CSS 3 Intellisense Schema

Free

add CSS3 intellisense schema to visual studio 2010 which improves developer web designing and support css 3 properties

(50) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (182,382)
2/3/2013
2.1.1
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (50)
Q and A (14)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by jenka1980 | April 08 2014

Great add-on, although there are some issue in the installation process.

I'm using VS2010 that installed at "d:" drive and this caused some problems.
Install process installed css/html5 schemas to "c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\"
It created bunch of directories (for different VS versions) inside each one of them was "css30.xml" file and "schemas" directory for html5 schema.

What I did for make this add-on to work is copy "css.xml" file (only one needed they are all the same) to the directory where my VS was installed:
"d:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS\"
(The number "1033" is depend on your VS version)

Another thing you have to do as mentioned in previous comment is to change X/HTML5 schema to make CSS3 a default schema for CSS validation inside HTML files.

I found this schema in:
"d:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\schemas\html\"

html_5.xsd and xhtml_5.xsd

What you need to change in this files is: "vs:cssschema" attribute
from (vs:cssschema="CSS 2.1") to (vs:cssschema="CSS 3.0").
Restart VS and that's it you can enjoy the add-on.

by Harichandra Prasad R | January 30 2014

by Ali.Alikhani | June 28 2013

by Jcp addict | April 25 2013

Good job! The only thing is that if it is installed in a different directory you must copy the css30.xml file to the installation directory of VS

you will find the xml here: C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS

and you must copy it here: D:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS

or wherever you installed the VS10 .
You can find the installation folder with these steps:

1) right click the shortcut of VS10
2) properties
3) click " open file location"
4) go up a folder
5) go to \Packages\1033\schemas\CSS
6) paste the css30.xml inside

and you're done!

by Daniele Dalla Vecchia | March 19 2013

I couldn't select the CSS 3.0 item in the dropdown list, I tried to modify the registry Key (as suggested in many forums) but it didn't work anyway.
For solving my problem I just moved the css30.xml file (which was in the "ProgramFiles (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS" folder) to the "Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1040\schemas\CSS" folder (the one that contains the other xml file for the older CSS versions).
After that it worked fine!
Hope I could help others with my same problem!

by adnan.hussain | January 10 2013

A much needed extension, thank you. I also noticed that text-shadow is missing, but was able to add it to the css30.xml file myself:

<cssmd:property-def _locID="text-shadow" _locAttrData="description,syntax" type="composite"
description="Attaches a shadow to text."
syntax="none | [h-shadow] [v-shadow] [blur] [color]" />

by Frug | July 02 2012

Easy install. CSS3 ready to go. thanks!

by Giammi | May 13 2012

It is good, but I rate it 4/5 because you missing the "text-shadow" property. Could you add it in the next release please?

Anyway, it is an excellent addin.

Bye.

Jymmy097

by TheRealPRMan | May 07 2012

You're missing "text-shadow". Other than that, great job.

by Sofwarer | May 01 2012

by J.C.Ködel | March 28 2012

Not working when VS is not installed in default folder (my, for instance, is in D:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS)

Copying from C:\... works fine.

by Milton Systems | March 21 2012

After I installed this, I found that I couldn't effectively edit html code in my code editor window; cursor refusing to position within an html element.

I de-installed this package and I was then back in business.

by Moattar | March 12 2012

by amgi | March 05 2012

If you installed it and it doesn't work,perhaps you did'nt installed the vs2010 on the default place,you must copy the file xml30.xml to right place.

by rob.bass | February 26 2012

[RESOLVED] i had problems about selecting "CSS3.0" profile on dropdown list.
I solved copying "css3.xml" file found from the default directory ("C:\programfiles_x86...") to my vs2010 directory, because i installed visual studio on another partition and this installation didnt put it on the right place.

by Margriet Bruggeman | February 21 2012

It can't hurt to add some clarifcation to CSS!

by Ranbla | February 16 2012

Can't get this to work. CSS 3.0 shows in the drop down, but I can't select. I wasted enough time going through the suggested solutions here but to no avail.

by juFo | February 16 2012

Great, but it doesn't cover everything, like:
text-shadow
http://www.w3.org/Style/Examples/007/text-shadow

by constantineava | February 02 2012

Great add-on to Visual Studio. HTML5 is gaining speed and its nice to see Microsoft does not ignore it.

by efficiondave | January 27 2012

Worked great. Finally solved the bogus errors I was getting for things like having border-radius in my CSS.

1 - 20 of 50 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Don't see CSS 3.0 in the validation dropdown
    1 Posts | Last post April 24, 2014
    • I have 2010 Visual Web Developer on a Windows 7 64-bit machine. I downloaded the CSS3 Intellisense Schema which the css30.xml file I placed in the directory C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS and when I load Visual Web Developer I don't see CSS3 in the validation dropdown which only has
      
      Internet Explorer 6.0
      CSS 1.0
      CSS 2.0
      
      I don't know if something has to match with the registry in the directory that links to the csss30.xml file. Any solutions?
  • Uninstall problem
    3 Posts | Last post April 16, 2013
    • There seems to be a problem with the uninstall for this. On two different machines (Windows 7 Enterprise, x86 and x64) when I uninstalled this, I was unable to open a .css file using the Visual Studio 2010 CSS editor. (I got a dialog saying: "The operation could not be completed. Unspecified error." Very helpful!).
      
      Just thought I would let other users here know - it took a while for me to realize what the problem was.
      
      My work-around was just to reinstall.
      
      
    • I had the same problem but not uninstalling. I was tampering with the scheme and had an error which provoked this error in my Visual Studio (The operation could not be completed. Unspecified error.). I fixed the scheme file and everything got back to normal. It works gracefully after that! Thought this information might be helpful for somebody else.
    • If you re-install it, open the CSS files, and select CSS 2.1 or lower from the toolbar, then close it, you should be able to open files after uninstalling it.
  • Uninstall Problem
    2 Posts | Last post April 16, 2013
    • Visual Studio can't open any .css file after remove it.
      And work like a charm after reinstall it *.*
      Please help me. I need to remove it.
      Not have: box-shadown...
    • If you re-install it, open the CSS files, and select CSS 2.1 or lower from the toolbar, then close it, you should be able to open files after uninstalling it.
  • @-webkit-keyframes problem
    2 Posts | Last post September 21, 2012
    • Hello,
      I'm using VS 2008. I've installed this, I've made changes in registry, and everything works great (almost...)
      In my CSS file I have something like this:
      
      @-webkit-keyframes XXX 
      {
          from { opacity: 1; }
          to { opacity: 0; }
      }
      
      Visual says that this syntax (@-webkit-kayframes) is incorrect.
      
      Can anyone say if I could do something about this?
      thanks in advance
      
    • Having the exact same problem
  • Extending validation data
    3 Posts | Last post July 13, 2012
    • I'm using JQuery-UI and the included stylesheet has lots of CSS3 properties in it - adding this schema to Visual Studio got rid of *most* of those. The JQuery-UI stylesheet uses two properties which are apparently MS-specific, "filter" and "zoom" and not currently in this schema.
      
      I was able to add validation for "zoom" by adding the following just before </cssmd:property-set>:
      
          <cssmd:property-def _locID="zoom" _locAttrData="description,syntax" type="composite"
           description="Gets or sets the magnification scale of the object. (IE-specific)"
           syntax="number | percentage"/>
      
      But I had no luck guessing how to specify "filter" - everything I tried resulted in making the CSS 3.0 choice unavailable in the dropdown(invalid XML file?).
      
      Does anyone have any suggestions for how to add the "filter" property?
      
      Thanks!
    • I had many reviews on a cc3 properties and i hope coming soon new version released...
      
      
      
      
      
    • Hi gruve1, I fixed it like this (Replace the current rule for src property in the <!-- @font-face Properties --> section with the following one):
      
      <cssmd:property-def _locID="src" _locAttrData="description,syntax" type="composite"
      	description="Location of the font file"
      	syntax="url([url to font download]) | url([url to font download]) format([font format]) | inherit" />
      
      I also added an extra rule for text-shadow (It was giving me a lot of warnings in my projects :/ )
      
      <!-- Text shadow -->
      <cssmd:property-def _locID="text-shadow" _locAttrData="description,syntax" type="composite"
      	description="Adds a shadow above the background and under the text of the current element"
      	syntax="none | offsetX offsetY blurRadius color" />
      
      Im doing this temporarily while Mojtaba.kaviani adds these rules in a future release!
      
      Thanks for this schema, veeeeeeeeeeeeery useful!
  • Microsoft Version released
    2 Posts | Last post May 04, 2012
    • Microsoft developers have released an update of the web standards to include CSS 3.0 in Visual Studio.
      
      Web Standards Update for Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 SP1 http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/a15c3ce9-f58f-42b7-8668-53f6cdc2cd83
      
      Simple installation and now I have the CSS 3.0 option in visual studio.
    • GuyFromCA
      
      Seems that the update you installed stops users opening CSS files within Visual Studio - known bug
      
      Mojtaba Kaviani,
      
      I install Visual Studio 2010 on D:\ and read below that someone else installs on E:\
      
      Windows 7 64 Bit SP1
      
      Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
      
      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\VisualStudio\10.0\Packages\{A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}\Schemas\Schema 5] 
      "File"="css30.xml"
      "Friendly Name"="CSS 3.0"
      
      Copy CSS30 file from 
      
      C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS
      
      to
      
      D:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS
      
      Then changing SPEEDNET's suggestion but for D:\ instead of C:\
      
      Restart Visual Studio
      
      TOOLS | OPTIONS | TEXT EDITOR | HTML | VALIDATION (Changing it to HTML5)
      
      Now it works but doesn't support text-shadow, -webkit-transform: scale(1.0); etc
  • Installation
    21 Posts | Last post January 24, 2012
    • Hi, I installed the tool with no errors during the installation, but I can't see the CSS 3.0 option in my css' dropdownlist. There's some trick to do? I don't know if it's relevant, but just before install it, I installed the HTML5 Intellisense extension successfully. 
      I tried also to reinstall it and the installer recognizes that is yet installed.
      Any suggest will be appreciated.
      Thanks!
    • I have the same exact problem as stuzzo.
    • actually, I take that back... I had not restarted all instances of VS.NET
    • what your windows?
    • Unfortunately I still have the problem. I tried several times to uninstall and reinstall, but nothing. My windows is 7 ultimate.
      What you suggest to control?
      
      Thanks!
    • Had this problem also.  Found out the registry had not been updated with the new schema file.
      Run the following registry update to create the entry.
      
      Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
      
      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\VisualStudio\10.0\Packages\{A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}\Schemas\Schema 5]
      "File"="css30.xml"
      "Friendly Name"="CSS 3.0"
      
      
    • Should mention, I found the information on Mikhail Arkhipov's blog (http://blogs.msdn.com/b/mikhailarkhipov/archive/2007/10/19/how-to-create-custom-css-intellisense-schema-in-visual-studio-2005-and-2008.aspx)
    • @J B Oliver - thanks for the Registry suggestion - that did the trick for me.
    • @J B Oliver - thanks it works for me too!
    • I'm using en-US all the way through but, looks like it was installing into the "Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0" %ProgramFiles(x86)% directory instead of "Microsoft Visual Studio". Here's what worked for me...
      
      1. Install the package.
      2. Add the reg file
      Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
      
      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\VisualStudio\10.0\Packages\{A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}\Schemas\Schema 5]
      "File"="css30.xml"
      "Friendly Name"="CSS 3.0"
      
      3. Copy the "css30.xml" XML file to the proper directory
      
      From folder:
      "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS"
      
      To folder:
      "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS"
    • An interesting note... I installed this on two computers.  On the 32-bit one, I had to use the registry hack.  On the 64-bit one, it installed just fine.
    • One more necessary step:  The HTML5 schema needs to be updated to use the CSS 3.0 schema.  Even after installing the CSS 3.0 schema, any HTML files opened will continue to use the CSS 2.1 schema for validation of embedded styles.
      
      To make the change, edit:  C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\schemas\html\html_5.xsd
      
      On line 2 change:
      
      <xsd:schema ... vs:cssschema="CSS 2.1" ...> 
      
      ...to...
      
      <xsd:schema ... vs:cssschema="CSS 3.0" ...> 
      
      Then restart VS2010, and HTML 5 files will begin validating using the CSS 3.0 schema.
    • i have tried to install it on my visual web developer express 2010 but it won't display the option for css3, it says that it installed correctly,
      is this plugin supported in visual web developer express 2010?
    • I can see CSS 3.0 in the dropdown but I can't select it - nothing happens. it just returns back to the previous selection. Already checked the Packages folder in Program Files.
      
      Any ideas?
    • @Speednet: You're my hero! I'd been looking everywhere for this answer.
    • @neps Check the install directory, if it isn't the default then copy the css30.xml into the respective and proper install directory. ie, my VS is installed to D:\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0 but the MSI only installed the css30.xml to the default locations (program files etc).  Copy and paste the xml to the right folder and it should work.
    • I did this for Visual Web Developer Express 2010:
      
      1. Install this package.
      2. Find in registry any key with css21.xml
      3. Save keys as .reg
      4. Edit keys changing "css21.xml" by "css30.xml" and "CSS 2.1" by "CSS 3.0"
      5. Save it
      6. Execute .reg files and click YES to add the new keys to the registry
      7. You're done!!
      
      Example:
      
      Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
      
      [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\VWDExpress\10.0_Config\Packages\{A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}\Schemas\Schema 5]
      "Friendly Name"="CSS 3.0"
      "File"="css30.xml"
      
      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\VWDExpress\10.0\Packages\{A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}\Schemas\Schema 5]
      "Friendly Name"="CSS 3.0"
      "File"="css30.xml"
      
      [HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\VWDExpress\10.0_Config\Packages\{A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}\Schemas\Schema 5]
      "Friendly Name"="CSS 3.0"
      "File"="css30.xml"
      
      [HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Microsoft\VWDExpress\10.0_Config\Packages\{A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}\Schemas\Schema 5]
      "Friendly Name"="CSS 3.0"
      "File"="css30.xml"
      
      [HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-819682056-1984509207-1467669795-1000\Software\Microsoft\VWDExpress\10.0_Config\Packages\{A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}\Schemas\Schema 5]
      "Friendly Name"="CSS 3.0"
      "File"="css30.xml"
      
      
    • Tnx Alex, it worked for me. After changing the registry I did a repair installation of CSS3 IS 2.1.1 and after that I could use CSS 3.0.
    • Hi , I have read all these post,and made correction to REGEDIT and folders. I still can not select CSS3.0 from dropdown in Visual Studio 2010.  I have 64bit version of Windows 2008 R2 . Why micrsoft makes this harder for deveelopr who uses his product to make them rich? This is so frustrating and time wasting. I have reinstall few times SP1 for VS2010. still problem pathetic crap!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • For Windows 7 64Bit and VS 2010 Prof(x86) and after install this CSS3 Plugin:
      Open Registry. Go to 
      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\VisualStudio\10.0\Packages\{A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}\Schemas\Schema 5] 
      
      1. If the Schema 5 not exist, u have to create it: String File = css30.xml and String Friendly Name = CSS 3.0.
      2. Look at Key {A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}: In this Key u should find a String named InprocServer32. Read this value, it is a Path to Visual Studio 2010.
      3. a)Now open your Windows Explorer and go to this Path.
         b)Go to ..\..\Common7\Packages\vwd\
         c)Insert css30.xml
      AND
      4. a)Go to ..\..\Common7\Packages\1031\schemas\CSS\
         b)Insert css30.xml
      
      RESTART your VS2010 and now u can select your CSS 3.0
      
      Thanks for your attention! See u later <3
      
      
    • For consideration in future updates: I had an issue where my VS is installed on my E: drive, but this component was installed on the C: drive. Once I moved it from C: to E:, no problems. Make it aware of the VS installation path.  Thanks for the cool tool!
  • Problem to select the CSS 3.0 entry in Visual Studio (German Version)
    5 Posts | Last post December 09, 2011
    • after install I could see the entry in the dropdownlist but I was not able to select the entry.
      Solution:
      Copy the "css30.xml"  
      From folder:
      "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS"
      To folder:
      "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1031\schemas\CSS"
    • Nibblersrevenge Tanks!
      
      New version coming soon and solve this bug for German Version.
    • Thanks! 
      
      new version coming soon and solve this bug for german version
    • For Windows 7 64Bit and VS 2010 Prof(x86) and after install this CSS3 Plugin:
      Open Registry. Go to 
      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\VisualStudio\10.0\Packages\{A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}\Schemas\Schema 5] 
      
      1. If the Schema 5 not exist, u have to create it: String File = css30.xml and String Friendly Name = CSS 3.0.
      2. Look at Key {A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}: In this Key u should find a String named InprocServer32. Read this value, it ist a Path to Visual Studio 2010.
      3. a)Now open your Windows Explorer and go to this Path.
         b)Go to ..\..\Common7\Packages\vwd\
         c)Insert css30.xml
      AND
      4. a)Go to ..\..\Common7\Packages\1031\schemas\CSS\
         b)Insert css30.xml
      
      RESTART your VS2010 and now u can select your CSS 3.0
      
      Thanks for your attention! See u later <3
    • Hadi s.
      Thanks for your solution.  I am on windows XP.  I found that the file "css30.xml" was missing from the path "..\..\Common7\Packages\vwd\" and I had inserted it as you suggested.  However, it did not fix my problem.  
      
      "Microsoft", 
      Why are we having to hack our way through bad install packages to make this type of issue go away?
  • who use css3 intellisense schema in vs2008
    3 Posts | Last post October 15, 2011
    • You can use in visual studio 2008?
    • Once installed you will find C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS\1033 .... copy css30.xml and place it in C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS...
      Then go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\VisualStudio\9.0\Packages\{A764E895-518D-11d2-9A89-00C04F79EFC3}\Schemas and add a new entry as like schema 2 or 3 or 4 except changing values t0 css3...
      restart VS and it should work
      
    • Good tool - is there a way to set the default to 3.0?  Mine always defaults to 2.1
      
      
      Thanks
  • How to use this in Visual Web Developer Express.
    5 Posts | Last post August 03, 2011
    • I installed this schema. However, I can't see "CSS3.0" in CSS schema list in Visual Web Developer Express.
      How VWD can use this?
      
      
    • please give me the install path same for Visual Web Developer Express 
      C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS
      new version with many features coming soon and solve this problem 
      
      Thanks! 
      
    • I already installed to the following path. 
      C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1033\schemas\CSS
      and 
      C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages\1041\schemas\CSS
      (*) 1041 is JP code.
      
      However, I can't use CSS3 sytle from VWD.
      
      >new version with many features coming soon and solve this problem 
      Yes, I waiting for new version.
      
      Thanks,
    • As a last resort, copy the content of the css30 over the css21 one (make sure to make a backup copy of the old 2.1 file), chosse CSS 2.1 and check the intellisense.
      
      Not recommended of course, but if anything else works (my case)...
    • I'm extremely sorry for the double post, but just to mention, the method above also works on VS2008
1 - 10 of 14 Items