Visual Studio Color Theme Editor

Free

Allows users to customize the color palette used for menus, toolbars, tabs, title bars, and other environment colors.

(122) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (410,516)
8/20/2010
1.3
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (122)
Q and A (46)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Mark B 417 | August 24 2012

Please update this to work on VS 2012.

by SegaWang | August 21 2012

nice extension

by Waxime | June 22 2012

I really like this plugin, but it's possible to add a new option? Change theme by project. When you load a project, the theme can be change in the same moment.

In my job, I have to debug 3 differents versions. That can be help to have a different theme for eatch project

by Piggy | June 10 2012

I am using it since the first release, and it is a great job, a fantastic add-in!!!
I believe this very useful and reliable tool should have been embedded as a standard feature of VS2012.
Could you please update it to work with VS2012?
I really hope you are going to release the VS2012 version, and - if not a big problem - mantaining some compatibility with the VS2010 vstheme files.

by amandab31 | May 31 2012

This extension is great. Please add support for VS 2012

by J.Schwietert | April 23 2012

You sir are a gentleman and a scholar.

by Dragan Radovac | April 11 2012

This is so easy to use. Good work !

by Michal Zalewski | February 21 2012

by XAML guy | February 11 2012

Very nice. Thank you for this tool.

I also would like transparency, you do tend to get used to it, and without it it feels a bit windows xp.

by Code Chief | February 07 2012

Nice idea but held back by the lack of support for transparency. Wanted the Aero theme but it just doesn't look right with a grey workspace background around all the toolbars (that's where the transparent bits should go to make it cool).

Would be good if this is fully supported as a built-in feature in the next Visual Studio.

One possible improvement for this version; it is not something people change every day so should not be set as a main menu item, just hidden in Tools-Options.

But well implemented besides the menu position so 4 stars from me.

Other ideas for the future:
1) Change the theme when a bug occurs.
2) As others have said here, change the theme for each new window.
3) Change the theme according to daylight. Us programmers burn the midnight oil or occasionally work overnight to meet a deadline, would be cool if the studio was changing "mood" like one of those lamps from Philips :-)

by Amer Koleci | February 01 2012

Great VS studio extension, would you mind providing the source code?

I would like to integrate this stuff into our Visual Studio shell isolated and by default use our personal color scheme?

Thanks.

by Pascal Hubert | December 27 2011

Great! Thanks.

by Santhosh Sivarajan- | November 08 2011

Good job guys!

by Daniel Cheida | November 04 2011

I prefere not to change the color scheme, but it is a great work!

by Steef-Jan Wiggers | November 03 2011

Great addition.

by Saâd HAFFAR | October 09 2011

by Ehsan Mohammadi | October 08 2011

by Holi | September 28 2011

Wow...!!! That's what I always was looking for! It increases productivity and stability of VS2010 tremendously!!!
No wonder MS has no time to fix bugs if you waste time with that sort of things.

by Infotech_HTX | September 09 2011

by Bob Cornelissen | September 04 2011

Nice addition

21 - 40 of 122 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Scrollbar VS2012 vs VS2013
    1 Posts | Last post February 11, 2014
    • When using the scrollbar Map Mode or Full Mode in VS2012 the scroll bar reflects the same colors.  In VS2013 it appears to use the default scheme.  Is there a way to get that working in 2013?
  • Support for isolated shell applications
    1 Posts | Last post November 19, 2013
    • Hi Matthew,
      
      I like very much your extension! I have a application based on VS2013 isolated shell.  I could change the manifest so it can be installed.  I can modify existing themes but I can't create a new one. The theme editor tries to write the new theme to the extension folder using "Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro" as the installation target and the extension manager raises an UnsupportedProductException.
      
      Would you kindly support the creation of custom themes in isolated shells?
      
      Best regards,
      
      -Martin
  • Insufficient memory to continue the execution of the program.
    1 Posts | Last post September 11, 2013
    • I seem to get that error most of the time I hit "Customize colors" menu item.
      
      Any suggestions on how to solve or even debug this?
  • Can't figure out what some items are
    1 Posts | Last post June 14, 2013
    • Hello,
      
      I can't seem to figure out what color is for the background of the Solution Explorer window, the designer window background, and the output window background/text. Anyone have any ideas if these are customizable? Thanks!
  • Where is the option to change the theme in vs2010 ?
    1 Posts | Last post May 08, 2013
    • I've installed the manager package.but i'm not getting the option to change the theme of vs2010.
      please, let me know the steps for changing the theme .
      Thanks !
  • Can we get this to work with SSMS 2012
    2 Posts | Last post April 12, 2013
    • Can we get this to work with SSMS 2012?
      
      http://blog.bagearon.com/2012/03/sql-server-management-studio-2012-color-themes-extension-support/comment-page-1/#comment-2528
    • Hi! try running ssms 2012 as administrator.
  • Name vs. Color? Which key/name color chances what?!
    2 Posts | Last post March 20, 2013
    • Hello,
      this question was asked befor, but noone gave an answer. if you select "show all" at the theme editor, you get more than 100 name/color... but which one is controlling what? is there a list for what each key stands for? can perhaps someone provide me with screenshots and the keynames there?
      
      thanks, mike.
    • That's a very good idea. Right now the only method to properly customize the theme is through trial and error, which is very frustrating. It would be a good idea if it were a screenshot available containing the description for each element, or even better, when you hover an element in the list it could be surrounded by a visible frame in the UI.
  • Settings for Output Window Text and Background
    1 Posts | Last post March 14, 2013
    • Hi Matthew,
      
      Firstly, thanks for the tool. Now using your tool I applied a Elite dark them from http://www.sharepoint.bg/radi/post/Pimp-Your-IDE-Visual-Studio-2010-Themes-and-Skins.aspx But now when I change the Output Window plain text foreground to Yellow and background to a shade of Dark Grey (from Tools -> Options -> Environment -> Fonts and Colors)and the background renders fine but the text goes black and is sort of highlighted in light grey background. I wonder if you could tell me what setting in your tool I could use to set the text color and background for Output Window? Thanks.
  • Pick up System colors?
    5 Posts | Last post December 09, 2012
    • This is a great extension, and I guess this is more a comment for the VS team. But I'm on XP, with a custom Windows Classic theme, and I hate it when apps decide to use their own color scheme. I wish that either VS or this extension had a way of reading my system colors and basing the scheme on that. I know that I can use this extension to go through one by one and adjust all the colors, and I guess I'll do that when I have an hour to spare, but I wish there were a simpler way.
    • There are some built-in themes, like the Windows Classic theme that uses the system colors. Would be nifty if this same concept could be applied to the new UI style though.
    • I'd also like an option to use current Windows theme colours.
    • How do you install this studid thing?
      
      When I run it, it installs in VS 2012 instead of 2012.
    • This extension is for Visual Studio 2010 only.  Downloading and double-clicking the VSIX file should prompt to install for Visual Studio 2010 (not 2012).  If that doesn't work I'd be curious to find out why, but as an alternative you can try opening Visual Studio 2010, going to Tools\Extension Manager, and searching from there for "color theme editor".  You should be able to find and install the extension from that dialog.
      
      If you're looking for the version that supports Visual Studio 2012 it's here: http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/366ad100-0003-4c9a-81a8-337d4e7ace05
  • Please let it work with VS 11
    14 Posts | Last post August 31, 2012
    • I've really enjoyed using this.  With VS 11 this extension becomes critically important to me, since MS has stubbornly forced light gray (new RC screenshots) on us.  PLEASE, PLEASE let this work on VS 11. Being able to add some contrast  (like that burgundy screen-shot you have here) is very important to me.
    • I love this extension.  Please make this work with Visual Studio 2012.  There are a lot of us there that would really appreciate it.  
    • +1 I can't go without this extension any more. It really does help people who are sensitive to high contrast. Thanks.
    • +1 I need to throw my hat in with this. Whilst I am a black background coder the dead 2012 UI is like a prison. 
    • +1 Agree on this. Please make it works on vs 2012.
    • +1 again.  VS2012 RTM still looks horribly grey.
    • +100 - please please please make it work with VS2012 - uggghhhh that all that flat grey!
    • Quoting Scott Hanselman in http://www.hanselman.com/blog/VisualStudio2012RCIsReleasedTheBigWebRollup.aspx
      
      "Matt Johnson, one of the developers on the Visual Studio team, developed and released a theme editor extension for Visual Studio 2010 on Studio Gallery. His tool needs additional time and effort to work with Visual Studio 2012 given all the changes we made. As soon as it’s ready we will make it available. With Matt's tool you will be able make a wide variety of theme changes including updating the Status Bar colors to colors of your choosing."
      
      That'd be great news
    • Scott's got the right information, a VS 2012 version of this extension is nearly ready for release.  Thanks for your patience!
    • Please do this for VS 2012.
      Can't work with the 2 tone look. 
      I don't know that the guys at Microsoft are thinking. No wonder Apple is beating them. If Windows 8 release is like this then Microsoft shares will be penny stock!
    • "Matthew Johnson [MSFT]
      Scott's got the right information, a VS 2012 version of this extension is nearly ready for release.  Thanks for your patience!"
      
      Thanks Matthew!  Do you have any plans to allow us to change the icons themselves or allow us to revert back to the VS 2010 icons.  The VS 2012 icons make the IDE more difficult to use.  
    • +1! Please add VS2012 support!
    • +1. I hoped through Beta & RC I'd get used to it, or MS'd improve it, but even in RTM VS2012 is bland, gloomy and has awful contrast, making it really difficult to differentiate any of the UI components. It's like working in a dank cave. Very much looking forward to the new build of this extension!
    • Does anyone have trouble using this while working on Windows Workflow Foundation? The flow charts do get rendered well. I have to switch back to default in order to work with WF, 
1 - 10 of 46 Items