LightSwitch Extensibility Toolkit for Visual Studio 2012

Free

The toolkit provides project types for creating new LightSwitch Extension Libraries and includes templates for creating the following LightSwitch extensions: LightSwitch Business Type, LightSwitch Control, LightSwitch Data Source, LightSwitch Screen Template, LightSwitch She...

(2) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (25,596)
5/13/2013
2.0
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (2)
Q and A (8)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by ADefwebserver | October 03 2012

by Xpert360 | June 30 2012

I have run through the MSDN sample custom controls and business types and everything worked out fine. I have converted and tested our CRM data source extensions as well. Good job.

Sign in to start a discussion


  • Is it works with VS2013
    2 Posts | Last post November 05, 2013
    • Hello,
      
      I have a VS2012 project which use "LightSwitch Extensibility Toolkit for Visual Studio 2012". I would like to try with VS2013 published several hours ago.
      Can I install it to VS2013?
    • That version will only work with VS2012. Please use the new version that works with VS2013: http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/2d204191-90eb-4dfb-831f-cf31513cef06
  • How make it works in VS update 2
    3 Posts | Last post May 24, 2013
    • Since LightSwitch has upgrated to 3.0 that included in VS update 2. This tookit doesn't work when I created new LightSwitch extension project in VS update 2.
    • Hi NiceWk,
      
      You need to install the Visual Studio 2012 SDK before installing the LightSwitch Extensibility Toolkit. You can download it here:
      http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30668
      
      Then to install the toolkit:
      To install the LightSwitch Extensibility Toolkit:
      
      1. Extract the download (click on the exe and extract to a known location)
      2. Double click on Microsoft.LightSwitch.Toolkit.vsix 
      3. Copy the Microsoft.LightSwitch.Toolkit.targets file into:
         - For 32-bit systems: %ProgramFiles%\MSBuild\Microsoft\VisualStudio\LightSwitch\v2.0
         - For 64-bit systems: %ProgramFiles(x86)%\MSBuild\Microsoft\VisualStudio\LightSwitch\v2.0
      
      If you're having specific issues building an extension, please ask in the forum: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-us/lsextensibility/threads
      
      HTH,
      -Beth
    • Installing VS update 2 broke my (silverlight) Lightswitch application.  I have a RIA service class in the project in addition to give me more options to query data. I am able to use the data it provides until I update the data source in LS by modifying a property on a table from decimal to money. Once I do this all data access from the RiaService breaks.  Using Fiddler I found the error: Could not resolve reference property 'EntityProperty.PropertyType' with reference string 'Microsoft.LightSwitch.Extensions:Money' . Reason: 'NoItemMatched'.
      
      I followed the instructions posted here and reinstalled the Visual Studio 2012 SDK and the extentions toolkit. 
      I do see that the toolkit version listed above says 2.0 but in LS the extention shows 1.0
      
      I am pulling my hair out as I am unable to update my LS project!  Please help!
  • Cannot Install
    4 Posts | Last post March 08, 2013
    • I cannot install this extension, I always get this error:
      
      "
      Install Error : Microsoft.VisualStudio.ExtensionManager.MissingReferencesException: This extension cannot be installed because the following references are missing:
      - Microsoft Visual Studio SDK
      "
      
      I have vs2012 + update 1 + update 2 ctp2.
      
    • I forgot to mention that "vs2012 sdk" in installed too.
    • Me neither. I can't install it, i got an error "This extension is not installable on any currently installed products."
      PD. I have VS2012 SDK installed.
    • It seem the SDK installer I used was corrupted (e.g. there was no projects template under visual C# => extensibility). I re-downloaded the sdk from here:
      http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30668
      
      then uninstall sdk. then install the new one, that worked for me.
  • Problem with Screen template
    2 Posts | Last post August 22, 2012
    • Hi! I've trying to create a small project of the "Screen template extension" (as shown in http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh304432 ) but obtained only warnings and errors when compiling.
      Even if I try to compile "LightSwitch Screen Template Extension Sample for Visual Studio 2012" (from http://code.msdn.microsoft.com/LightSwitch-Screen-dcb81410 ), there are same errors.
      (my errors: http://pastebin.com/frZDpaCP )
      Please note: other samples for LightSwitch 2012 compiled without any problems(!!!).
      I tried to reinstall VS11, vs11 SDK, LightSwitch 2012 Toolkit, but it does not help.
      Am I alone with such problem?
    • sorry to bother, I've reposted my problem to http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/lsextensibility/thread/c273dd00-38c3-4dcf-b3ac-7497db27e324
  • Can't double click on VSIX as there's no file association
    1 Posts | Last post July 27, 2012
    • Hi, I have VS2012 RC and the VS SDK installed - following the read me in the download my system doesn't know what to do with the VSIX file extension. Can ayone help Ta!
  • Final Toolkit for VS2012 and HTML Client
    1 Posts | Last post June 30, 2012
    • In view of the differences between VS2012 RC public and the version in the HTML Client VHD, can you give an indication of the scale of changes to the toolkit and the likely impact on custom extension providers. (eg. the VHD has no advanced business types such as Money, Percent, WebAddress...).
      
      Are there any plans for new categories, even a Toolkit to produce a custom 'Client' or any specifically for the HTML Client?
      
      Many thanks
      Dave
  • Possible wrong link...
    1 Posts | Last post June 22, 2012
    • Hi,
      
      I posted on MSDN forums here: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/lsextensibility/thread/f7cd9f70-012e-4df9-8f55-b3576075f3b8/#f7cd9f70-012e-4df9-8f55-b3576075f3b8
      Please note last 'PS'-section of my post regarding the link I downloaded from and the link that was installed.
      
      Any help would be appreciated.
  • Lightswitch Extensibilty Toolkit prerequisites
    2 Posts | Last post April 06, 2012
    • I have Visual Studio LightSwitch 2011 Beta installed
      I dont have Visual Studio 2010 or 2011
      and so cant install Visual Studio 11 Beta SDK
      
      how does one enable LightSwitch extensibility 
      
      
    • You need to install VS11 beta and the VS11 SDK beta first. There is a very good overview of all the content on Beth Massi's blog so go and read it :)
      
      http://blogs.msdn.com/b/bethmassi/archive/2012/04/03/lightswitch-community-amp-content-rollup-march-2012.aspx