Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(190) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (1,008,001)
2/25/2014
3.7
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (190)
Q and A (317)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Jafin | March 06 2013

Thank you for elevating Visual Studio from out of the dark ages!! Awesome stuff.

by Tarek Ayna - appSmarts.com | March 01 2013

by Keith5150 | March 01 2013

by yakupipek | February 18 2013

Most usefull extension. Thanks.

I just want to report that latest WE 2012 update to version 2.5.1 does not recognize .less and type script files. I have been tried to uninstall WE and delete settings file then install hadn't fixed anything. Reset whole visual studio settings hadn't too.

Anyone experienced same problem ? How can i fix this problem ? :((

Update: Now i understand that those features currently removed at 2.5 version : (((

Mads Kristensen February 18 2013
| Edit |
Delete

We just released the ASP.NET and Web Tools 2012.2 which restores and improves both LESS and CoffeeScript. Get it here: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=282650

by danny_su | February 18 2013

V2.4.5 supports .coffee file, but doesn't support .less file, v2.5 doesn't support both. why?

Mads Kristensen February 18 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Because both LESS and CoffeeScript will be rolled into an official release going out tomorrow morning.

by Stan Thomas | February 09 2013

Very useful addition to Visual Studio. Works well in combination with TypeScript. Thanks Mads.

by miminor | February 08 2013

Code manipulations in the TypeScript editor make this extension to hang the VS 2012. Had to uninstall it. Piece of shit.

by Brandon Wittwer | February 08 2013

Fantastic tooling improvements for web developers. Quickly becoming my most cherished extension for VS 2012. Thanks for your hard work!

by Adamlay12233 | February 08 2013

This greatly increases efficiency, and saves time. All these features are combined and integrated really well with Visual Studio, and I've never had any issues with it.
Many thanks for this extension!

by Waqas M | February 08 2013

Nice work

by Tomasz von Oertzen | February 04 2013

I love it. It's very useful and helped me a lot!

by jkarp | January 31 2013

by zymara | January 31 2013

by José Barba | January 30 2013

Excellent

by drobertson | January 28 2013

Love it, very useful stuff. It fits right into the web work I am doing and is a great help. Would have given you 5 stars, but the incessant updates are killing me. I can't believe I am actually asking for this, but please don't update so often. It seems like every few days Visual Studio is nagging me about another update.

Please don't stop doing the improvements, they are great, but please push them out less frequently. I often just barely notice any difference but I have to reset my system when I do the update. It really kills my flow and when I realize the update didn't have anything useful for me it is frustrating.

I give this an Almost Perfect with a few reservations.

by My already in use display name 2 | January 27 2013

I like Web Essentials 2012 a lot in terms of functionality. However the updates have been so frequent recently that it's getting annoying. It's not that I don't appreciate the effort to fix issues timely but the update notification of VS is so intrusive that I feel obliged to do it right away. So suddenly I find myself installing updates and restarting VS, far distanced from the actual work I was about to do. All for a bugfix I don't experience and a feature I won't use. Please go back to releasing major updates only.

by Michael Obermeyer | January 25 2013

Incredibly useful. This extension is worth getting even if you just want it for LESS editing and nothing else. It might be nice if in the LESS editor, the CSS panel scrolled with the LESS panel, or if it had a search bar.

by Damodar.Karmacharya | January 22 2013

by Paul M. Callaghan | January 22 2013

by SDFprowler | January 22 2013

@Kommundsen You can change the location of the menu item by going into Tools > Customize > Commands, select Build from the "Menu bar" dropdown, select Web Essentials and Move Down (or do whatever else you want to it).

61 - 80 of 190 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • V2.2.7 fails to install on VS2013wU2
    1 Posts | Last post Wed 7:35 PM
    • Complains that this version of product is not supported... 
  • SCSS: unparsable compilation error:
    1 Posts | Last post July 16, 2014
    •  SCSS: Compiling style.scss
       SCSS: unparsable compilation error: 
      
      but no indication of the line # in the file. any help?
  • Web Essentials context menu on .js files
    1 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Why is it when I right click some statndard js files, in the web essentials context menu everything but "Run JSHint" and "Run JSCS" is grayed out and cannot be used?
  • Create Image Sprite
    2 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Hello,
      
      I just installed this extension looking for this awesome functionality. Unfortunately, I can not create a image sprite from my images. The option directly does not appears at context menu. I don't know how to enable it. Am I forgetting any step after installing the extension?
      
      I am working with VS Professional 2012 (Update 4), and ASP.NET Web Frameworks and Tools 2013.1.
      
      Thank you so much for your time and efforts!
    • Hi again,
      
      After tweeting about this to Mads Kristensen, he has responded that the functionality I am looking for, is only available in WE2012.
      
      Regards!
  • Javascript Minifier
    1 Posts | Last post June 10, 2014
    • First off, great tool you are providing.  Have made my network footprint as small as possible.
      
      First problem i noticed was that when i enabled JS Minification, the *.map files were getting 404 responses.  After review of the *.min.js file i noticed that the Mapping URL line did not include the folder directory they were located.
      
      Example:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=app.utility.min.js.map
      */
      
      Had to add the folder to the 'sourceMappingURL' in order to not get the 404:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=Scripts/app.events.min.js.map
      */
      
      Not sure if its possible but might be well worth looking into it for 2013, if not 2012 update.
  • JSHint options not working
    1 Posts | Last post June 03, 2014
    • I am using VS2012 and web essentials 3.7.  I can't get the jshint options at the start of a file to work.  Example:
      
      /* jshint jquery:true, sub:true, eqeqeq:false */
      
      var something;
      
      function X() {
          something = "cheese";
          
          if (something == "cheese") {
              return false;
          }
      }
      
      I get a JSHint warning in my window about the double equals, even though eqeqeq is false.  Pasting this into the online jshint validator works fine.
  • Toggle Razor Syntax
    2 Posts | Last post May 19, 2014
    • Toggling Razor syntax would be beneficial for designers. Designers can hide Razor syntax and developers can show syntax. 
      
      If Razor syntax is hidden the site can still compile and display.
    • I was thinking this being a Web Essential new tool. A toggle button within Visual Studio.
  • How do you transpile .coffee to .js?
    1 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • I have a .coffee file and I save but I don't see the .js compiled window nor are any .js files created?
      
      When I compile the solution I see these:
      
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      
      but NO .js files are created.  Where do I look?  How do I get it to actually WRITE the files to the filesystem?
  • JSHint: indent option not working
    2 Posts | Last post May 13, 2014
    • If I enable JSHint and set the indent option to 2 (or any other number), I don't get any JSHint errors. Other options seem to work fine.
      
      If I enable the option by adding the following to the .js file: /*jshint indent:2 */, then it works, but this is not the solution we want as options should be set in one place, not each JS file. Is there a way to get this indent option working without having to set it in each JS file?
      
      Also it reports errors for switch case indentation, which I believe have been fixed in a newer version of JSHint (2.2.0). Are there any plans to update the version of JSHint used by Web Essentials 2012?
      
      Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?
      
      Thanks
    • "Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?"
      
      Yeh! this is a  useful feature. Any plans?!
  • extension manifest is invalid
    1 Posts | Last post April 25, 2014
    • I get this error when trying to install on win7 64 bit.  Please advise.
1 - 10 of 317 Items