Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(188) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (971,426)
2/25/2014
3.7
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (188)
Q and A (308)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Keith5150 | March 01 2013

by yakupipek | February 18 2013

Most usefull extension. Thanks.

I just want to report that latest WE 2012 update to version 2.5.1 does not recognize .less and type script files. I have been tried to uninstall WE and delete settings file then install hadn't fixed anything. Reset whole visual studio settings hadn't too.

Anyone experienced same problem ? How can i fix this problem ? :((

Update: Now i understand that those features currently removed at 2.5 version : (((

Mads Kristensen February 18 2013
| Edit |
Delete

We just released the ASP.NET and Web Tools 2012.2 which restores and improves both LESS and CoffeeScript. Get it here: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=282650

by danny_su | February 18 2013

V2.4.5 supports .coffee file, but doesn't support .less file, v2.5 doesn't support both. why?

Mads Kristensen February 18 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Because both LESS and CoffeeScript will be rolled into an official release going out tomorrow morning.

by Stan Thomas | February 09 2013

Very useful addition to Visual Studio. Works well in combination with TypeScript. Thanks Mads.

by miminor | February 08 2013

Code manipulations in the TypeScript editor make this extension to hang the VS 2012. Had to uninstall it. Piece of shit.

by Brandon Wittwer | February 08 2013

Fantastic tooling improvements for web developers. Quickly becoming my most cherished extension for VS 2012. Thanks for your hard work!

by Adamlay12233 | February 08 2013

This greatly increases efficiency, and saves time. All these features are combined and integrated really well with Visual Studio, and I've never had any issues with it.
Many thanks for this extension!

by Waqas M | February 08 2013

Nice work

by Tomasz von Oertzen | February 04 2013

I love it. It's very useful and helped me a lot!

by jkarp | January 31 2013

by zymara | January 31 2013

by José Barba | January 30 2013

Excellent

by drobertson | January 28 2013

Love it, very useful stuff. It fits right into the web work I am doing and is a great help. Would have given you 5 stars, but the incessant updates are killing me. I can't believe I am actually asking for this, but please don't update so often. It seems like every few days Visual Studio is nagging me about another update.

Please don't stop doing the improvements, they are great, but please push them out less frequently. I often just barely notice any difference but I have to reset my system when I do the update. It really kills my flow and when I realize the update didn't have anything useful for me it is frustrating.

I give this an Almost Perfect with a few reservations.

by My already in use display name 2 | January 27 2013

I like Web Essentials 2012 a lot in terms of functionality. However the updates have been so frequent recently that it's getting annoying. It's not that I don't appreciate the effort to fix issues timely but the update notification of VS is so intrusive that I feel obliged to do it right away. So suddenly I find myself installing updates and restarting VS, far distanced from the actual work I was about to do. All for a bugfix I don't experience and a feature I won't use. Please go back to releasing major updates only.

by Michael Obermeyer | January 25 2013

Incredibly useful. This extension is worth getting even if you just want it for LESS editing and nothing else. It might be nice if in the LESS editor, the CSS panel scrolled with the LESS panel, or if it had a search bar.

by Damodar.Karmacharya | January 22 2013

by Paul M. Callaghan | January 22 2013

by SDFprowler | January 22 2013

@Kommundsen You can change the location of the menu item by going into Tools > Customize > Commands, select Build from the "Menu bar" dropdown, select Web Essentials and Move Down (or do whatever else you want to it).

by Kim Ommundsen | January 17 2013

Very nice extension with a lot of good features. I would give this five stars if not for the extremly annoying location of the Web Essentials item in the BUILD menu. I would prefer it to be located further down or as a separate menu.

Mads Kristensen January 24 2013
| Edit |
Delete

This was fixed in version 2.4

by grundt | January 16 2013

61 - 80 of 188 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • compatibility with MSBuild?
    3 Posts | Last post Fri 4:09 PM
    • Can LESS files be compiled while building with MSBuild on the command line?
    • ~~ I send this question...... Can everything is great but can I do this from the command prompt? (I'm sure there's a way but is there doc's anywhere?)
    • ~~ Typo: I second this***
  • Crash on build - Conflict with TypeScript?
    1 Posts | Last post March 17, 2014
    • This has been happen for a while, but happens more with TS0.9.5 (we haven't upgraded to 1.0 yet).  I am not sure why by it appears WebEssentails is still trying to process TypeScript files?
      
      Application: devenv.exe
      Framework Version: v4.0.30319
      Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
      Exception Info: System.IO.IOException
      Stack:
         at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32, System.String)
         at System.IO.FileStream.Init(System.String, System.IO.FileMode, System.IO.FileAccess, Int32, Boolean, System.IO.FileShare, Int32, System.IO.FileOptions, SECURITY_ATTRIBUTES, System.String, Boolean, Boolean, Boolean)
         at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(System.String, System.IO.FileMode, System.IO.FileAccess, System.IO.FileShare, Int32, System.IO.FileOptions, System.String, Boolean, Boolean, Boolean)
         at System.IO.StreamReader..ctor(System.String, System.Text.Encoding, Boolean, Int32, Boolean)
         at System.IO.File.InternalReadAllText(System.String, System.Text.Encoding, Boolean)
         at System.IO.File.ReadAllText(System.String)
         at MadsKristensen.EditorExtensions.TypeScriptMargin+<>c__DisplayClass12.<UpdateMargin>b__10()
         at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(System.Delegate, System.Object, Int32)
         at MS.Internal.Threading.ExceptionFilterHelper.TryCatchWhen(System.Object, System.Delegate, System.Object, Int32, System.Delegate)
         at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.InvokeImpl()
         at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.InvokeInSecurityContext(System.Object)
         at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(System.Threading.ExecutionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback, System.Object, Boolean)
         at ... more
  • LessHat Issues.
    1 Posts | Last post January 31, 2014
    • I cannot get my LESS to compile when including the LESSHAT mixins (http://lesshat.com/). These mixins use javascript in them but I would have thought that the version of LESS included in Web Essentials would have evaluated it. There isn't even any errors created to indicate what might be failing. It would be such a shame to not have access to this great set of mixins.
  • JSHint: indent option not working
    1 Posts | Last post January 13, 2014
    • If I enable JSHint and set the indent option to 2 (or any other number), I don't get any JSHint errors. Other options seem to work fine.
      
      If I enable the option by adding the following to the .js file: /*jshint indent:2 */, then it works, but this is not the solution we want as options should be set in one place, not each JS file. Is there a way to get this indent option working without having to set it in each JS file?
      
      Also it reports errors for switch case indentation, which I believe have been fixed in a newer version of JSHint (2.2.0). Are there any plans to update the version of JSHint used by Web Essentials 2012?
      
      Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?
      
      Thanks
  • Build | Web Essentials | Update All Bundles
    6 Posts | Last post December 03, 2013
    • When I select Build | Web Essentials | Update All Bundles I receive an error:
      The parameter is incorrect. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070057 (E_INVALIDARG))
      
      I just updated to version 3.3.5 today.  Prior to this, the bundles were not updating when a source file changed.  They are still not updating and I receive the above error.
      
      Thanks...
    • same error here :(
    • I receive the same issue, updating a file does not update the bundled files. This seems to get worse after install update 4 for VS2012. Also, selecting Update All Bundles generates the same error referenced by @jdubsmith
    • Where can I find older versions of Web Essentials? It seems like people are down grading to v3.2 to fix the JS bundling issue. 
    • See:
      
      https://github.com/madskristensen/WebEssentials2012/issues/19
      
      for more details. Downgrading to v3.2 fixes the issue for me as well.
      
    • older versions here, must guess the version number :)
      http://vswebessentials.com/nightly/webessentials2012-2.9.vsix
  • JS bundles broken in 3.3
    5 Posts | Last post December 03, 2013
    • JS bundles seem to be broken in 3.3. Once I downgraded to 3.2, they started working again.
    • Yeh, same problem here!
    • same
    • +1
    • same here. 3.3.5 broke the bundle updates. going to 3.2.0 seems to solve the issue.
  • JavaScript XMLDoc comment scaffolding Stopped Working
    1 Posts | Last post December 02, 2013
    • JavaScript XMLDoc comment scaffolding has stopped working for me
      I am using VS 2012 and WE 2012 v3.3.5
      I installed visual studio update 4 to see if that would fix it but no luck
      I also tried VS 2013 with WE 2013 but it doesnt work there either
  • no automatic minification in typescript project
    2 Posts | Last post November 30, 2013
    • It's a great tool, however the current version (3.3.5 with VS2012 update 4 and typescript 0.9.1.1 ) does not created minified js automatically in typescript projects.
      I have tried many previous versions of webessentials back to 2.9 and different ways of including the ts and js files into the project, either as DependentUpon liek this
      
      <TypeScriptCompile Include="app.ts" />
      <Content Include="Scripts\app.js">
            <DependentUpon>app.ts</DependentUpon>
      </Content>
      
      or as included on the folder level.
      <TypeScriptCompile Include="app.ts" />
      <Content Include="app.js" />
      
      When typescript compiles the ts to js, webessentials does not trigger the minification; when I then open the js file and save it manually at some point webesssentials might build the min.js version (eratic as far as I can see), but this will also add the new file to the project tree, from then on webessentials will not update the min.js again. Doing a project rebuild will not automatically minify.
      
      
      I can reproduce this with the standard typescipt project template.
      
      
      
      
      
    • I just realized, that when manually saving the js file, webessentials will (!) create/update the minified version. But this does not happen when the typscript compiler updates the js file. 
      This makes it necessary to go manually through all your compiled js files and save them before publishing a release (bundled) project. 
      Also the js files are not by default included in the typescript project so one first has to include these js files to be able to create the minified versions.
  • LESS minification to css and min.css not working in 1.3.1
    1 Posts | Last post November 27, 2013
    • I cannot get a LESS file to minify to .css (and .min.css) in Visual Studio 2013 Premium. I'm using Web Essentials 1.3.1. This was working fine in Visual Studio 2012? Is this a bug? (Note: When I right-click a less file, I see a "Minify CSS file(s)" option, but it's grayed out.)
  • circular compiling
    2 Posts | Last post November 20, 2013
    • Having saved ONE FILE (inside of .bundle) WebEssentials saves/updates all other bundles.
      
      The log:
      11/20/2013 4:23:46 PM: Updating bundle: 1.js
      11/20/2013 4:23:47 PM: Updating bundle: 2.js
      
      <here pops an error window about script not found, starting with "/">
      
      11/20/2013 4:23:52 PM: Updating bundle: 1.css
      11/20/2013 4:24:16 PM: Updating bundle: 1.js
      11/20/2013 4:24:20 PM: Updating bundle: 1.css
      
      If one have over 9000 bundles it will crash everything. Is there a setting to update only *currently* saved bundle-file?
      
      Could be "/" at the beginning of the path related (version 1.3.1 16.11.2013)
    • Sorry ignore, that concerns VS2013
1 - 10 of 308 Items