Entity Framework Power Tools Beta 4

Free

Preview of useful design-time features for DbContext. When right-clicking on a C# project, the following context menu function is supported: 1) Reverse Engineer Code First - Generates POCO classes, derived DbContext and Code First mapping for an existing database. When righ...

(150) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (282,162)
10/11/2013
0.9.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (150)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by MEYWD | February 16 2014

Great tool, saves a lot of time, however:
1) it needs to be working as a background operation to prevent disabling visual studio for long periods of time.(2400 tables > 9 hours)
2) should have a dialog to allow the selection of target tables.
3) there is a bug with oracle composite foreign keys, the columns order is wrong, items need to be shifted 1 spot to the left( not always).

by Tyler Ohlsen MSFT | February 14 2014

I ran into the error "There was an error loading the include file 'EF.Utility.CS.ttinclude'" today.

I was able to fix it by uninstalling and reinstalling the EF Tools off my Visual Studio 2013 install disc. E:\packages\EFTools\EFTools.msi

by faaabii | February 13 2014

I've got the same problem as others... I want to connect to a database (testing connection is successful), but when I click OK in the connection dialog it shows me the following message:

Wrong paramter Exception (HRSULT:0x80070057(E_INVALIDARG))

I tried it at Visual Studio 2012 and 2013. It doesn't work. :( Hope you can help or fix it soon.

by Carlos Ayala | January 28 2014

I'm trying to pre-generate views, but it only shows "Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation" message on VS 2013.
On VS 2012 it works perfect with the same project.

Is there something that it's needed to be done for pre-generate views on VS 2013?

Thank you!

by donicom | January 18 2014

I have the same problem of mim: Wrong paramter Exception (HRSULT:0x80070057(E_INVALIDARG)). I use VS 2010 and sql server 2008

by mim | January 16 2014

Wrong paramter Exception (HRSULT:0x80070057(E_INVALIDARG)) direkt after klick on OK of the Connection-Dialog (Database: Oracle)

by mmelihh | January 10 2014

Nice extension

by Ulfius | December 13 2013

Reverse Engineer needs to check for reserved words. I have a column named "abstract" and that causes compilation errors. It should be using "@abstract" in my example case.

by jar211 | December 05 2013

by Dr. Tim dos Santos | December 04 2013

Hi, I'm using the EF Power Tools Beta 4 together with EF 5.0.0 CodeFirst in VS2010.

For any action on the DbContext class (view read-only diagram, generate edmx, generate DDL) I'm getting the following error:

Unable to cast COM object of type 'System.__ComObject' to interface type 'VSLangProj.VSProject'. This operation failed because the QueryInterface call on the COM component for the interface with IID '{2CFB826F-F6BF-480D-A546-95A0381CC411}' failed due to the following error: Schnittstelle nicht unterstützt (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004002 (E_NOINTERFACE)).

My DbContext derivate is contained in a C# Project that itself is contained in a solution folder inside my solution; may that be the problem?

Thanks,
Tim

(PS. I rate the extension 5 stars for what it *used* to do ;)

by LongDinhLe | November 11 2013

The best tool ever especially for all the enterprise teams doing Modeling and Database First...! :)

Thank you EF Team...!

by ross_ | November 11 2013

by CodeRaptor | November 04 2013

I have been using EF power tools for quite a while and was excited when beta 4 came out, however, it has a few issues.

1) It doesn't recognize Visual Studio references that are links and expects an actual file instead. This was working in the previous release. :-(

2) Pregenerated views don't handle abstraction properly when the property marked as the primary key is also an identity column, however, it works fine for properties that are marked as a primary key but don't have identity turned on.

by Thiago Martins Coelho | November 01 2013

by Leonardo Lourenço Silva | November 01 2013

Excellent Tool !!!

by danielfagundes | October 30 2013

Great tool.

by Bruno Maestro | October 29 2013

In MySql database dont save data username, database and password.

by aszalacinski | October 24 2013

Doesn't work with the Express versions...

by kettch | October 23 2013

Reverse engineer needs to be able to select a subset of tables. It also should be able to deal with views that may not have a primary key. Another issue I've been having is that if you export an image or print from the EDMX while using the dark theme, the multiplicity labels (*, 0..1, etc) are rendered as light text and effectively become invisible. The workaround is currently to switch to the light theme, export the image, and then switch back.

by JoeMighty | October 22 2013

I've only just started using EF Power Box, but it reverse engineering my rather large database worked a treat, saved me a tonne of time!

21 - 40 of 150 Items