Visual Studio 2012 Color Theme Editor

Microsoft Free

Allows users to create and edit Visual Studio themes. Themes can customize colors used for menus, toolbars, tabs, titlebars, the text editor, and other environment colors.

Microsoft
(228) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (545,564)
9/21/2013
2.3
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (228)
Q and A (104)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Ioan Crisan | October 15 2012

Just awesome! I agree it should be included in the standard VS 2012 setup.

by LeeMasta | October 14 2012

by Brennt | October 13 2012

You saved my world :). TBH new design in VS11 is terrible, but with your Blue theme I think I'll manage to get used to it...

by Silvia Doomra [MSFT] | October 10 2012

Awesome! Just love it...

by ChuckC | October 10 2012

by anson_wang | October 09 2012

it's really useful.I like the green theme.

by Aaaaaack | October 05 2012

Wow, thank you. My head almost exploded when I saw "light" and "dark" as the only themes. Out of the box, the vs 2012 themes are pretty horrible. When you have to stare at a screen all day long, it sure helps if it is aesthetically pleasing. Thanks again.

by Michael Trigoboff | October 05 2012

Very nice. Replaces the hideously ugly "Light" theme with the "Blue" theme, which looks a lot like VS 2010. Thanks!

Now if someone can figure out a way to make the menu bar items not be in all caps, I'll be reasonably happy with VS 2012, even though it still doesn't look as nice as VS 2010 did.

by gooddev | October 02 2012

I quite like VS2012 out of the box, but it is always great tweak it. Thank you!

by Joshua.Rocha | October 02 2012

FANTASTIC. Just the fact that it has the Dark with light editor made this DL worth it, and the theme customization window is phenomenal! Well, as phenomenal as you can get with the 80,000 options you have. I LOVE the sorting function. I used it to change all the obnoxious highlighted-text blue elements from the dark theme to something not so glaring. Bravo.

by NoPressure | September 30 2012

Matt,
Thanks for correcting at least some of what amounts to an epic design fail! Because of this addin, I have reinstalled VS2012. Hopefully, you are being well compensated for what you've done - you deserve it.

If I produced a UI that looked like the stock themes I'd be eating at Chez Dumpster.

by YannDuran | September 30 2012

What a life-saver. I've only had time so far to give the themes a quick look over, but so far this looks like it's a winner!

This capability should have been built INTO VS 2012 itself before RTM. Then there wouldn't have been so many complaints about the horrible UI that VS 2012 was released with (& the bad blood that's been created when the request for the return to a 2008-like UI were ignored, apart from MINOR bits of color being returned).

I might even be able to use VS 2012 now. Thanks so much for creating this extension!

by WisdomGuidedByExperience | September 29 2012

Version 2.1 fixes the problems with the earlier version that I mentioned in my previous post, so I am now using this extension.

I'd give it 5 stars instead of 4 if it were a submenu under Tools; however, I'll take whatever I can get at this point compared to the awful out-of-the-box initial defaults.

Whoever came up with the monochrome, all-caps default setting should be fired. Immediately.

by Krzysztof Kozielczyk | September 25 2012

Such a relief!

by David R.Brown | September 25 2012

Great addition to VS12,and would love to see the same for the Web Access site.

by DriveBlind | September 25 2012

by LeoMrozek | September 24 2012

Crashes IDE when ever I go to edit a color in the Customize

by Hugo Rumayor | September 24 2012

Very useful if you get bored of the default gray color.

by Mystcreater | September 24 2012

Why this extension was not added in the Visual Studio setup? :)

by CodingGorilla | September 24 2012

Just what the new VS2012 UI desperately needed!

121 - 140 of 228 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • syntax colors disappear
    1 Posts | Last post Sun 4:52 AM
    • Whenever i start to edit .cpp file, custom syntax colors are disappear.
      http://youtu.be/PShtLcx2oqI
  • method explanation colors
    1 Posts | Last post April 01, 2014
    • hi,
      I am using "light with dark editor" theme and i have a problem with the explanation area. I don't know the exact name of it, so I will explain: when I write an object name and press the dot, intellisense brings the usable properties and methods. And while I am moving on the methods with the arrow keys, an expalantion bubble pops that has information about the method or property. I want to change the colors of this bubble's text because I cannot see it with the current settings.
      Can you help me about this problem please?
      Thanks.
  • Dynamic Changing of Color Scheme
    1 Posts | Last post March 28, 2014
    • Hello Matthew,
      
      Is there anyway to change the default color settings of the Fonts inside Tools/Options/FontsAndColors dynamically through code? I've figured out how to catch the Theme change event and I would like to switch my color scheme to predefined values after a theme switch, but I can't figure out how to access the color values through code. Would I have to somehow rewrite the registry values or is there an easier way to do this?
  • Document tab colours
    1 Posts | Last post November 12, 2013
    • Hi. On my copy of VS2012 the colour of the document tabs seems to be fixed: aspx forms and code behind get a rather nasty brick red, .cs classes a sort of British Racing Green. The document with the focus doesn't really stand out, particularly for green tabs and it sometimes takes me a while to realise I'm not on the tab I thought I was. This doesn't seem to be under the control of the theme editor - is there any way to change it?
  • Support for non-Professional versions?
    1 Posts | Last post November 07, 2013
    • I'm using VS 2012 as a component of Sql Server Data Tools. As such this is the "integrated" version, not "Professional. As a result I apparently can't install this extension, which is a bummer, because I can't stand the look of VS 2012!!!!
      
      Is there w reason why you can't support other versions?
  • Color Theme for Each VS Instance
    1 Posts | Last post October 24, 2013
    • Hi,
      The Color Theme Editor for VS 2010 let me set a color theme for each instance of VS while it was running.   That is, after I started an instance of VS 2010 I could select a Theme.  Then I could start a second instance of VS 2010 and set its Theme to a different color.  This made it easy to identify which instance I was working with.
      
      In VS 2012, if I have two instances running and change the color of one instance it also changes the color of the second instance.
      
      Is there any way to include the logic from the 2010 version.  It was very useful.
      
      Thanks.
      
      Kim
  • Broken VS
    1 Posts | Last post October 24, 2013
    • Hello,
      I installed the plugin while having my custom colors. I noticed that it changed some of the colors here and there and I tried to import them back from settings file. I realized that the studio has stopped importing colors and fonts. I uninstalled the plugin but this didn't fix the problem. So now I have a spoiled color theme and broken import settings feature. Also on every change of theme the font is reset to some strange font and I have to go change it manually from the options. All this is happening on VS 2012 Professional.
      Can you suggest any fix other than uninstall and install of VS?
      Thanks
      Andrey
  • Pick-up Windows Color option?
    2 Posts | Last post October 17, 2013
    • Hi I have setup my windows colours so that I don't feel like I'm staring at the sun all day with the glaring white paper that is Visual studios default.
      
      However I cannot see (no pun intended) how to change VS2012 workspace background colours to my windows colour.
      
      It would be good if there was an option to Pick-up the windows (theme) colour either entirely or per item.
      
      Until I can change the paper colour I'll have to give VS2012 a miss or ask my lawyer about what come back on MS there would be for consequential damage from using the UI (joke).
      
      Please help us that customise windows colours for Usability reasons!!!!
    • I can think of two options:
      1. Use a High Contrast windows theme, and customize those colors.  In this case, Visual Studio will use only Windows theme colors.
      2. Customize Visual Studio colors using this extension to be what you want (perhaps starting from the Dark theme is closer to what you want).
      
      The big problem with "using Windows colors" is that Windows exposes a very, very small set of colors, but Visual Studio is a complex application that requires more nuanced color choices.  This extension currently gives you maximum control over that nuance.
  • SSIS designer background colors
    2 Posts | Last post October 15, 2013
    • What element in the Theme Editor determines the background color when working with SSIS packages?  Specifically the Control Flow and Data Flow pages.  I copied the Dark installed theme and wanted to tweak a few colors, but leave the background like it was in the installed theme.  However it changes the background color to an off-white color after copying the installed theme.
    • I'm not familiar with SSIS packages, but based on the description of the problem, my guess is that its UI has handled theming incorrectly in some way (perhaps their "Dark" colors are tied specifically to that theme's ID rather than defining colors that can be redefined for any theme).
  • Feature request: colour preview?
    3 Posts | Last post October 01, 2013
    • The standard "fonts and colors" dialog in VS has a preview box that shows a sample line of code in the selected colour. This is helpful for visualising the colour in context and is the only thing I miss from this extension.
      
      Any chance of implementing that, either in this or the 2013 version? Thanks.
    • That would be a great feature--I will add that to my list.  For the colors that come from Fonts & Colors, it should be straightforward to show the same type of preview.  For colors that are outside the editor, there's not currently metadata about what type of text to draw on that color in all cases, so that may be trickier to implement.
    • Awesome, thanks for listening :-) 
1 - 10 of 104 Items