Productivity Power Tools 2012

Microsoft Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio 2012 Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

Microsoft
(111) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (343,959)
4/4/2013
11.0.60403.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (111)
Q and A (144)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Akran | September 26 2013

No Copy HTML in Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate.

by user76382 | September 16 2013

Causes adding of items to sharepoint features to fail with a vague error. More details here:
https://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStudio/feedback/details/646396/object-reference-not-set-to-an-instance-of-an-object-when-trying-to-add-a-sharepoint-project-item#details

by Emir M | September 11 2013

All in all, the PPT 2012 is a great tool.

The "Custom Document Well" is pretty neat, given the fact, it adds specific colors to document tabs, that are present in multiple projects.

If you're open for suggestions, I would recommend adding the same color to the project icon in the Solution Explorer. That way, you'll be typing something in a document and at the same time be able to peek into the Solution Explorer and be positive about, which project this document belongs to.

by Kakukogou | September 03 2013

Great!
Ctrl+Click makes me more productive!

by Jeff.Forge | August 23 2013

Nice feature set. There needs to be a way to turn off the "Quick Find" feature though. The VS2010 version allows it to be toggled...why the heck was this option removed in the VS2012 version?

Or at the very least, please dismiss the Quick Find panel when the user hits Enter. It drives me crazy when I hit CTRL+F, <search string>, ENTER, and the focus is still in the Quick Find panel. It seems that I need to manually close the panel (via the X button) or click in the text editor window.

by Dub2 | August 15 2013

They took out the best feature! One star until interactive tool tips are put back.

by Oleg Boulanov | August 08 2013

Color printing enables color, but disables (greys out) FILE/Page Setup?
So one have to choose between coloring and margins...

by Chris Demetriad | July 31 2013

loving the enhanced scroll bar, it does help a lot if a very big file!

by wmevius | July 29 2013

caused a crash when trying to go to the work items for a project

System.NullReferenceException was unhandled
HResult=-2147467261
Message=Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Source=Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Common
StackTrace:
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Common.VsipHost.GetUserSubKey(Package package, String subKey, Boolean writable)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetRootKey(Boolean writable)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetValue(String name, Object defaultValue)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetCachedValue(String key, Boolean defaultValue)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.get_TemplateEnabled()
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.TemplatesViewModel.<Refresh>d__1.MoveNext()

Update: updated to latest version and now this error has gone :)

by Kevininstructor | July 15 2013

Great edition to the IDE. Also used this in VS2010 too.

by Coder_Dan | June 14 2013

Quite useful but also contains some serious flaws!

Watch out for the options:
1) "Enhanced Scroll Bar" - this can slow the editor down to a crawl at times.

2) In "Tabs and Windows" - do not check "Maintain pin status if document is removed from well"! It causes DevStudio to crash when doing routine operations like running up an app in the debugger, or lock up with resizing the main window. If you are getting faulting module: KERNELBASE.dll with exception code 0xe0434352 in DEVENV.EXE reported to your EventLog, then there is a good chance that it is this option!

by urza.cc | May 31 2013

Unfortunately, this 2012 version is missing the superb functionality from 2012 the Ctrl+2 to quickly navigate to any class/member in the current source file. This is a pain, because now to navigate to class/member in current source file, one must reach to the mouse and use either solution explorer or the combobox menu, none of these is as quick and elegant as was the keyboard only popup solution with CTRL+2 in PowerTools 2010 version.

by Guy Shahine | May 29 2013

One of my favorite core tools.

by HS Gurvey | May 28 2013

It is very hard to see why these items simply aren't in VS2012. And the need to add, roughly, the color code printing feature, after the VS2010 experience, is simply ridiculous.

by Softlion | May 25 2013

The new "pinned line" of tabs is very handy.

Tab colorization is quickly a mess. You have to search hard to find which tab the current window is.

I love the "close tab button on tab", and the close tab button on the far right. I need both and this extension gives me both !

The drop down of "other opened windows" could display a tree of open windows organized by projects, as in the solution explorer when you search something in it. Instead of a flat list.

thks for the tab well. Plz fix its bugs !

by _Aleks | May 21 2013

Stupid MS decision to remove color printing from VS 2010. Now have to build extra applications to put it back. Why not fixing it in VS 2012 or updates directly?

by HolgerSinn.Com | May 20 2013

Maybe the best collection for visual Studio
if you don't know it: check it out

by Sergio Parra | April 27 2013

This set of tools save a lot of time

by Peter Pressacco | April 09 2013

by Carsten Siemens | April 06 2013

Extends VS with very useful features: color printing, auto brace completion,...

21 - 40 of 111 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Display parent folder in ASP.NET MVC
    1 Posts | Last post April 04, 2014
    • Although color coding tabs by project is useful, I would like the ability to view the parent folder e.g. "Views/{Home/Index.cshtml}" or "Views/{Cart/Index.cshtml}" since I find it hard to identify which view the tab is representing since the View page name is the same i.e. "Index.cshtml".
  • Interactive Tooltips
    14 Posts | Last post April 02, 2014
    • Would be nice if you brought back this feature from 2012 Power Tools: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/13729598/visual-studio-2012-pro-power-tools-class-method-name-hover-tooltip
    • Second that. Please bring it back, that was one of the most awesome features!
    • Yes please! This was the best feature, brilliant idea taking it out.
    • +1 -- This feature was something I used on a regular basis.
    • +1  I just now finally upgraded to 2012.  I used this constantly when coding.  I was amazed that it was taken out and almost considered going back to 2010 to get it back.
    • +1 Missing this very much!
    • PLEASE PLEASE Please bring it back
    • +1 This feature was a HUGE productivity booster. Even with the improvements of 2012 (and my addition of ReSharper) I still don't feel as productive if I can't quickly see the members with the interactive tooltips. Please consider this as a feature for 2012/2013.
    • I feel crippled without interactive tool tip.
      
      Please bring it back. Please......
    • Please bring this feature back - the solution explorer isn't nearly as useful, especially for library classes and methods.
    • +1  Please bring this back.  It was a huge time saver!!
    • Agreed - since CodeLens is only available to Ultimate subscribers, this tool should be added back to the productivity tools (unless that was why it was removed?!)
    • +5
      You've got to bring back that feature !   It was an incredible time saver and productivity booster. . .   I cannot imagine what you were thinking when you decided to drop it.   Should we ALL ROLL BACK to 2010 to get that feature back ??
    • Yes, PLEASE bring back this feature, and make it available in VS 2013 as well. It's the single feature that's keeping me from upgrading from VS 2010!!!
  • double deep horizontal tab well
    1 Posts | Last post March 20, 2014
    • Would be nice if there was an option for a double deep tab well in the Top or Bottom position (ala the VisualTabs extension).  Helpful to see all the tabs with full names and having the tab well on the left or right wastes a bit of space.
  • Color printing bugs
    1 Posts | Last post February 10, 2014
    • Code prints fine with this extension disabled. 
      
      When enabled, page 10 gets shifted into the left margin so that the line numbers are cut off.  This was not a printer mis-feed, it happens every time on just page 10.
      
      Attempting to print just one page, instead of the entire document, results in an error being thrown.  The popup says only "pageNumber" 
      
      Print selection DOES seem to work, so I am able to print the page that way, although then the page number is shown as 1.
  • Open XML Package Editor NOT working as expected
    1 Posts | Last post January 24, 2014
    • Open XML Package Editor Power Tool for Visual Studio is NOT working as expected.  Have installed, uninstalled, reinstalled Productivity Power Tools many times.  Closed and reopened VS many times.
      Yet, rather than showing the XML PARTS when a word document or excel spreadsheet is dragged into VS..... it simply opens WORD or EXCEL.
      What needs to be turned on?  All the documentation read seems to suggest simply dragging a file into VS will open the Open XML Package editor.  Yet it is not happening....
      How is this tool suppose to work?
  • PPTP 2013
    1 Posts | Last post November 28, 2013
    • Are you guys going to be bringing in any of the cool features from the 2013 version?
  • Unable to modify Colorized Parameter Help...??
    1 Posts | Last post November 27, 2013
    • Could not find file 'C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Microsoft\VisualStudio\11.0\Extensions\bpum0wxo.q45\ColorizedSignatureHelp.pkgdef'.
      
      Uhhh... Wut??
      
      It seems to be able to do this when you open VS 2012 without a solution/project open however..  Still quite a perplexing issue, I think.  
  • PPT mangles title bar in VS2013
    1 Posts | Last post November 21, 2013
    • Microsoft Visual Studio Premium 2013
      Version 12.0.21005.1 REL
      Microsoft .NET Framework
      Version 4.5.50938
      
      When I enable PPT, several items in the title bar are missing.  Screenshot: http://bit.ly/I1Eg1U
  • No luck assigning tab colors by reg ex
    2 Posts | Last post November 21, 2013
    • Is there a guide or examples for making the reg ex color assignments work for tabs?  I cannot get anything to match.
      Do the reg ex types have to go before the project types in the list?  Is there a way to re-order the list?
    • Oops, theres a checkbox in the other section to enable the reg ex matches.
      Anybody got an example to make the .cs reg ex exclude ...aspx.cs ?
  • No column guides in VS2012
    2 Posts | Last post November 19, 2013
    • I have the column guides option enabled but do not get any guide lines, in .cs classes or .aspx.cs code-behind.
      Should this be working still in VS2012?  Used to have it in VS2010
    • For some reason they did not include them in VS2012.  I use Indent Guides as a replacement.  I don't like them as much, but it's workable.
1 - 10 of 144 Items