Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension

Microsoft Free

Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension allows developers to search and download 4500+ code samples from within Visual Studio 2012 and Visual Studio 2010. It is provided by Microsoft All-In-One Code Framework in partnership with Visual Studio Team and MSDN Samples Gallery. The...

Microsoft
(55) Review
Visual Studio
2012, 2010
Download (363,556)
4/19/2013
5.822
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (55)
Q and A (19)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Ice624 | September 04 2012

Wonderful tool~~ I'm loving it!!!

by David.Zhou | September 04 2012

Perfect , it really great useful for me . Thanks Infi's hard work .

by Alvinlong | September 04 2012

so cool!!!!!!!!!!

by Mei Yang中国版 | September 04 2012

So cool! 可以帮助我们很好的学习!

by RayLXX | September 04 2012

Pretty good.

by Lilian Chen | September 04 2012

非常好的一个软件,对编码能力的提高有很大的帮助。

by Yalin Cheng | September 04 2012

Bravo! Excellent tool!

by Stur Shi | September 04 2012

Metro is the future!

by Mr.Kevin | September 04 2012

very good~~

by DiorLi | September 04 2012

不错的软件,对新手很有帮助

by Learning hard | September 04 2012

界面绚丽,操作简单,是一个好的工具

by The Thinker | May 19 2012

Very useful but needs more selection of apps in each catergory.

by Emre Gunerturk | December 16 2011

Great tool. Must have!

by KKBruce | November 22 2011

學習.NET Framework 不可多得的教材。

by Santhosh Sivarajan- | November 08 2011

Good job!

by Amarion | November 04 2011

Crashes every single time I use it. I simply open it up and go to the search screen. It then starts building the list of samples based on my search criteria.

I have already downloaded the entire library of samples to my local C:\ drive and pointed the browser to that path in the settings.

It get Index Out of Range error (parameter: index) and then crashes Visual Studio 2010 SP1 (which causes it to restart).

It happens after loading exactly 705 samples every single time.

Please fix this because I can't use it and will un-install it.

P.S. I have a Core i5 machine with 4GB RAM and Windows 7 Professional 64bit with all updates applied.

All-In-One Code Framework November 05 2011
| Edit |
Delete

Thank you for your feedback and the issue report!! We have fixed the problem and published a new version of Sample Browser VS extension. You can get the updated 4.4 version from the “Update” tab of VS Extension Manager, or by clicking the “download” button again in http://aka.ms/samplebrowservsx.

by Steef-Jan Wiggers | November 03 2011

I just love this browser. Great UX.

metro interface is fantastic!!! very cool

by I'm a Debugger | October 21 2011

by Ehsan Mohammadi | October 08 2011

21 - 40 of 55 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension on VS 2013 soon ?
    1 Posts | Last post March 18, 2014
    • Any idea of when this wonderful extension will be available on Visual Studio 2013 ?
      
      Thanks
      
  • Sample web browser extension problem
    1 Posts | Last post January 28, 2014
    • I installed a sample web browser extension for VS 2012. It is working fine when I used it through toolbar. But when I type some code and want to find sample code in code editor i.e visual studio IDE about that then I right click on it and there is no option for " search code sample " in IDE. What should I do? Is there any problem?
  • VS 2013 ?
    3 Posts | Last post November 20, 2013
    • Still waiting...
      
    • It is unclear what you are waiting for.  Love the FoxPro icon!
    • Did you see my subject?
      I am waiting for the VS 2013 version!
      
  • What about VS2013?
    1 Posts | Last post November 14, 2013
    • "Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension allows developers to search and download 4500+ code samples from within Visual Studio 2012 and Visual Studio 2010"
      
      Does this mean it won't work in VS 2013?
  • Browser Extension Installation
    1 Posts | Last post May 22, 2013
    • I'm unable to install version 5.822 of the extension, it gives me the following in the install log:
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 	Supported Products : 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 			Version : [10.0]
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 			Version : [11.0]
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 	References      : 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		-------------------------------------------------------
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Identifier   : Microsoft.VisualStudio.MPF
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Name         : Visual Studio MPF
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Version      : 10.0
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		MoreInfoURL  : 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Nested       : No
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - Searching for applicable products...
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Web
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - Found installed product - Global Location
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - Found installed product - ssms
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
         at VSIXInstaller.App.InitializeInstall()
         at System.Threading.Tasks.Task.InnerInvoke()
         at System.Threading.Tasks.Task.Execute()
  • How do you remove the Search bar from the 'Standard' Toolbar in VS2012?
    4 Posts | Last post March 14, 2013
    • The 'Search Code Samples' bar takes up a lot of space that I'd like to reclaim.  As this is added to the 'Standard' toolbar, I cannot find a means to remove it.  Just being able to look for samples using the FILE menu application is good enough for me.  So... How can I remove this toolbar add-on?
    • Go to Tools/Customize... select Commands tab, then select Toolbar and choose Standard from drop-down menu. You can now delete Search Code Samples from the Controls pane.
    • I've deleted them from the Standard Toolbar.
      How do I add them to Main Menu bar, next the Help menu?
    • I am in the same boat as Kobus - I want to be able to move the extension commands from the main toolbar to one of their own. I know you can delete them from the Standard Toolbar, but I cannot seem to find them in the list of commands to add to a toolbar through Customize. Am I missing something?
  • When will logging in be supported?
    1 Posts | Last post March 11, 2013
    • I would like to be able to login so that the items I have marked as favorites online would be available on whatever machine I am running the All-In-One Samples Browser.  Thanks!!!
  • Digital Signature mismatch
    3 Posts | Last post November 28, 2012
    • While updating, a message box appears with an "Update version has an invalid signature" message.
    • Hello Anton
      Could you please let me know the version number of Sample Browser VS Extension installed in your environment?  You can find the version number in Visual Studio / Extension Manager / Installed Extension / Select Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension. 
    • Hi Jialiang,
      
      I don't remember it. I solved this problem with removing the Sample Browser version and installing it again from scratch.
      
      Now it's 5.815 and so I think if you take some earlier version you can reproduce the problem.
  • 调用的目标发生了异常
    2 Posts | Last post November 20, 2012
    • 在vs2012 点 search code samples 后弹出个窗口“调用的目标发生了异常”,请问是怎么回事?
    • 你好,此问题已解决。你安装更新
  • 调用的目标发生了异常
    2 Posts | Last post November 20, 2012
    • 调用的目标发生了异常
    • 你好,此问题已解决。你安装更新
1 - 10 of 19 Items