Bing Developer Assistant Beta

Microsoft Free

Bing Developer Assistant puts millions of code snippets and code sample projects at your fingertips while you are coding in Visual Studio.

Microsoft
(63) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (422,242)
8/29/2014
6.2
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (63)
Q and A (20)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Emre Gunerturk | December 16 2011

Great tool. Must have!

by KKBruce | November 22 2011

學習.NET Framework 不可多得的教材。

by Santhosh Sivarajan- | November 08 2011

Good job!

by Amarion | November 04 2011

Crashes every single time I use it. I simply open it up and go to the search screen. It then starts building the list of samples based on my search criteria.

I have already downloaded the entire library of samples to my local C:\ drive and pointed the browser to that path in the settings.

It get Index Out of Range error (parameter: index) and then crashes Visual Studio 2010 SP1 (which causes it to restart).

It happens after loading exactly 705 samples every single time.

Please fix this because I can't use it and will un-install it.

P.S. I have a Core i5 machine with 4GB RAM and Windows 7 Professional 64bit with all updates applied.

All-In-One Code Framework November 05 2011
| Edit |
Delete

Thank you for your feedback and the issue report!! We have fixed the problem and published a new version of Sample Browser VS extension. You can get the updated 4.4 version from the “Update” tab of VS Extension Manager, or by clicking the “download” button again in http://aka.ms/samplebrowservsx.

by Steef-Jan Wiggers | November 03 2011

I just love this browser. Great UX.

metro interface is fantastic!!! very cool

by I'm a Debugger | October 21 2011

by Ehsan Mohammadi | October 08 2011

by dongDong xu | September 20 2011

很不错啊.不过要想系统地学习,还是不够

by cportwood | September 16 2011

Awesome library of samples. Great thing is an online library and only downloads what you want.

by herb2live | August 08 2011

Works fine for me, just installed it and love the ease of use.

by Maxim A Golov | August 08 2011

(v1.4) It is probably a good tool when it works, but for me it does not work behind an authenticating proxy and crashes when trying to open the samples which were downloaded from the site manually. Opened a ticket on this issue.

by Mehmet YILDIZ | July 22 2011

by Esref Durna | July 21 2011

by Ciupaz | July 18 2011

I can't live without it.

by farproc2000 | June 07 2011

Rockalicious! 'Nuf said!

by syracus | June 06 2011

Does not work with authenticating proxy. Using Internet Explorer settings and get 'Network Connection Error'.

by Bruce Song | June 01 2011

very nice tool!

by Victor_Chen | June 01 2011

by Jialiang Ge [MSFT] | May 31 2011

41 - 60 of 63 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • CTRL + Spacebar = Crash
    3 Posts | Last post August 25, 2014
    • Hi,
      
      After installing the tool, when I use CTRL + Spacebar VS 2012 crashes.
      
      Problem signature:
        Problem Event Name:	CLR20r3
        Problem Signature 01:	devenv.exe
        Problem Signature 02:	11.0.61030.0
        Problem Signature 03:	5270a974
        Problem Signature 04:	Microsoft.OneCode.IntellisensePresenter
        Problem Signature 05:	1.0.0.0
        Problem Signature 06:	53ed9461
        Problem Signature 07:	7e
        Problem Signature 08:	0
        Problem Signature 09:	System.NullReferenceException
        OS Version:	6.3.9600.2.0.0.256.4
        Locale ID:	1033
        Additional Information 1:	5861
        Additional Information 2:	5861822e1919d7c014bbb064c64908b2
        Additional Information 3:	d1d9
        Additional Information 4:	d1d94a13d3609d6b740644c12508f581
      
      Read our privacy statement online:
        http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=280262
      
      If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
        C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
      
    • Hello
      Thank you for reporting the issue to us!  This is a known issue.  We will hopefully release an app update next Monday to fix this problem.  As soon as the fix is released, I will inform you in this email thread.  
    • Hello
      We have just released the fix of the ctrl+sapce problem.  Could you install the update and let me know how it works for you?  Thank you again for reporting this issue!
      Thanks
      Scott
  • What about VS2013?
    2 Posts | Last post August 18, 2014
    • "Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension allows developers to search and download 4500+ code samples from within Visual Studio 2012 and Visual Studio 2010"
      
      Does this mean it won't work in VS 2013?
    • he plugin is now available in VS2013! With many new features :)
      We also rebranded the plugin as 'Bing Developer Assistant'.
      http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/a1166718-a2d9-4a48-a5fd-504ff4ad1b65
  • VS 2013 ?
    4 Posts | Last post August 18, 2014
    • Still waiting...
      
    • It is unclear what you are waiting for.  Love the FoxPro icon!
    • Did you see my subject?
      I am waiting for the VS 2013 version!
      
    • he plugin is now available in VS2013! With many new features :)
      We also rebranded the plugin as 'Bing Developer Assistant'.
      http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/a1166718-a2d9-4a48-a5fd-504ff4ad1b65
  • Sample web browser extension problem
    2 Posts | Last post August 18, 2014
    • I installed a sample web browser extension for VS 2012. It is working fine when I used it through toolbar. But when I type some code and want to find sample code in code editor i.e visual studio IDE about that then I right click on it and there is no option for " search code sample " in IDE. What should I do? Is there any problem?
    • Hi
      Do you still meet the problem?  We just released a new version of the plugin that adds lots of new cool features, and I believe that the problem you mentioned is also fixed.  Please try it. 
  • Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension on VS 2013 soon ?
    5 Posts | Last post August 18, 2014
    • Any idea of when this wonderful extension will be available on Visual Studio 2013 ?
      
      Thanks
      
    • We are working to upgrade the Sample Browser to VS2013 with new features, but if you could send your feedback about Sample Browser to onecode@microsoft.com, it will encourage and inspire us to work it out faster :)
    • I don't need any "fucking new features", I just want the existing extension to work in VS2013, that's all.
      Hurry up, MS already released a CTP of VS2015!!!
       
    • @bobfox: No reason to be abusive.
    • The plugin is now available in VS2013! With many new features :)
      We also rebranded the plugin as 'Bing Developer Assistant'.
      http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/a1166718-a2d9-4a48-a5fd-504ff4ad1b65
  • Browser Extension Installation
    1 Posts | Last post May 22, 2013
    • I'm unable to install version 5.822 of the extension, it gives me the following in the install log:
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 	Supported Products : 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 			Version : [10.0]
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 			Version : [11.0]
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 	References      : 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		-------------------------------------------------------
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Identifier   : Microsoft.VisualStudio.MPF
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Name         : Visual Studio MPF
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Version      : 10.0
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		MoreInfoURL  : 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 		Nested       : No
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - 
      5/22/2013 2:53:27 PM - Searching for applicable products...
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Web
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - Found installed product - Global Location
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - Found installed product - ssms
      5/22/2013 2:53:30 PM - VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
         at VSIXInstaller.App.InitializeInstall()
         at System.Threading.Tasks.Task.InnerInvoke()
         at System.Threading.Tasks.Task.Execute()
  • How do you remove the Search bar from the 'Standard' Toolbar in VS2012?
    4 Posts | Last post March 14, 2013
    • The 'Search Code Samples' bar takes up a lot of space that I'd like to reclaim.  As this is added to the 'Standard' toolbar, I cannot find a means to remove it.  Just being able to look for samples using the FILE menu application is good enough for me.  So... How can I remove this toolbar add-on?
    • Go to Tools/Customize... select Commands tab, then select Toolbar and choose Standard from drop-down menu. You can now delete Search Code Samples from the Controls pane.
    • I've deleted them from the Standard Toolbar.
      How do I add them to Main Menu bar, next the Help menu?
    • I am in the same boat as Kobus - I want to be able to move the extension commands from the main toolbar to one of their own. I know you can delete them from the Standard Toolbar, but I cannot seem to find them in the list of commands to add to a toolbar through Customize. Am I missing something?
  • When will logging in be supported?
    1 Posts | Last post March 11, 2013
    • I would like to be able to login so that the items I have marked as favorites online would be available on whatever machine I am running the All-In-One Samples Browser.  Thanks!!!
  • Digital Signature mismatch
    3 Posts | Last post November 28, 2012
    • While updating, a message box appears with an "Update version has an invalid signature" message.
    • Hello Anton
      Could you please let me know the version number of Sample Browser VS Extension installed in your environment?  You can find the version number in Visual Studio / Extension Manager / Installed Extension / Select Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension. 
    • Hi Jialiang,
      
      I don't remember it. I solved this problem with removing the Sample Browser version and installing it again from scratch.
      
      Now it's 5.815 and so I think if you take some earlier version you can reproduce the problem.
  • 调用的目标发生了异常
    2 Posts | Last post November 20, 2012
    • 在vs2012 点 search code samples 后弹出个窗口“调用的目标发生了异常”,请问是怎么回事?
    • 你好,此问题已解决。你安装更新
1 - 10 of 20 Items