Visual Studio 2012 Color Theme Editor

Microsoft Free

Allows users to create and edit Visual Studio themes. Themes can customize colors used for menus, toolbars, tabs, titlebars, the text editor, and other environment colors.

Microsoft
(224) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (506,379)
9/21/2013
2.3
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (224)
Q and A (103)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by YvonneNeuland | March 07 2014

I absolutely love this add-on. I like to set all the different text editor font settings to different colors so that I can instantly recognize what each piece of code is at a glance. The built in options menu let you do this, but it was a total pain and took forever. With this add-on, it is a breeze. I love it.

by LeonardoBute | February 05 2014

I'm desperate.
Is there a way, an add-on, that let me change that FUCKY, SHITTY "old-style" CGA-like button ??
I want the "old" office 2010 style where folder icons where Yellow and the we could see better what there was inside a "button".

It's unbelievable that users HAVE to use "non standard" and "non offical" method to use this product.
Thanks to non-profit users we can continue to work with this product that while it has been improved a lot , it has became worste in grafic aspects and icons (HORRIBLE, SHITTY, UGLY .....).
Was it too difficult to give the user the opportunity to change the theme back to the well known and clear themes,grafic, icons .. etc ?
Was it too difficult the made this ?
People could choose if using the new shitty aspect or the "old" one.
It's called "metro-ui" ... i call it "UNDERGROUND-UI".
"Visual studio 2012/2013 for the blindness peoples......
it doesn't help to avoid...it makes us become !!!".
PS: The same is for Office 2013 ......

It makes me laugh a lot thinking that MS payed also a lot designers to achieve this UGLY result !!!!
HORRIBLE !!!

by nossie | November 21 2013

THANK YOU MICROSOFT FOR FINALLY GIVING ME THE PUSH I NEEDED TO LEARN JAVA AND ECLIPSE. I WAS FAR TOO COMFORTABLE. DEALING WITH MICROSOFT FOR RELEASING APPS ON THE MARKET PLACE AND NOW THIS DIABOLICAL SKIN IN STUDIO MADE IT SIMPLY UNBEARABLE TO CONTINUE. I'M WRITING IN CAPS BECAUSE THIS SEEMS TO BE HOW YOU THINK WE SHOULD COMMUNICATE WITH TEXT!! NORMALLY I'D RESERVE IT FOR REMARKS LIKE "I HATE THIS FUCKING SKIN", SO MUCH SO THAT I STILL MAKE DO AND DEVELOP IN 2010.

I'm happy to see that I'm not just a grumpy old man yet and that there are zillions of others that are rightly pissed off over this heap of muck for a skin. This W8 iconolgy is utter bolox. It's nonsense that we have to spend time looking for this plugin.
Even after the effort put into this Editor they still packed more shit with it and onus is on you to make it look right. They still haven't got the message if they're including a poxy purple skin.
I think when Steve Jobs died his dirty black soul possessed Microsoft and decided to force all us all to doing only what they want.

This guy shows a decent hack for the VS2010 look
http://computerbeacon.net/blog/visualstudio2010iconsandt

by StartedWithDOS | November 11 2013

I've spent quite a bit of time (slowly over time) making a VS-2010 style theme that works with this extension. It's a lot closer to the original VS-2010 than the "blue" theme that comes with this extension (better contrast, sharper text, etc.). I'm willing to share it, but I would want to upload it somewhere where anyone could get it. I don't know if there's a place dedicated to that. If you know of one, reply here so I can see it.

I've got several clear screenshots available.

by Thiago Martins Coelho | November 01 2013

by Leonardo Lourenço Silva | November 01 2013

Very NICE !!!

by Andrey Dimitrov | October 24 2013

Spoiled my current colors.
Broke Import/Export settings VS functionality so that I can't reimport colors.
I will never ever install such thing.

by Dario_T | October 18 2013

by jhewett | October 17 2013

Doesn't import the Visual Studio 2010 Color Themes.

by autumnyard | October 17 2013

It is as easy as customizing colors in vs2012 can be.

I haven't encountered any problem yet, nor I found anything else I wish this extension had, so 5 stars.

Is there a place to share themes already?

by LoudRock | October 11 2013

Thank you!

The "bright white" of VS2012 was blinding me.

This makes it quick and easy to tone it down.

by 叶泽霖 | October 04 2013

我都不知道你们在说什么。

by Sevanmarc | September 25 2013

by Canadian Commander | September 24 2013

The Black Color scheme! nuf said

by Pulsating Ambience | September 19 2013

It is perfect addin. Now my Visual Studio interface is perfect too.

But I need a more powerfull color peek dialog, like one in VS Options (with separate RGB and Favourites colors). Also you can add Web Colors predefined palette.

by TNJMAN | September 03 2013

How NICE is THIS? I have been needing ability to edit themes. Thank you!

by 黃宇祥 | August 27 2013

Cool!

by Shane Fatzinger | August 19 2013

Fantastic add in. I really disliked the limited options for themes that came built in to VS2012. This add in works perfectly to fix that. The base theme for VS just doesn't do enough to visually delineate the different components that make up the IDE.

With this program you can choose from a set of pre-built themes, or customize the color for everything in the IDE. In fact, I had no idea that so many different items existed to be customized.

On my laptop, there is no performance impact at all. Thanks!

by Josef Bláha | August 07 2013

by Waqar Aziz | July 22 2013

It's just so easy to use. Great job!

1 - 20 of 224 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • method explanation colors
    1 Posts | Last post April 01, 2014
    • hi,
      I am using "light with dark editor" theme and i have a problem with the explanation area. I don't know the exact name of it, so I will explain: when I write an object name and press the dot, intellisense brings the usable properties and methods. And while I am moving on the methods with the arrow keys, an expalantion bubble pops that has information about the method or property. I want to change the colors of this bubble's text because I cannot see it with the current settings.
      Can you help me about this problem please?
      Thanks.
  • Dynamic Changing of Color Scheme
    1 Posts | Last post March 28, 2014
    • Hello Matthew,
      
      Is there anyway to change the default color settings of the Fonts inside Tools/Options/FontsAndColors dynamically through code? I've figured out how to catch the Theme change event and I would like to switch my color scheme to predefined values after a theme switch, but I can't figure out how to access the color values through code. Would I have to somehow rewrite the registry values or is there an easier way to do this?
  • Document tab colours
    1 Posts | Last post November 12, 2013
    • Hi. On my copy of VS2012 the colour of the document tabs seems to be fixed: aspx forms and code behind get a rather nasty brick red, .cs classes a sort of British Racing Green. The document with the focus doesn't really stand out, particularly for green tabs and it sometimes takes me a while to realise I'm not on the tab I thought I was. This doesn't seem to be under the control of the theme editor - is there any way to change it?
  • Support for non-Professional versions?
    1 Posts | Last post November 07, 2013
    • I'm using VS 2012 as a component of Sql Server Data Tools. As such this is the "integrated" version, not "Professional. As a result I apparently can't install this extension, which is a bummer, because I can't stand the look of VS 2012!!!!
      
      Is there w reason why you can't support other versions?
  • Color Theme for Each VS Instance
    1 Posts | Last post October 24, 2013
    • Hi,
      The Color Theme Editor for VS 2010 let me set a color theme for each instance of VS while it was running.   That is, after I started an instance of VS 2010 I could select a Theme.  Then I could start a second instance of VS 2010 and set its Theme to a different color.  This made it easy to identify which instance I was working with.
      
      In VS 2012, if I have two instances running and change the color of one instance it also changes the color of the second instance.
      
      Is there any way to include the logic from the 2010 version.  It was very useful.
      
      Thanks.
      
      Kim
  • Broken VS
    1 Posts | Last post October 24, 2013
    • Hello,
      I installed the plugin while having my custom colors. I noticed that it changed some of the colors here and there and I tried to import them back from settings file. I realized that the studio has stopped importing colors and fonts. I uninstalled the plugin but this didn't fix the problem. So now I have a spoiled color theme and broken import settings feature. Also on every change of theme the font is reset to some strange font and I have to go change it manually from the options. All this is happening on VS 2012 Professional.
      Can you suggest any fix other than uninstall and install of VS?
      Thanks
      Andrey
  • Pick-up Windows Color option?
    2 Posts | Last post October 17, 2013
    • Hi I have setup my windows colours so that I don't feel like I'm staring at the sun all day with the glaring white paper that is Visual studios default.
      
      However I cannot see (no pun intended) how to change VS2012 workspace background colours to my windows colour.
      
      It would be good if there was an option to Pick-up the windows (theme) colour either entirely or per item.
      
      Until I can change the paper colour I'll have to give VS2012 a miss or ask my lawyer about what come back on MS there would be for consequential damage from using the UI (joke).
      
      Please help us that customise windows colours for Usability reasons!!!!
    • I can think of two options:
      1. Use a High Contrast windows theme, and customize those colors.  In this case, Visual Studio will use only Windows theme colors.
      2. Customize Visual Studio colors using this extension to be what you want (perhaps starting from the Dark theme is closer to what you want).
      
      The big problem with "using Windows colors" is that Windows exposes a very, very small set of colors, but Visual Studio is a complex application that requires more nuanced color choices.  This extension currently gives you maximum control over that nuance.
  • SSIS designer background colors
    2 Posts | Last post October 15, 2013
    • What element in the Theme Editor determines the background color when working with SSIS packages?  Specifically the Control Flow and Data Flow pages.  I copied the Dark installed theme and wanted to tweak a few colors, but leave the background like it was in the installed theme.  However it changes the background color to an off-white color after copying the installed theme.
    • I'm not familiar with SSIS packages, but based on the description of the problem, my guess is that its UI has handled theming incorrectly in some way (perhaps their "Dark" colors are tied specifically to that theme's ID rather than defining colors that can be redefined for any theme).
  • Feature request: colour preview?
    3 Posts | Last post October 01, 2013
    • The standard "fonts and colors" dialog in VS has a preview box that shows a sample line of code in the selected colour. This is helpful for visualising the colour in context and is the only thing I miss from this extension.
      
      Any chance of implementing that, either in this or the 2013 version? Thanks.
    • That would be a great feature--I will add that to my list.  For the colors that come from Fonts & Colors, it should be straightforward to show the same type of preview.  For colors that are outside the editor, there's not currently metadata about what type of text to draw on that color in all cases, so that may be trickier to implement.
    • Awesome, thanks for listening :-) 
  • Compatible with 2013???
    3 Posts | Last post September 23, 2013
    • I love this extension, but it doesn't appear to be compatible with VS 2013 RC 1. Any idea when that might be available? Thanks for GREAT work.
      
    • I've just uploaded the 2013 version today (available here: http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/9e08e5d3-6eb4-4e73-a045-6ea2a5cbdabe).  You should be able to export custom themes from 2012 and import them in 2013.  Feedback about the import experience is appreciated!
    • I downloaded and installed this as soon as I came in this morning. The import process was totally painless. In fact, it picked up my existing themes and even applied the one that I was using in 2012, exactly what I had wanted!! Thank you for your continued efforts to make my coding world a more colorful place!!
1 - 10 of 103 Items