Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(190) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (1,009,184)
2/25/2014
3.7
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (190)
Q and A (317)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by JM_MSDN | November 27 2012

This is absolutely, hands-down, the BEST Visual Studio extension for web development. The only thing more amazing than this extension is the rate at which Mads pushes out new features and bug fixes!

by NateClark | November 27 2012

Very, very useful. Thanks!

by Mark.Bice | November 26 2012

by ADefwebserver | November 24 2012

You really need this for TypeScript.

by AlexDrel | November 21 2012

by shaneandersonxp | November 20 2012

by Jan Janoušek | November 20 2012

by Oleg Lokhvitsky | November 20 2012

Invaluable extension and great support! It's my #1 must for any web-related VS project.

by Sergey Litvinov | November 20 2012

Amazing thing. Thank you for it.

by W. Paap | November 20 2012

Indeed an essential plugin for web developers using visual studio!

by croban | November 17 2012

Essentials has a bug with new version of TypeScript 0.8.1,
does not compile.

by Veniamin Krol | November 14 2012

by seri-freedom | November 14 2012

by KKBruce | November 14 2012

非裝不可的外掛。
請注意,目前1.7的版本會讓code snippets失效。

解決辦法請參考:http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=CD154glDNdc

作者回覆,在1.8版會修正。

by DuelingCats | November 13 2012

Such a good set of tools. Really makes coding easier, faster, and efficient.

by D Monteiro | November 13 2012

Very useful tool. Thank you.

by Basarat | November 12 2012

Moar TypeScript love :)

by Jaap Mosselman | November 09 2012

Very useful! I use it for Less and Typescript.

by Bobby Cannon (CSI) | November 08 2012

Excellent!

by DenisPanfilov | November 08 2012

121 - 140 of 190 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • SCSS: unparsable compilation error:
    2 Posts | Last post Thu 2:58 PM
    •  SCSS: Compiling style.scss
       SCSS: unparsable compilation error: 
      
      but no indication of the line # in the file. any help?
    • I am having this issue now as well. I have one site.scss file that imports various other partials. It was working fine until a few days ago when (seemingly) at random they started failing to compile on save. Now the partials require the other partials to be imported into them before they will compile. I've triple-checked my @import flow and it is perfect! Sassmeister and other compilers have no issue.
      
      Specifically, I get the "unparsable compilation error" as well as meaningless "(X)101" errors in the Error List. No line numbers or suggestions to be found.
      
      Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  • V2.2.7 fails to install on VS2013wU2
    1 Posts | Last post July 23, 2014
    • Complains that this version of product is not supported... 
  • Web Essentials context menu on .js files
    1 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Why is it when I right click some statndard js files, in the web essentials context menu everything but "Run JSHint" and "Run JSCS" is grayed out and cannot be used?
  • Create Image Sprite
    2 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Hello,
      
      I just installed this extension looking for this awesome functionality. Unfortunately, I can not create a image sprite from my images. The option directly does not appears at context menu. I don't know how to enable it. Am I forgetting any step after installing the extension?
      
      I am working with VS Professional 2012 (Update 4), and ASP.NET Web Frameworks and Tools 2013.1.
      
      Thank you so much for your time and efforts!
    • Hi again,
      
      After tweeting about this to Mads Kristensen, he has responded that the functionality I am looking for, is only available in WE2012.
      
      Regards!
  • Javascript Minifier
    1 Posts | Last post June 10, 2014
    • First off, great tool you are providing.  Have made my network footprint as small as possible.
      
      First problem i noticed was that when i enabled JS Minification, the *.map files were getting 404 responses.  After review of the *.min.js file i noticed that the Mapping URL line did not include the folder directory they were located.
      
      Example:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=app.utility.min.js.map
      */
      
      Had to add the folder to the 'sourceMappingURL' in order to not get the 404:
      /*
      //# sourceMappingURL=Scripts/app.events.min.js.map
      */
      
      Not sure if its possible but might be well worth looking into it for 2013, if not 2012 update.
  • JSHint options not working
    1 Posts | Last post June 03, 2014
    • I am using VS2012 and web essentials 3.7.  I can't get the jshint options at the start of a file to work.  Example:
      
      /* jshint jquery:true, sub:true, eqeqeq:false */
      
      var something;
      
      function X() {
          something = "cheese";
          
          if (something == "cheese") {
              return false;
          }
      }
      
      I get a JSHint warning in my window about the double equals, even though eqeqeq is false.  Pasting this into the online jshint validator works fine.
  • Toggle Razor Syntax
    2 Posts | Last post May 19, 2014
    • Toggling Razor syntax would be beneficial for designers. Designers can hide Razor syntax and developers can show syntax. 
      
      If Razor syntax is hidden the site can still compile and display.
    • I was thinking this being a Web Essential new tool. A toggle button within Visual Studio.
  • How do you transpile .coffee to .js?
    1 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • I have a .coffee file and I save but I don't see the .js compiled window nor are any .js files created?
      
      When I compile the solution I see these:
      
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      5/16/2014 2:55:52 PM: Compiling CoffeeScript...
      
      but NO .js files are created.  Where do I look?  How do I get it to actually WRITE the files to the filesystem?
  • JSHint: indent option not working
    2 Posts | Last post May 13, 2014
    • If I enable JSHint and set the indent option to 2 (or any other number), I don't get any JSHint errors. Other options seem to work fine.
      
      If I enable the option by adding the following to the .js file: /*jshint indent:2 */, then it works, but this is not the solution we want as options should be set in one place, not each JS file. Is there a way to get this indent option working without having to set it in each JS file?
      
      Also it reports errors for switch case indentation, which I believe have been fixed in a newer version of JSHint (2.2.0). Are there any plans to update the version of JSHint used by Web Essentials 2012?
      
      Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?
      
      Thanks
    • "Finally Web Essentials 2013 was updated to use the .jshintrc options file, are there any plans of including this in 2012?"
      
      Yeh! this is a  useful feature. Any plans?!
  • extension manifest is invalid
    1 Posts | Last post April 25, 2014
    • I get this error when trying to install on win7 64 bit.  Please advise.
1 - 10 of 317 Items