Entity Framework Power Tools Beta 4

Free

Preview of useful design-time features for DbContext. When right-clicking on a C# project, the following context menu function is supported: 1) Reverse Engineer Code First - Generates POCO classes, derived DbContext and Code First mapping for an existing database. When righ...

(142) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (259,097)
10/11/2013
0.9.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (142)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by jar211 | December 05 2013

by Dr. Tim dos Santos | December 04 2013

Hi, I'm using the EF Power Tools Beta 4 together with EF 5.0.0 CodeFirst in VS2010.

For any action on the DbContext class (view read-only diagram, generate edmx, generate DDL) I'm getting the following error:

Unable to cast COM object of type 'System.__ComObject' to interface type 'VSLangProj.VSProject'. This operation failed because the QueryInterface call on the COM component for the interface with IID '{2CFB826F-F6BF-480D-A546-95A0381CC411}' failed due to the following error: Schnittstelle nicht unterstützt (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004002 (E_NOINTERFACE)).

My DbContext derivate is contained in a C# Project that itself is contained in a solution folder inside my solution; may that be the problem?

Thanks,
Tim

(PS. I rate the extension 5 stars for what it *used* to do ;)

by LongDinhLe | November 11 2013

The best tool ever especially for all the enterprise teams doing Modeling and Database First...! :)

Thank you EF Team...!

by ross_ | November 11 2013

by CodeRaptor | November 04 2013

I have been using EF power tools for quite a while and was excited when beta 4 came out, however, it has a few issues.

1) It doesn't recognize Visual Studio references that are links and expects an actual file instead. This was working in the previous release. :-(

2) Pregenerated views don't handle abstraction properly when the property marked as the primary key is also an identity column, however, it works fine for properties that are marked as a primary key but don't have identity turned on.

by Thiago Martins Coelho | November 01 2013

by Leonardo Lourenço Silva | November 01 2013

Excellent Tool !!!

by danielfagundes | October 30 2013

Great tool.

by Bruno Maestro | October 29 2013

In MySql database dont save data username, database and password.

by aszalacinski | October 24 2013

Doesn't work with the Express versions...

by kettch | October 23 2013

Reverse engineer needs to be able to select a subset of tables. It also should be able to deal with views that may not have a primary key. Another issue I've been having is that if you export an image or print from the EDMX while using the dark theme, the multiplicity labels (*, 0..1, etc) are rendered as light text and effectively become invisible. The workaround is currently to switch to the light theme, export the image, and then switch back.

by JoeMighty | October 22 2013

I've only just started using EF Power Box, but it reverse engineering my rather large database worked a treat, saved me a tonne of time!

by Vinícius Cesar Pires de Menezes | October 17 2013

Starting with great features to help develop database more quickly!

by Radu Florescu | October 16 2013

by YuyoF | October 14 2013

Desperately needs the ability to select a subset of tables / views to import, ability to generate code that adheres to common C# conventions, and ability to generate annotation-only code.

by Adam_ | October 12 2013

by BD Moby Disk | September 26 2013

Reverse engineer worked on my database of 13 entities that was created model-first in EF 4.0. It even put IsRowVersion() on my timestamp columns!

Note that it automatically downloads the latest entity-framework, which means it will grab an unstable RC version if you didn't explicitly download one first. (The tool should probably honor the user's last settings in Visual Studio's "Manage NuGet Packages" if possible)

Many of the negative reviews complain about things which have nothing to do with this tool. One complains it crashes when you have 1392 tables. That's not what the Entity Framework is for! Another is a problem with source control. Yet another is about generating views.

by Anjee0304 | September 24 2013

Doesn't work with ODP.NET 12c .Is there any support for Oracle ?

by BobTabor | September 20 2013

Great tool -- if that's a workflow you want to enable ... can't get it installed with Visual Studio 2013 Preview yet, unfortunately.

by FLAKO69 | September 18 2013

Great tool, but the reverse engineer needs a dialog to select specific tables, I tested the tool on a data base with 1267 tables and have to wait to much time to generate the classes, and after that, delete all the unnecesary files.

21 - 40 of 142 Items