Visual Studio Color Theme Editor

Free

Allows users to customize the color palette used for menus, toolbars, tabs, title bars, and other environment colors.

(122) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (426,288)
8/20/2010
1.3
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (122)
Q and A (47)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Rich Prescott | September 02 2011

by Simon Jones [MSDL] | August 20 2011

by DatPham | August 16 2011

Thanks for this. :)

I normally have multiple instances of VS2010 running at the same time for each app layer (app server, UI ...etc...) Just wonder if it is possible to set theme for each window. Anyway, great stuff.

by İlkay Taşkıran | August 15 2011

Does Visual Studio 2008?

by Mr Yossu | August 04 2011

Excellent. Coupled with some themes I found around the 'net, this has given VS a new look, and make working much more pleasant!

by Gerix | July 29 2011

Excellent!

Between this and the productivity power tools I feel like I can finally work comfortably and effeciently in VS2010.

This kind of stuff may seem nitpicky but it really makes a difference.

by Shadow .Net | July 23 2011

beautiful plugin!!

by Mehmet YILDIZ | July 22 2011

useful

by Esref Durna | July 21 2011

very cool !

by Ugur ERDEM | July 19 2011

by YannDuran | July 17 2011

This is an excellent little utility! I'm not a particular fan of "dark" themes, so I was very pleased when this utility allowed me to choose a color scheme that was "lighter" than the default.

by shor6284 | July 07 2011

I think this is very good.How do you make something like im a pro at vb i work for apple and a little for microsoft.

by Dennis Hemken | July 06 2011

I like this Theme Editor!

by ROCKMAN ZERO | June 20 2011

very good! Thank you

by Adriano Sepe | June 18 2011

For those who work all day with visual studio, this type of configuration becomes very interesting. Congratulations!

by Ed Price - MSFT | June 04 2011

by Matthew Manela | May 27 2011

by mastermemorex | May 12 2011

It would be great if it is really available for the express edition. The dark default theme is ugly.

by alanmalik | May 04 2011

by Pengab21 | April 30 2011

Thank you so much! We just switched to VS10 at work and it was hurting my eyes!

41 - 60 of 122 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • fonts/styles/typefaces?
    1 Posts | Last post Wed 4:51 PM
    • This is an excellent tool!  The one thing it's lacking (in my opinion) is the ability to set fonts, styles, and typefaces.  For example, I like to have my keywords and data types in bold, but there's no way that I've seen in this tool that can do that.  Is there a way to do that, or is there another tool, or could it be added in the future?
  • Scrollbar VS2012 vs VS2013
    1 Posts | Last post February 11, 2014
    • When using the scrollbar Map Mode or Full Mode in VS2012 the scroll bar reflects the same colors.  In VS2013 it appears to use the default scheme.  Is there a way to get that working in 2013?
  • Support for isolated shell applications
    1 Posts | Last post November 19, 2013
    • Hi Matthew,
      
      I like very much your extension! I have a application based on VS2013 isolated shell.  I could change the manifest so it can be installed.  I can modify existing themes but I can't create a new one. The theme editor tries to write the new theme to the extension folder using "Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro" as the installation target and the extension manager raises an UnsupportedProductException.
      
      Would you kindly support the creation of custom themes in isolated shells?
      
      Best regards,
      
      -Martin
  • Insufficient memory to continue the execution of the program.
    1 Posts | Last post September 11, 2013
    • I seem to get that error most of the time I hit "Customize colors" menu item.
      
      Any suggestions on how to solve or even debug this?
  • Can't figure out what some items are
    1 Posts | Last post June 14, 2013
    • Hello,
      
      I can't seem to figure out what color is for the background of the Solution Explorer window, the designer window background, and the output window background/text. Anyone have any ideas if these are customizable? Thanks!
  • Where is the option to change the theme in vs2010 ?
    1 Posts | Last post May 08, 2013
    • I've installed the manager package.but i'm not getting the option to change the theme of vs2010.
      please, let me know the steps for changing the theme .
      Thanks !
  • Can we get this to work with SSMS 2012
    2 Posts | Last post April 12, 2013
    • Can we get this to work with SSMS 2012?
      
      http://blog.bagearon.com/2012/03/sql-server-management-studio-2012-color-themes-extension-support/comment-page-1/#comment-2528
    • Hi! try running ssms 2012 as administrator.
  • Name vs. Color? Which key/name color chances what?!
    2 Posts | Last post March 20, 2013
    • Hello,
      this question was asked befor, but noone gave an answer. if you select "show all" at the theme editor, you get more than 100 name/color... but which one is controlling what? is there a list for what each key stands for? can perhaps someone provide me with screenshots and the keynames there?
      
      thanks, mike.
    • That's a very good idea. Right now the only method to properly customize the theme is through trial and error, which is very frustrating. It would be a good idea if it were a screenshot available containing the description for each element, or even better, when you hover an element in the list it could be surrounded by a visible frame in the UI.
  • Settings for Output Window Text and Background
    1 Posts | Last post March 14, 2013
    • Hi Matthew,
      
      Firstly, thanks for the tool. Now using your tool I applied a Elite dark them from http://www.sharepoint.bg/radi/post/Pimp-Your-IDE-Visual-Studio-2010-Themes-and-Skins.aspx But now when I change the Output Window plain text foreground to Yellow and background to a shade of Dark Grey (from Tools -> Options -> Environment -> Fonts and Colors)and the background renders fine but the text goes black and is sort of highlighted in light grey background. I wonder if you could tell me what setting in your tool I could use to set the text color and background for Output Window? Thanks.
  • Pick up System colors?
    5 Posts | Last post December 09, 2012
    • This is a great extension, and I guess this is more a comment for the VS team. But I'm on XP, with a custom Windows Classic theme, and I hate it when apps decide to use their own color scheme. I wish that either VS or this extension had a way of reading my system colors and basing the scheme on that. I know that I can use this extension to go through one by one and adjust all the colors, and I guess I'll do that when I have an hour to spare, but I wish there were a simpler way.
    • There are some built-in themes, like the Windows Classic theme that uses the system colors. Would be nifty if this same concept could be applied to the new UI style though.
    • I'd also like an option to use current Windows theme colours.
    • How do you install this studid thing?
      
      When I run it, it installs in VS 2012 instead of 2012.
    • This extension is for Visual Studio 2010 only.  Downloading and double-clicking the VSIX file should prompt to install for Visual Studio 2010 (not 2012).  If that doesn't work I'd be curious to find out why, but as an alternative you can try opening Visual Studio 2010, going to Tools\Extension Manager, and searching from there for "color theme editor".  You should be able to find and install the extension from that dialog.
      
      If you're looking for the version that supports Visual Studio 2012 it's here: http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/366ad100-0003-4c9a-81a8-337d4e7ace05
1 - 10 of 47 Items