Entity Framework Power Tools Beta 4

Free

Preview of useful design-time features for DbContext. When right-clicking on a C# project, the following context menu function is supported: 1) Reverse Engineer Code First - Generates POCO classes, derived DbContext and Code First mapping for an existing database. When righ...

(156) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (294,591)
10/11/2013
0.9.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (156)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by volcanodeng | July 16 2013

I can not select the table which I want to build entities.Can this tool add the select-dialog of the DB Tables,so that we can build the entities which we need only.

by Sumarius | July 09 2013

Unfortunately we cannot use. We are a VB shop. Very disappointed!

by trinaldi | July 09 2013

I'm not getting the contents when right clicking my projects.
Any ideas?

Thanks.

by MiuMau | June 18 2013

by MarkD4 | June 18 2013

Great time saving tool, but crashes if the database it's reverse engineering contains a '-' in its name.

by ComptonAlvaro | June 13 2013

My case is that I have a library (a dll) with my POCO entites. this is a common library.

I also have other library that is the repository that I use to access to the database. This library has the edmx model and the class that implements the repository. From the edmx I create the the myContext.Context.tt file with a list that contains all my entities. I modify the template to use the namespace of my common library with the POCO entities because I want to use this entities, so I delete the myContext.tt file that contains the new entities.

Then I try to use the tolos to pre generate the view, so I right click the edmx file and choose generate view. I set a breakpoint in the the getViewAt to check if the pre generated views are used. however, they are not used.

I also have tried right click in the myContext.Context..cs file and try to generate the view from this file, but in this case I get the following error: "the parameter is invalid. Expcetion HResult: 0x80070057 (E_INVALIDARG))".

So I would like to know how to use the views when I have my POCO entities in a common library.



Thanks.

by Mark M. Baker | June 13 2013

pretty slick way to quickly get up to speed on specifying relationships between entities using the reverse-engineer code-first from an existing db option.

by devhigh1992 | June 05 2013

one of our smallest database which is using for checking out new technologies such as web api and Entity frame work, obviously it is too time consuming to create poco classes for 1392 tables therefore we excited about this tool but ...

as soon as we click OK on database connection dialog the whole visual studio hang and it did not come back.

by eschneider8888 | June 05 2013

DOES NOT WORK!

System.ArgumentException: Value does not fall within the expected range.
at EnvDTE.SourceControl.IsItemUnderSCC(String ItemName)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Extensions.SourceControlExtenstions.CheckOutItemIfNeeded(SourceControl sourceControl, String itemName)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Extensions.ProjectExtensions.AddNewFile(Project project, String path, String contents)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Handlers.ReverseEngineerCodeFirstHandler.ReverseEngineerCodeFirst(Project project)

ALSO does not column names of "Error", must be an ADMIN account.

by glthomas224 | May 21 2013

PROBLEM Encountered.

The situation is if you have a table in the database which has no non-prime key columns then the reverse engineer code first power tool will ignore this table. A specific example we encountered was we had a link table that had three columns and these three columns were used together to form a composite primary key. As a result the EF power tool totally ignored this table when reverse engineering. It should not be ignoring this table!!! The work around was to add an extra non –primary key column, which we called empty column.

by Arunima K R | May 13 2013

Need an option to select the tables for which the mapping and entities has to be generated. Now it is bringing up all the tables.

by PravinAdy | April 18 2013

We are currently using this tool for one of our apps. And this tool is awesome.

But we have an other app where it has around 500 tables, when we try to reverse engineer this tool generates 1 file per table. So when starting up the app the entity framework is taking lots of time since it is trying to load all the files.

Could you let us know when the feature will be available to select the tables we want to generate?

Thanks,
Ady.

by techtalk77 | April 08 2013

There is a bug with these tools in VS 2012 right click DbContext > Entity Framework > View Entity Data Model only works if the full connection string is specified. Simply the name of the connection string does not work. This may be a consequence of my EDM being in a separate project. Please fix this bug.

public partial class UnityDbContext : DbContext
{
public UnityDbContext()
: base("Server=...full connection string...") //Works
//: base("Name=UnityDbContext") //Not works
{
...
}

by rvergin | April 02 2013

Is there a tool like this for VB???????????????????


Using vs 2012??????????

by DoWorkAync | March 31 2013

I was initially excited to discover this tool while watching a Julier Lerman video but when I tried to "View Entity Data Model", I got a cryptic VS error "sequence contains no matching element" :-(

by Gustavo Mansilia | March 25 2013

I noticed that while generating the POCO classes, NuGet uptades the package of Entity Framework to version 6. I had some problems with MySql for this.

Simply removing the EF 6 and putting the EF 5, solves the problem.

My suggestion is to provide an interface to choose wich table we want to generate.

I'm liking this tool so far... hoping this to evolve more, to be more functional and stable.

by TrumanCode | March 23 2013

Rowan, I'm sure you guys are well aware of this but EF Power Tools Beta 3 in VS 2012 does not reverse engineer SQL Compact databases. Is this bug going to fixed in the next revision?

The error is:

System.ArgumentException:

The modelEntityContainerName parameter 'C:\XXXX\XXXXContext' contains characters that are not valid.
at XXXsdfConteSystem.Data.Entity.Design.EntityModelSchemaGenerator.Initialize(EntityContainer storeEntityContainer, IEnumerable`1 storeFunctions, String namespaceName, String modelEntityContainerName)
at System.Data.Entity.Design.EntityModelSchemaGenerator..ctor(EntityContainer storeEntityContainer, String namespaceName, String modelEntityContainerName)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Handlers.ReverseEngineerCodeFirstHandler.ReverseEngineerCodeFirst(Project project)

by Charles Sterling | March 08 2013

test

by lazyberezovsky | February 28 2013

Reverse engineering works fine, but Data Model viewing fails with "Sequence contains no elements". My context is inherited directly from DbContext, and it has default constructor. VS2010, EF5.

by sunil dixit | February 16 2013

It's good but it lacks many features.

Once I have generated POCO files, and now I want to just generate for few specific tables, as I have already done some alterations in the existing poco classes. There is no option available.

61 - 80 of 156 Items