MultiEditing

Free

Simultaneously edit in more than one location in the editor If you've ever ran into a case where you wanted to quickly change variable names or multiple loop conditions - you can use Multi-Edit to set virtual carets that all behave the same.

(73) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012
Download (27,306)
12/18/2013
1.6
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (73)
Q and A (14)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Meierotto | February 08 2013

by jcbarton | February 08 2013

by Matthew Johnson [MSFT] | February 07 2013

by Ricardo Corral | February 07 2013

Just brilliant!

Edit - I discovered this tool in Scott Hanselman's blog.

by cjperry1 | February 07 2013

Wow, this should be functionality built right into VS. Excellent extension!

by Hassan-LT | February 07 2013

by Dan Rigby | February 07 2013

by fuzzzerd | February 07 2013

Very cool. Glad to see it. It is little helper features like this that really add to the total productivity capacity of a product like Visual Studio. Would love to see this baked in to the product.

Would like to see support for Express editions, but that is not the fault of the extension.

by Max Rubinstein | February 07 2013

by danwkennedy | February 07 2013

by SpencerGR | February 07 2013

Where have you been all my life! :)

I've always been surprised that VS didn't already have this type of functionality. ReSharper got me most of the way there with Multi Selection, but now I have Multi Point Selection and I'm a happy camper!!

Excellent Job!

by Walt Daniels | February 07 2013

Very nice feature, unfortunately after installing my editor became unusably slow. I would type a line of code and "watch" it come across like an old-tyme teletype machine. Uninstalled.

by udm5200 | February 07 2013

Very useful. Thanks for releasing this tool!

by Toni Petrina | February 07 2013

Simple and quite useful extension for quick refactoring. :)

Good job

by Piggy | February 07 2013

Very good job! Very useful!

Thank you very much.

Alberto

by Michael D Cuesta | February 07 2013

by Ingo Gambin | February 07 2013

Yay! Finally. Great JOB!
Still missing multiedit support for 'enter'-key some automation insert would be cool like
ctrl+alt+1 : insert increasing numbers atselected places 1 2 3 4 ... ctrl+alt+0 : do the same starting with 0 1 2 3 ...
ctrl+alt+a : do it with letters a b c d ...
maybe even add some config menu where you can define your own lists
ctrl+alt+w : mon tue wed thu fri sat sun
... just remembering one of those very cool gedit plugins that exists for ages :-)

Ala Shiban February 07 2013
| Edit |
Delete

I pushed an update for 'Enter' - it should work now

by SeanNewham | February 07 2013

I thought it wouldn't be very useful (after all I'm using a refactoring tool), but actually still awesome.

by Roby075 | February 07 2013

Great tool!!

by MelchiorCorgie | February 07 2013

Rated 5 stars just for the intention, as this is a feature I've missed in VS since I began to work with Sublime Text. Unfortunately, I'm still a 2010 person, so I couldn't try it, but maybe my employer will finally upgrade to 2012 when they see this!

41 - 60 of 73 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • alt drag conflict with default behavior
    4 Posts | Last post September 10, 2013
    • when i alt drag over a couple of lines i have the following problem:
      all my actions are executed twice
      
      this is probably because visual studio supports the same feature.
      Can anyone confirm this bug?
      
      example: http://pbrd.co/16QQPE5
    • I'm also getting the same bug.
      
    • I just submitted a patch to fix this
    • I just uploaded a new version with Xavier's fixes
  • Installation issue
    1 Posts | Last post August 02, 2013
    • I'm getting a popup: "The extension manifest is invalid."
      windows 7
      VS 2012 Ultimate Update 3
  • Installation Issue
    1 Posts | Last post August 01, 2013
    • VSIX Installer - Error
      
      "This extension is already installed to all available products"
      
      Windows 7
      Visual Studio 2012 Pro Update 3
      
  • Multiple select?
    1 Posts | Last post July 03, 2013
    • First of all, thanks a lot for your great work on this plugin :)
      
      In Sublime Text, I can hold Ctrl, select multiple texts, and start typing to overwrite all instances at once. 
      
      1. Is this possible with MultiEditing plugin? If so, how?
      2. If not, any plans to implement this?
      
      Thanks again for the awesome plugin :)
  • Upgraded to Windows 8 and now JavaScript files aren't working
    13 Posts | Last post June 29, 2013
    • Great tool Ala!
      
      I've been using it ever since V1.0 and I love it! But now I got a new computer with Windows 8 on it and now for some reason MultiEditing only works in C# files. Have you had anyone else with this problem? 
      
      I uninstalled all other extensions to see if that was breaking it and I was still seeing the same behavior. 
    • Mmmm, nop - I can ask around and look into why this might be happening. I just open sourced the code, so you can try and debug it: https://github.com/AlaShiban/MultiEdit
    • I can confirm the issue.  I am also having issues on file types other than CS.  JS, CSS, VB files don't seem to work.  I doubt this has anything to do with it, but I'm on Windows 7 x64.  I'm using VS 2012.2.
    • Thanks Ala, I'll take a look at the source and try to figure out what's wrong. If I can find it and fix it, I'll make a pull request.
    • Thanks John! That'll be awesome
    • So a friend of mine had version 1.2 installed and after upgrading to 1.3 the extension stopped working in all files except for C#. So that is the most likely culprit right now.
      
      I downloaded the source and through the debugger I saw that on the C# text editor was getting the left mouse click events. The other files were however receiving the other commands correctly.
      
      TBH I'm not 100% sure how the Exec function ties into the text editors events. It seems like everything gets wired up properly except for the left click event.
      
      Any ideas?
    • Hey John - Didn't have enough time to look into it yet. Keep me posted if you discover something before I do
    • Having same issue as John, only works in C# bits. Any way I can help debug this?
    • Source code is available here: https://github.com/AlaShiban/MultiEdit
    • This tool is just what I have been looking for for AGES. Who knows how many hours of tedious nonsense I would have saved myself from if VS had ever had this functionality. Unfortunately, I am also running into the problem where it will only work with C# files. Are there any known tweaks/fixes for this problem yet? I mainly work with C++ and would love to be able to use it with that.
      
      Cheers
    • I looked into the issue and it seems to be a command routing issue (something is getting before me in processing the events)
      I'm trying to figure out if there's a workaround.
      
      As for saving time with the functionality - I'd love us to build stuff when their missing. (That's why I posted the source)
      
      I work on the Editor and we have exciting stuff coming, but in most cases, there'll always be a feature someone needs - and in that case - Build and share <3
      
      I'll keep trying to figure out a way around the bug
    • their -> they're :)
    • Alright folks! We have support for all languages thanks to Xavier Poinas! Enjoy 1.5+
  • VB Autocompletion
    2 Posts | Last post May 22, 2013
    • Hi Ala Shiban.
      First of all, the tool is very good and should be a std feature of the editor.
      I have found a little problem related to the interaction of the Visual Basic editor Autocompletion features with your tool.
      
      If you could check it for the next releases it would be great!
      
      Here and example:
      1. Start
      
      Me.TotalAmountTextBox
      Me.NumberTextBox
      Me.CustomerOrderTextBox
      
      2. Select the end of the 3 rows and start typing "databindings...."
      3. The result:
      
              Me.TotalAmountTextBox.d(a)tabindings("Text").nullvalue=string.empty
              Me.NumberTextBox.d(a)tabindings("Text").nullvalue=string.empty
              Me.CustomerOrderTextBox.d(a)tabindings("Text").nullvalue=string.empty
      
      thank you very much
      Alberto
       
    • Would love to get some help here:
      https://github.com/AlaShiban/MultiEdit
  • Paste support
    2 Posts | Last post May 16, 2013
    • Great tool; simple and fast.
      
      One suggestion is adding support for paste.
      
      Most of the times I already copied the text I want to insert on multi locations defined by your tool. But when pasting (Ctrl V or right-click paste) it will only only insert on the last location.
      
      Oh and there's no link to here in the Extensions window in VS.
      
      Keep up the great work.
    • Pasting is now supported on 1.3+
  • Sublime - Ctrl+d
    2 Posts | Last post April 08, 2013
    • Great idea though selecting with the mouse is a bit slow.
      
      Please take a look at Sublimetext http://www.sublimetext.com - it's very easy to select with Ctrl+d and split a selection with ctrl+shift+l.
      
      Could you add something similar?
    • Hey Chris, I'll try getting around to it - I'm planning on open-sourcing my code so people can learn and contribute to it.
  • The extension manifest is invalid
    3 Posts | Last post March 06, 2013
    • When I try to install this Addon I keep getting an error that says "The extension manifest is invalid", I have Visual Studio 2012 Premium :\
    • ok it worked fine when I installed it from inside Visual Studio, but when I press download here and double-click on it, it gives that error.
    • Ok I figure it out, it's because of a problem I have with the Visual Studio version selector (I have VS 2010's version selector even though I have VS 2012 installed!), you can safetly ignore this :)
  • Is it possible to add SyncEdit mode?
    6 Posts | Last post March 01, 2013
    • http://www.skorkin.com/2011/06/how-to-implement-the-sync-edit-feature-from-delphi-ide-inside-visual-studio-ide-using-dxcore/#.URMV7idqnwk
      
      It is more intuitive to automatically select items instead of asking users to manually select.
    • Hey Lex - I want the MultiEdit extension to do one thing really well (I still have to polish it more), and nothing else. My guess is that SyncEdit is doable , it could be a good exercise for you to write your own extension (and share it with the world)
      
      I'm writing a tutorial on how to create extensions like MultiEdit, would that be interesting for you?
    • Yes the tutorial would be nice. 
    • Such a tutorial would be very welcome
    • A tutorial would be very interesting. 
    • Check out http://www.alashiban.com/multi-editing-tutorial/ - It's still being modified and tuned (comments would be great). The implementation for this extension is very different, but this gives an idea on how to create editor extensions
1 - 10 of 14 Items