SlowCheetah - XML Transforms

Free

This package enables you to transform your app.config or any other XML file based on the build configuration. It also adds additional tooling to help you create XML transforms.. Written by: Sayed Ibrahim Hashimi, Chuck England and Bill Hiebert

(102) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (134,725)
10/20/2013
2.5.10
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (102)
Q and A (223)
Sign in to write a review

Be the first to write a review.

Sign in to start a discussion


  • SlowCheetah doesn't work with custom transformation expression
    3 Posts | Last post Wed 3:59 PM
    • Nor effective transformation nor transform preview works when I use your custom extended transformation attribute described at http://sedodream.com/default,date,2010-09-09.aspx which indeed works like acharm ;).
      
      Here is the result of the build :
      Build started 21/06/2012 17:21:32.
      ResolveAssemblyReferences:
        A TargetFramework profile exclusion list will be generated.
      GenerateTargetFrameworkMonikerAttribute:
      Skipping target "GenerateTargetFrameworkMonikerAttribute" because all output files are up-to-date with respect to the input files.
      _CopyAppConfigFile:
      Skipping target "_CopyAppConfigFile" because all output files are up-to-date with respect to the input files.
      CopyFilesToOutputDirectory:
        ConsoleApplication1 -> d:\rzetelny\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\bin\Debug\ConsoleApplication1.exe
      TransformAllFiles:
        Transforming Source File: d:\rzetelny\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\App.config
          Applying Transform File: App.Debug.config
      d:\rzetelny\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\App.Debug.config(10,10): error : Could not resolve 'AttributeRegexReplace' as a type of Transform
      d:\rzetelny\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\App.Debug.config(14,10): error : Could not resolve 'AttributeRegexReplace' as a type of Transform
        Transformation failed
      
      
      Is there a way to make them work together ?
    • This is not currently supported but I have this on my backlog at https://github.com/sayedihashimi/slow-cheetah/issues/6.
    • Hi,
      
      Will custom transforms be supported any time soon?
      
      Thanks.
  • Config files as link.
    1 Posts | Last post Wed 11:28 AM
    • We have a shared config file across multiple projects, We use a link to the Root App.config file and another CustomConfig.config file which are used all over the place when i click on AddConfig Transforms it shows me a dialog box. 
      
      "Add as linked configs?" 
      
      Press yes then it says 
      
      "Object reference not set to an instance of an object." 
      
      Any idea on what could be happening at this point?
      
      Kind Regards
      Vinay.
  • Configs other than debug and release?
    1 Posts | Last post April 03, 2014
    • I was trying to add config files that were not debug or release for my other environments. I didn't see any way through VS to do this, so I decided to edit the project files. I added a PropertyGroup setting as well as an ItemGroup setting in my project file. The new config did show up under the app.config, however the actual build for my selected config did not transform the configuration or put the built files into the same named folder under bin. Suggestions? Is there a limitation to only debug and release builds? Thanks
  • works on my box but fails for everyone who checked out the project from svn
    1 Posts | Last post April 02, 2014
    • I have build the transform replacement using the plungin on a Class Library project and it works amazingly on my box. I checked everything into SVN and everyone who got the project from SVN are unable to get the replacements to work. I have the following setup..
      App.config
      App.Debug.QA1.config
      App.Debug.QA2.config We checked a few things.. everyone has the plung-in installed, we are all on VS2013 Pro, our project files (XMLs) are good, we are all selecting the correct environment (QA1/QA2) build configuration when we build but for everyone else the <dllname>.config file is not getting replaced. any inputs?
  • VS 2012 Ultimate - Unable to add transform to app.config
    2 Posts | Last post April 01, 2014
    • Via Nuget, I've installed SlowCheetah 2.5.10.3 and SlowCheetah.Tasks.Unofficial 1.0.0, and am unable to add a transform to any of my solution's projects' app.config files.  When I right-click on an app.config file, I do not see "Add transform" in the context-sensitive menu that appears.
      
      I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling SlowCheetah and SlowCheetah.Tasks.Unofficial, as well as reloading project, and restarting Visual Studio.  None of these have helped.
    • Try
      - download the vsix from http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/69023d00-a4f9-4a34-a6cd-7e854ba318b5 (this project)
      - then exit VS 
      - then exec vsix
  • App.config being not transformed
    1 Posts | Last post March 28, 2014
    • In a solution with different projects, app,.config files are transformed only on the active one.
      Is it a bug or maybe is there something wrong in my configuration?
  • Unescape escape character
    1 Posts | Last post March 18, 2014
    • Is there a way to un-escape escaped characters like greater-than less-than?
      
      A feature similar to disable-output-escaping in XSLT?
  • Problem on Build Server
    2 Posts | Last post March 14, 2014
    • I know that you had some issues with build servers in the past, and I've tried some of the fixes that you had suggested for those, but I'm still having a significant problem using Slow Cheetah on my build server.  I am using a server running Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard.  I'm using FinalBuilder and MSBuild to build my projects.  Here's an overview of the problem:
      In the Slow Cheetah folder (../MSBuild/SlowCheetah) there is one folder called v2.5.10.2.  This folder is empty.  When I commit changes to a project, during the build process two new folders are created, once called v1, and one called v2.5.10.  All of the project code is copied into the v2.5.10 folder.  I'm then told that the build can't find the slow cheetah.dll, and the build fails.  If I go in and manually delete the two created folders (v1, v2.5.10), then run the project again (using FinalBuilder), it works and no folders are created.  Any ideas on how to fix this problem?  I really like this product, and it makes it much easier to work on projects; I'm just having a problem when building.  Thanks in advance!
    • I've had plenty of the same issues myself.
      Tried following instructions at http://sedodream.com/2012/12/24/SlowCheetahBuildServerSupportUpdated.aspx
      to no avail...
      
      One of my solutions IIRC was to check in the SlowCheetah packages files into source control alongside my solution, then manually editing the project-level .targets files to point at this, rather than AppData.  Not ideal at all, however, as SlowCheetah updates will blow this away; rare but would be annoying to say the least.  
      
      So I tried something else: logged into the Build Server (thank goodness I have permissions) and copied the folder from my local machine (C:\Users\<me>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\MSBuild\SlowCheetah)
      to the corresponding folder on the build machine, under the build user's account.  Again, glad and lucky I have sufficient privileges... not really an enterprise-level scenario, especially if you have multiple/many build servers; or an environment where you don't have access to the build server.
      
      A better solution I've considered is to write an MSBuild script, perhaps EnableSlowCheetahForTeamBuild.proj, that copies the SlowCheetah files from the downloaded workspace to the appropriate folder on the build server each time.  Does require the SlowCheetah package stored in source control, but worth it given all the issues we've had.  As it would run under the build user's account, it would likely have the sufficient permissions, and it would scale out seamlessly to a 1+ build machine scenario.  I'll probably set this up at some point.
      
      Frankly, given the number of downloads, I'm surprised more people aren't complaining - I'd love to hear from someone who has had luck with Sayed's 12/2012 solution, because nobody here has been able to get that working.
  • Not working under Windows XP
    1 Posts | Last post March 11, 2014
    • I opened VS2010 under Windows XP, installed the latest version using the extension manager in VS2010. Then created a new Project and added a transformation for an appsetting. The "Preview Transform" is working and displaying the replaced data, but when I run the simple console application, it does not transform the app.config.
      
      Is the transformation not working under WinXP?
  • Still A Separate Install?
    1 Posts | Last post March 09, 2014
    • We're now in VS 2013, and this still hasn't made it into the IDE itself? What gives? I understand why previous versions did not have it (priorities), but even now?
1 - 10 of 223 Items