Visual Studio 2012 Color Theme Editor

Microsoft Free

Allows users to create and edit Visual Studio themes. Themes can customize colors used for menus, toolbars, tabs, titlebars, the text editor, and other environment colors.

Microsoft
(228) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (546,510)
9/21/2013
2.3
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (228)
Q and A (104)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by E. P. Hekkert | May 14 2013

Great tool. The default colours of VS2012 were depressing.

This and the registry change to get rid of the shouting menus made VS2012 acceptable. Now if you could only get rid of those awful looking icons. I tried the icon patcher but it doesn't restore all of the origional icons and a mixed icon set is even worse then the new icons.

by jeanie77 | May 14 2013

A must-have tool, the default VS2012 theme is too bright for everyday use.
Please, could anyone share with me his Blue theme? I installed the update today, and suddenly 'Blue' disappeared from the list of available themes... :'(

Matthew Johnson [MSFT] May 14 2013
| Edit |
Delete

The Blue theme is now part of Visual Studio 2012 Update 2:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=38188

This is the preferred way to get the Blue theme--the extension no longer contains the Blue theme itself.

by Carsten Siemens | May 02 2013

by Carlos Pisani | April 30 2013

I just really enjoy it,

by wdhamilt | April 18 2013

I love the blue theme! Reminds me of VS2010. It was unbearable having the default white on grey background. This extension is a must have.

by Osama Al Shammari | April 17 2013

Wonderful!! really amazing tool!... I combined the new "Blue" theme with "Dark Editor". Now, I have magnificent window and very comfort editor..

Here is the theme if anyone needs it:
http://iwih.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/vs2012-blue-dark-editor-theme/

by Peter Pressacco | April 09 2013

by Koopakiller | April 04 2013

Thanks a lot, I like the green theme :)

by Koen Verbeeck | April 03 2013

by benengr42 | March 29 2013

by NTierArchitect | March 29 2013

Pathetic, what you need is to return the look and feel back to Visual Studio 2010.

by Mario F. Rodriguez | March 28 2013

I'm new to VS2012, but it gives a "special touch" if you will. Congrats, nice!

by RE DiGiovanni | March 23 2013

I'm using Express version of VS12 and wish this was available for it as the available Light and Dark themes are so bad, that it makes using VS12 a horrible experience. VS10 is a much, much better IDE in this respect. Why did MS ruin the visual theme, and then give no option to change the appearance? I love VS10, and don't even want to use VS12 as it is so completely horrendous! What the deuce? What were they thinking? It's supposed to be Visual Studio!, but everything visually about it is terrible!! It's hard to even tell the what the icons specify....

by Bryan Seltzer | March 16 2013

The editor is very helpful. The fact that the VS2012 UI was changed so much and so poorly with such limited built in control reflects badly on MSFT and the VS team.

by Lady Donna | March 12 2013

Does what it says on the tin. It really helps to reduce the ugliness of VS 2012. Next is to fix the ALL CAPS shouting, round off the square edges, redesign a curved icon, and we will be getting a lot closer to VS 2010 :-)

by Azarien | March 08 2013

in the Auto Hide->Tab group, setting the Hovered Background color to a different color than Default Background, and then applying the theme causes a weird gradient to show up.

by rookie1024 | February 27 2013

Not available for Express. I find the Light and Dark themes hard to bear and I would like some customization.

by Paul Dowman | February 26 2013

Thank you so much.... with a nice blue theme applied to VS2012 my eyes don't feel like their out on stalks any more :)

As per lots of others... Microsoft shame on you.... I really think you're losing your way. Anyway I'm just off to build an msi for my windows service project in 2012..... oh, wait a minute I can't. doh!

by MIkeTims | February 25 2013

Provides minimal support for a feature that should never have been left out of the original product anyway

41 - 60 of 228 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • syntax colors disappear
    1 Posts | Last post September 14, 2014
    • Whenever i start to edit .cpp file, custom syntax colors are disappear.
      http://youtu.be/PShtLcx2oqI
  • method explanation colors
    1 Posts | Last post April 01, 2014
    • hi,
      I am using "light with dark editor" theme and i have a problem with the explanation area. I don't know the exact name of it, so I will explain: when I write an object name and press the dot, intellisense brings the usable properties and methods. And while I am moving on the methods with the arrow keys, an expalantion bubble pops that has information about the method or property. I want to change the colors of this bubble's text because I cannot see it with the current settings.
      Can you help me about this problem please?
      Thanks.
  • Dynamic Changing of Color Scheme
    1 Posts | Last post March 28, 2014
    • Hello Matthew,
      
      Is there anyway to change the default color settings of the Fonts inside Tools/Options/FontsAndColors dynamically through code? I've figured out how to catch the Theme change event and I would like to switch my color scheme to predefined values after a theme switch, but I can't figure out how to access the color values through code. Would I have to somehow rewrite the registry values or is there an easier way to do this?
  • Document tab colours
    1 Posts | Last post November 12, 2013
    • Hi. On my copy of VS2012 the colour of the document tabs seems to be fixed: aspx forms and code behind get a rather nasty brick red, .cs classes a sort of British Racing Green. The document with the focus doesn't really stand out, particularly for green tabs and it sometimes takes me a while to realise I'm not on the tab I thought I was. This doesn't seem to be under the control of the theme editor - is there any way to change it?
  • Support for non-Professional versions?
    1 Posts | Last post November 07, 2013
    • I'm using VS 2012 as a component of Sql Server Data Tools. As such this is the "integrated" version, not "Professional. As a result I apparently can't install this extension, which is a bummer, because I can't stand the look of VS 2012!!!!
      
      Is there w reason why you can't support other versions?
  • Color Theme for Each VS Instance
    1 Posts | Last post October 24, 2013
    • Hi,
      The Color Theme Editor for VS 2010 let me set a color theme for each instance of VS while it was running.   That is, after I started an instance of VS 2010 I could select a Theme.  Then I could start a second instance of VS 2010 and set its Theme to a different color.  This made it easy to identify which instance I was working with.
      
      In VS 2012, if I have two instances running and change the color of one instance it also changes the color of the second instance.
      
      Is there any way to include the logic from the 2010 version.  It was very useful.
      
      Thanks.
      
      Kim
  • Broken VS
    1 Posts | Last post October 24, 2013
    • Hello,
      I installed the plugin while having my custom colors. I noticed that it changed some of the colors here and there and I tried to import them back from settings file. I realized that the studio has stopped importing colors and fonts. I uninstalled the plugin but this didn't fix the problem. So now I have a spoiled color theme and broken import settings feature. Also on every change of theme the font is reset to some strange font and I have to go change it manually from the options. All this is happening on VS 2012 Professional.
      Can you suggest any fix other than uninstall and install of VS?
      Thanks
      Andrey
  • Pick-up Windows Color option?
    2 Posts | Last post October 17, 2013
    • Hi I have setup my windows colours so that I don't feel like I'm staring at the sun all day with the glaring white paper that is Visual studios default.
      
      However I cannot see (no pun intended) how to change VS2012 workspace background colours to my windows colour.
      
      It would be good if there was an option to Pick-up the windows (theme) colour either entirely or per item.
      
      Until I can change the paper colour I'll have to give VS2012 a miss or ask my lawyer about what come back on MS there would be for consequential damage from using the UI (joke).
      
      Please help us that customise windows colours for Usability reasons!!!!
    • I can think of two options:
      1. Use a High Contrast windows theme, and customize those colors.  In this case, Visual Studio will use only Windows theme colors.
      2. Customize Visual Studio colors using this extension to be what you want (perhaps starting from the Dark theme is closer to what you want).
      
      The big problem with "using Windows colors" is that Windows exposes a very, very small set of colors, but Visual Studio is a complex application that requires more nuanced color choices.  This extension currently gives you maximum control over that nuance.
  • SSIS designer background colors
    2 Posts | Last post October 15, 2013
    • What element in the Theme Editor determines the background color when working with SSIS packages?  Specifically the Control Flow and Data Flow pages.  I copied the Dark installed theme and wanted to tweak a few colors, but leave the background like it was in the installed theme.  However it changes the background color to an off-white color after copying the installed theme.
    • I'm not familiar with SSIS packages, but based on the description of the problem, my guess is that its UI has handled theming incorrectly in some way (perhaps their "Dark" colors are tied specifically to that theme's ID rather than defining colors that can be redefined for any theme).
  • Feature request: colour preview?
    3 Posts | Last post October 01, 2013
    • The standard "fonts and colors" dialog in VS has a preview box that shows a sample line of code in the selected colour. This is helpful for visualising the colour in context and is the only thing I miss from this extension.
      
      Any chance of implementing that, either in this or the 2013 version? Thanks.
    • That would be a great feature--I will add that to my list.  For the colors that come from Fonts & Colors, it should be straightforward to show the same type of preview.  For colors that are outside the editor, there's not currently metadata about what type of text to draw on that color in all cases, so that may be trickier to implement.
    • Awesome, thanks for listening :-) 
1 - 10 of 104 Items