SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your SQL Server Compact development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much more.

(82) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010, 14
Download (318,850)
9/5/2014
4.0.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (82)
Q and A (54)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Javad alan | April 01 2014

A musthave for every programmer !! Thank u Erik. ;-)

by romagny | March 21 2014

Excellent ! Thanks

by Paul Rohorzka | March 13 2014

Feature rich and nicely integrated.

Besy feature: "Add SQL Server Compact connections from Solution" - very useful.

Thank you!

ErikEJ March 13 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks, Paul, glad you like this new feature

by Cristian0 | February 28 2014

Must Have!

by VDohnal | February 11 2014

This tool is a must for SQL CE developer.

by ziic | January 13 2014

great!thanks

by Mojtaba.kaviani | January 10 2014

many features on this tools exist in ssce tools with better GUI

ErikEJ January 10 2014
| Edit |
Delete

What is "ssce tools"?

by Tom Childers, N5GE | September 27 2013

This Extension is a great tool, but appears to be broken in VS 2012 Pro.
The install goes just fine, but when clicking the icon in VS there is no action (Menu not displayed)

Tom C / N5GE

ErikEJ September 27 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Go to Tools/Extensions, and check if the extension is enabled (sometimes see that it is disabled)

by Daneshmandi1 | September 07 2013

A must have tool for SQL Compact related projects specially for Windows Phone projects.

The auto generate DataContext class feature of it is my favorite one :)

by Sócrates Lopes | August 19 2013

Simple and functional!

by Christian Resma Helle | August 14 2013

Awesome tool!

by Priscila Mayumi Sato | August 12 2013

by LarryDavidJr | August 02 2013

Saved me some time, worth getting.

by gmorris59 | July 27 2013

Simple, useful and powerful with good support from Erik

by SteveBowman | June 17 2013

This is a great tool and adds a load of features that are very handy when working with SQL CE databases. I would highly recommend this to anyone working with SQL Server CE.

by llwydsj | June 14 2013

Very useful tool. Great for someone who is not particularly experienced with SQL DB management / editing. Clean and familiar (VS2010 icons) browsing with a no frills SQL editor with auto-generated queries. The only thing I use the standard Server Explorer for now is Table creation.

by Henry Desouza | May 24 2013

Thanks a lot, it works great while importing CSV data.

You know what is the best thing about it??? It Works!!!!

by D. Chatterjee | May 20 2013

Very Good

by Adrian Faciu | April 29 2013

by MariaTorres | April 03 2013

Thank you for this!

21 - 40 of 82 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Linq2Sql and Sql Server Compact 4.0
    7 Posts | Last post August 21, 2014
    • Hi,
      
      I've just intalled the last update of your plugin to my VS2012 ultimate edition and tried to create a datacontext for my .sdf file (Sql Server Compact 4.0) using your toolbox, but the menu item is greyed out saying "needs 3.5"
      What am I missing?
      
      Thanks
      
      Fulvio
    • You must install the SQL Server Compact 3.5 SP2 runtime: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/documentation and construct the DataContext object as described here: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2013/10/sql-server-compact-4-desktop-app-with.html
    • When i try to install i receive this:
       
      "WARNING - On a 64-bit Comuter, install both 32-bit and 64-bit versions of the SQL Server Compact 3.5 SP2 MSI files. Existing SQL Server Compact 3.5 applications will fail if only the 32-bit version is installed on the 64-bit computer. Developers should chain both the 32-bit and the 64-bit MSI files with their applications and install both of them on the 64-bit computer. See install.txt file for more information. Click "Yes" to continue."
      
      Anyway Sql server compact 4.0 sp1 runtime is already installed on my system. Do I have to install SQL Server Compact 3.5 SP2 runtime as well? Why?
      
      Thanks
      
    • Yes, it is required in order to generate the LINQ to SQL code for you...
    • I succesfully succeeded in creating the proxy class by your tool.
      Now when I try to invoke  dc.SubmitChanges() where dc is my DataContext an Exception raises up saying that the DataBase Version is not the expected one. 
      
      "Incompatible Database Version. If this was a compatible file, run repair. For other cases refer to documentation. [ Db version = 4000000,Requested version = 3505053, filename=..."
      
      What's wrong?
      
      Thanks
      
      Fulvio
      
    • Read my blog post! http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2013/10/sql-server-compact-4-desktop-app-with.html (you MUST initialize the datacontext with a SqlCeConnection, not a connectionstring!)
    • Ok.. I Will thanks!
  • How to Migrate from SQL Server Compact
    5 Posts | Last post August 20, 2014
    • I have a dozen applications in VB Express 2010 which use SQL Compact 3.5 databases. These are single user applications running on Windows 7.
      I understand that I should migrate from SQL Compact to something else. SQL Server Express LocalDB?
      I have not moved to VS 2013 as there was no support for CE when I tried about a year ago.
      I have now installed VS Express 2013 but cannot load the SQL Server Compact Toolbox .
      It is not under Tools - Extensions and Updates - Online - Visual Studio Gallery
      I have downloaded the .vsix file from here but cannot see how to use this.
      I don't mind switching to SQL Server Express or anything else I can run locally. I just need a way of moving the databases simply.
      I am quite happy to buy a full copy of VS 2013 if necessary.
      What is the best way forward?
    • Why the need to migrate?
      1: The Toolbox requires VS Pro and if installed enables good support for SQLCE in VS 2013
      2: You can use the standalone edition to script the SQLCE dba and then run the scripts against SQL Server (Express/LocalDB)
      3: You can also install WebMatrix which has a tool to upsize to SQL Server
    • Thanks Erik
      Yes I would much prefer to stay with SQL Compact
      I have acquired Visual Studio Pro and have successfully installed the toolbox.
      In the toolbox I can access all my SQL Compact databases and I even created a new test database with a couple of tables. All great.
      The Data Connections appear in Server Explorer but they are inactive. Clicking on them does nothing.
      If I try to add any of the Databases as a datasource (old ones or the new one) I get the error "The specified type is not supported by this selector"
      If I try and modify the connection, (it shows as "SQL Server Compact 3.5 (Simple by ErikEJ)") and then reselect the SQL Compact 3.5 option I get an error message that says " The data connection string is invalid at index 74 - missing key value separator"
      Obviously I have missed something important.
      Both SQL Compact 3.5 and 4.0 are installed and in both 32 bit and 64 bit versions. (I think.)
      Many thanks for your help so far. I now could convert my databases to SQL Server but I really like SQL Compact. I need to get the connection string and the dataset definitions working from the applications.
      I have looked at your blog and cannot figure it out. I am sure the explanation is there but I cannot find it.
      Thanks in advance, and apologies for being slow on this.
      David Burden
      
      
      
      
    • Hi David, first: This is not the best forum for Toolbox support, please use https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/WorkItem/Create
      
      The Server Explorer support is mainly made for EF Tools to work, as stated on my blog,a dn will not work with the dataSet designer. And using DataSets with SQLCE is not recommended due to unneccesary double buffering - use LINQ to SQL (or EF) instead.
    • OK. 
      Many thanks. 
      I have noted the correct forum.
      David
  • Twoway binding WP 8
    6 Posts | Last post August 11, 2014
    • Hi
      Thanks for your great tool
      i have a question i followed your instructions on your article(http://erikej.blogspot.com/2013/04/generate-windows-phone-8-local-database.html) and got the database working perfectly fine
      what i changed is i just changed textBlock to textBox and changed binding mode to two way
      when i change the value it's not being updated in the database
      i don't know why
    • Creating a two way binding does not save data, you need to call SubmitChanges to do that.
    • Thank you
    • how do i call submitchanges ?
      I can't find it in data context or anywhere else in my soulotion
      do i have to edit context and add it myself?
    • It is a part of any dataContext http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.data.linq.datacontext.submitchanges(v=vs.110).aspx
    • Thanks and sorry to try your patience
      seems like i should be asking very basic questions and it's not the place
      i'm taking my question here
      
      https://stackoverflow.com/questions/25240486/how-to-use-two-way-binding-on-sql-ce-database-windows-phone-8
      
      Thanks for your reply
  • Visual Studio 14 - Won't install sql server compact toolbox
    2 Posts | Last post July 13, 2014
    • Any chance this will be updated for Visual Studio 2014?  Won't install on 2014.
    • Of course, it already is, but the VS Gallery web service is broken. Until it gets fixed, you can download a build for VS 14 from here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/123666 - pls let me know if that Works for you!
  • DB created on Server 2012 won't work on Win7
    4 Posts | Last post May 26, 2014
    • Thanks for an awesome toolset! 
      We've automated the DB creation and script generation for our SQL CE database using the SQL Server Compact Toolbox and it works like a charm on the developer machines!
      
      However, when creating a DB from scratch on the build server running Windows Server 2012 the generated DB doesn't work on the desktop. 
      Even running SqlCeCmd40.exe to verify the DB on the build server (-e repairdelete) reports back that everything looks good ("Database successfully repaired") and still the DB doesn't work on the desktop Win7 machines so effectively we cannot automate the creation of the DB in the build process as of yet, which is a pity..
      
      Manually running SqlCeCmd40.exe on the Win7 machines against the DB created on the build server fixes the problem - though we can't really tell what is wrong with the DBs created on the build server.
      
      Any help much appreciated!!!
    • Suggest you contact me directly (email on my blog) or via the MSDN forum - I have some ideas, but need more detail from you, for example, what does "run sq
    • cecmd4.0.exe mean, and what do "not work" mean. And a forum or mail thread is a better forum for that discussion.
    • Many thanks, Erik! - As discussed via mail the problem appears to be related to the different platforms (build server vs. desktop) and using the database in read-only mode at runtime in our app preventing SQL CE to perform its internal db index updates:
      
      http://blogs.msdn.com/b/sqlservercompact/archive/2009/04/01/after-moving-the-database-from-one-platform-to-other-the-first-sqlceconnection-open-takes-more-time.aspx
  • Future of SQLServerCE
    2 Posts | Last post May 12, 2014
    • Hi,
      I have just posted a review of the toolbox and read a comment in another review about no further support for SQL Server CE, is that true? If it is does that mean I should be looking for another solution?
    • Thanks for the review - SQL CE 4.0 is supported at least until July 2016 http://support.microsoft.com/lifecycle/?LN=en-ie&x=15&y=6&c2=1044 
  • problems with generated datacontext
    2 Posts | Last post May 11, 2014
    • i used your standalone tool (thank you!) to create a linq to sql datacontext for windows phone. ok.
      
      then, i added the .cs file to a test project in visual studio express 2013 for windows update 2 rc. the project is windows phone 8.1 project.
      
      i get an error because several namespaces are missing. lines with errors.
      
      using System.Data;
      using System.Data.Linq;
      using System.Data.Linq.Mapping;
      using System.IO.IsolatedStorage;
      using Microsoft.Phone.Data.Linq.Mapping;
      using Microsoft.Phone.Data.Linq;
      
      i couldn't find anything about that except "Data" namespaces can't be used.
      is i a problem of the visual studio version?!
      
      thanks
    • No, there is a problem with the project type, you must use Windows Phone Silverlight project for SQLCE/LINQ to SQL support
  • where do I change the DB schema
    3 Posts | Last post May 07, 2014
    • I must miss something obvious!
      
      I'm using Sql Compact Toolbox 4.0 Standalone and CANNOT find where I would change e.g. the field length of an existing table.
      
      ... otherwise I can do everything!
      thanks for your help
      ed
      
      
    • You can only do that vai DROP/CREATE TABLE statement currently, or writing your own ALTER TABLE ALTER COLUMN statement. Next release of add-in and standalone will allow you to generate ALTER COLUMN statements as starting point.
    • when i deploy i found this message on wp8
      An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format
  • Removing 3.5 Connections
    4 Posts | Last post May 02, 2014
    • Love this tool but.. Running VS 2010 Win 7 64 bit. When I right click on a 3.5 database connection and select 'Remove Connection' nothing happens. 4.0 connections are properly removed when I do this. Is there a way to remove 3.5 connections from the tree?
      
      Thanks,
      PWE 
    • Suggest you post an issue here https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/WorkItem/Create and provide the text of or a screenshot of the Toolbox about dialog. Are you running the latest version?
    • Well whatever was done in 3.7.2 has fixed the issue (was on 3.6).
      Thanks,
      PWE
    • It was fixed in this release https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/114453 
  • SQL Ce 4.0 in wp8
    6 Posts | Last post April 10, 2014
    • Hi
      I have a SQL CE 4.0 and it seems that the program doesn't support the SQL Ce 4.0 ( for windows phone 8 ).
      
      so the question is there any way for me to downgrade my database version ?
      or migrating my data's to a 3.5 ? or any other solution ?   
    • Use the Toolbox to: 1) Script the entire 4.0 file 2) Create a new 3.5 database file 3) Open and run the script from step 1 against the file created in step 2
    • Hi again 
      thanks for your response .
      
      Another Question : I created a Windowsphone datacontex using your App but when I wanna bind a part of my database  to a list box it won't work (for being more clear these are the details : i have three row of words(wordsA,wordsB,wordsC)and i wanna bind them to a listbox and I tried this for binding ... text={Binding wordsA} ... )(I searched everywhere for a guide or solution but ... Nothing)  
    • Javad: This is not a good forum for tech support, suggest you ask in the MSDN forum or use the CodePlex issue tracker
    • 1- Thanks for your recommendation .
      2- Report = The app doesn't support the win/wp8.1 SDK .(waiting 4 update ;-)
      Best Regards.
    • By the way I found the solution in one of your articles* So Thanks again (you are awesome !!! )
      *
      http://mobile.dzone.com/articles/windows-phone-8-local-database
1 - 10 of 54 Items