SQL Server Compact Toolbox

Free

SQL Server Compact 3.5 and 4.0 Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your SQL Server Compact development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much more.

(64) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (276,991)
3/25/2014
3.7.2.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (64)
Q and A (46)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by MariaTorres | April 03 2013

Thank you for this!

by Sufiyan687 | March 31 2013

Awesome! ThankYou Very Much Sir ErikEJ

by zomf | March 01 2013

This is a great tool that has saved me much effort even in the few times I've had to use it so far - particularly the compact <-> full migrations. Thank you for making it available to the community.

by Adam Hancock | February 25 2013

Perfect. Needed a one-click solution to move a MS Sql Server Compact database to Sql Server 2008. This did exactly that (and alot more).

by Mohsen Kokabi | January 22 2013

Hi Erik,
Thanks for this wonderful tools. The only thing I can think of for the next releases is a kind of progress bar or the number of rows imported like SSMS import dialog. Your tool has created a long SQL from a CSV file and right now I'm running it and I don't know how far is it. All I can do is looking to the size of the sdf file to make sure it's still working :)
THANKS
Mohsen

by demlin | January 15 2013

Thanks Erik. Amazing work

by Mr. Wharty | December 24 2012

Thanks

by bfwardle | December 23 2012

Wow, this solved some problems. Thanks!

by Cat333Pokemon | December 17 2012

Works great for importing CSV data!

by Tiziano Cacioppolini | December 02 2012

Very good work! Thanks

by Zoltán Horváth | November 22 2012

Pretty and small. Thanks.

by Stephane Roze | November 02 2012

Excellent tool, thanks.

by am.steve | October 05 2012

by AAKoken | September 10 2012

This tool is really great!

by Brandon Williams | May 02 2012

Very cool tool

@ErikEJ - Yes I have tried the Merge Replication form! It is my favorite feature!

by FrontierDG | April 30 2012

Thank you for a great tool.

by WoAx | April 24 2012

A very good and useful tool.

I also want to say thanks to Mr Erik for his fast support helping me intalling the toolbox.

Great Product.

by leekelleher | March 02 2012

Truly excellent add-in. Got me out of many tricky situations - especially when migrating to/from SQL Server! I owe Erik many beers!

by Gerardo Melendrez | February 09 2012

Great tool!

Thanks.

by Greg_AD | February 08 2012

The ADO EF support alone just saved me hours in what I was doing before with 3.5 and the migration to 4.0.

Great tool, very slick integration into Visual Studio 2010.

21 - 40 of 64 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • SQL Ce 4.0 in wp8
    6 Posts | Last post April 10, 2014
    • Hi
      I have a SQL CE 4.0 and it seems that the program doesn't support the SQL Ce 4.0 ( for windows phone 8 ).
      
      so the question is there any way for me to downgrade my database version ?
      or migrating my data's to a 3.5 ? or any other solution ?   
    • Use the Toolbox to: 1) Script the entire 4.0 file 2) Create a new 3.5 database file 3) Open and run the script from step 1 against the file created in step 2
    • Hi again 
      thanks for your response .
      
      Another Question : I created a Windowsphone datacontex using your App but when I wanna bind a part of my database  to a list box it won't work (for being more clear these are the details : i have three row of words(wordsA,wordsB,wordsC)and i wanna bind them to a listbox and I tried this for binding ... text={Binding wordsA} ... )(I searched everywhere for a guide or solution but ... Nothing)  
    • Javad: This is not a good forum for tech support, suggest you ask in the MSDN forum or use the CodePlex issue tracker
    • 1- Thanks for your recommendation .
      2- Report = The app doesn't support the win/wp8.1 SDK .(waiting 4 update ;-)
      Best Regards.
    • By the way I found the solution in one of your articles* So Thanks again (you are awesome !!! )
      *
      http://mobile.dzone.com/articles/windows-phone-8-local-database
  • SQL CE 4.0 and Windows Phone 8
    8 Posts | Last post February 08, 2014
    • Hello,
      i'm create a database SQL CE 4.0 and the menu "Add Windows phone datacontext" is disabled.
      why?
      Thanks
    • You need to use a 3.5 database with Windows Phone, and in addition this feature requires the SQL Compact 3.5 SP2 Desktop runtime to be installed.
    • Thank you for response. SQL Compact 4.0 is not compatibile with Windows phone 8?
    • No, SQL Server Compact 4.0 is not compatible with Windows Phone 8, the file format used on Phone most closely resembles 3.5, but see my blog for the gritty details.
    • ok thanks. I would like to use SQL CE and EF6 with your tools. Can I use the MVVM pattern
    • Yes, you can, but EF6 does not work on Windows Phone, only LINQ to SQL
    •  who can tell me how to add sql server compact in  vs 2013?
    • What do you mean by "add SQL Server Compact" ? Suggest you try the latest beta here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/117615
  • Deprecated
    2 Posts | Last post January 26, 2014
    • I'm having a hard time making sense of all the conflicting information..
      I'm think of using SqlCE with EntityFramework on my next project, but it seems MS has deprecated SqlCe? Is this true?
    • I am still awaiting official statement, but it seems likely, yes. You can see the support lifecycle here http://support.microsoft.com/lifecycle/search/default.aspx?sort=PN&alpha=SQL+Server+Compact&Filter=FilterNO
  • Great tool
    2 Posts | Last post January 15, 2014
    • Works perfectly for VS 2013. Liked it. 
    • Thanks!
  • Does SQL Server Toolbox replace sqlmetal.exe?
    2 Posts | Last post January 12, 2014
    • Hi Erik,  
      
      I'm currently using SQL Server Toolbox in the following environment:
      
      Toolbox - Version 3.0.0.6
      VS 2010 SP1 / .Net 4.0 
      SQL Server Compact 3.5 SP2
      
      I am trying to modify an legacy database schema for a Windows Forms VB project which uses Linq to SQL.  The DBML file for the original database schema was developed from the database using sqlmetal.exe, with data associations added manually in the designer.
      
      Will SQL Server Toolbox automatically build the DBML file for my project or do I still need to use sqlmetal.exe?  Also, what about the table associations?
      
      Thanks.
    • You should probably upgrade to Toolbox 3.7... but the Toolbox does not generate dbml, it generates code - DataContext and Table classes. If you require a dbml file, you must use sqlmetal, which Works fine with SqlCe 3.5
  • VS2013 Solution with multiple SDF files
    4 Posts | Last post January 10, 2014
    • I installed the SQL Server Compact Toolbox and can view SDF files in VS2013, but only if I open them individually. 
      In the past (VS2010) I would just open my VS2010 Solution (has about 20 projects and 30 .sdf files) and then over in the Server Explorer / Toolbox window all the .sdf files would load up for me. 
      How can I have all the .sdf files of a project open in SQL Server Compact Toolbox automatically when I open the solution in VS2013 ?
      Thanks for feedback
      Phil
    • I have never seen that happen. The toolbox displays any connections defined in Server Explorer, but in VS 2013 Server Explorer does not support sqlce. Maybe a feature suggestion to Scan active solution for SQL CE files, and connect them all??
    • Thanks for the feedback. You are right, I think it was Server Explorer pulling in all the SDF's in VS2010 and then the toolkit just picked them up. But yeah, now that we are using VS2013 Server Explorer won't do that.
      So adding a feature to the toolkit that scans the active solution for SQL CE files and connects all of them would be great.
      
      Again, thanks for the quick response.
      Phil
    • Phil: Suggestion logged here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/11508 - feel free to Vote!
  • Access to the database file is not allowed
    2 Posts | Last post December 28, 2013
    • Created a .sdf in VS2013 using migration and update database.   when I try to open with Toolbox (installed  3.5 32&64 and 4.0 64) I'm told access to the file is not allowed 80040E09 minor Err 25039.  The database file is not in use.
    • Is the file located on a local drive? Is it in use by another app?
  • create table based on Select *
    2 Posts | Last post December 26, 2013
    • How can I create a new table based on a select like follows Case1 + 2?
      PS: the select works fine.
      Is this Create .... and INTO ... supported (yet)?
      I use Toolbox 4.0
      - what would you suggest?
      thanks for your time and help
      ed
      
      case 1:
      CREATE TABLE Common_BodyPartRecord1 AS
      select *  from Common_BodyPartRecord i
      where not exists(select ii.Id 
      			from Common_BodyPartRecord ii
      			where ii.ContentItemRecord_id=i.ContentItemRecord_id and
      				ii.Id >i.Id 
      		)  and text not like ''
      
      Case 2:
      select * INTO Common_BodyPartRecordNEW   from Common_BodyPartRecord i
      where not exists(select ii.Id 
      			from Common_BodyPartRecord ii
      			where ii.ContentItemRecord_id=i.ContentItemRecord_id and
      				ii.Id >i.Id 
      		)  and text not like ''
      
    • ooops ... found it following works .. of course 
      
      hope nobody spent time!
      ed
      
      Insert into Common_BodyPartRecord1
      select * from Common_BodyPartRecord i
      where not exists(select ii.Id 
      			from Common_BodyPartRecord ii
      			where ii.ContentItemRecord_id=i.ContentItemRecord_id and
      				ii.Id >i.Id 
      		)  and text not like ''
  • VS 2013 and SQL Compact 4.0 help
    4 Posts | Last post December 22, 2013
    • I installed the "SQL Server Compact Toolbox" and still when I add the Northwind SDF file to a new project I do not see the "Data Source Configuration Wizard" pop-up, plus when I manually try to add the SDF file as a new data connection the list of available data providers does not include "SQL Compact" anywhere.
      
      Meanwhile, in VS 2013 "Extensions and Updates" I see the SQL Server Compact Toolbox is installed.  
      
      What can I do to resolve?
    • The toolbox does not enable those features. DataSet is not recommended to use with Sql Ce, use Linq 2 sql or Entity Framewok instead
    • Thanks Erik, do I have to add the connection via code instead...can you point me to some examples online that are specific to what the toolbox does and what it helps with? I found the toolbox by googling VS 2013 and SQL Compact tutorials and it took me here (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa983340(v=vs.110).aspx), but then when that wasn't working according to the documented steps I then found this site and your toolbox, thinking that was the missing link (no pun intended!)
      
      
      
    • Yes, or add the connection to the Toolbox, and then generate code. For features read the description here, or view the doementation on sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com 
  • where do I change the DB schema
    2 Posts | Last post December 19, 2013
    • I must miss something obvious!
      
      I'm using Sql Compact Toolbox 4.0 Standalone and CANNOT find where I would change e.g. the field length of an existing table.
      
      ... otherwise I can do everything!
      thanks for your help
      ed
      
      
    • You can only do that vai DROP/CREATE TABLE statement currently, or writing your own ALTER TABLE ALTER COLUMN statement. Next release of add-in and standalone will allow you to generate ALTER COLUMN statements as starting point.
1 - 10 of 46 Items