Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension

Microsoft Free

Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension allows developers to search and download 4500+ code samples from within Visual Studio 2012 and Visual Studio 2010. It is provided by Microsoft All-In-One Code Framework in partnership with Visual Studio Team and MSDN Samples Gallery. The...

Microsoft
(55) Review
Visual Studio
2012, 2010
Download (363,746)
4/19/2013
5.822
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (55)
Q and A (19)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by dongDong xu | September 20 2011

很不错啊.不过要想系统地学习,还是不够

by cportwood | September 16 2011

Awesome library of samples. Great thing is an online library and only downloads what you want.

by herb2live | August 08 2011

Works fine for me, just installed it and love the ease of use.

by Maxim A Golov | August 08 2011

(v1.4) It is probably a good tool when it works, but for me it does not work behind an authenticating proxy and crashes when trying to open the samples which were downloaded from the site manually. Opened a ticket on this issue.

by Mehmet YILDIZ | July 22 2011

by Esref Durna | July 21 2011

by Ciupaz | July 18 2011

I can't live without it.

by farproc2000 | June 07 2011

Rockalicious! 'Nuf said!

by syracus | June 06 2011

Does not work with authenticating proxy. Using Internet Explorer settings and get 'Network Connection Error'.

by Bruce Song | June 01 2011

very nice tool!

by Victor_Chen | June 01 2011

by Jialiang Ge [MSFT] | May 31 2011

by Dev.eloper | May 22 2011

by rodmjay | May 19 2011

excellent plugin

by Steven Wilssens MSFT | May 12 2011

41 - 55 of 55 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension on VS 2013 soon ?
    1 Posts | Last post March 18, 2014
    • Any idea of when this wonderful extension will be available on Visual Studio 2013 ?
      
      Thanks
      
  • Sample web browser extension problem
    1 Posts | Last post January 28, 2014
    • I installed a sample web browser extension for VS 2012. It is working fine when I used it through toolbar. But when I type some code and want to find sample code in code editor i.e visual studio IDE about that then I right click on it and there is no option for " search code sample " in IDE. What should I do? Is there any problem?
  • VS 2013 ?
    3 Posts | Last post November 20, 2013
    • Still waiting...
      
    • It is unclear what you are waiting for.  Love the FoxPro icon!
    • Did you see my subject?
      I am waiting for the VS 2013 version!
      
  • What about VS2013?
    1 Posts | Last post November 14, 2013
    • "Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension allows developers to search and download 4500+ code samples from within Visual Studio 2012 and Visual Studio 2010"
      
      Does this mean it won't work in VS 2013?
  • Browser Extension Installation
    1 Posts | Last post May 22, 2013
    • I'm unable to install version 5.822 of the extension, it gives me the following in the install log:
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 	Supported Products : 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 			Version : [10.0]
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 			Version : [11.0]
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 	References      : 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		-------------------------------------------------------
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Identifier   : Microsoft.VisualStudio.MPF
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Name         : Visual Studio MPF
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Version      : 10.0
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		MoreInfoURL  : 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Nested       : No
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - Searching for applicable products...
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Web
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - Found installed product - Global Location
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - Found installed product - ssms
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
         at VSIXInstaller.App.InitializeInstall()
         at System.Threading.Tasks.Task.InnerInvoke()
         at System.Threading.Tasks.Task.Execute()
  • How do you remove the Search bar from the 'Standard' Toolbar in VS2012?
    4 Posts | Last post March 14, 2013
    • The 'Search Code Samples' bar takes up a lot of space that I'd like to reclaim.  As this is added to the 'Standard' toolbar, I cannot find a means to remove it.  Just being able to look for samples using the FILE menu application is good enough for me.  So... How can I remove this toolbar add-on?
    • Go to Tools/Customize... select Commands tab, then select Toolbar and choose Standard from drop-down menu. You can now delete Search Code Samples from the Controls pane.
    • I've deleted them from the Standard Toolbar.
      How do I add them to Main Menu bar, next the Help menu?
    • I am in the same boat as Kobus - I want to be able to move the extension commands from the main toolbar to one of their own. I know you can delete them from the Standard Toolbar, but I cannot seem to find them in the list of commands to add to a toolbar through Customize. Am I missing something?
  • When will logging in be supported?
    1 Posts | Last post March 11, 2013
    • I would like to be able to login so that the items I have marked as favorites online would be available on whatever machine I am running the All-In-One Samples Browser.  Thanks!!!
  • Digital Signature mismatch
    3 Posts | Last post November 28, 2012
    • While updating, a message box appears with an "Update version has an invalid signature" message.
    • Hello Anton
      Could you please let me know the version number of Sample Browser VS Extension installed in your environment?  You can find the version number in Visual Studio / Extension Manager / Installed Extension / Select Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension. 
    • Hi Jialiang,
      
      I don't remember it. I solved this problem with removing the Sample Browser version and installing it again from scratch.
      
      Now it's 5.815 and so I think if you take some earlier version you can reproduce the problem.
  • 调用的目标发生了异常
    2 Posts | Last post November 20, 2012
    • 在vs2012 点 search code samples 后弹出个窗口“调用的目标发生了异常”,请问是怎么回事?
    • 你好,此问题已解决。你安装更新
  • 调用的目标发生了异常
    2 Posts | Last post November 20, 2012
    • 调用的目标发生了异常
    • 你好,此问题已解决。你安装更新
1 - 10 of 19 Items