Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(190) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (1,006,400)
2/25/2014
3.7
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (190)
Q and A (316)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Callander | June 26 2013

CSS and javascript bundle feature is so simple, yet so great.

by mhasling | June 21 2013

by sjnaughton | June 20 2013

Love it can't live without it now

by LEllingsen | June 18 2013

Most valuable extension I have for VS2012. Excellent additions for CSS, HTML and JavaScript, as well as LESS and TypeScript

by KatarzynaBP | June 05 2013

Pointless...wanted to check reviews to decide if I want to install it, but you need to leave review first to view other reviews!!!

by Jacco M | May 18 2013

Great tool. Esspecialy Less support! Thanks!

by D. Chatterjee | May 17 2013

I try to download this but an error shows "The extension manifest is Invalid"

by Fduch | May 14 2013

This "thing" pollutes the context menu for the non-web projects by adding a top menu item where the "Build" item used to be.

Why do some developers think that their shiny gizmo needs to jump at the user at every click?

Uninstalling.

by christensen.rob | May 10 2013

Love this extension!

by Allco | May 07 2013

GREAT, simplesmente, GREAT!!!!!

by EdSF1 | May 01 2013

Pretty awesome! Particularly cool with TypeScript!

by casper_wilkes | April 21 2013

Love this extension!

by Sebastian Hösl | April 18 2013

Absolutely essential for web-development in Visual Studio!

by WPCoder | April 07 2013

Unfortunately, it causes crashes nearly every time I start to debug the web project. I've tried the latest version and have the latest update to VS 2012. (When this is installed, can't debug, and VS2012 crashes, when it's not, everything works smoothly).

by Marcel Raad | April 05 2013

by GlobeCoder | March 31 2013

In theory this plugin would easily earn 5 stars, but it seems there are some issues with the js bundle plugin/minifier and JSHint.
Two things:
1.) The minified version doesn't seem to work all the time (I mean it might be something I could fix if I would "optimize" the JS code a bit more, but for small web project I just want something that works out of the box). One thing it "broke", e.g. was the jQuery plugin jTruncate.
2.) While it seem to compress better than YUI, Google Closure Compiler seems to make a better job even with the Simple optimzations. So maybe Web Essentials could use GCC and allow a new preference, something like "advanced=true" to achieve even better minification.
3.) And possibly the most important thing: JSHint should become more customizable. E.g. there is this other VS Extension JSLint that imo does a much better job (though I don't really want another VS extension installed): You can set your custom namespaces, it is possible to check a single file on save (much better than checking all files on build, which can get really annoying if you work on big JS projects).
Anyway, thanks for this quite helpful extension and up the good work.

by Altuğ Duygulu | March 27 2013

Good extension. Thanks.

by Lyamine | March 14 2013

so nice

by RichardKeller | March 08 2013

Very useful extension!
It helps productivity a lot and turn viable to use LESS in Visual Studio.
I'm looking forward for sass full integration too.

by Anita Malmö | March 07 2013

I've installed Web Essentials 2012 and Web Tools 2012.2 Update.

In my VS2k12, I don't see Web Essentials as in this picture
http://madskristensen.net/image.axd?picture=image_55.png

What gives? Can anybody advise?

41 - 60 of 190 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • SCSS: unparsable compilation error:
    1 Posts | Last post Wed 12:13 PM
    •  SCSS: Compiling style.scss
       SCSS: unparsable compilation error: 
      
      but no indication of the line # in the file. any help?
  • Web Essentials context menu on .js files
    1 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Why is it when I right click some statndard js files, in the web essentials context menu everything but "Run JSHint" and "Run JSCS" is grayed out and cannot be used?
  • Create Image Sprite
    2 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Hello,
      
      I just installed this extension looking for this awesome functionality. Unfortunately, I can not create a image sprite from my images. The option directly does not appears at context menu. I don't know how to enable it. Am I forgetting any step after installing the extension?
      
      I am working with VS Professional 2012 (Update 4), and ASP.NET Web Frameworks and Tools 2013.1.
      
      Thank you so much for your time and efforts!
    • Hi again,
      
      After tweeting about this to Mads Kristensen, he has responded that the functionality I am looking for, is only available in WE2012.
      
      Regards!
  • Javascript Minifier
    1 Posts | Last post June 10, 2014
    • First off, great tool you are providing.  Have made my network footprint as small as possible.
      
      First problem i noticed was that when i enabled JS Minification, the *.map files were getting 404 responses.  After review of the *.min.js file i noticed that the Mapping URL line did not include the folder directory they were located.
      
      Example:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=app.utility.min.js.map
      */
      
      Had to add the folder to the 'sourceMappingURL' in order to not get the 404:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=Scripts/app.events.min.js.map
      */
      
      Not sure if its possible but might be well worth looking into it for 2013, if not 2012 update.
  • JSHint options not working
    1 Posts | Last post June 03, 2014
    • I am using VS2012 and web essentials 3.7.  I can't get the jshint options at the start of a file to work.  Example:
      
      /* jshint jquery:true, sub:true, eqeqeq:false */
      
      var something;
      
      function X() {
          something = "cheese";
          
          if (something == "cheese") {
              return false;
          }
      }
      
      I get a JSHint warning in my window about the double equals, even though eqeqeq is false.  Pasting this into the online jshint validator works fine.
  • Toggle Razor Syntax
    2 Posts | Last post May 19, 2014
    • Toggling Razor syntax would be beneficial for designers. Designers can hide Razor syntax and developers can show syntax. 
      
      If Razor syntax is hidden the site can still compile and display.
    • I was thinking this being a Web Essential new tool. A toggle button within Visual Studio.
  • How do you transpile .coffee to .js?
    1 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • I have a .coffee file and I save but I don't see the .js compiled window nor are any .js files created?
      
      When I compile the solution I see these:
      
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      
      but NO .js files are created.  Where do I look?  How do I get it to actually WRITE the files to the filesystem?
  • JSHint: indent option not working
    2 Posts | Last post May 13, 2014
    • If I enable JSHint and set the indent option to 2 (or any other number), I don't get any JSHint errors. Other options seem to work fine.
      
      If I enable the option by adding the following to the .js file: /*jshint indent:2 */, then it works, but this is not the solution we want as options should be set in one place, not each JS file. Is there a way to get this indent option working without having to set it in each JS file?
      
      Also it reports errors for switch case indentation, which I believe have been fixed in a newer version of JSHint (2.2.0). Are there any plans to update the version of JSHint used by Web Essentials 2012?
      
      Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?
      
      Thanks
    • "Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?"
      
      Yeh! this is a  useful feature. Any plans?!
  • extension manifest is invalid
    1 Posts | Last post April 25, 2014
    • I get this error when trying to install on win7 64 bit.  Please advise.
  • compatibility with MSBuild?
    3 Posts | Last post April 11, 2014
    • Can LESS files be compiled while building with MSBuild on the command line?
    • ~~ I send this question...... Can everything is great but can I do this from the command prompt? (I'm sure there's a way but is there doc's anywhere?)
    • ~~ Typo: I second this***
1 - 10 of 316 Items