Mindscape Web Workbench

Free

Accelerate and simplify your Web development experience with Visual Studio integrated Sass, Less and CoffeeScript support

(72) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (197,155)
1/9/2014
3.2.1144.23109
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (72)
Q and A (25)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by M.Nellen-Schmitz | May 14 2012

Hello,
I use the Web Workbench for Less files.

As a suggestion for improvement I would have to be noted:
Every time you enter a new line in the Less, he opens the hidden parts of the file. This is disturbing! Otherwise, a really cool Adddon.

Mindscape Limited May 31 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Hi M.Nellen-Schmitz,

Thanks for the feedback. We're investigating the code collapsing issue. It's a bit of tricky one with the timing of things but we should be able to get it fixed up (since everything else with code collapsing seems to have it sorted!).

Thanks for your feedback.

by joe-wood | May 06 2012

VS11 support looks better now. Is intellisense for coffeescript planned? What about iced-coffeescript? Would be great if you could leverage the intellisense data used by VS's JavaScript parsing.

Mindscape Limited May 31 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Hi Joe,

Thanks for your feedback. We're investigating CoffeeScript intellisense support. Unfortunately we can't get away with just leveraging the VS JavaScript work so it's likely to be a big task. We'll see what we can do though.

I'm not sure if your query about iced-coffeescript was in relation to intellisense. On the chance you're wondering if we support IC, we do and you can turn that option on already.

I hope that helps!

by bPratik | May 03 2012

Mindscape Limited May 31 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the 5 star rating :-)

by exacrom | May 03 2012

A MUST for Web Designers that work with Visual Studio and want to keep their CSS organized and use the multiple capabilities that SASS syntax provides.

Mindscape Limited May 31 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the 5 star rating :-)

by Les_NZ | April 10 2012

Good idea, but we've found it to be very slow and essentially unusable on any non-trivial style sheet arrangement.

Mindscape Limited April 10 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Hi Les, that doesn't sound ideal! We have been working with Less/Sass/Coffee files that are thousands of lines long, merging 5 or more items so perhaps there's something particular to your environment?

Either way, we'd love to get it sorted so you could run with the product. Mind flicking an email to us? support AT mindscape.co.nz

Cheers!

by Cuinn Wylie | March 27 2012

Fantastic tool. Fantastic support. :-)

Mindscape Limited March 27 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Thank you for the kind words Cuinn, appreciate the 5 star rating!

by phillip.haydon | March 19 2012

Really awesome tool!

Mindscape Limited March 27 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks Phillip - glad you like it!!

by izepax | March 07 2012

Like to get highlight for .sass and .scss but in my case i will not have sass to compile my code. I will compile it using compass. If you cud add this option or if it's already there and hiding please tell and i will give 5 stars.

Mindscape Limited March 08 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Hi,

The option exists already :-) Make sure you've updated to the latest version and then in the menu bar go to "Mindscape" - "Web Workbench Options" and turn off "compile" for Sass files.

I hope that helps!

by Hainesy82 | March 07 2012

Aside from the annoying adverts, this actually started to fail on me and preventing me saving files. Took me ages to work out why I could no longer save .less files in Visual Studio until I de-activated this extension.

Mindscape Limited March 08 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Hi Hainesy82,

Not being able to save sounds very strange! If you're keen to work with the Web Workbench again please contact us through our website and w'ell work with you to make sure it works as it should! We haven't had others having issues like this so it's likely something specific to your environment but either way we want people to be happy!

by ver_bal | January 23 2012

Lacks ability to customize in a useful manner.

Mindscape Limited January 24 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Hi ver_bal - would you mind letting us know what you were looking to customize? Maybe it's already an option or perhaps it's something we can add for you.

by DalgaO | January 12 2012

Mindscape Limited January 15 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Thank you for the 5 star rating :-)

by Ben Barreth | December 13 2011

Easy install and I love having the compiled JS open in an alternate window and seeing my coffeescript changes compiled and updated immediately on save. Seamless integration with VS and I don't even notice it's there. Great work!

Mindscape Limited December 19 2011
| Edit |
Delete

Thank you for the kind words and 5 star rating :-)

by Michael R Fowler | November 01 2011

I want so badly to keep this installed, but the autocompletion on CSS values is making it near impossible to use. Any way to turn autocomplete off entirely for Sass?

Mindscape Limited November 03 2011
| Edit |
Delete

Absolutely - go into Tools -> Options -> Bottom of the list should be 'Web Workbench'. You can turn off intellisense there.

We are planning to improve this area as we are aware it's a bit over zealous in some areas and sometimes just outright wrong. Sorry about that but do know it's on our radar to improve.

by tnh-danghm | November 01 2011

Free edition doesn't compile LESS but it still create CSS files. Its very weird and annoying me since it conflic with other LESS compile tools. May you have a option to turn it off?

Mindscape Limited November 03 2011
| Edit |
Delete

The new version just released will NOT try and generate .css files from LESS files.

If you already have files, please right click on the LESS file, go to Properties, and delete the value in the 'CustomTool' property so that it is blank. This will stop generation from occurring (you may need to delete the .css file also).

by jcliff | November 01 2011

The previous Freeware version was extremely valuable for SCSS and LESS editting, but later versions becoming "Nagware" has made Web Workbench just too annoying to use.


I sincerely appreciated the original tool, but have had to de-install :(


I now urge Mindscape to do one of two things:

a) Remove the Nagware entirely from the "free" version
b) Be HONEST in Gallery/Nuget and other decriptions of the add-in and classify it as Nagware so people can avoid annoying install/de-install cycles.


This scenario reminds me of what happened with .NET Reflector which ultimately turned into a simple bait-and-switch - an activity that only gives a bad feeling about the parent company's future intentions with all products in their portfolio.

by Benjii.Me | October 21 2011

Great plugin guys, although can you please create a setting to toggle the intellisense on and off. I find it just gets in the way when using nested css.

EDIT: Thanks guys for fixing my problem, it works like a charm now :)

Mindscape Limited November 03 2011
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks! :-)

by Carsten Hoffmann | October 11 2011

Great thank you very much for this, this has been missing for me! First impression is great. Everything seems to work as expected.
It would be very nice (->Feature Request) if there would be some kind of document structure view (like in original CSS).
PS: Why do people complain about regular updates? That is plain crazy...

Edit: After using this for nearly two days, I have to review my comment and rating. I really still like the plugin. But for my project (1200 LOC), the syntax highlighting seems to work too slow. (This seems to be a known issue?) I can feel the delay between every keystroke and the time it appears. I hope you can prioritize the performance issues.
Bug: If i type a Word. the intellisense does provide me with an autocomplete option. If I type some more letters, and the word does not match anymore, the item gets deselected (it was highlighted before, now it is only bordered). If I hit enter now, the item still overwrites my typed word. Maybe you can look into that?

I use the version from today (2.0.332.18684) Keep up the good work. I will go pro, if the performance is at an acceptable level.

Mindscape Limited November 03 2011
| Edit |
Delete

The first drop of 2.0 included a big set of performance improvements. Then we started to get feedback that performance was still an issue with even larger files. A release made today should help address these concerns even more.

Keep us posted on if you're still having issues.

Thanks!

by Christer Kolterjahn | October 05 2011

I'm using Sass and CoffeeScript so I was really happy to find this.

However - after using it a week it started to crash every time I try to save a Sass file.

Without the crashes it was a 5 star tool, but now it's only a 3 star.

Mindscape Limited October 05 2011
| Edit |
Delete

Could you report the issue to us on our site forum? Certainly don't want it crashing on folks and it would be great for one of the developers to work with you to resolve the problem for you.

by Hedgic | September 21 2011

Very nice plugin, but for script of 250 lines works so slow that becomes unusable :(

Mindscape Limited October 11 2011
| Edit |
Delete

We have resolved this - we swapped to the super fast Google V8 JavaScript engine and have had great feedback on the performance improvements. Grab the latest version to try it yourself!

by massive-geek | September 16 2011

Mindscape Limited November 03 2011
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the 5 star rating!

41 - 60 of 72 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Latest update generates error
    1 Posts | Last post October 14, 2013
    • Since I've updated to the latest version of Mindscape Web Workbench, I get an error when creating the css files. So now I have no styling anymore...
      
      /* System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception (0x80004005): The system cannot find the file specified
         at System.Diagnostics.Process.StartWithCreateProcess(ProcessStartInfo startInfo)
         at System.Diagnostics.Process.Start()
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.CustomTool.ExternalCommandBase.Execute(String customToolFolder)
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.Compilation.ScssCompiler.CompileCore(String scss, String sourceFilePath, String rootPath, IEnumerable`1 additionalPaths, ICompilationSettings settings, ICompilerContext context, CompilationResult result)
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.Compilation.CompilerWithMinification.Compile(String text, String sourceFilePath, String rootPath, IEnumerable`1 additionalPaths, ICompilationSettings settings, ICompilerContext context, CompilationResult result) */
  • Debugging CoffeeScript
    1 Posts | Last post August 21, 2013
    • There is more detailed post at http://www.mindscapehq.com/forums/thread/1082351 , but no-one at Mindscape seems to care about it.
      
      Short version: running latest Web Workbench 3.2.972.22809 (free version) CoffeeScript debugging is pretty difficult, as breakpoints are either not highlighted, or highlighted wrongly.
  • sass_dir and css_dir
    1 Posts | Last post June 18, 2013
    • If I want to keep my scss files in more than one folder, can I set sass_dir in config.rb to more than one folder?
      
      This wouldn't be that helpful unless I could link the output folder to the source folder in some way, but this is controlled by css_dir.
      
      Is there any reason to not use the same folder for both?
  • Latest build doesn't work with SASS files
    4 Posts | Last post May 23, 2013
    • Using the bundled ruby installation doesn't generate .css files out of .scss files.
      
      Pointing to to ruby folder (C:\Ruby200-x64\bin or C:\Ruby200-x64\bin\ruby.exe or C:\Ruby200-x64\bin\rubyw.exe) generates .css file with the following message in it:
      
      ===============================================
      /* System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception (0x80004005): The system cannot find the file specified
         at System.Diagnostics.Process.StartWithCreateProcess(ProcessStartInfo startInfo)
         at System.Diagnostics.Process.Start()
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.CustomTool.ExternalCommandBase.Execute(String customToolFolder)
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.Compilation.CompassCompiler.CompileCore(String text, String sourceFilePath, String rootPath, IEnumerable`1 additionalPaths, ICompilationSettings settings, ICompilerContext context, CompilationResult result)
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.Compilation.CompilerWithMinification.Compile(String text, String sourceFilePath, String rootPath, IEnumerable`1 additionalPaths, ICompilationSettings settings, ICompilerContext context, CompilationResult result) */
      =============================================== 
      
      Has no effect on .sass files. Doesn't generate .css at all.
    • I'm having the same problem.
      you able to solve?
    • Does this thread help?
      
      Hi Hrusi & Riderman,
      
      http://www.mindscapehq.com/forums/thread/631361
      
      Usually posting on the Mindscape forum will get a faster result since the developers typically answer on there. 
      
      I hope that helps!
    • I solve this problem!
      
      1) Yon need install Ruby 193 to folder C:\Ruby193 or you can get archve from C:\Users\Kenji\AppData\Local\Temp\Mindscape\WebWorkbench\Ruby193
      
      2) In VS open Tools-> Options-> Web Workbench and type "Ruby installation path" as C:\Ruby193\bin
      
      Important! C:\Ruby193\bin must include files compass and compass.bat 
  • Version 3.2.837.22573 doesn't work with SASS files
    2 Posts | Last post April 29, 2013
    • Hi,
      
      First of all, thank you for making this great extension.
      I just got the latest Mindscape update version 3.2.837.22573 but it gives me the following errors in the css file that SASS produces.
      /* System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception (0x80004005): The system cannot find the file specified
         at System.Diagnostics.Process.StartWithCreateProcess(ProcessStartInfo startInfo)
         at System.Diagnostics.Process.Start()
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.CustomTool.ExternalCommandBase.Execute(String customToolFolder)
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.Compilation.ScssCompiler.CompileCore(String scss, String sourceFilePath, String rootPath, IEnumerable`1 additionalPaths, ICompilationSettings settings, ICompilerContext context, CompilationResult result)
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.Compilation.CompilerWithMinification.Compile(String text, String sourceFilePath, String rootPath, IEnumerable`1 additionalPaths, ICompilationSettings settings, ICompilerContext context, CompilationResult result) */
      
      Any ideas?
    • Hi Handitan,
      
      Have you checked this thread? 
      
      http://www.mindscapehq.com/forums/thread/631361
      
      Usually posting on the Mindscape forum will get a faster result since the developers typically answer on there. 
      
      I hope that helps!
  • Why this installation keeps asking for a licence key?
    1 Posts | Last post February 09, 2013
    • I downloaded the free version and it still won't run as it asks for a licence key? I do not want to buy any pro versions, I need Workbench only for a class I'm attending...Why is this download done so misleading? Can someone guide me to where I can download the real FREE Workbench???? Thanks in advance
  • Sass can´t compile
    1 Posts | Last post December 20, 2012
    • After the recently update I am starting to get these errors when working on a .scss
      
      
      /* System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception (0x80004005): The system cannot find the file specified
         at System.Diagnostics.Process.StartWithCreateProcess(ProcessStartInfo startInfo)
         at System.Diagnostics.Process.Start()
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.CustomTool.ExternalCommandBase.Execute(String customToolFolder)
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.Compilation.ScssCompiler.CompileCore(String scss, String sourceFilePath, String rootPath, IEnumerable`1 additionalPaths, ICompilationSettings settings, ICompilerContext context, CompilationResult result)
         at Mindscape.VisualSass.Integration.Compilation.CompilerWithMinification.Compile(String text, String sourceFilePath, String rootPath, IEnumerable`1 additionalPaths, ICompilationSettings settings, ICompilerContext context, CompilationResult result) */
  • Slow formatting/redraw
    1 Posts | Last post December 18, 2012
    • In an 1800 line LESS file, I am noticing that all coloring/formatting is being applied for every single keystroke causing the editing experience to be very slow.   It seem like there should be a timer to not do all the coloring until there is an N millisecond pause in keystrokes.
  • Support for VS12 Web Express
    2 Posts | Last post August 16, 2012
    • Quick and easy: will there be support for VS12 Web Express?
    • Sadly not - Microsoft don't allow extensions in the Express editions :-( We wish they did -- it's outside our control unfortunately.
  • Version 3.2.400.21116 | Less syntax messed up
    3 Posts | Last post August 16, 2012
    • Hi,
      
      I came back from a 2 week holiday last monday and say an update for the Web Workbench, so I installed it.
      But now stuff started happening which is really annoying me:
      - Syntax highlighting for nested rules is messed up: http://kipusoep.nl/1.png
          The first line with a { } is wrong, the second line is good
      - Syntax highlighting for variables is broken: http://kipusoep.nl/2.png (first line)
      - Less comments breaks the syntax highlighting for the rest of the page: http://kipusoep.nl/2.png (lines 3 - 5)
      - Pressing the enter key in various situations leads to unwanted behavior
          - Look at the cursor in this screenshot: http://kipusoep.nl/2.png
              When I press the enter key on that spot, this happens: http://kipusoep.nl/3.png
          - Take a look at these screenshots: http://kipusoep.nl/4.png
              The first arrow arrows means 'Pressing the enter key'. The second arrow means 'Pressing the } key followed by the enter key'. It's just completely confused it seems.
    • Hi Kipus0ep,
      
      Thanks for the feedback -- I'll just note that Jeremy will be helping you over on our forum (we get better notifications there so usually use that). Quickly though, we can't reproduce this behaviour so Jeremy will probably need to get some additional information from you.
    • Problem solved: http://www.mindscapehq.com/forums/thread/385341#385689
1 - 10 of 25 Items