Productivity Power Tools 2012

Microsoft Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio 2012 Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

Microsoft
(111) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (344,029)
4/4/2013
11.0.60403.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (111)
Q and A (144)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by LEPT0N | April 01 2013

Nothing beats the 'full map mode' setting of the 'enhanced scroll bar'!

by jwake | March 18 2013

by MDJRUK68 | March 01 2013

Great addition. Now I can print in colour :)

by Piotr Kula | February 28 2013

Every time I use a new machine I notice the little things that are missing. Always gotta install this. Great work!

by Vrane | February 23 2013

Excellent extension :)

idea for new feature : http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en/vswpfdesigner/thread/1bdf2ddd-472c-4c17-ad2e-845f5bf1f086

by Juan Zamudio | February 21 2013

When I installed the version 11.0.60128.0 I lost my settings, i thought this bug was fixed?

by TLunsf | February 20 2013

I have been a Microsoft fanboy for my entire programming career, but 2012-2013 may be your (Microsoft's) downfall. Everything is pushed out without QA - Win8, Office2013, VS2012, and now this update. Have you ever heard of saving configuration settings??? Now I've got to go waste an hour to figure out what my settings should be. AGAIN.

by Lemonshark1 | February 16 2013

by bobfox | February 15 2013

Big disappointment.
The most important feature - "Enhanced Tooltips" - has been left out.
Thumbs down - only one star for now.

Edit 02/15/2013:
Another update, still no enhanced tooltips :(
Update overwrites all settings :(

by Bastiaan Molsbeck | February 15 2013

A very useful extension, but unfortunately all settings are reverted to their default values each time installing an update for this extension.

by tampermatis | February 13 2013

Rockscroll lives again! Thank you so much.

by Andre.Ziegler | February 10 2013

by Roman Okolovich | January 31 2013

by Oybekjon | January 22 2013

Enhanced scrollbar is one of the most useful elements in the package! It is awesome. Another really useful feature is to move line up/down.
However, I'm missing an extremely handy one - Interactive tooltips. Please bring it back.
I gave 4 just because it missing the interactive tooltips.

by JerPC | January 18 2013

Overall, I like this extension. I am currently having an issue with it removing coloring to my user types (DateTime for example) everytime I restart VisualStudio. Other than that though, it has seemed stable and helpful.

by Fat Atom | January 11 2013

****
After following the Q&A, my freezing issues did seem to be associated with the custom document well, and so switched this off, which at the moment seems to be the only glitch. Hoping they will fix this soon, which will raise it to 5 star rating for me.

*
This was a great set of extensions that really improved and enhanced development in VS 2010. But the 2012 version is so buggy. It constantly renders the 2012 ide unusable... it constantly freezes and requires restarting VS 2012 so much that you end up disabling it.

by KCs42 | January 09 2013

Thanks for the great tool, I don't need any other productivity extensions.

I'd like to suggest to split the "Remove and Sort Usings on save" feature. It's very useful that it removes redundant Usings, but I'd also like to maintain my carefully shaped assembly list order.

by NQFE | January 03 2013

Rating: *****
Endlich wieder in Farbe drucken. 8-)

Rating: **
Leider wird das Syntax-Highlighting in VS2012 Ultimate (mehrere Installationen auf verschiedenen OS [Win7-Entp. ,Win8-Entp.]) reproduzierbar verändert.
Die integrierten-Typen wie Int32, Int64, Double, Boolean usw. werden im Code-Editor schwarz dargestellt.

Workaround:
Tools > Optionen > "Productivity Power Tools" > "Colorized Parameter Help" auf Off behebt den Fehler.

by John M Gant | December 27 2012

by Pathogen-David | December 19 2012

Very happy to have this extension back for Visual Studio 2012! I had missed it a lot.

41 - 60 of 111 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Display parent folder in ASP.NET MVC
    1 Posts | Last post April 04, 2014
    • Although color coding tabs by project is useful, I would like the ability to view the parent folder e.g. "Views/{Home/Index.cshtml}" or "Views/{Cart/Index.cshtml}" since I find it hard to identify which view the tab is representing since the View page name is the same i.e. "Index.cshtml".
  • Interactive Tooltips
    14 Posts | Last post April 02, 2014
    • Would be nice if you brought back this feature from 2012 Power Tools: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/13729598/visual-studio-2012-pro-power-tools-class-method-name-hover-tooltip
    • Second that. Please bring it back, that was one of the most awesome features!
    • Yes please! This was the best feature, brilliant idea taking it out.
    • +1 -- This feature was something I used on a regular basis.
    • +1  I just now finally upgraded to 2012.  I used this constantly when coding.  I was amazed that it was taken out and almost considered going back to 2010 to get it back.
    • +1 Missing this very much!
    • PLEASE PLEASE Please bring it back
    • +1 This feature was a HUGE productivity booster. Even with the improvements of 2012 (and my addition of ReSharper) I still don't feel as productive if I can't quickly see the members with the interactive tooltips. Please consider this as a feature for 2012/2013.
    • I feel crippled without interactive tool tip.
      
      Please bring it back. Please......
    • Please bring this feature back - the solution explorer isn't nearly as useful, especially for library classes and methods.
    • +1  Please bring this back.  It was a huge time saver!!
    • Agreed - since CodeLens is only available to Ultimate subscribers, this tool should be added back to the productivity tools (unless that was why it was removed?!)
    • +5
      You've got to bring back that feature !   It was an incredible time saver and productivity booster. . .   I cannot imagine what you were thinking when you decided to drop it.   Should we ALL ROLL BACK to 2010 to get that feature back ??
    • Yes, PLEASE bring back this feature, and make it available in VS 2013 as well. It's the single feature that's keeping me from upgrading from VS 2010!!!
  • double deep horizontal tab well
    1 Posts | Last post March 20, 2014
    • Would be nice if there was an option for a double deep tab well in the Top or Bottom position (ala the VisualTabs extension).  Helpful to see all the tabs with full names and having the tab well on the left or right wastes a bit of space.
  • Color printing bugs
    1 Posts | Last post February 10, 2014
    • Code prints fine with this extension disabled. 
      
      When enabled, page 10 gets shifted into the left margin so that the line numbers are cut off.  This was not a printer mis-feed, it happens every time on just page 10.
      
      Attempting to print just one page, instead of the entire document, results in an error being thrown.  The popup says only "pageNumber" 
      
      Print selection DOES seem to work, so I am able to print the page that way, although then the page number is shown as 1.
  • Open XML Package Editor NOT working as expected
    1 Posts | Last post January 24, 2014
    • Open XML Package Editor Power Tool for Visual Studio is NOT working as expected.  Have installed, uninstalled, reinstalled Productivity Power Tools many times.  Closed and reopened VS many times.
      Yet, rather than showing the XML PARTS when a word document or excel spreadsheet is dragged into VS..... it simply opens WORD or EXCEL.
      What needs to be turned on?  All the documentation read seems to suggest simply dragging a file into VS will open the Open XML Package editor.  Yet it is not happening....
      How is this tool suppose to work?
  • PPTP 2013
    1 Posts | Last post November 28, 2013
    • Are you guys going to be bringing in any of the cool features from the 2013 version?
  • Unable to modify Colorized Parameter Help...??
    1 Posts | Last post November 27, 2013
    • Could not find file 'C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Microsoft\VisualStudio\11.0\Extensions\bpum0wxo.q45\ColorizedSignatureHelp.pkgdef'.
      
      Uhhh... Wut??
      
      It seems to be able to do this when you open VS 2012 without a solution/project open however..  Still quite a perplexing issue, I think.  
  • PPT mangles title bar in VS2013
    1 Posts | Last post November 21, 2013
    • Microsoft Visual Studio Premium 2013
      Version 12.0.21005.1 REL
      Microsoft .NET Framework
      Version 4.5.50938
      
      When I enable PPT, several items in the title bar are missing.  Screenshot: http://bit.ly/I1Eg1U
  • No luck assigning tab colors by reg ex
    2 Posts | Last post November 21, 2013
    • Is there a guide or examples for making the reg ex color assignments work for tabs?  I cannot get anything to match.
      Do the reg ex types have to go before the project types in the list?  Is there a way to re-order the list?
    • Oops, theres a checkbox in the other section to enable the reg ex matches.
      Anybody got an example to make the .cs reg ex exclude ...aspx.cs ?
  • No column guides in VS2012
    2 Posts | Last post November 19, 2013
    • I have the column guides option enabled but do not get any guide lines, in .cs classes or .aspx.cs code-behind.
      Should this be working still in VS2012?  Used to have it in VS2010
    • For some reason they did not include them in VS2012.  I use Indent Guides as a replacement.  I don't like them as much, but it's workable.
1 - 10 of 144 Items