Productivity Power Tools 2012

Microsoft Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio 2012 Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

Microsoft
(114) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (366,443)
4/4/2013
11.0.60403.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (114)
Q and A (152)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Kat_Development | October 16 2013

by bignewbe | October 14 2013

why i cannot install on my Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop? i have the latest version installed. anyone can help?

---
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Supported Products :
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Microsoft.VisualStudio.Ultimate
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Version : [11.0]
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Microsoft.VisualStudio.Premium
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Version : [11.0]

14-10-2013 14:36:15 - References :
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - -------------------------------------------------------
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Identifier : Microsoft.VisualStudio.MPF
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Name : Visual Studio MPF
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Version : 10.0
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - MoreInfoURL :
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.

by Aleksandar Totovic | October 08 2013

It's very nice

by Akran | September 26 2013

No Copy HTML in Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate.

by user76382 | September 16 2013

Causes adding of items to sharepoint features to fail with a vague error. More details here:
https://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStudio/feedback/details/646396/object-reference-not-set-to-an-instance-of-an-object-when-trying-to-add-a-sharepoint-project-item#details

by Emir M | September 11 2013

All in all, the PPT 2012 is a great tool.

The "Custom Document Well" is pretty neat, given the fact, it adds specific colors to document tabs, that are present in multiple projects.

If you're open for suggestions, I would recommend adding the same color to the project icon in the Solution Explorer. That way, you'll be typing something in a document and at the same time be able to peek into the Solution Explorer and be positive about, which project this document belongs to.

by Kakukogou | September 03 2013

Great!
Ctrl+Click makes me more productive!

by Jeff.Forge | August 23 2013

Nice feature set. There needs to be a way to turn off the "Quick Find" feature though. The VS2010 version allows it to be toggled...why the heck was this option removed in the VS2012 version?

Or at the very least, please dismiss the Quick Find panel when the user hits Enter. It drives me crazy when I hit CTRL+F, <search string>, ENTER, and the focus is still in the Quick Find panel. It seems that I need to manually close the panel (via the X button) or click in the text editor window.

by Dub2 | August 15 2013

They took out the best feature! One star until interactive tool tips are put back.

by Oleg Boulanov | August 08 2013

Color printing enables color, but disables (greys out) FILE/Page Setup?
So one have to choose between coloring and margins...

by Chris Demetriad | July 31 2013

loving the enhanced scroll bar, it does help a lot if a very big file!

by wmevius | July 29 2013

caused a crash when trying to go to the work items for a project

System.NullReferenceException was unhandled
HResult=-2147467261
Message=Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Source=Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Common
StackTrace:
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Common.VsipHost.GetUserSubKey(Package package, String subKey, Boolean writable)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetRootKey(Boolean writable)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetValue(String name, Object defaultValue)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetCachedValue(String key, Boolean defaultValue)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.get_TemplateEnabled()
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.TemplatesViewModel.<Refresh>d__1.MoveNext()

Update: updated to latest version and now this error has gone :)

by Kevininstructor | July 15 2013

Great edition to the IDE. Also used this in VS2010 too.

by Coder_Dan | June 14 2013

Quite useful but also contains some serious flaws!

Watch out for the options:
1) "Enhanced Scroll Bar" - this can slow the editor down to a crawl at times.

2) In "Tabs and Windows" - do not check "Maintain pin status if document is removed from well"! It causes DevStudio to crash when doing routine operations like running up an app in the debugger, or lock up with resizing the main window. If you are getting faulting module: KERNELBASE.dll with exception code 0xe0434352 in DEVENV.EXE reported to your EventLog, then there is a good chance that it is this option!

by urza.cc | May 31 2013

Unfortunately, this 2012 version is missing the superb functionality from 2012 the Ctrl+2 to quickly navigate to any class/member in the current source file. This is a pain, because now to navigate to class/member in current source file, one must reach to the mouse and use either solution explorer or the combobox menu, none of these is as quick and elegant as was the keyboard only popup solution with CTRL+2 in PowerTools 2010 version.

by Guy Shahine | May 29 2013

One of my favorite core tools.

by HS Gurvey | May 28 2013

It is very hard to see why these items simply aren't in VS2012. And the need to add, roughly, the color code printing feature, after the VS2010 experience, is simply ridiculous.

by Softlion | May 25 2013

The new "pinned line" of tabs is very handy.

Tab colorization is quickly a mess. You have to search hard to find which tab the current window is.

I love the "close tab button on tab", and the close tab button on the far right. I need both and this extension gives me both !

The drop down of "other opened windows" could display a tree of open windows organized by projects, as in the solution explorer when you search something in it. Instead of a flat list.

thks for the tab well. Plz fix its bugs !

by _Aleks | May 21 2013

Stupid MS decision to remove color printing from VS 2010. Now have to build extra applications to put it back. Why not fixing it in VS 2012 or updates directly?

by HolgerSinn.Com | May 20 2013

Maybe the best collection for visual Studio
if you don't know it: check it out

21 - 40 of 114 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • IDE hangs when printing under Win 8, 8.1, Srv2012 R2 (corrected text)
    2 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • Productivity Power Tools Extension fail to print with Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (Update 4) under Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2. Mainly I use it to print from the editor the syntax highlighted text.
      It appears not possible to print - the Visual Studio 2012 IDE hangs shortly after giving 'Print' command. The issue is noticed only under these systems, the latest updates were applied
      The same happens also with Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Something goes wrong, in particular, if we make print out via 'Adobe PDF' printer driver the file with name "Xps Document.pdf" is created, which means that printing subsystem is used wrong way. I think it is necessary to install some addition absent in the system but present in Windows 7.
      But if we disable the extensions the print possibility returns. I would like to use modern Windows to run both Visual Studio 2012 and 2010, but without syntax highlited printouts it is not that handy.
      
    • Sorry, let me reply my question. It seems I understood what was wrong.
      Color print of the text with syntax highlight works under modern Windows but not through 'Adobe PDF' printer driver of Acrobat Pro version 9 (9.5.1). This is the fault of Adobe Acrobat 9 Pro, but not of Windows, I suppose, as everything works ok if we use Acrobat XI Pro instead. But I prefer version 9 to 11. Has anyone tested the print through Acrobat Pro 9.5.5 'Adobe PDF' driver in Windows 8, 8.1 or 2012 R2? 
  • IDE hangs when printing under Win 8, 8.1, Srv2012 R2
    1 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • Productivity Power Tools Extension fail to print with Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (Update 4) under Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2. Mainly I use it to print from the editor the syntax highlighted text.
      It appears not possible to print - the Visual Studio 2012 IDE hangs shortly after giving 'Print' command. The issue is noticed only under Windows Server 2012 R2, although the print through these extensions is possible (tested) under Windows 8 Ultimate and Windows 8.1 Pro.
      The same happens both with Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Something goes wrong, in particular, if we make print out via 'Adobe PDF' printer driver the file with name "Xps Document.pdf" is created, which means that printing subsystem is used wrong way. I think it is necessary to install some addition for Windows Server 2012 R2 absent in the system but present in other operating systems.
      But if we disable the extensions the print possibility returns. I would like to use Windows Server 2012 R2 to run both Visual Studio 2012 and 2010, but without syntax highlited printouts it is not that handy.
      
  • Feature PresentOff
    1 Posts | Last post July 07, 2014
    • I have a problem with feature PresentOff, I turned on the feature but I can't turn off it now. Do you know how I can fix it?
  • Pin status setting is not sticking
    2 Posts | Last post July 03, 2014
    • I have VS 2012 Update 4. Noticed recently that the pin status setting is not sticking. I have a few files pinned that I would like them to stay pinned when the project is opened. Does anyone else have this issue?
      Thanks in advanced.
    • Forgot to add, if you disable Power Tools 2012, the pinned files will stay pinned when the project is loaded. Pretty sure it is an issue with the extension.
  • Reg Ex colored tabs have wrong unselected text color
    1 Posts | Last post June 20, 2014
    • For regex colored tabs the unselected color is white instead of black as configured in settings http://i.imgur.com/irmvAMr.png
      It was the same also for default existing regex settings for .cs files etc.
      
      I have VS2012 Update 4 and Power Tools 11.0.60403.0
      
  • does not apper
    2 Posts | Last post June 04, 2014
    • I can see the Power tools installed in Extensions and updates, but cannot see it on project..I have vs2012 and vs2012 13 installed
      
      Non of the features are visible
    • I have used to before..its some how not appearing. I can see it installed in "Extensions and updates"
  • How do I assign a shortcut to a Quick Task?
    1 Posts | Last post May 15, 2014
    • In particular, I'd like to be able to assign a shortcut to CollapseRegions. Having to select Quick Launch and then type "@tasks CollapseRegions", or even "@tasks C", is really slow.
  • Bug: text shown as link
    1 Posts | Last post April 28, 2014
    • If I have my cursor on a variable and press ctrl+space to autocomplete, it will autocomplete and show the variable as a blue link until I hover over the "link" and press ctrl.
      
      Have on idea where to report these bugs :)
  • Display parent folder in ASP.NET MVC
    1 Posts | Last post April 04, 2014
    • Although color coding tabs by project is useful, I would like the ability to view the parent folder e.g. "Views/{Home/Index.cshtml}" or "Views/{Cart/Index.cshtml}" since I find it hard to identify which view the tab is representing since the View page name is the same i.e. "Index.cshtml".
  • Interactive Tooltips
    14 Posts | Last post April 02, 2014
    • Would be nice if you brought back this feature from 2012 Power Tools: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/13729598/visual-studio-2012-pro-power-tools-class-method-name-hover-tooltip
    • Second that. Please bring it back, that was one of the most awesome features!
    • Yes please! This was the best feature, brilliant idea taking it out.
    • +1 -- This feature was something I used on a regular basis.
    • +1  I just now finally upgraded to 2012.  I used this constantly when coding.  I was amazed that it was taken out and almost considered going back to 2010 to get it back.
    • +1 Missing this very much!
    • PLEASE PLEASE Please bring it back
    • +1 This feature was a HUGE productivity booster. Even with the improvements of 2012 (and my addition of ReSharper) I still don't feel as productive if I can't quickly see the members with the interactive tooltips. Please consider this as a feature for 2012/2013.
    • I feel crippled without interactive tool tip.
      
      Please bring it back. Please......
    • Please bring this feature back - the solution explorer isn't nearly as useful, especially for library classes and methods.
    • +1  Please bring this back.  It was a huge time saver!!
    • Agreed - since CodeLens is only available to Ultimate subscribers, this tool should be added back to the productivity tools (unless that was why it was removed?!)
    • +5
      You've got to bring back that feature !   It was an incredible time saver and productivity booster. . .   I cannot imagine what you were thinking when you decided to drop it.   Should we ALL ROLL BACK to 2010 to get that feature back ??
    • Yes, PLEASE bring back this feature, and make it available in VS 2013 as well. It's the single feature that's keeping me from upgrading from VS 2010!!!
1 - 10 of 152 Items