Productivity Power Tools 2012

Microsoft Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio 2012 Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

Microsoft
(114) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (364,898)
4/4/2013
11.0.60403.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (114)
Q and A (152)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Sergio Parra | April 27 2013

This set of tools save a lot of time

by Peter Pressacco | April 09 2013

by Carsten Siemens | April 06 2013

Extends VS with very useful features: color printing, auto brace completion,...

by LEPT0N | April 01 2013

Nothing beats the 'full map mode' setting of the 'enhanced scroll bar'!

by jwake | March 18 2013

by MDJRUK68 | March 01 2013

Great addition. Now I can print in colour :)

by Piotr Kula | February 28 2013

Every time I use a new machine I notice the little things that are missing. Always gotta install this. Great work!

by Vrane | February 23 2013

Excellent extension :)

idea for new feature : http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en/vswpfdesigner/thread/1bdf2ddd-472c-4c17-ad2e-845f5bf1f086

by Juan Zamudio | February 21 2013

When I installed the version 11.0.60128.0 I lost my settings, i thought this bug was fixed?

by TLunsf | February 20 2013

I have been a Microsoft fanboy for my entire programming career, but 2012-2013 may be your (Microsoft's) downfall. Everything is pushed out without QA - Win8, Office2013, VS2012, and now this update. Have you ever heard of saving configuration settings??? Now I've got to go waste an hour to figure out what my settings should be. AGAIN.

by Lemonshark1 | February 16 2013

by bobfox | February 15 2013

Big disappointment.
The most important feature - "Enhanced Tooltips" - has been left out.
Thumbs down - only one star for now.

Edit 02/15/2013:
Another update, still no enhanced tooltips :(
Update overwrites all settings :(

by Bastiaan Molsbeck | February 15 2013

A very useful extension, but unfortunately all settings are reverted to their default values each time installing an update for this extension.

by tampermatis | February 13 2013

Rockscroll lives again! Thank you so much.

by Andre.Ziegler | February 10 2013

by Roman Okolovich | January 31 2013

by Oybekjon | January 22 2013

Enhanced scrollbar is one of the most useful elements in the package! It is awesome. Another really useful feature is to move line up/down.
However, I'm missing an extremely handy one - Interactive tooltips. Please bring it back.
I gave 4 just because it missing the interactive tooltips.

by JerPC | January 18 2013

Overall, I like this extension. I am currently having an issue with it removing coloring to my user types (DateTime for example) everytime I restart VisualStudio. Other than that though, it has seemed stable and helpful.

by Fat Atom | January 11 2013

****
After following the Q&A, my freezing issues did seem to be associated with the custom document well, and so switched this off, which at the moment seems to be the only glitch. Hoping they will fix this soon, which will raise it to 5 star rating for me.

*
This was a great set of extensions that really improved and enhanced development in VS 2010. But the 2012 version is so buggy. It constantly renders the 2012 ide unusable... it constantly freezes and requires restarting VS 2012 so much that you end up disabling it.

by KCs42 | January 09 2013

Thanks for the great tool, I don't need any other productivity extensions.

I'd like to suggest to split the "Remove and Sort Usings on save" feature. It's very useful that it removes redundant Usings, but I'd also like to maintain my carefully shaped assembly list order.

41 - 60 of 114 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • IDE hangs when printing under Win 8, 8.1, Srv2012 R2 (corrected text)
    2 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • Productivity Power Tools Extension fail to print with Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (Update 4) under Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2. Mainly I use it to print from the editor the syntax highlighted text.
      It appears not possible to print - the Visual Studio 2012 IDE hangs shortly after giving 'Print' command. The issue is noticed only under these systems, the latest updates were applied
      The same happens also with Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Something goes wrong, in particular, if we make print out via 'Adobe PDF' printer driver the file with name "Xps Document.pdf" is created, which means that printing subsystem is used wrong way. I think it is necessary to install some addition absent in the system but present in Windows 7.
      But if we disable the extensions the print possibility returns. I would like to use modern Windows to run both Visual Studio 2012 and 2010, but without syntax highlited printouts it is not that handy.
      
    • Sorry, let me reply my question. It seems I understood what was wrong.
      Color print of the text with syntax highlight works under modern Windows but not through 'Adobe PDF' printer driver of Acrobat Pro version 9 (9.5.1). This is the fault of Adobe Acrobat 9 Pro, but not of Windows, I suppose, as everything works ok if we use Acrobat XI Pro instead. But I prefer version 9 to 11. Has anyone tested the print through Acrobat Pro 9.5.5 'Adobe PDF' driver in Windows 8, 8.1 or 2012 R2? 
  • IDE hangs when printing under Win 8, 8.1, Srv2012 R2
    1 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • Productivity Power Tools Extension fail to print with Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (Update 4) under Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2. Mainly I use it to print from the editor the syntax highlighted text.
      It appears not possible to print - the Visual Studio 2012 IDE hangs shortly after giving 'Print' command. The issue is noticed only under Windows Server 2012 R2, although the print through these extensions is possible (tested) under Windows 8 Ultimate and Windows 8.1 Pro.
      The same happens both with Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Something goes wrong, in particular, if we make print out via 'Adobe PDF' printer driver the file with name "Xps Document.pdf" is created, which means that printing subsystem is used wrong way. I think it is necessary to install some addition for Windows Server 2012 R2 absent in the system but present in other operating systems.
      But if we disable the extensions the print possibility returns. I would like to use Windows Server 2012 R2 to run both Visual Studio 2012 and 2010, but without syntax highlited printouts it is not that handy.
      
  • Feature PresentOff
    1 Posts | Last post July 07, 2014
    • I have a problem with feature PresentOff, I turned on the feature but I can't turn off it now. Do you know how I can fix it?
  • Pin status setting is not sticking
    2 Posts | Last post July 03, 2014
    • I have VS 2012 Update 4. Noticed recently that the pin status setting is not sticking. I have a few files pinned that I would like them to stay pinned when the project is opened. Does anyone else have this issue?
      Thanks in advanced.
    • Forgot to add, if you disable Power Tools 2012, the pinned files will stay pinned when the project is loaded. Pretty sure it is an issue with the extension.
  • Reg Ex colored tabs have wrong unselected text color
    1 Posts | Last post June 20, 2014
    • For regex colored tabs the unselected color is white instead of black as configured in settings http://i.imgur.com/irmvAMr.png
      It was the same also for default existing regex settings for .cs files etc.
      
      I have VS2012 Update 4 and Power Tools 11.0.60403.0
      
  • does not apper
    2 Posts | Last post June 04, 2014
    • I can see the Power tools installed in Extensions and updates, but cannot see it on project..I have vs2012 and vs2012 13 installed
      
      Non of the features are visible
    • I have used to before..its some how not appearing. I can see it installed in "Extensions and updates"
  • How do I assign a shortcut to a Quick Task?
    1 Posts | Last post May 15, 2014
    • In particular, I'd like to be able to assign a shortcut to CollapseRegions. Having to select Quick Launch and then type "@tasks CollapseRegions", or even "@tasks C", is really slow.
  • Bug: text shown as link
    1 Posts | Last post April 28, 2014
    • If I have my cursor on a variable and press ctrl+space to autocomplete, it will autocomplete and show the variable as a blue link until I hover over the "link" and press ctrl.
      
      Have on idea where to report these bugs :)
  • Display parent folder in ASP.NET MVC
    1 Posts | Last post April 04, 2014
    • Although color coding tabs by project is useful, I would like the ability to view the parent folder e.g. "Views/{Home/Index.cshtml}" or "Views/{Cart/Index.cshtml}" since I find it hard to identify which view the tab is representing since the View page name is the same i.e. "Index.cshtml".
  • Interactive Tooltips
    14 Posts | Last post April 02, 2014
    • Would be nice if you brought back this feature from 2012 Power Tools: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/13729598/visual-studio-2012-pro-power-tools-class-method-name-hover-tooltip
    • Second that. Please bring it back, that was one of the most awesome features!
    • Yes please! This was the best feature, brilliant idea taking it out.
    • +1 -- This feature was something I used on a regular basis.
    • +1  I just now finally upgraded to 2012.  I used this constantly when coding.  I was amazed that it was taken out and almost considered going back to 2010 to get it back.
    • +1 Missing this very much!
    • PLEASE PLEASE Please bring it back
    • +1 This feature was a HUGE productivity booster. Even with the improvements of 2012 (and my addition of ReSharper) I still don't feel as productive if I can't quickly see the members with the interactive tooltips. Please consider this as a feature for 2012/2013.
    • I feel crippled without interactive tool tip.
      
      Please bring it back. Please......
    • Please bring this feature back - the solution explorer isn't nearly as useful, especially for library classes and methods.
    • +1  Please bring this back.  It was a huge time saver!!
    • Agreed - since CodeLens is only available to Ultimate subscribers, this tool should be added back to the productivity tools (unless that was why it was removed?!)
    • +5
      You've got to bring back that feature !   It was an incredible time saver and productivity booster. . .   I cannot imagine what you were thinking when you decided to drop it.   Should we ALL ROLL BACK to 2010 to get that feature back ??
    • Yes, PLEASE bring back this feature, and make it available in VS 2013 as well. It's the single feature that's keeping me from upgrading from VS 2010!!!
1 - 10 of 152 Items