Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(190) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (1,034,955)
9/10/2014
3.8
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (190)
Q and A (318)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Saeid Pournejati | December 08 2012

by Caio Vilas Boas | December 07 2012

The TypeScript Regions feature is awesome! Love it :)

by Joshua.Rocha | December 07 2012

Is there a way to make a squiggly line go away without changing my code? I understand that there are more vendor prefixes I could use, but if my project is only supporting webkit, I would REALLY like to make that squiggly line go away. Please, please, PLEASE put an option to ignore or even an option to disable "alert for vendor prefixes" in the future.

I firmly believe that any squiggly line that comes up in anything should be able to be removed after user consideration. I know this is a great extension, but just like Microsoft Word doesn't always have better grammar than I do, this extension should take my input.

Thank you for the phenomenal extension and all your hard work!! :)

Mads Kristensen December 23 2012
| Edit |
Delete

In version 2.2 you can select which browsers to support and the CSS editor will adjust accordingly with the correct validation and auto-generated vendor specifics. Just right-click in the CSS editor to open the browser selector

by Paul Mason | December 07 2012

Very impressive :)

There seems to be an issue in the Zen Coding support with lists containing sibling elements. e.g. div>ul>li*5>span+div only adds the nested div to the first li, and not the other 4. Nesting the sibling elements in a container div doesn’t work either (div>ul>li*5>div>span+div).

by Kenneth Scott | December 07 2012

Fantastic!

by subkamran | December 06 2012

I would give this 5 stars, but as an licensed Mindscape user, I think I will need to disable WE 2012. The reason is, while I can disable compiling and previewing LESS from WE, it still messes with the syntax highlighting and parsing of the LESS files (since that's what Mindscape does).

Mads, I would give you 10 stars if you could either a) detect Mindscape and prompt/automatically disable LESS handling or b) allow me to fully disable LESS handling in WE options.

It should be noted also, I work on a team, so it would also be nice to save a local set of WE settings or something (which is why I mentioned automatically disabling LESS handling).

Mads Kristensen December 06 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Unfortunately, I can't turn off LESS editor support dynamically. We (the ASP.NET team) is shipping the LESS editor officially early 2013. That can't be turned off either. Is there a reason you prefer Mindscape's LESS editor over Web Essentials'?

I've just released new LESS editor component in the nightly build. Try it here: http://madskristensen.net/post/Web-Essentials-nightly-builds.aspx

Local WE settings are supported and so are solution based settings. That was introduced in version 1.9

by UnnDunn | December 06 2012

There aren't enough stars on this site to give a high enough rating for this plugin. If you are a front-end web developer, this should be the FIRST extension you install for Visual Studio 2012.

by Suresh Babu | December 06 2012

Must have for web dev.

by Davide Mencarelli | December 05 2012

by selap | December 03 2012

LESS editing is awesome. Thank you so much.

by Rhysling1 | December 03 2012

The only downside of moving from VS2010 to 2012 was the lack of Web Essentials. Thank you, Mads!!

by Andreas Schulz | December 02 2012

Hi Mads,

that's great... congrats!

by jtlowe | November 30 2012

So far, Web Essentials has been a very useful and productive tool. It makes VS that much better, and I'm surprised half of the functionality isn't already integrated into the core VS application. I like the flexibility of the plugin though and quick responses to bugs and features.

by WBrianG | November 30 2012

This is the most useful, well-maintained Visual Studio plugin I have ever used.

by maverick_rules | November 29 2012

This extension is really, really well done! Particularly like the extensive configuration options which allows me to combine this tool in my IDE with a build-time compiler/minifier like Cassette.

by WorkAByte | November 29 2012

by AaronLewis_GP | November 29 2012

Wouldn't code without it!

by Jarrett Vance | November 29 2012

Makes visual studio crash often when working with less files.

Mads Kristensen November 29 2012
| Edit |
Delete

This is fixed in version 1.9.2. I hope you'll give it another try

by Kristian Thrane | November 28 2012

This is simply a fantastic tool!

by Tomekole | November 28 2012

Awesome extension! Thanks!

101 - 120 of 190 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Less compiling after Publish???
    1 Posts | Last post September 10, 2014
    • So, after clicking one-click publishing, I see this in my output put window in VS2012: 
      
      ========== Build: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 1 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
      ========== Publish: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 0 skipped ==========
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportMixins.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-ui-tabs-from-bulleted-list.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportVariables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: variables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-custom-controls.less compiled
      .
      .
      .
      
      This appears to me to be compiling LESS files after publishing my site.
      
      Is there a way to ensure compilation before publishing other than doing a manual build prior to hitting publish?
  • SCSS: unparsable compilation error:
    2 Posts | Last post July 31, 2014
    •  SCSS: Compiling style.scss
       SCSS: unparsable compilation error: 
      
      but no indication of the line # in the file. any help?
    • I am having this issue now as well. I have one site.scss file that imports various other partials. It was working fine until a few days ago when (seemingly) at random they started failing to compile on save. Now the partials require the other partials to be imported into them before they will compile. I've triple-checked my @import flow and it is perfect! Sassmeister and other compilers have no issue.
      
      Specifically, I get the "unparsable compilation error" as well as meaningless "(X)101" errors in the Error List. No line numbers or suggestions to be found.
      
      Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  • V2.2.7 fails to install on VS2013wU2
    1 Posts | Last post July 23, 2014
    • Complains that this version of product is not supported... 
  • Web Essentials context menu on .js files
    1 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Why is it when I right click some statndard js files, in the web essentials context menu everything but "Run JSHint" and "Run JSCS" is grayed out and cannot be used?
  • Create Image Sprite
    2 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Hello,
      
      I just installed this extension looking for this awesome functionality. Unfortunately, I can not create a image sprite from my images. The option directly does not appears at context menu. I don't know how to enable it. Am I forgetting any step after installing the extension?
      
      I am working with VS Professional 2012 (Update 4), and ASP.NET Web Frameworks and Tools 2013.1.
      
      Thank you so much for your time and efforts!
    • Hi again,
      
      After tweeting about this to Mads Kristensen, he has responded that the functionality I am looking for, is only available in WE2012.
      
      Regards!
  • Javascript Minifier
    1 Posts | Last post June 10, 2014
    • First off, great tool you are providing.  Have made my network footprint as small as possible.
      
      First problem i noticed was that when i enabled JS Minification, the *.map files were getting 404 responses.  After review of the *.min.js file i noticed that the Mapping URL line did not include the folder directory they were located.
      
      Example:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=app.utility.min.js.map
      */
      
      Had to add the folder to the 'sourceMappingURL' in order to not get the 404:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=Scripts/app.events.min.js.map
      */
      
      Not sure if its possible but might be well worth looking into it for 2013, if not 2012 update.
  • JSHint options not working
    1 Posts | Last post June 03, 2014
    • I am using VS2012 and web essentials 3.7.  I can't get the jshint options at the start of a file to work.  Example:
      
      /* jshint jquery:true, sub:true, eqeqeq:false */
      
      var something;
      
      function X() {
          something = "cheese";
          
          if (something == "cheese") {
              return false;
          }
      }
      
      I get a JSHint warning in my window about the double equals, even though eqeqeq is false.  Pasting this into the online jshint validator works fine.
  • Toggle Razor Syntax
    2 Posts | Last post May 19, 2014
    • Toggling Razor syntax would be beneficial for designers. Designers can hide Razor syntax and developers can show syntax. 
      
      If Razor syntax is hidden the site can still compile and display.
    • I was thinking this being a Web Essential new tool. A toggle button within Visual Studio.
  • How do you transpile .coffee to .js?
    1 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • I have a .coffee file and I save but I don't see the .js compiled window nor are any .js files created?
      
      When I compile the solution I see these:
      
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      
      but NO .js files are created.  Where do I look?  How do I get it to actually WRITE the files to the filesystem?
  • JSHint: indent option not working
    2 Posts | Last post May 13, 2014
    • If I enable JSHint and set the indent option to 2 (or any other number), I don't get any JSHint errors. Other options seem to work fine.
      
      If I enable the option by adding the following to the .js file: /*jshint indent:2 */, then it works, but this is not the solution we want as options should be set in one place, not each JS file. Is there a way to get this indent option working without having to set it in each JS file?
      
      Also it reports errors for switch case indentation, which I believe have been fixed in a newer version of JSHint (2.2.0). Are there any plans to update the version of JSHint used by Web Essentials 2012?
      
      Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?
      
      Thanks
    • "Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?"
      
      Yeh! this is a  useful feature. Any plans?!
1 - 10 of 318 Items