to keep the TypeScript support alive.

by Jim Fisher | September 15 2013

The removal of Typescript support is premature. Typescript is excellent, but mostly unusable in its current state without the WE support. WE is still a very good extension with lots of great stuff, but the major reason why I remember to install and use it is now gone. Surely there's a better way of avoiding conflict than by removing useful features now because another team might add them in the future.

Edit: I just found WE2012.v2 in my downloads folder and downgraded. Please bring Typescript support back!

by ELT | September 13 2013

Removal of TypeScript support is a wrong move, imo. VS2012 has really poor support for TS, and I'd rather prefer to turn off VS's Compile-on-save, as it doesn't (always) work anyways, and even when it does - having a side window with generated code view was a huge help.
In short - please bring TS support back, at least until VS fixes their stuff.
And yes, if you're using TFS in the cloud - this makes things a lot more worse, since now you have to reference TypeScript target for MSBuild, which are not there.

by HowardRichards | September 04 2013

WebEssential 3 is a disaster with the removal of TypeScript support.

The VS2012 update 3 TypeScript features are almost useless. I would STRONGLY recommend against upgrading from WE 2.x if you use TypeScript, especially if like me you use TFS.

Bug 1: Compile-on-Save feature does not work.

If you create a new TypeScript file and save it, VS does not compile on save.

Bug 2: No side-by-side JS window - now you've got to go hunting for the JS file to figure out if the file got compiled or not

Bug 3: No longer creates both .min.js and .js files - VS2012 just creates a .js file with no option for a .min.js file

Bug 4: Created .js files don't get added to the solution. We check in our compiled .js/.min.js files, which WE 2.x did automatically. VS2012 does not do this.

Bug 5: Compiling a web project tries to recompile .TS files - and there is no option to turn this off.

Bug 6: Compiling a web project tries to write to .js file when checked in using TFS, and generates a write error as the files are read-only, whereas WE 2.x will check out the file. The only workaround is to check out ALL files in the web project (AAARGH!)

by TNJMAN | September 03 2013

I am enjoying this, but as other say, it seems to affect performance.

by blank-face | August 29 2013

by Predrag Glumac | August 28 2013

by 黃宇祥 | August 27 2013

GOOOOOD!

by Ronald Riveros [GeekZero] | August 26 2013

Hasta el momento he utilizado pocas de sus funciones, pero las que utilicé me parecen sumamente utiles, especialmente las que tienen que ver con CSS. Estas funciones deberían estar de serie en Visual Studio incluso.

by Marco Kijlstra | August 22 2013

Good features but had to uninstall because just typing in .css files became slow en the quick find box took seconds to open and processing a single key-stroke in the QF-box took almost a second. Uninstalling web-essentials fixed this.

by Ali.Alikhani | August 19 2013

Very Nice

by JP Hamilton | August 15 2013

Good, but latest version brings VS to a crawl. Doesn't remove comments.

by Jukka Hyvärinen | August 15 2013

Slows down VS too much.

by Ciprian-Stefan Grigore | August 05 2013

by Galeel Bhasha | July 24 2013

Web essential 2012 doesn't recognise the newly introduced html5 tag 'main'.
http://www.sitepoint.com/html5-main-element/

by emgee | July 19 2013

Excellent, the less processing and typescript bits have been very helpful to us. Thanks Mads!!

by Mahesh.Nalam | July 16 2013

Very Useful tools

by rafakato | July 15 2013

Great extension, but you could allow to change the JS Minifier Engine, I often the Google Closure Compiler rather than YUI Compressor.

by RichBern | June 28 2013

I had to disable this extension because it essentially made Ctrl+Comma unresponsive. I've got a web solution with about 47 projects, and I use Ctrl+Comma a lot to jump between files. But with this extension installed, I have to wait up to a minute for files to appear in the Navigate To window. I'm wondering if it has to do with the Ctrl+Comma stuff briefly mentioned in the 2.7 change notes, but I'm not sure.

by Callander | June 26 2013

CSS and javascript bundle feature is so simple, yet so great.

21 - 40 of 189 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • compatibility with MSBuild?
    3 Posts | Last post April 11, 2014
    • Can LESS files be compiled while building with MSBuild on the command line?
    • ~~ I send this question...... Can everything is great but can I do this from the command prompt? (I'm sure there's a way but is there doc's anywhere?)
    • ~~ Typo: I second this***
  • Crash on build - Conflict with TypeScript?
    1 Posts | Last post March 17, 2014
    • This has been happen for a while, but happens more with TS0.9.5 (we haven't upgraded to 1.0 yet).  I am not sure why by it appears WebEssentails is still trying to process TypeScript files?
      
      Application: devenv.exe
      Framework Version: v4.0.30319
      Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
      Exception Info: System.IO.IOException
      Stack:
         at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32, System.String)
         at System.IO.FileStream.Init(System.String, System.IO.FileMode, System.IO.FileAccess, Int32, Boolean, System.IO.FileShare, Int32, System.IO.FileOptions, SECURITY_ATTRIBUTES, System.String, Boolean, Boolean, Boolean)
         at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(System.String, System.IO.FileMode, System.IO.FileAccess, System.IO.FileShare, Int32, System.IO.FileOptions, System.String, Boolean, Boolean, Boolean)
         at System.IO.StreamReader..ctor(System.String, System.Text.Encoding, Boolean, Int32, Boolean)
         at System.IO.File.InternalReadAllText(System.String, System.Text.Encoding, Boolean)
         at System.IO.File.ReadAllText(System.String)
         at MadsKristensen.EditorExtensions.TypeScriptMargin+<>c__DisplayClass12.<UpdateMargin>b__10()
         at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(System.Delegate, System.Object, Int32)
         at MS.Internal.Threading.ExceptionFilterHelper.TryCatchWhen(System.Object, System.Delegate, System.Object, Int32, System.Delegate)
         at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.InvokeImpl()
         at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.InvokeInSecurityContext(System.Object)
         at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(System.Threading.ExecutionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback, System.Object, Boolean)
         at ... more
  • LessHat Issues.
    1 Posts | Last post January 31, 2014
    • I cannot get my LESS to compile when including the LESSHAT mixins (http://lesshat.com/). These mixins use javascript in them but I would have thought that the version of LESS included in Web Essentials would have evaluated it. There isn't even any errors created to indicate what might be failing. It would be such a shame to not have access to this great set of mixins.
  • JSHint: indent option not working
    1 Posts | Last post January 13, 2014
    • If I enable JSHint and set the indent option to 2 (or any other number), I don't get any JSHint errors. Other options seem to work fine.
      
      If I enable the option by adding the following to the .js file: /*jshint indent:2 */, then it works, but this is not the solution we want as options should be set in one place, not each JS file. Is there a way to get this indent option working without having to set it in each JS file?
      
      Also it reports errors for switch case indentation, which I believe have been fixed in a newer version of JSHint (2.2.0). Are there any plans to update the version of JSHint used by Web Essentials 2012?
      
      Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?
      
      Thanks
  • Build | Web Essentials | Update All Bundles
    6 Posts | Last post December 03, 2013
    • When I select Build | Web Essentials | Update All Bundles I receive an error:
      The parameter is incorrect. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070057 (E_INVALIDARG))
      
      I just updated to version 3.3.5 today.  Prior to this, the bundles were not updating when a source file changed.  They are still not updating and I receive the above error.
      
      Thanks...
    • same error here :(
    • I receive the same issue, updating a file does not update the bundled files. This seems to get worse after install update 4 for VS2012. Also, selecting Update All Bundles generates the same error referenced by @jdubsmith
    • Where can I find older versions of Web Essentials? It seems like people are down grading to v3.2 to fix the JS bundling issue. 
    • See:
      
      https://github.com/madskristensen/WebEssentials2012/issues/19
      
      for more details. Downgrading to v3.2 fixes the issue for me as well.
      
    • older versions here, must guess the version number :)
      http://vswebessentials.com/nightly/webessentials2012-2.9.vsix
  • JS bundles broken in 3.3
    5 Posts | Last post December 03, 2013
    • JS bundles seem to be broken in 3.3. Once I downgraded to 3.2, they started working again.
    • Yeh, same problem here!
    • same
    • +1
    • same here. 3.3.5 broke the bundle updates. going to 3.2.0 seems to solve the issue.
  • JavaScript XMLDoc comment scaffolding Stopped Working
    1 Posts | Last post December 02, 2013
    • JavaScript XMLDoc comment scaffolding has stopped working for me
      I am using VS 2012 and WE 2012 v3.3.5
      I installed visual studio update 4 to see if that would fix it but no luck
      I also tried VS 2013 with WE 2013 but it doesnt work there either
  • no automatic minification in typescript project
    2 Posts | Last post November 30, 2013
    • It's a great tool, however the current version (3.3.5 with VS2012 update 4 and typescript 0.9.1.1 ) does not created minified js automatically in typescript projects.
      I have tried many previous versions of webessentials back to 2.9 and different ways of including the ts and js files into the project, either as DependentUpon liek this
      
      <TypeScriptCompile Include="app.ts" />
      <Content Include="Scripts\app.js">
            <DependentUpon>app.ts</DependentUpon>
      </Content>
      
      or as included on the folder level.
      <TypeScriptCompile Include="app.ts" />
      <Content Include="app.js" />
      
      When typescript compiles the ts to js, webessentials does not trigger the minification; when I then open the js file and save it manually at some point webesssentials might build the min.js version (eratic as far as I can see), but this will also add the new file to the project tree, from then on webessentials will not update the min.js again. Doing a project rebuild will not automatically minify.
      
      
      I can reproduce this with the standard typescipt project template.
      
      
      
      
      
    • I just realized, that when manually saving the js file, webessentials will (!) create/update the minified version. But this does not happen when the typscript compiler updates the js file. 
      This makes it necessary to go manually through all your compiled js files and save them before publishing a release (bundled) project. 
      Also the js files are not by default included in the typescript project so one first has to include these js files to be able to create the minified versions.
  • LESS minification to css and min.css not working in 1.3.1
    1 Posts | Last post November 27, 2013
    • I cannot get a LESS file to minify to .css (and .min.css) in Visual Studio 2013 Premium. I'm using Web Essentials 1.3.1. This was working fine in Visual Studio 2012? Is this a bug? (Note: When I right-click a less file, I see a "Minify CSS file(s)" option, but it's grayed out.)
  • circular compiling
    2 Posts | Last post November 20, 2013
    • Having saved ONE FILE (inside of .bundle) WebEssentials saves/updates all other bundles.
      
      The log:
      11/20/2013 4:23:46 PM: Updating bundle: 1.js
      11/20/2013 4:23:47 PM: Updating bundle: 2.js
      
      <here pops an error window about script not found, starting with "/">
      
      11/20/2013 4:23:52 PM: Updating bundle: 1.css
      11/20/2013 4:24:16 PM: Updating bundle: 1.js
      11/20/2013 4:24:20 PM: Updating bundle: 1.css
      
      If one have over 9000 bundles it will crash everything. Is there a setting to update only *currently* saved bundle-file?
      
      Could be "/" at the beginning of the path related (version 1.3.1 16.11.2013)
    • Sorry ignore, that concerns VS2013
1 - 10 of 308 Items