Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(190) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (1,017,578)
2/25/2014
3.7
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (190)
Q and A (317)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Kim Ommundsen | January 17 2013

Very nice extension with a lot of good features. I would give this five stars if not for the extremly annoying location of the Web Essentials item in the BUILD menu. I would prefer it to be located further down or as a separate menu.

Mads Kristensen January 24 2013
| Edit |
Delete

This was fixed in version 2.4

by grundt | January 16 2013

by cyoung4213 | January 15 2013

Helped me a ton with a lot of things. I am looking forward to how far this can help my day to day tasks with CSS to be more streamline and simplified coding. In the past CSS has been daunting, web essentials is helping things be more fluid in my process.

by Matt Lavallee | January 12 2013

by AlanCai | January 11 2013

The less files save as UTF-8 with BOM will got "LESS: Syntax Error on line 1" error.
The less files save as UTF-8 without BOM is OK.

Mads Kristensen January 11 2013
| Edit |
Delete

You can save any .LESS file without the BOM by doing File -> Save foo.less As... -> Save with Encoding...

by johnlouros | January 11 2013

Awesome extension for Web Developers. Finally Visual Studio have something to pair up with the competition regarding Web Development.

A must have!

by Bahtiyar Özdere | January 11 2013

Firstly thanks for great extension.

In last upadate (v 2.3) I had an issue on less file compiling.
When I use this @import url('../../../../../Content/dizayn/css/i.less');
in my less file it gives an error that it cannot find the file. In earlier version (2.0) it compiles successfully. So I have installed 2.0 back again.

best regards

by Cruentus | January 11 2013

Great tool!
Finally good support to Zen Conding in Visual Studio. Though it would be nice to update it to use the lastest version, which was renamed to Emmet: http://emmet.io

Thanks!

by PB-Dev | January 09 2013

Absolutley fantastic!

by Mark Broadhurst | January 02 2013

Excellent tool set which keeps getting better and better.

by patryk.golus | December 30 2012

by AndreyVeselov | December 27 2012

Great tool. Waiting for full Sass support :)

by Peter87 | December 25 2012

When this extension isn't installed I'm constantly wondering, 'Now isn't it supposed to do...'
JavaScript regions are fantastic.

by mangran | December 24 2012

这货更新太频繁了.

Mads Kristensen December 24 2012
| Edit |
Delete

您不必安装每个更新。就拿那些有你喜欢的功能

You don't have to install every update. Just take the ones with features you like

by Ivan Stus | December 19 2012

Really great extension, but after the latest update I got the following error when trying to sort properties:

Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.Web.Languages, Version=1.1.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=24771839d8d21066' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.

Mads Kristensen December 23 2012
| Edit |
Delete

This is fixed in version 2.2

by Tiscs | December 19 2012

A very usefull extension, like it very much.

by z1c0 | December 15 2012

by massive-geek | December 15 2012

I'm getting exactly the same issue as samuel.milton.

Using VS2012 and getting his same issue

I'm getting "Undeclared variable" and "Undeclared mixins" when I edit the Bootstrap LESS-files which results in "Compile error" in the preview window...

Can you help me pls?

EDIT:
Mixins and variables on another sheet should they be available from another within importing the sheet? e.g. if I have colors.less and then layout.less should it fetch the vars/mixins from colors.less without importing it?
I'm quite new to less but seeing other projects that's what they don't usually import and import only to combine

P.S. really great extension!

by samuel.milton | December 13 2012

I'm trying to get my site going with VS2012 and Twitter Bootstrap (LESS).

But i'm getting "Undeclared variable" and "Undeclared mixins" when I edit the Bootstrap LESS-files which results in "Compile error" in the preview window... Ideas?

Edit:
Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/DfydD.png

Edit two: Thanks Mads for the reply. Clearly a five star addon!

by DanglingPointer | December 13 2012

Are you using latest version of Microsoft Ajax Minifier (http://ajaxmin.codeplex.com/) to minify the JavaScript? If you are then would it be updated automagically? And If not, then how would you compare these two?

Update: After running couple of tests, I have observed that the latest release of Microsoft Ajax Minifier (4.78, released 12/07/12) outperforms Web Essentials' JavaScript minification by 3.5%.

Mads Kristensen December 23 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Yes, 2.2 uses AjaxMin 4.78

81 - 100 of 190 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • SCSS: unparsable compilation error:
    2 Posts | Last post July 31, 2014
    •  SCSS: Compiling style.scss
       SCSS: unparsable compilation error: 
      
      but no indication of the line # in the file. any help?
    • I am having this issue now as well. I have one site.scss file that imports various other partials. It was working fine until a few days ago when (seemingly) at random they started failing to compile on save. Now the partials require the other partials to be imported into them before they will compile. I've triple-checked my @import flow and it is perfect! Sassmeister and other compilers have no issue.
      
      Specifically, I get the "unparsable compilation error" as well as meaningless "(X)101" errors in the Error List. No line numbers or suggestions to be found.
      
      Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  • V2.2.7 fails to install on VS2013wU2
    1 Posts | Last post July 23, 2014
    • Complains that this version of product is not supported... 
  • Web Essentials context menu on .js files
    1 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Why is it when I right click some statndard js files, in the web essentials context menu everything but "Run JSHint" and "Run JSCS" is grayed out and cannot be used?
  • Create Image Sprite
    2 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Hello,
      
      I just installed this extension looking for this awesome functionality. Unfortunately, I can not create a image sprite from my images. The option directly does not appears at context menu. I don't know how to enable it. Am I forgetting any step after installing the extension?
      
      I am working with VS Professional 2012 (Update 4), and ASP.NET Web Frameworks and Tools 2013.1.
      
      Thank you so much for your time and efforts!
    • Hi again,
      
      After tweeting about this to Mads Kristensen, he has responded that the functionality I am looking for, is only available in WE2012.
      
      Regards!
  • Javascript Minifier
    1 Posts | Last post June 10, 2014
    • First off, great tool you are providing.  Have made my network footprint as small as possible.
      
      First problem i noticed was that when i enabled JS Minification, the *.map files were getting 404 responses.  After review of the *.min.js file i noticed that the Mapping URL line did not include the folder directory they were located.
      
      Example:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=app.utility.min.js.map
      */
      
      Had to add the folder to the 'sourceMappingURL' in order to not get the 404:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=Scripts/app.events.min.js.map
      */
      
      Not sure if its possible but might be well worth looking into it for 2013, if not 2012 update.
  • JSHint options not working
    1 Posts | Last post June 03, 2014
    • I am using VS2012 and web essentials 3.7.  I can't get the jshint options at the start of a file to work.  Example:
      
      /* jshint jquery:true, sub:true, eqeqeq:false */
      
      var something;
      
      function X() {
          something = "cheese";
          
          if (something == "cheese") {
              return false;
          }
      }
      
      I get a JSHint warning in my window about the double equals, even though eqeqeq is false.  Pasting this into the online jshint validator works fine.
  • Toggle Razor Syntax
    2 Posts | Last post May 19, 2014
    • Toggling Razor syntax would be beneficial for designers. Designers can hide Razor syntax and developers can show syntax. 
      
      If Razor syntax is hidden the site can still compile and display.
    • I was thinking this being a Web Essential new tool. A toggle button within Visual Studio.
  • How do you transpile .coffee to .js?
    1 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • I have a .coffee file and I save but I don't see the .js compiled window nor are any .js files created?
      
      When I compile the solution I see these:
      
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      
      but NO .js files are created.  Where do I look?  How do I get it to actually WRITE the files to the filesystem?
  • JSHint: indent option not working
    2 Posts | Last post May 13, 2014
    • If I enable JSHint and set the indent option to 2 (or any other number), I don't get any JSHint errors. Other options seem to work fine.
      
      If I enable the option by adding the following to the .js file: /*jshint indent:2 */, then it works, but this is not the solution we want as options should be set in one place, not each JS file. Is there a way to get this indent option working without having to set it in each JS file?
      
      Also it reports errors for switch case indentation, which I believe have been fixed in a newer version of JSHint (2.2.0). Are there any plans to update the version of JSHint used by Web Essentials 2012?
      
      Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?
      
      Thanks
    • "Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?"
      
      Yeh! this is a  useful feature. Any plans?!
  • extension manifest is invalid
    1 Posts | Last post April 25, 2014
    • I get this error when trying to install on win7 64 bit.  Please advise.
1 - 10 of 317 Items