Entity Framework Power Tools Beta 4

Free

Preview of useful design-time features for DbContext. When right-clicking on a C# project, the following context menu function is supported: 1) Reverse Engineer Code First - Generates POCO classes, derived DbContext and Code First mapping for an existing database. When righ...

(142) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (257,637)
10/11/2013
0.9.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (142)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by falconsfire2 | September 14 2013

I also had the same issue running it on MySql

error : Running transformation: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

However I have the solution for anyone else who reads this:

Right click on the project > Entity Framework > Custom Reverse Engineer Templates

This will add a few .tt files into your projet so that you can now change them (and fix the bug!)

- Open Mapping.tt
- Search for the line "if (fixedLengthFacet != null && (bool)fixedLengthFacet.Value)"
- Replace this with "if (fixedLengthFacet != null && fixedLengthFacet.Value is bool && (bool)fixedLengthFacet.Value)"
- Run Entity Framework > Reverse Engineer Code First

It works now!

by Batmanuel | July 25 2013

am testing right now... :)

by comenica | July 22 2013

err... doesn't work?

Nothing shows up in context menu

by AlphaMail | July 19 2013

Boooooooooooooo
Extremely disappointing for VB users.

Not only is there no documentation or samples for those that hard code without the tools, there is no way to even get an example.

by Jeremy Burkett | July 18 2013

This is a great tool. It's still flaky enough to deserve the "Beta" appellate, but the code generated is still a tremendous time-saver for production work.

The biggest feature I'd like to see is the ability to select which tables to generate entities for. I'm using this tool for 1) working on a new app with a lot of churn from the DBA and 2) refactoring an old app. For both, I want to work within bounded contexts that are fairly stable. I don't need to rummage through 100+ files of junk for the bits I don't need.

Even without that feature, this tool is a huge help.

by volcanodeng | July 16 2013

I can not select the table which I want to build entities.Can this tool add the select-dialog of the DB Tables,so that we can build the entities which we need only.

by Sumarius | July 09 2013

Unfortunately we cannot use. We are a VB shop. Very disappointed!

by trinaldi | July 09 2013

I'm not getting the contents when right clicking my projects.
Any ideas?

Thanks.

by MiuMau | June 18 2013

by MarkD4 | June 18 2013

Great time saving tool, but crashes if the database it's reverse engineering contains a '-' in its name.

by ComptonAlvaro | June 13 2013

My case is that I have a library (a dll) with my POCO entites. this is a common library.

I also have other library that is the repository that I use to access to the database. This library has the edmx model and the class that implements the repository. From the edmx I create the the myContext.Context.tt file with a list that contains all my entities. I modify the template to use the namespace of my common library with the POCO entities because I want to use this entities, so I delete the myContext.tt file that contains the new entities.

Then I try to use the tolos to pre generate the view, so I right click the edmx file and choose generate view. I set a breakpoint in the the getViewAt to check if the pre generated views are used. however, they are not used.

I also have tried right click in the myContext.Context..cs file and try to generate the view from this file, but in this case I get the following error: "the parameter is invalid. Expcetion HResult: 0x80070057 (E_INVALIDARG))".

So I would like to know how to use the views when I have my POCO entities in a common library.



Thanks.

by Mark M. Baker | June 13 2013

pretty slick way to quickly get up to speed on specifying relationships between entities using the reverse-engineer code-first from an existing db option.

by devhigh1992 | June 05 2013

one of our smallest database which is using for checking out new technologies such as web api and Entity frame work, obviously it is too time consuming to create poco classes for 1392 tables therefore we excited about this tool but ...

as soon as we click OK on database connection dialog the whole visual studio hang and it did not come back.

by eschneider8888 | June 05 2013

DOES NOT WORK!

System.ArgumentException: Value does not fall within the expected range.
at EnvDTE.SourceControl.IsItemUnderSCC(String ItemName)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Extensions.SourceControlExtenstions.CheckOutItemIfNeeded(SourceControl sourceControl, String itemName)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Extensions.ProjectExtensions.AddNewFile(Project project, String path, String contents)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Handlers.ReverseEngineerCodeFirstHandler.ReverseEngineerCodeFirst(Project project)

ALSO does not column names of "Error", must be an ADMIN account.

by glthomas224 | May 21 2013

PROBLEM Encountered.

The situation is if you have a table in the database which has no non-prime key columns then the reverse engineer code first power tool will ignore this table. A specific example we encountered was we had a link table that had three columns and these three columns were used together to form a composite primary key. As a result the EF power tool totally ignored this table when reverse engineering. It should not be ignoring this table!!! The work around was to add an extra non –primary key column, which we called empty column.

by Arunima K R | May 13 2013

Need an option to select the tables for which the mapping and entities has to be generated. Now it is bringing up all the tables.

by PravinAdy | April 18 2013

We are currently using this tool for one of our apps. And this tool is awesome.

But we have an other app where it has around 500 tables, when we try to reverse engineer this tool generates 1 file per table. So when starting up the app the entity framework is taking lots of time since it is trying to load all the files.

Could you let us know when the feature will be available to select the tables we want to generate?

Thanks,
Ady.

by techtalk77 | April 08 2013

There is a bug with these tools in VS 2012 right click DbContext > Entity Framework > View Entity Data Model only works if the full connection string is specified. Simply the name of the connection string does not work. This may be a consequence of my EDM being in a separate project. Please fix this bug.

public partial class UnityDbContext : DbContext
{
public UnityDbContext()
: base("Server=...full connection string...") //Works
//: base("Name=UnityDbContext") //Not works
{
...
}

by rvergin | April 02 2013

Is there a tool like this for VB???????????????????


Using vs 2012??????????

by DoWorkAync | March 31 2013

I was initially excited to discover this tool while watching a Julier Lerman video but when I tried to "View Entity Data Model", I got a cryptic VS error "sequence contains no matching element" :-(

41 - 60 of 142 Items