MultiEditing

Free

Simultaneously edit in more than one location in the editor If you've ever ran into a case where you wanted to quickly change variable names or multiple loop conditions - you can use Multi-Edit to set virtual carets that all behave the same.

(72) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012
Download (24,844)
12/18/2013
1.6
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (72)
Q and A (14)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Brian Lowe | February 18 2013

Excellent! This is one of the things I'm used to in Sublime Text 2. Now there's one less reason to keep another editor up.

A week on and I'm falling out of love with this. All is well while I'm doing simple stuff, but as soon as I type an open parenthesis ( or anything else VS reckons to understand as something that needs a matching closer such as a quote " VS kicks in and adds in the closer only to one of my many carets, or it may provide autocomplete for a single instance. It wouldn't be so bad if, when it had dropped my multiple carets to perform the autocomplete it carried on with a single instance - at least then I'd be able to go back to the others and continue - maybe one at a time. As it is I get autocomplete on one caret but then continue on multiple carets out of sync.

Sublime Text 2 manages to implement its autocomplete on all instances.

Ala Shiban February 18 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Yes, that will break the illusion. I am trying to look at various ways to have a more complete multi-caret experience through the extension.

by CADbloke | February 16 2013

Nice! Notepad++ does this with the Ctrl key. Oh the dissonance! I'll cope. Thanks for writing this.

by poindexter01 | February 14 2013

Awesome tool! This is a great little addition. Thanks for putting this together for us.

by Kyle Trauberman | February 13 2013

This feature should have been a part of VS out of the box. Great add on! Thank you!

Ala Shiban February 13 2013
| Edit |
Delete

You're more than welcome. Go ahead and vote on this if you want to see it in the product: http://visualstudio.uservoice.com/forums/121579-visual-studio/suggestions/3649766-add-simultaneous-multi-caret-editing-to-visual-stu

by Tomas1229 | February 12 2013

Great addition to Visual Studio. Would love first class functionality like search and edit, or shift+tab while in multicaret mode.

Ala Shiban February 13 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Shift Tab now works in v1.2. Let me know if it works out

by torerikk | February 12 2013

by Balázs Szántó | February 12 2013

Brilliant!

by Shreedhar Kotekar | February 12 2013

This is awesome. Once you get used to it, you wonder why it was built-in in the first place.

Highly recommended

by derekerdmann | February 11 2013

Brilliant extension - works perfectly with VsVim too!

by leekelleher | February 11 2013

by Andre.Ziegler | February 10 2013

by Zachary Northrup MSFT | February 10 2013

by NateClark | February 09 2013

Very helpful. Sometimes a really cool text edit feature is just what you need to make the required changes.

by Tobias Zürcher | February 08 2013

please merge into VS main branch :)

by Tarek Ayna - appSmarts.com | February 08 2013

Great! Really useful power tool.

by TomMathias | February 08 2013

by Zedzedzed | February 08 2013

Very neat. Another tool for the toolbox :-)

by jrhutch00 | February 08 2013

One problem I noticed, if I select the same position multiple times when I start typing it duplicates the ever key I press at that location. Ideally you'd be able to un-select a location, but even it just ignored the second selection it would help.

Thanks for creating this, It's a 5-star product even with that bug. I'm looking forward to updates.

Ala Shiban February 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

I have plans to address this in an update (remove "duplicate carets" when they intersect.

If you like it, spread the love and share it with friends :)

by JPudd | February 08 2013

Very cool tool. Would never have thought of it!

Thanks

by Meierotto | February 08 2013

21 - 40 of 72 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • alt drag conflict with default behavior
    4 Posts | Last post September 10, 2013
    • when i alt drag over a couple of lines i have the following problem:
      all my actions are executed twice
      
      this is probably because visual studio supports the same feature.
      Can anyone confirm this bug?
      
      example: http://pbrd.co/16QQPE5
    • I'm also getting the same bug.
      
    • I just submitted a patch to fix this
    • I just uploaded a new version with Xavier's fixes
  • Installation issue
    1 Posts | Last post August 02, 2013
    • I'm getting a popup: "The extension manifest is invalid."
      windows 7
      VS 2012 Ultimate Update 3
  • Installation Issue
    1 Posts | Last post August 01, 2013
    • VSIX Installer - Error
      
      "This extension is already installed to all available products"
      
      Windows 7
      Visual Studio 2012 Pro Update 3
      
  • Multiple select?
    1 Posts | Last post July 03, 2013
    • First of all, thanks a lot for your great work on this plugin :)
      
      In Sublime Text, I can hold Ctrl, select multiple texts, and start typing to overwrite all instances at once. 
      
      1. Is this possible with MultiEditing plugin? If so, how?
      2. If not, any plans to implement this?
      
      Thanks again for the awesome plugin :)
  • Upgraded to Windows 8 and now JavaScript files aren't working
    13 Posts | Last post June 29, 2013
    • Great tool Ala!
      
      I've been using it ever since V1.0 and I love it! But now I got a new computer with Windows 8 on it and now for some reason MultiEditing only works in C# files. Have you had anyone else with this problem? 
      
      I uninstalled all other extensions to see if that was breaking it and I was still seeing the same behavior. 
    • Mmmm, nop - I can ask around and look into why this might be happening. I just open sourced the code, so you can try and debug it: https://github.com/AlaShiban/MultiEdit
    • I can confirm the issue.  I am also having issues on file types other than CS.  JS, CSS, VB files don't seem to work.  I doubt this has anything to do with it, but I'm on Windows 7 x64.  I'm using VS 2012.2.
    • Thanks Ala, I'll take a look at the source and try to figure out what's wrong. If I can find it and fix it, I'll make a pull request.
    • Thanks John! That'll be awesome
    • So a friend of mine had version 1.2 installed and after upgrading to 1.3 the extension stopped working in all files except for C#. So that is the most likely culprit right now.
      
      I downloaded the source and through the debugger I saw that on the C# text editor was getting the left mouse click events. The other files were however receiving the other commands correctly.
      
      TBH I'm not 100% sure how the Exec function ties into the text editors events. It seems like everything gets wired up properly except for the left click event.
      
      Any ideas?
    • Hey John - Didn't have enough time to look into it yet. Keep me posted if you discover something before I do
    • Having same issue as John, only works in C# bits. Any way I can help debug this?
    • Source code is available here: https://github.com/AlaShiban/MultiEdit
    • This tool is just what I have been looking for for AGES. Who knows how many hours of tedious nonsense I would have saved myself from if VS had ever had this functionality. Unfortunately, I am also running into the problem where it will only work with C# files. Are there any known tweaks/fixes for this problem yet? I mainly work with C++ and would love to be able to use it with that.
      
      Cheers
    • I looked into the issue and it seems to be a command routing issue (something is getting before me in processing the events)
      I'm trying to figure out if there's a workaround.
      
      As for saving time with the functionality - I'd love us to build stuff when their missing. (That's why I posted the source)
      
      I work on the Editor and we have exciting stuff coming, but in most cases, there'll always be a feature someone needs - and in that case - Build and share <3
      
      I'll keep trying to figure out a way around the bug
    • their -> they're :)
    • Alright folks! We have support for all languages thanks to Xavier Poinas! Enjoy 1.5+
  • VB Autocompletion
    2 Posts | Last post May 22, 2013
    • Hi Ala Shiban.
      First of all, the tool is very good and should be a std feature of the editor.
      I have found a little problem related to the interaction of the Visual Basic editor Autocompletion features with your tool.
      
      If you could check it for the next releases it would be great!
      
      Here and example:
      1. Start
      
      Me.TotalAmountTextBox
      Me.NumberTextBox
      Me.CustomerOrderTextBox
      
      2. Select the end of the 3 rows and start typing "databindings...."
      3. The result:
      
              Me.TotalAmountTextBox.d(a)tabindings("Text").nullvalue=string.empty
              Me.NumberTextBox.d(a)tabindings("Text").nullvalue=string.empty
              Me.CustomerOrderTextBox.d(a)tabindings("Text").nullvalue=string.empty
      
      thank you very much
      Alberto
       
    • Would love to get some help here:
      https://github.com/AlaShiban/MultiEdit
  • Paste support
    2 Posts | Last post May 16, 2013
    • Great tool; simple and fast.
      
      One suggestion is adding support for paste.
      
      Most of the times I already copied the text I want to insert on multi locations defined by your tool. But when pasting (Ctrl V or right-click paste) it will only only insert on the last location.
      
      Oh and there's no link to here in the Extensions window in VS.
      
      Keep up the great work.
    • Pasting is now supported on 1.3+
  • Sublime - Ctrl+d
    2 Posts | Last post April 08, 2013
    • Great idea though selecting with the mouse is a bit slow.
      
      Please take a look at Sublimetext http://www.sublimetext.com - it's very easy to select with Ctrl+d and split a selection with ctrl+shift+l.
      
      Could you add something similar?
    • Hey Chris, I'll try getting around to it - I'm planning on open-sourcing my code so people can learn and contribute to it.
  • The extension manifest is invalid
    3 Posts | Last post March 06, 2013
    • When I try to install this Addon I keep getting an error that says "The extension manifest is invalid", I have Visual Studio 2012 Premium :\
    • ok it worked fine when I installed it from inside Visual Studio, but when I press download here and double-click on it, it gives that error.
    • Ok I figure it out, it's because of a problem I have with the Visual Studio version selector (I have VS 2010's version selector even though I have VS 2012 installed!), you can safetly ignore this :)
  • Is it possible to add SyncEdit mode?
    6 Posts | Last post March 01, 2013
    • http://www.skorkin.com/2011/06/how-to-implement-the-sync-edit-feature-from-delphi-ide-inside-visual-studio-ide-using-dxcore/#.URMV7idqnwk
      
      It is more intuitive to automatically select items instead of asking users to manually select.
    • Hey Lex - I want the MultiEdit extension to do one thing really well (I still have to polish it more), and nothing else. My guess is that SyncEdit is doable , it could be a good exercise for you to write your own extension (and share it with the world)
      
      I'm writing a tutorial on how to create extensions like MultiEdit, would that be interesting for you?
    • Yes the tutorial would be nice. 
    • Such a tutorial would be very welcome
    • A tutorial would be very interesting. 
    • Check out http://www.alashiban.com/multi-editing-tutorial/ - It's still being modified and tuned (comments would be great). The implementation for this extension is very different, but this gives an idea on how to create editor extensions
1 - 10 of 14 Items