Entity Framework Power Tools Beta 4

Free

Preview of useful design-time features for DbContext. When right-clicking on a C# project, the following context menu function is supported: 1) Reverse Engineer Code First - Generates POCO classes, derived DbContext and Code First mapping for an existing database. When righ...

(142) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (257,866)
10/11/2013
0.9.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (142)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by ben555 | October 24 2012

Just get the error: "Sequence contains no matching element".

by RambleC | October 18 2012

I'm unable to reverse engineer against a database that (very sadly) has a hyphenated name. I keep getting the error "The modelEntityContainerName parameter 'xxx-xxxContext' contains characters that are not valid". Is there any way to fix this? I sure could get some use out of this tool if there was! Oh, and believe me, I'm not the one who hyphenated the database name originally! Thanks, Landon

by KorLibrary | October 14 2012

Until this product supports Visual Basic projects, it is pointless to make it available.

To the Entity Framework Team:

The squiggly character crowd are not the only people developing applications out here. A huge swath of us are VB.Net developers.

Stop ignoring us!

PLEASE provide tools which support Visual Basic FIRST. Then...maybe (MAYBE!)...one or more of the squiggly character languages.

by Vairam V | October 11 2012

Generate Views: Generates select statements with Pluralized table name inspite of setting Plurarlize New Objects = false in Model First.

In Code First: Ignored the fact that the entities where reverse engineered from singular named tables and generates in view with pluralized tables.

also reverse engineer mapping template code line
storeProp.TypeUsage.Facets.SingleOrDefault(f => f.Name == "StoreGeneratedPattern") always returns null and hence identity columns are not marked as identity.
This libraries preview ctp came out around may 2011 and it is 1 1/2 years and is still in beta, doesn't support entities based on view and buggy.

by Heribert Pfeiffer | October 08 2012

by joeLopez | October 03 2012

Only problem I have is the inability to select the tables for which to generate POCO classes. All tables are processed so you have to delete the ones you don't want.

by YallaYalla | October 01 2012

Keep getting "The modelEntityContainerName parameter '162753-mydbContext' contains characters that are not valid."

by JLSF | October 01 2012

Visual Studio 2012 with nuget installed Power tools.

from Context menu over the class generated inherited from DBContext the option "View entity Data model" gives:

a no implemented exception

Tx

by zmbq17 | September 27 2012

I've installed Beta 2 on a Windows 7 64-bit machine with Visual Studio 2010 SP1 and SQL Server 2012. After installation, the Server Explorer couldn't connect to the database, complaining that only versions up to SQL Server 2008 are supported.

Uninstalling PowerTools solved the problem, but left me without PowerTools...

by saber soleymani | September 26 2012

Eugenio,
I've same problem:
System.InvalidOperationException: This operation requires a connection to the 'master' database. Unable to create a connection to the 'master' database because the original database connection has been opened and credentials have been removed from the connection string. Supply an unopened connection. ---> System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException: Login failed for user 'sa'.

And I'm sure the Login info for 'sa' is correct, because in connection wizard, Test Connection is OK.

UPDATE
-----------------
found the solution here:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4324052/ef4-code-first-causes-invalidoperationexception

In connection wizard, Advanced should be clicked and the value of Persist Security Info should be True.

by Salim Tamboli | September 22 2012

I am getting "Sequence contains no matching element" on click of "Generate Views" menu of Entity framework power tool (Beta 2).
I am using Visual studio 2010 (premium) and entity framework 4.4

Has anyone solved this problem?

by Delush | September 19 2012

Work great with SqlServer database.

But not working with MySQL database

System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Extensions.ProjectExtensions.InstallPackage(Project project, String packageId)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Handlers.ReverseEngineerCodeFirstHandler.ReverseEngineerCodeFirst(Project project)

One or more errors occurred while processing template 'Mapping.tt'.
error : Running transformation: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplatingf34e03996f2d4022aad496a20b3137d6.GeneratedTextTransformation.TransformText()
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplating.TransformationRunner.RunTransformation(TemplateProcessingSession session, String source, ITextTemplatingEngineHost host, String& result)

by Espider | September 18 2012

Hi, I am using Visual Studio 2010 and MySql 5.5. When i use the reverse engineer code first function, it always report errors, even i reverse the database with only one empty table. The exception below always appears. Is this tool support MySql? Can you give me some help? Thank you in advance.


One or more errors occurred while processing template 'Mapping.tt'.
error : Running transformation: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplatingd98a42fc59ce43d99d01869c2b137080.GeneratedTextTransformation.TransformText()
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplating.TransformationRunner.RunTransformation(TemplateProcessingSession session, String source, ITextTemplatingEngineHost host, String& result)

by ProjectDD | September 13 2012

when i was reverse engineer code first
step a exist db then appear this error

(i m use Chinese of vs2012 pro version)

参数错误 (异常来自 HRESULT:0x80070057(E_INVALIDARG))

by bouh | September 03 2012

When I try to generate the Views for a Code First project in 2010 I get the error : "Sequence contains no matching element".

Anyone knows how to fix this error ?

by pgklada | September 02 2012

Hello, I am new with EF, and I like it. However, I was surprised that EF PowerTools work just with C# (and not with VB). Are there any plans to correct that?

by Eugenio Miró | September 01 2012

I'm getting the same error than rqx

System.Data.ProviderIncompatibleException: The provider did not return a ProviderManifestToken string. ---> System.InvalidOperationException: This operation requires a connection to the 'master' database. Unable to create a connection to the 'master' database because the original database connection has been opened and credentials have been removed from the connection string. Supply an unopened connection. ---> System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException: Login failed for user 'sa'.
at System.Data.SqlClient.SqlInternalConnection.OnError(SqlException exception, Boolean breakConnection, Action`1 wrapCloseInAction)
...

is there anyone else getting the same error?
I'm not using a local db engine by the way, I'm using a server over the network.

by sam sam 11 | August 30 2012

this tools seems very useful and sounds like there are a lot of ppl using it. i haven't tried it out yet because it is in beta form. are there plans to release this as a final release version?

thank you

by Carlos dos Santos | August 23 2012

Hi,
In Visual Studio 2010 when I select "View Entity DataModel" a blank screen appear, but in some other option, works fine.

by Mazlan CallMeLaNN | August 18 2012

Nice tool...

(1) How to customize the generated folder structure? I dont want folder like /Models/Mapping.

(2) Please escape property name in mapping files. (I have "New" column name that I cant change the db schema). In the Entity.tt work nice but in the Mapping.tt at this line:

149 this.Property(t => t.<#= property.Name #>).HasColumnName("<#= efHost.PropertyToColumnMappings[property].Name #>");

you need to modify to:

this.Property(t => t.<#= code.Escape(property.Name) #>).HasColumnName("<#= efHost.PropertyToColumnMappings[property].Name #>");

note the code.Escape(property.Name)

101 - 120 of 142 Items