VSBuildStatus

Free

VSBuildStatusAddin is an add-in for Visual Studio 2005, 2008 and 2010 that displays the status of a build/clean/deploy operation.

(22) Review
Visual Studio
2010, 2008, 2005
Get now (17,345)
6/2/2010
1.3
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (22)
Q and A (16)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by AndyHardin | November 13 2012

by OfirMakmal | July 12 2012

Love it!
Work with the add-in for couple of years now.

Can you please add support for Visual Studio 2012?

by PatMcHargue | May 24 2012

Excellent way to see what's going on for solutions that contain may projects.

by Szabolcs Kurdi | May 11 2012

Works fine with VS2010-sp; a very nice addition, thank you.

by Stephen Tunney | May 09 2012

Epic Plugin! Thank you so much for showing me that I DO have time to drive down the street to get my starbucks while my code compiles.

Seriously, this is a VERY handy plugin!

by Mike Ward - Ann Arbor | January 02 2012

Nice extension

by PikachuEXE | July 18 2011

It is a great addin
But if the installation can be easier it would be better :)
Is it possible to create a script or batch to do it?

20110718:Tried to pack it as .vsi, but it won't allow more then one DLL

by nauman.r | July 08 2011

by Mikhail Brinchuk | November 18 2010

by Andy Hardin | November 02 2010

by AndrewJacksonZA | October 15 2010

Thank you for this really nice tool. IMHO this type of progress indication on which project still has to be built, is busy building and has finished building should have shipped with Visual Studio 2010 itself.

Thank you Mr. Bancila!

by Daniel Sack | October 08 2010

Hi,
Very nice AddIn.
Would be fine if the toolbar text can be hidden and only icons would be shown(Done, Failed, Pending, ...)
Br
Daniel

by Matthew M_ | September 02 2010

Terrific plugin - much improved over the standard VS Build Status window. Thank you!

by Thomas Freudenberg | June 04 2010

Nice Tool. But unfortunatly there is a more than 25 seconds delay after clicking on build, before the build actualy starts, on my System. It's a machine with VC10 Pro on Windows XP.

by opavlyshak | April 14 2010

by Lanvige Jiang | April 14 2010

by Bartłomiej Legiędź | January 04 2010

by Sylvain Dupuy | March 05 2009

Thank you for this cool add-in. That's something that was really missing in VS. However, a little remark, it does not work accurately with batch builds (at least under VS2005), all builds appear as canceled when we expect the add in to report success or failure of each project.

by cosmin.popescu | December 19 2008

Nice tool Cilu! This is really nice when you have very large solutions. It would be nice if you would be able to focus the error in the error list when you double click the failed project in the list / if it would show the last project error as a separate column / if it would show the number of errors.

1 - 20 of 22 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Will not install
    1 Posts | Last post February 26, 2014
    • For some reason I can't get the extension to install.
      
      I copied the VS2010 version to my local extensions folder (My Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Addins).
      The VSBuildStatus.addin file is visible next to my other addins.
      The VSBuildStatus folder is also there.
      I am using Windows 7 64-bit if that helps.
  • Sort columns
    1 Posts | Last post November 11, 2013
    • Hi,
      
      great plugin, thanks for sharing.
      
      Is there a way to sort the table?
      We have many projects in our solution and I'd like to see the remaining projects to be built at the top.
      I didn't see a link to codeplex or some other source hosting service so I assume the code is not available?
      
  • Crash in VS2012 on solution with many projects
    1 Posts | Last post June 19, 2013
    • Hi,
      If I activate this plugin in VS2012 on a big solution (~100 projects, ~50 loaded) vs (often, not always) crashes when building (out of memory, since it allocates memory till it crashes), but this doesn't always seems to happen.
  • Visual Studio 11 Beta support?
    3 Posts | Last post March 24, 2013
    • Hi, can you please add support for Visual Studio 11 Beta? Please? :)
    • And VS2012, really miss this plugin
    • Analog for VS2012 "BuildVision" http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/23d3c821-ca2d-4e1a-a005-4f70f12f77ba
  • Windows 8 support
    1 Posts | Last post January 30, 2013
    • Love this extension but it does not seem to work properly in Windows 8 (using VS2008). The progress is not appear on the task bar. It also causes VS to lock up for ~20 seconds on start-up.
  • Works for 2012 !
    2 Posts | Last post October 29, 2012
    • Simply edit the VSBuildStatusAddin.AddIn file in your 'My Documents\Visual Studio 2012\Addins' folder, and add 
      
      	<HostApplication>
      		<Name>Microsoft Visual Studio Macros</Name>
      		<Version>11.0</Version>
      	</HostApplication>
      	<HostApplication>
      		<Name>Microsoft Visual Studio</Name>
      		<Version>11.0</Version>
      	</HostApplication>
      
      after '<Extensiblity ...' line.
      
      And it works !
      
    • Thanx !
  • Problems with VS2010 RTM
    7 Posts | Last post March 19, 2012
    • Cool-looking add-in - I wish I could try it...
      
      I just tried this with VS2010 Premium RTM (Windows 7 x64).  When I start VS after installing the add-in, I get the following message:
      
      ==============
        The Add-in 'VSBuildStatus' failed to load or caused an exception.
      
        Error Message: <Unknown Error>
        Error number: 80131515
      ==============
      
    • Same here.
    • Same here for me.  Got the Pro Version.
    • Thank you guys for trying the add-in and for reporting the error. The bad thing is that I'm having two different machines (a PC and a laptop) with Windows 7 x64, running VS 2010 RTM, and I never encountered this problem, which makes it very hard to fix. I will try to use other machines to and see if I can reproduce and in that case debug it.
    • I am getting the above error message with version 1.3. Version 1.2 worked fine - same setup of VS2010 Pro, Win7.
    • The assembly is blocked on your machines, because it's downloaded from the internet and therefore unsecure. Right-click the dll, open Properties, and click Unblock at the bottom of the dialog.
    • I did the Unblock but I'm still getting the same problem.
  • Feature Request: Show warnings
    1 Posts | Last post October 28, 2011
    • This is a great plugin.  One thing that would be a nice addition would be for a yellow icon for projects with warnings.  Right now there is green for success and red for failed/error only.
      
      Also if this project is not being developed any longer (I have not seen any updates for over a year) then if the source code could be made available so others can contribute to the code, this would be great.
  • Feature Request: Hook up with MSBuild
    1 Posts | Last post January 06, 2011
    • I use MSBuild inside visual studio to fire my builds. 
      
      Why -> read here: http://www.hanselman.com/blog/FasterBuildsWithMSBuildUsingParallelBuildsAndMulticoreCPUs.aspx
      
      It'd be nice if your plugin could hook up to that and display build status.
  • Build duration
    2 Posts | Last post October 14, 2010
    • It's a pretty cool addin, thank you for sharing.
      I have one suggestion for improvement I'd like to see: please add a column for the build duration per project. Additionally it would be cool if the columns would be sortable.
      
      Best regards
      Thomas
    • I second that: tallying build time would be awesome!  The "Completed" column is nice, but an automatic calculation of how long each project took to compile would rock.  Great add-in, thank you!
1 - 10 of 16 Items