Productivity Power Tools 2012

Microsoft Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio 2012 Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

Microsoft
(111) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (344,186)
4/4/2013
11.0.60403.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (111)
Q and A (144)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Sam_Viper | March 27 2014

I like the tools but I created a guideline and there is no way to delete them. HELP!!

by Kevin Ison | January 31 2014

Nice tool set EXCEPT the column guidelines functionality is broke... I created
3 guidelines and could not remove them. I had to go into the registry
to delete the guides.

Please fix this!!

by Proco | January 27 2014

Very helpful

by Senthamil | January 15 2014

Nice tools

by Dunemaster | December 24 2013

Stable and useful.
Most useful for me:
* "Custom document well" options adds support for closing file tabs with one click, without popup menus
* Code HTML copy

by Michael Obermeyer | December 16 2013

by Batmanuel | November 14 2013

I tried it on Visual Studio 2010 (back then) and was great. Now I need to know how well it works with Visual Studio 2013 as I want to color my code.

by SethMoore | November 14 2013

I love these tools

I wish they were baked into the product. It makes me sad that every time I upgrade VS I have to wait to get the features I'm missing.

So 5/5 for the tools.
1/5 for not having them in vs2013 OOB :)

by Frank Robijn | November 08 2013

I'm very surprised that these essential features are still not part of Visual Studio itself. Please provide a 2013 version, as VS2013 lacks the document well, the format/organize on save options, the ctrl-click to definition.

by SomeGuyNamedAndy | November 07 2013

I love this extension. Please update it for 2013.

Thanks!

by Eman86 | November 06 2013

I love this extension, please please please make this available to VS 2013, I miss the tabs layout feature that put my tabs to the left of my project. That should be a default action of Visual Studios in my opinion.

by Tom Mohoric | November 04 2013

Great set of extensions! Looking forward to an update for use with VS 2013!

by BD Moby Disk | October 31 2013

I got this for the HTML Copy feature, but many other features interfere with Visual Studio in some way:
* You can't tell which tab is active with the colored tabs.
* The enhanced intellisense:
- Is slower.
- Does not save any keystrokes. It types the closing paren for you, but then you have to hit end then semicolon instead of close paren semicolon. That saves nothing.
- When you call a method that takes an enum, the default intellisense selects that enum by default. The new intellisense does not.
- Fixing mixed tabs and spaces is nice, but that pops up on files that are read only such as TFS diff windows, or files that are not checked out. Since there is already a menu option to do this, the bugs outweigh the benefits.

Overall, this is a nice testing ground for new Visual Studio features, but they need revising to be truly useful.

by SamCPP | October 29 2013

Go to definition and coloring build window are great. Is there a plan for VS2013 version?

by StoneCC94 | October 18 2013

Will this be updated for VS 2013? I greatly miss the enhanced Document Well...

by Mark Good | October 17 2013

I love these tools. This seems like a great way to evaluate features to go into a future version of VS.

by Dan Jarvis | October 17 2013

I cannot figure out how to turn off the automatic brace closing thing. I turned if off in the settings dialog but it is still doing it. It's really interfering with my normal way of coding. I like the other features, but I really wish I could turn off whatever it did to my brace/bracket settings.

by Kat_Development | October 16 2013

by bignewbe | October 14 2013

why i cannot install on my Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop? i have the latest version installed. anyone can help?

---
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Supported Products :
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Microsoft.VisualStudio.Ultimate
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Version : [11.0]
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Microsoft.VisualStudio.Premium
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Version : [11.0]

14-10-2013 14:36:15 - References :
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - -------------------------------------------------------
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Identifier : Microsoft.VisualStudio.MPF
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Name : Visual Studio MPF
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Version : 10.0
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - MoreInfoURL :
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.

by Aleksandar Totovic | October 08 2013

It's very nice

1 - 20 of 111 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Display parent folder in ASP.NET MVC
    1 Posts | Last post April 04, 2014
    • Although color coding tabs by project is useful, I would like the ability to view the parent folder e.g. "Views/{Home/Index.cshtml}" or "Views/{Cart/Index.cshtml}" since I find it hard to identify which view the tab is representing since the View page name is the same i.e. "Index.cshtml".
  • Interactive Tooltips
    14 Posts | Last post April 02, 2014
    • Would be nice if you brought back this feature from 2012 Power Tools: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/13729598/visual-studio-2012-pro-power-tools-class-method-name-hover-tooltip
    • Second that. Please bring it back, that was one of the most awesome features!
    • Yes please! This was the best feature, brilliant idea taking it out.
    • +1 -- This feature was something I used on a regular basis.
    • +1  I just now finally upgraded to 2012.  I used this constantly when coding.  I was amazed that it was taken out and almost considered going back to 2010 to get it back.
    • +1 Missing this very much!
    • PLEASE PLEASE Please bring it back
    • +1 This feature was a HUGE productivity booster. Even with the improvements of 2012 (and my addition of ReSharper) I still don't feel as productive if I can't quickly see the members with the interactive tooltips. Please consider this as a feature for 2012/2013.
    • I feel crippled without interactive tool tip.
      
      Please bring it back. Please......
    • Please bring this feature back - the solution explorer isn't nearly as useful, especially for library classes and methods.
    • +1  Please bring this back.  It was a huge time saver!!
    • Agreed - since CodeLens is only available to Ultimate subscribers, this tool should be added back to the productivity tools (unless that was why it was removed?!)
    • +5
      You've got to bring back that feature !   It was an incredible time saver and productivity booster. . .   I cannot imagine what you were thinking when you decided to drop it.   Should we ALL ROLL BACK to 2010 to get that feature back ??
    • Yes, PLEASE bring back this feature, and make it available in VS 2013 as well. It's the single feature that's keeping me from upgrading from VS 2010!!!
  • double deep horizontal tab well
    1 Posts | Last post March 20, 2014
    • Would be nice if there was an option for a double deep tab well in the Top or Bottom position (ala the VisualTabs extension).  Helpful to see all the tabs with full names and having the tab well on the left or right wastes a bit of space.
  • Color printing bugs
    1 Posts | Last post February 10, 2014
    • Code prints fine with this extension disabled. 
      
      When enabled, page 10 gets shifted into the left margin so that the line numbers are cut off.  This was not a printer mis-feed, it happens every time on just page 10.
      
      Attempting to print just one page, instead of the entire document, results in an error being thrown.  The popup says only "pageNumber" 
      
      Print selection DOES seem to work, so I am able to print the page that way, although then the page number is shown as 1.
  • Open XML Package Editor NOT working as expected
    1 Posts | Last post January 24, 2014
    • Open XML Package Editor Power Tool for Visual Studio is NOT working as expected.  Have installed, uninstalled, reinstalled Productivity Power Tools many times.  Closed and reopened VS many times.
      Yet, rather than showing the XML PARTS when a word document or excel spreadsheet is dragged into VS..... it simply opens WORD or EXCEL.
      What needs to be turned on?  All the documentation read seems to suggest simply dragging a file into VS will open the Open XML Package editor.  Yet it is not happening....
      How is this tool suppose to work?
  • PPTP 2013
    1 Posts | Last post November 28, 2013
    • Are you guys going to be bringing in any of the cool features from the 2013 version?
  • Unable to modify Colorized Parameter Help...??
    1 Posts | Last post November 27, 2013
    • Could not find file 'C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Microsoft\VisualStudio\11.0\Extensions\bpum0wxo.q45\ColorizedSignatureHelp.pkgdef'.
      
      Uhhh... Wut??
      
      It seems to be able to do this when you open VS 2012 without a solution/project open however..  Still quite a perplexing issue, I think.  
  • PPT mangles title bar in VS2013
    1 Posts | Last post November 21, 2013
    • Microsoft Visual Studio Premium 2013
      Version 12.0.21005.1 REL
      Microsoft .NET Framework
      Version 4.5.50938
      
      When I enable PPT, several items in the title bar are missing.  Screenshot: http://bit.ly/I1Eg1U
  • No luck assigning tab colors by reg ex
    2 Posts | Last post November 21, 2013
    • Is there a guide or examples for making the reg ex color assignments work for tabs?  I cannot get anything to match.
      Do the reg ex types have to go before the project types in the list?  Is there a way to re-order the list?
    • Oops, theres a checkbox in the other section to enable the reg ex matches.
      Anybody got an example to make the .cs reg ex exclude ...aspx.cs ?
  • No column guides in VS2012
    2 Posts | Last post November 19, 2013
    • I have the column guides option enabled but do not get any guide lines, in .cs classes or .aspx.cs code-behind.
      Should this be working still in VS2012?  Used to have it in VS2010
    • For some reason they did not include them in VS2012.  I use Indent Guides as a replacement.  I don't like them as much, but it's workable.
1 - 10 of 144 Items