SQL Server Compact Toolbox

Free

SQL Server Compact 3.5 and 4.0 Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your SQL Server Compact development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much more.

(76) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (302,981)
6/19/2014
3.7.3.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (76)
Q and A (51)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Mojtaba.kaviani | January 10 2014

many features on this tools exist in ssce tools with better GUI

ErikEJ January 10 2014
| Edit |
Delete

What is "ssce tools"?

by Tom Childers, N5GE | September 27 2013

This Extension is a great tool, but appears to be broken in VS 2012 Pro.
The install goes just fine, but when clicking the icon in VS there is no action (Menu not displayed)

Tom C / N5GE

ErikEJ September 27 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Go to Tools/Extensions, and check if the extension is enabled (sometimes see that it is disabled)

by Daneshmandi1 | September 07 2013

A must have tool for SQL Compact related projects specially for Windows Phone projects.

The auto generate DataContext class feature of it is my favorite one :)

by Sócrates Lopes | August 19 2013

Simple and functional!

by Christian Resma Helle | August 14 2013

Awesome tool!

by Priscila Mayumi Sato | August 12 2013

by LarryDavidJr | August 02 2013

Saved me some time, worth getting.

by gmorris59 | Sat 6:09 PM

Simple, useful and powerful with good support from Erik

by SteveBowman | June 17 2013

This is a great tool and adds a load of features that are very handy when working with SQL CE databases. I would highly recommend this to anyone working with SQL Server CE.

by llwydsj | June 14 2013

Very useful tool. Great for someone who is not particularly experienced with SQL DB management / editing. Clean and familiar (VS2010 icons) browsing with a no frills SQL editor with auto-generated queries. The only thing I use the standard Server Explorer for now is Table creation.

by Henry Desouza | May 24 2013

Thanks a lot, it works great while importing CSV data.

You know what is the best thing about it??? It Works!!!!

by D. Chatterjee | May 20 2013

Very Good

by Adrian Faciu | April 29 2013

by MariaTorres | April 03 2013

Thank you for this!

by Sufiyan687 | March 31 2013

Awesome! ThankYou Very Much Sir ErikEJ

by zomf | March 01 2013

This is a great tool that has saved me much effort even in the few times I've had to use it so far - particularly the compact <-> full migrations. Thank you for making it available to the community.

by Adam Hancock | February 25 2013

Perfect. Needed a one-click solution to move a MS Sql Server Compact database to Sql Server 2008. This did exactly that (and alot more).

by Mohsen Kokabi | January 22 2013

Hi Erik,
Thanks for this wonderful tools. The only thing I can think of for the next releases is a kind of progress bar or the number of rows imported like SSMS import dialog. Your tool has created a long SQL from a CSV file and right now I'm running it and I don't know how far is it. All I can do is looking to the size of the sdf file to make sure it's still working :)
THANKS
Mohsen

by Mr. Wharty | December 24 2012

Thanks

by bfwardle | December 23 2012

Wow, this solved some problems. Thanks!

21 - 40 of 76 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Visual Studio 14 - Won't install sql server compact toolbox
    2 Posts | Last post July 13, 2014
    • Any chance this will be updated for Visual Studio 2014?  Won't install on 2014.
    • Of course, it already is, but the VS Gallery web service is broken. Until it gets fixed, you can download a build for VS 14 from here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/123666 - pls let me know if that Works for you!
  • DB created on Server 2012 won't work on Win7
    4 Posts | Last post May 26, 2014
    • Thanks for an awesome toolset! 
      We've automated the DB creation and script generation for our SQL CE database using the SQL Server Compact Toolbox and it works like a charm on the developer machines!
      
      However, when creating a DB from scratch on the build server running Windows Server 2012 the generated DB doesn't work on the desktop. 
      Even running SqlCeCmd40.exe to verify the DB on the build server (-e repairdelete) reports back that everything looks good ("Database successfully repaired") and still the DB doesn't work on the desktop Win7 machines so effectively we cannot automate the creation of the DB in the build process as of yet, which is a pity..
      
      Manually running SqlCeCmd40.exe on the Win7 machines against the DB created on the build server fixes the problem - though we can't really tell what is wrong with the DBs created on the build server.
      
      Any help much appreciated!!!
    • Suggest you contact me directly (email on my blog) or via the MSDN forum - I have some ideas, but need more detail from you, for example, what does "run sq
    • cecmd4.0.exe mean, and what do "not work" mean. And a forum or mail thread is a better forum for that discussion.
    • Many thanks, Erik! - As discussed via mail the problem appears to be related to the different platforms (build server vs. desktop) and using the database in read-only mode at runtime in our app preventing SQL CE to perform its internal db index updates:
      
      http://blogs.msdn.com/b/sqlservercompact/archive/2009/04/01/after-moving-the-database-from-one-platform-to-other-the-first-sqlceconnection-open-takes-more-time.aspx
  • Future of SQLServerCE
    2 Posts | Last post May 12, 2014
    • Hi,
      I have just posted a review of the toolbox and read a comment in another review about no further support for SQL Server CE, is that true? If it is does that mean I should be looking for another solution?
    • Thanks for the review - SQL CE 4.0 is supported at least until July 2016 http://support.microsoft.com/lifecycle/?LN=en-ie&x=15&y=6&c2=1044 
  • problems with generated datacontext
    2 Posts | Last post May 11, 2014
    • i used your standalone tool (thank you!) to create a linq to sql datacontext for windows phone. ok.
      
      then, i added the .cs file to a test project in visual studio express 2013 for windows update 2 rc. the project is windows phone 8.1 project.
      
      i get an error because several namespaces are missing. lines with errors.
      
      using System.Data;
      using System.Data.Linq;
      using System.Data.Linq.Mapping;
      using System.IO.IsolatedStorage;
      using Microsoft.Phone.Data.Linq.Mapping;
      using Microsoft.Phone.Data.Linq;
      
      i couldn't find anything about that except "Data" namespaces can't be used.
      is i a problem of the visual studio version?!
      
      thanks
    • No, there is a problem with the project type, you must use Windows Phone Silverlight project for SQLCE/LINQ to SQL support
  • where do I change the DB schema
    3 Posts | Last post May 07, 2014
    • I must miss something obvious!
      
      I'm using Sql Compact Toolbox 4.0 Standalone and CANNOT find where I would change e.g. the field length of an existing table.
      
      ... otherwise I can do everything!
      thanks for your help
      ed
      
      
    • You can only do that vai DROP/CREATE TABLE statement currently, or writing your own ALTER TABLE ALTER COLUMN statement. Next release of add-in and standalone will allow you to generate ALTER COLUMN statements as starting point.
    • when i deploy i found this message on wp8
      An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format
  • Removing 3.5 Connections
    4 Posts | Last post May 02, 2014
    • Love this tool but.. Running VS 2010 Win 7 64 bit. When I right click on a 3.5 database connection and select 'Remove Connection' nothing happens. 4.0 connections are properly removed when I do this. Is there a way to remove 3.5 connections from the tree?
      
      Thanks,
      PWE 
    • Suggest you post an issue here https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/WorkItem/Create and provide the text of or a screenshot of the Toolbox about dialog. Are you running the latest version?
    • Well whatever was done in 3.7.2 has fixed the issue (was on 3.6).
      Thanks,
      PWE
    • It was fixed in this release https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/114453 
  • SQL Ce 4.0 in wp8
    6 Posts | Last post April 10, 2014
    • Hi
      I have a SQL CE 4.0 and it seems that the program doesn't support the SQL Ce 4.0 ( for windows phone 8 ).
      
      so the question is there any way for me to downgrade my database version ?
      or migrating my data's to a 3.5 ? or any other solution ?   
    • Use the Toolbox to: 1) Script the entire 4.0 file 2) Create a new 3.5 database file 3) Open and run the script from step 1 against the file created in step 2
    • Hi again 
      thanks for your response .
      
      Another Question : I created a Windowsphone datacontex using your App but when I wanna bind a part of my database  to a list box it won't work (for being more clear these are the details : i have three row of words(wordsA,wordsB,wordsC)and i wanna bind them to a listbox and I tried this for binding ... text={Binding wordsA} ... )(I searched everywhere for a guide or solution but ... Nothing)  
    • Javad: This is not a good forum for tech support, suggest you ask in the MSDN forum or use the CodePlex issue tracker
    • 1- Thanks for your recommendation .
      2- Report = The app doesn't support the win/wp8.1 SDK .(waiting 4 update ;-)
      Best Regards.
    • By the way I found the solution in one of your articles* So Thanks again (you are awesome !!! )
      *
      http://mobile.dzone.com/articles/windows-phone-8-local-database
  • SQL CE 4.0 and Windows Phone 8
    8 Posts | Last post February 08, 2014
    • Hello,
      i'm create a database SQL CE 4.0 and the menu "Add Windows phone datacontext" is disabled.
      why?
      Thanks
    • You need to use a 3.5 database with Windows Phone, and in addition this feature requires the SQL Compact 3.5 SP2 Desktop runtime to be installed.
    • Thank you for response. SQL Compact 4.0 is not compatibile with Windows phone 8?
    • No, SQL Server Compact 4.0 is not compatible with Windows Phone 8, the file format used on Phone most closely resembles 3.5, but see my blog for the gritty details.
    • ok thanks. I would like to use SQL CE and EF6 with your tools. Can I use the MVVM pattern
    • Yes, you can, but EF6 does not work on Windows Phone, only LINQ to SQL
    •  who can tell me how to add sql server compact in  vs 2013?
    • What do you mean by "add SQL Server Compact" ? Suggest you try the latest beta here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/117615
  • Deprecated
    2 Posts | Last post January 26, 2014
    • I'm having a hard time making sense of all the conflicting information..
      I'm think of using SqlCE with EntityFramework on my next project, but it seems MS has deprecated SqlCe? Is this true?
    • I am still awaiting official statement, but it seems likely, yes. You can see the support lifecycle here http://support.microsoft.com/lifecycle/search/default.aspx?sort=PN&alpha=SQL+Server+Compact&Filter=FilterNO
  • Great tool
    2 Posts | Last post January 15, 2014
    • Works perfectly for VS 2013. Liked it. 
    • Thanks!
1 - 10 of 51 Items