Entity Framework Power Tools Beta 4

Free

Preview of useful design-time features for DbContext. When right-clicking on a C# project, the following context menu function is supported: 1) Reverse Engineer Code First - Generates POCO classes, derived DbContext and Code First mapping for an existing database. When righ...

(142) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (258,520)
10/11/2013
0.9.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (142)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Justin Skiles | Tue 1:54 AM

Does not function properly with ASP.NET Identity framework when attempting to generate EDMX diagram.

System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation. ---> System.TypeLoadException: Could not load type 'System.ComponentModel.DataAnnotations.Schema.IndexAttribute' from assembly 'EntityFramework, Version=6.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089'.
at Microsoft.AspNet.Identity.EntityFramework.IdentityDbContext`6.OnModelCreating(DbModelBuilder modelBuilder)

by polux7 | April 14 2014

by Wong Chun Hoong | April 01 2014

Hopefully can support VB project.

by jinkskgpt | March 27 2014

Works fine for me in VS 2012 Ultimate; however, the context menu for
"Entity Framework" does not appear when installed for VS2013 Web Express.

by Unsettling | March 27 2014

Fails with EF 4.4. Multiple exceptions. What versions does this even support?

by Andromeda Nebula | March 19 2014

fffff

by philn5d | March 12 2014

try supporting this by adding virtual to the DbSets: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/data/dn314429.aspx

by Gutek | March 03 2014

as for a product created by EF Team and MS, it should handle DB with dash in name.

I'm adding one start as this is completely unusable for me.

I've send a pull request for this issue:
https://entityframework.codeplex.com/SourceControl/network/forks/Gutek/toolsfix/contribution/6332

by DevDells | February 22 2014

Useful tool ever since first version. But why is the model "Read-only?"
Is the underlying XML re-generated constantly and read-only for that reason.
Guess I'm just remembering the old modeler for SQLCE in a Winforms project being a complete editor.
Was a pretty handy GUI tool.

by Giva1 | February 20 2014

BETA doesn't apear to have to fix for Reverse Engineer Code First when using SQL CE.

by Fernando Angelieri | February 19 2014

Unbelievable, only in C #?
The VB made ​​Microsoft what it is today, putting the software development within companies without "bit and bytes"'s specialists .
It is a shame that there is no longer a direction to a simple development where it's required so.

by YoungjaeKim | February 16 2014

I don't know why Reverse Engineer function gives below error.

"System.ArgumentException: The modelEntityContainerName parameter 'asdf-dbContext' contains characters that are not valid.
at System.Data.Entity.Design.EntityModelSchemaGenerator.Initialize(EntityContainer storeEntityContainer, IEnumerable`1 storeFunctions, String namespaceName, String modelEntityContainerName)
at System.Data.Entity.Design.EntityModelSchemaGenerator..ctor(EntityContainer storeEntityContainer, String namespaceName, String modelEntityContainerName)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Handlers.ReverseEngineerCodeFirstHandler.ReverseEngineerCodeFirst(Project project)"

Azure SQL and MSSQL VM on Azure both occurred.

by MEYWD | February 16 2014

Great tool, saves a lot of time, however:
1) it needs to be working as a background operation to prevent disabling visual studio for long periods of time.(2400 tables > 9 hours)
2) should have a dialog to allow the selection of target tables.
3) there is a bug with oracle composite foreign keys, the columns order is wrong, items need to be shifted 1 spot to the left( not always).

by Tyler Ohlsen MSFT | February 14 2014

I ran into the error "There was an error loading the include file 'EF.Utility.CS.ttinclude'" today.

I was able to fix it by uninstalling and reinstalling the EF Tools off my Visual Studio 2013 install disc. E:\packages\EFTools\EFTools.msi

by faaabii | February 13 2014

I've got the same problem as others... I want to connect to a database (testing connection is successful), but when I click OK in the connection dialog it shows me the following message:

Wrong paramter Exception (HRSULT:0x80070057(E_INVALIDARG))

I tried it at Visual Studio 2012 and 2013. It doesn't work. :( Hope you can help or fix it soon.

by Carlos Ayala | January 28 2014

I'm trying to pre-generate views, but it only shows "Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation" message on VS 2013.
On VS 2012 it works perfect with the same project.

Is there something that it's needed to be done for pre-generate views on VS 2013?

Thank you!

by donicom | January 18 2014

I have the same problem of mim: Wrong paramter Exception (HRSULT:0x80070057(E_INVALIDARG)). I use VS 2010 and sql server 2008

by mim | January 16 2014

Wrong paramter Exception (HRSULT:0x80070057(E_INVALIDARG)) direkt after klick on OK of the Connection-Dialog (Database: Oracle)

by mmelihh | January 10 2014

Nice extension

by Ulfius | December 13 2013

Reverse Engineer needs to check for reserved words. I have a column named "abstract" and that causes compilation errors. It should be using "@abstract" in my example case.

1 - 20 of 142 Items