Entity Framework Power Tools Beta 4

Free

Preview of useful design-time features for DbContext. When right-clicking on a C# project, the following context menu function is supported: 1) Reverse Engineer Code First - Generates POCO classes, derived DbContext and Code First mapping for an existing database. When righ...

(150) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (281,182)
10/11/2013
0.9.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (150)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Mark M. Baker | June 13 2013

pretty slick way to quickly get up to speed on specifying relationships between entities using the reverse-engineer code-first from an existing db option.

by devhigh1992 | June 05 2013

one of our smallest database which is using for checking out new technologies such as web api and Entity frame work, obviously it is too time consuming to create poco classes for 1392 tables therefore we excited about this tool but ...

as soon as we click OK on database connection dialog the whole visual studio hang and it did not come back.

by eschneider8888 | June 05 2013

DOES NOT WORK!

System.ArgumentException: Value does not fall within the expected range.
at EnvDTE.SourceControl.IsItemUnderSCC(String ItemName)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Extensions.SourceControlExtenstions.CheckOutItemIfNeeded(SourceControl sourceControl, String itemName)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Extensions.ProjectExtensions.AddNewFile(Project project, String path, String contents)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Handlers.ReverseEngineerCodeFirstHandler.ReverseEngineerCodeFirst(Project project)

ALSO does not column names of "Error", must be an ADMIN account.

by glthomas224 | May 21 2013

PROBLEM Encountered.

The situation is if you have a table in the database which has no non-prime key columns then the reverse engineer code first power tool will ignore this table. A specific example we encountered was we had a link table that had three columns and these three columns were used together to form a composite primary key. As a result the EF power tool totally ignored this table when reverse engineering. It should not be ignoring this table!!! The work around was to add an extra non –primary key column, which we called empty column.

by Arunima K R | May 13 2013

Need an option to select the tables for which the mapping and entities has to be generated. Now it is bringing up all the tables.

by PravinAdy | April 18 2013

We are currently using this tool for one of our apps. And this tool is awesome.

But we have an other app where it has around 500 tables, when we try to reverse engineer this tool generates 1 file per table. So when starting up the app the entity framework is taking lots of time since it is trying to load all the files.

Could you let us know when the feature will be available to select the tables we want to generate?

Thanks,
Ady.

by techtalk77 | April 08 2013

There is a bug with these tools in VS 2012 right click DbContext > Entity Framework > View Entity Data Model only works if the full connection string is specified. Simply the name of the connection string does not work. This may be a consequence of my EDM being in a separate project. Please fix this bug.

public partial class UnityDbContext : DbContext
{
public UnityDbContext()
: base("Server=...full connection string...") //Works
//: base("Name=UnityDbContext") //Not works
{
...
}

by rvergin | April 02 2013

Is there a tool like this for VB???????????????????


Using vs 2012??????????

by DoWorkAync | March 31 2013

I was initially excited to discover this tool while watching a Julier Lerman video but when I tried to "View Entity Data Model", I got a cryptic VS error "sequence contains no matching element" :-(

by Gustavo Mansilia | March 25 2013

I noticed that while generating the POCO classes, NuGet uptades the package of Entity Framework to version 6. I had some problems with MySql for this.

Simply removing the EF 6 and putting the EF 5, solves the problem.

My suggestion is to provide an interface to choose wich table we want to generate.

I'm liking this tool so far... hoping this to evolve more, to be more functional and stable.

by TrumanCode | March 23 2013

Rowan, I'm sure you guys are well aware of this but EF Power Tools Beta 3 in VS 2012 does not reverse engineer SQL Compact databases. Is this bug going to fixed in the next revision?

The error is:

System.ArgumentException:

The modelEntityContainerName parameter 'C:\XXXX\XXXXContext' contains characters that are not valid.
at XXXsdfConteSystem.Data.Entity.Design.EntityModelSchemaGenerator.Initialize(EntityContainer storeEntityContainer, IEnumerable`1 storeFunctions, String namespaceName, String modelEntityContainerName)
at System.Data.Entity.Design.EntityModelSchemaGenerator..ctor(EntityContainer storeEntityContainer, String namespaceName, String modelEntityContainerName)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Handlers.ReverseEngineerCodeFirstHandler.ReverseEngineerCodeFirst(Project project)

by Charles Sterling | March 08 2013

test

by lazyberezovsky | February 28 2013

Reverse engineering works fine, but Data Model viewing fails with "Sequence contains no elements". My context is inherited directly from DbContext, and it has default constructor. VS2010, EF5.

by sunil dixit | February 16 2013

It's good but it lacks many features.

Once I have generated POCO files, and now I want to just generate for few specific tables, as I have already done some alterations in the existing poco classes. There is no option available.

by CharlesLZ | February 15 2013

Reverse engineering feature does not honor cascade delete settings for foreign keys.

If FK1 has Delete Rule set to No Action in SQL Server, the following mapping is generated.

this.HasRequired(t => t.Entity)
.WithMany(t => t.RelatedEntities)
.HasForeignKey(d => d.EntityId);

This implies delete on cascade which goes against what the database was originally designed to do. It should be generating the following...

this.HasRequired(t => t.Entity)
.WithMany(t => t.RelatedEntities)
.HasForeignKey(d => d.EntityId)
.WillCascadeOnDelete(false);

Otherwise, the tool has worked out great so far.

**UPDATE

I was able to resolve the issue above by customizing the t4 templates. You can determine if the FK is set to cascade via navProperty.ToEndMember.DeleteBehavior == System.Data.Metadata.Edm.OperationAction.Cascade

by Mario DeSousa | February 11 2013

Unfortunately, doesn't seem to be working on Visual Studio 2012. I tried using the "View Entity Data Model (Read-Only)" option (as well as other options in the same menu). It's giving me a "Sequence contains no matching element" error. This happens even for a very simple context with a simple entity.

Is there any place where I can get a stack trace or more details?

by Kevin Cefalu | February 08 2013

Got this error when attempting to update to the latest release. Any solutions?

02/07/13 16:31:28 - Install Error : VSIXInstaller.SignatureMismatchException: The signature on the update version of 'Entity Framework Power Tools Beta 2' does not match the signature on the installed version. Therefore, Extension Manager cannot install the update.
at VSIXInstaller.Common.VerifyMatchingExtensionSignatures(IInstalledExtension installedExtension, IInstallableExtension updateExtension)
at VSIXInstaller.InstallProgressPage.BeginInstallVSIX(SupportedVSSKU targetAppID)


by Donovan Brown | February 06 2013

I can't get it Reverse Engineer a SQL Compact database. The database I am trying to open is db.sdf.

System.ArgumentException: The modelEntityContainerName parameter 'D:\dbsdfContext' contains characters that are not valid.
at System.Data.Entity.Design.EntityModelSchemaGenerator.Initialize(EntityContainer storeEntityContainer, IEnumerable`1 storeFunctions, String namespaceName, String modelEntityContainerName)
at System.Data.Entity.Design.EntityModelSchemaGenerator..ctor(EntityContainer storeEntityContainer, String namespaceName, String modelEntityContainerName)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Handlers.ReverseEngineerCodeFirstHandler.ReverseEngineerCodeFirst(Project project)

by Maxkn1 | February 05 2013

Generate Views does not work.
Tested on this simple case:

public class TestContext :DbContext
{
public TestContext() {}
public DbSet<TestModel> TM { get; set; }
}

public class TestModel
{
public long Id { get; set; }
public string Name { get; set; }
}

Every time got the "Sequence contains no matching element" error message


Microsoft Visual Studio Ultimate 2012
Version 11.0.51106.01 Update 1
Microsoft .NET Framework
Version 4.5.50709

by agilliam | February 01 2013

Unable to view entity data in any format from 'Entity Framework' submenu in Solution Explorer. Exception thrown in dialog box: "Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation" when I attempt.

Reverse Engineering DB works, however. Great feature!

61 - 80 of 150 Items