Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(190) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (1,041,772)
9/10/2014
3.8
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (190)
Q and A (319)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by rainbow_tj007 | September 19 2013

very nice

by Lee Song Chow | September 18 2013

After upgraded to the 3.0 version, I have to downgrade it back to the older version just to keep the TypeScript support alive.

by Jim Fisher | September 15 2013

The removal of Typescript support is premature. Typescript is excellent, but mostly unusable in its current state without the WE support. WE is still a very good extension with lots of great stuff, but the major reason why I remember to install and use it is now gone. Surely there's a better way of avoiding conflict than by removing useful features now because another team might add them in the future.

Edit: I just found WE2012.v2 in my downloads folder and downgraded. Please bring Typescript support back!

by ELT | September 13 2013

Removal of TypeScript support is a wrong move, imo. VS2012 has really poor support for TS, and I'd rather prefer to turn off VS's Compile-on-save, as it doesn't (always) work anyways, and even when it does - having a side window with generated code view was a huge help.
In short - please bring TS support back, at least until VS fixes their stuff.
And yes, if you're using TFS in the cloud - this makes things a lot more worse, since now you have to reference TypeScript target for MSBuild, which are not there.

by HowardRichards | September 04 2013

WebEssential 3 is a disaster with the removal of TypeScript support.

The VS2012 update 3 TypeScript features are almost useless. I would STRONGLY recommend against upgrading from WE 2.x if you use TypeScript, especially if like me you use TFS.

Bug 1: Compile-on-Save feature does not work.

If you create a new TypeScript file and save it, VS does not compile on save.

Bug 2: No side-by-side JS window - now you've got to go hunting for the JS file to figure out if the file got compiled or not

Bug 3: No longer creates both .min.js and .js files - VS2012 just creates a .js file with no option for a .min.js file

Bug 4: Created .js files don't get added to the solution. We check in our compiled .js/.min.js files, which WE 2.x did automatically. VS2012 does not do this.

Bug 5: Compiling a web project tries to recompile .TS files - and there is no option to turn this off.

Bug 6: Compiling a web project tries to write to .js file when checked in using TFS, and generates a write error as the files are read-only, whereas WE 2.x will check out the file. The only workaround is to check out ALL files in the web project (AAARGH!)

by TNJMAN | September 03 2013

I am enjoying this, but as other say, it seems to affect performance.

by blank-face | August 29 2013

by Predrag Glumac | August 28 2013

by 黃宇祥 | August 27 2013

GOOOOOD!

by Ronald Riveros [GeekZero] | August 26 2013

Hasta el momento he utilizado pocas de sus funciones, pero las que utilicé me parecen sumamente utiles, especialmente las que tienen que ver con CSS. Estas funciones deberían estar de serie en Visual Studio incluso.

by Marco Kijlstra | August 22 2013

Good features but had to uninstall because just typing in .css files became slow en the quick find box took seconds to open and processing a single key-stroke in the QF-box took almost a second. Uninstalling web-essentials fixed this.

by Ali.Alikhani | August 19 2013

Very Nice

by JP Hamilton | August 15 2013

Good, but latest version brings VS to a crawl. Doesn't remove comments.

by Jukka Hyvärinen | August 15 2013

Slows down VS too much.

by Ciprian-Stefan Grigore | August 05 2013

by Galeel Bhasha | July 24 2013

Web essential 2012 doesn't recognise the newly introduced html5 tag 'main'.
http://www.sitepoint.com/html5-main-element/

by emgee | July 19 2013

Excellent, the less processing and typescript bits have been very helpful to us. Thanks Mads!!

by Mahesh.Nalam | July 16 2013

Very Useful tools

by rafakato | July 15 2013

Great extension, but you could allow to change the JS Minifier Engine, I often the Google Closure Compiler rather than YUI Compressor.

by RichBern | June 28 2013

I had to disable this extension because it essentially made Ctrl+Comma unresponsive. I've got a web solution with about 47 projects, and I use Ctrl+Comma a lot to jump between files. But with this extension installed, I have to wait up to a minute for files to appear in the Navigate To window. I'm wondering if it has to do with the Ctrl+Comma stuff briefly mentioned in the 2.7 change notes, but I'm not sure.

21 - 40 of 190 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Minify CSS
    1 Posts | Last post 12:48 PM
    • On CSS minify, should there be an option to remove empty selectors?
  • Less compiling after Publish???
    1 Posts | Last post September 10, 2014
    • So, after clicking one-click publishing, I see this in my output put window in VS2012: 
      
      ========== Build: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 1 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
      ========== Publish: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 0 skipped ==========
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportMixins.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-ui-tabs-from-bulleted-list.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportVariables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: variables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-custom-controls.less compiled
      .
      .
      .
      
      This appears to me to be compiling LESS files after publishing my site.
      
      Is there a way to ensure compilation before publishing other than doing a manual build prior to hitting publish?
  • SCSS: unparsable compilation error:
    2 Posts | Last post July 31, 2014
    •  SCSS: Compiling style.scss
       SCSS: unparsable compilation error: 
      
      but no indication of the line # in the file. any help?
    • I am having this issue now as well. I have one site.scss file that imports various other partials. It was working fine until a few days ago when (seemingly) at random they started failing to compile on save. Now the partials require the other partials to be imported into them before they will compile. I've triple-checked my @import flow and it is perfect! Sassmeister and other compilers have no issue.
      
      Specifically, I get the "unparsable compilation error" as well as meaningless "(X)101" errors in the Error List. No line numbers or suggestions to be found.
      
      Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  • V2.2.7 fails to install on VS2013wU2
    1 Posts | Last post July 23, 2014
    • Complains that this version of product is not supported... 
  • Web Essentials context menu on .js files
    1 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Why is it when I right click some statndard js files, in the web essentials context menu everything but "Run JSHint" and "Run JSCS" is grayed out and cannot be used?
  • Create Image Sprite
    2 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Hello,
      
      I just installed this extension looking for this awesome functionality. Unfortunately, I can not create a image sprite from my images. The option directly does not appears at context menu. I don't know how to enable it. Am I forgetting any step after installing the extension?
      
      I am working with VS Professional 2012 (Update 4), and ASP.NET Web Frameworks and Tools 2013.1.
      
      Thank you so much for your time and efforts!
    • Hi again,
      
      After tweeting about this to Mads Kristensen, he has responded that the functionality I am looking for, is only available in WE2012.
      
      Regards!
  • Javascript Minifier
    1 Posts | Last post June 10, 2014
    • First off, great tool you are providing.  Have made my network footprint as small as possible.
      
      First problem i noticed was that when i enabled JS Minification, the *.map files were getting 404 responses.  After review of the *.min.js file i noticed that the Mapping URL line did not include the folder directory they were located.
      
      Example:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=app.utility.min.js.map
      */
      
      Had to add the folder to the 'sourceMappingURL' in order to not get the 404:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=Scripts/app.events.min.js.map
      */
      
      Not sure if its possible but might be well worth looking into it for 2013, if not 2012 update.
  • JSHint options not working
    1 Posts | Last post June 03, 2014
    • I am using VS2012 and web essentials 3.7.  I can't get the jshint options at the start of a file to work.  Example:
      
      /* jshint jquery:true, sub:true, eqeqeq:false */
      
      var something;
      
      function X() {
          something = "cheese";
          
          if (something == "cheese") {
              return false;
          }
      }
      
      I get a JSHint warning in my window about the double equals, even though eqeqeq is false.  Pasting this into the online jshint validator works fine.
  • Toggle Razor Syntax
    2 Posts | Last post May 19, 2014
    • Toggling Razor syntax would be beneficial for designers. Designers can hide Razor syntax and developers can show syntax. 
      
      If Razor syntax is hidden the site can still compile and display.
    • I was thinking this being a Web Essential new tool. A toggle button within Visual Studio.
  • How do you transpile .coffee to .js?
    1 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • I have a .coffee file and I save but I don't see the .js compiled window nor are any .js files created?
      
      When I compile the solution I see these:
      
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      
      but NO .js files are created.  Where do I look?  How do I get it to actually WRITE the files to the filesystem?
1 - 10 of 319 Items