Entity Framework Power Tools Beta 4

Free

Preview of useful design-time features for DbContext. When right-clicking on a C# project, the following context menu function is supported: 1) Reverse Engineer Code First - Generates POCO classes, derived DbContext and Code First mapping for an existing database. When righ...

(156) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (294,221)
10/11/2013
0.9.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (156)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Matthew Huck | December 26 2012

I think is does not create the mapping files correctly. The varchar columns are not adding IsUnicode(false). Line 90 should be
var unicodeFacet = (Facet)prop.TypeUsage.Facets.SingleOrDefault(f => f.Name == "Unicode");
not
var unicodeFacet = (Facet)prop.TypeUsage.Facets.SingleOrDefault(f => f.Name == "IsUnicode");

Once I did this my select by varchar columns stopped timing out.

by Intraz | December 20 2012

Thank you @James Manning.
Great help.

by James Manning | December 13 2012

Here's a workaround for the below 'reverse engineer' error:

***
error : A processor named 'T4VSHost' could not be found for the directive named 'CleanupBehavior'. The transformation will not be run. The following Exception was thrown:
System.InvalidOperationException: Cannot find processor for directive 'T4VSHost'.
***

I don't know the underlying cause, but rebuilding the extension from current source in the repo and installing it worked fine for me.

Steps:

- install VS SDK first (the Power Tools project types includes Extensibility, so you'll need the SDK installed to load that project)
- git clone the EF repo
- build PowerTools.sln from repo root
- uninstall existing EF Power Tools Beta 2 extension
- install the vsix just built @ entityframework\src\PowerTools\bin\Debug\EFPowerTools.vsix

Hopefully the EF team can share a recent signed build and we can start using that as a workaround until the 'official' extension is updated.

If you're unable to fetch/build the extension yourself for some reason, I've shared my (unsigned) build of it via skydrive @ http://sdrv.ms/VEKzaK

by Will Newman | December 11 2012

I'm on Windows 7 using Visual Studio 2010. I'm writing a regular c# class library (the squiggly kind ;D ) with EF 5.0 this EFPT Beta 2 and the MYSQL data provider. I've got some feedback...

When I reverse engineer, I get the first of my MYSQL tables mapped, then it just falls over with the following:

System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Extensions.ProjectExtensions.InstallPackage(Project project, String packageId)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Handlers.ReverseEngineerCodeFirstHandler.ReverseEngineerCodeFirst(Project project)

One or more errors occurred while processing template 'Mapping.tt'.
error : Running transformation: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplatingac862cc9523b4d3aa384fb08a147013b.GeneratedTextTransformation.TransformText()
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplating.TransformationRunner.RunTransformation(TemplateProcessingSession session, String source, ITextTemplatingEngineHost host, String& result)

by germ13 | December 06 2012

Not working!
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Extensions.ProjectExtensions.InstallPackage(Project project, String packageId)
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Handlers.ReverseEngineerCodeFirstHandler.ReverseEngineerCodeFirst(Project project)

One or more errors occurred while processing template 'Entity.tt'.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\Common7\IDE\Extensions\Microsoft\Entity Framework Tools\Templates\Includes\EF.Utility.CS.ttinclude(1,4) : error : A processor named 'T4VSHost' could not be found for the directive named 'CleanupBehavior'. The transformation will not be run. The following Exception was thrown:
System.InvalidOperationException: Cannot find processor for directive 'T4VSHost'.
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Utilities.EfTextTemplateHost.Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplating.ITextTemplatingEngineHost.ResolveDirectiveProcessor(String processorName)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplating.Engine.ProcessCustomDirectives(ITextTemplatingEngineHost host, TemplateProcessingSession session, IEnumerable`1 directivesToBeProcessed)

by Sergio.Farias | December 06 2012

Does not work!
One or more errors occurred while processing template 'Entity.tt'.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\Common7\IDE\Extensions\Microsoft\Entity Framework Tools\Templates\Includes\EF.Utility.CS.ttinclude(1,4) : error : A processor named 'T4VSHost' could not be found for the directive named 'CleanupBehavior'. The transformation will not be run. The following Exception was thrown:
System.InvalidOperationException: Cannot find processor for directive 'T4VSHost'.

by Georgia Tsirigotaki | December 05 2012

Error occured:

One or more errors occurred while processing template 'Entity.tt'.
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\Common7\IDE\Extensions\Microsoft\Entity Framework Tools\Templates\Includes\EF.Utility.CS.ttinclude(1,4) : error : A processor named 'T4VSHost' could not be found for the directive named 'CleanupBehavior'. The transformation will not be run. The following Exception was thrown:
System.InvalidOperationException: Cannot find processor for directive 'T4VSHost'.
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Utilities.EfTextTemplateHost.Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplating.ITextTemplatingEngineHost.ResolveDirectiveProcessor(String processorName)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplating.Engine.ProcessCustomDirectives(ITextTemplatingEngineHost host, TemplateProcessingSession session, IEnumerable`1 directivesToBeProcessed)

by dng_online | December 02 2012

1) Varchar(MAX) is throwing runtime error due to length issue.

2) Critical Issue: On taking recent VS.Net 2012 Update 1, I am receiving this error.

One or more errors occurred while processing template 'Entity.tt'.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\Common7\IDE\Extensions\Microsoft\Entity Framework Tools\Templates\Includes\EF.Utility.CS.ttinclude(1,4) : error : A processor named 'T4VSHost' could not be found for the directive named 'CleanupBehavior'. The transformation will not be run. The following Exception was thrown:
System.InvalidOperationException: Cannot find processor for directive 'T4VSHost'.
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Utilities.EfTextTemplateHost.Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplating.ITextTemplatingEngineHost.ResolveDirectiveProcessor(String processorName)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplating.Engine.ProcessCustomDirectives(ITextTemplatingEngineHost host, TemplateProcessingSession session, IEnumerable`1 directivesToBeProcessed)

by L Cooper | November 29 2012


One or more errors occurred while processing template 'Entity.tt'.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\Common7\IDE\Extensions\Microsoft\Entity Framework Tools\Templates\Includes\EF.Utility.CS.ttinclude(1,4) : error : A processor named 'T4VSHost' could not be found for the directive named 'CleanupBehavior'. The transformation will not be run. The following Exception was thrown:
System.InvalidOperationException: Cannot find processor for directive 'T4VSHost'.
at Microsoft.DbContextPackage.Utilities.EfTextTemplateHost.Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplating.ITextTemplatingEngineHost.ResolveDirectiveProcessor(String processorName)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TextTemplating.Engine.ProcessCustomDirectives(ITextTemplatingEngineHost host, TemplateProcessingSession session, IEnumerable`1 directivesToBeProcessed)

by tjzfg | November 17 2012

error occured..

by khaled afifi | November 16 2012

Great work.
but it will be better if table's schama added to the namespace of its class. for ex. if my table is "Account" and its schema was "GL", the generated class would be mynamespace.GL.Account.

by Its Peter | November 10 2012

When I install this nothing appears to happen. No errors, nothing showing in VS. Any ideas?

by hocino | November 10 2012

I have the same error : incorrect argument HRESULT 0x080070057 E_INVALIDARG.

I use VS2010...

by JayBeeOh | November 08 2012

I'm using VS 2010 and the latest power tools. When trying to reverse engineer a database I keep getting the error "HRESULT 0x80070057 E_INVALIDARG". Test connection was successful, though.
Any ideas how to fix this?

by ben555 | October 24 2012

Just get the error: "Sequence contains no matching element".

by RambleC | October 18 2012

I'm unable to reverse engineer against a database that (very sadly) has a hyphenated name. I keep getting the error "The modelEntityContainerName parameter 'xxx-xxxContext' contains characters that are not valid". Is there any way to fix this? I sure could get some use out of this tool if there was! Oh, and believe me, I'm not the one who hyphenated the database name originally! Thanks, Landon

by KorLibrary | October 14 2012

Until this product supports Visual Basic projects, it is pointless to make it available.

To the Entity Framework Team:

The squiggly character crowd are not the only people developing applications out here. A huge swath of us are VB.Net developers.

Stop ignoring us!

PLEASE provide tools which support Visual Basic FIRST. Then...maybe (MAYBE!)...one or more of the squiggly character languages.

by Vairam V | October 11 2012

Generate Views: Generates select statements with Pluralized table name inspite of setting Plurarlize New Objects = false in Model First.

In Code First: Ignored the fact that the entities where reverse engineered from singular named tables and generates in view with pluralized tables.

also reverse engineer mapping template code line
storeProp.TypeUsage.Facets.SingleOrDefault(f => f.Name == "StoreGeneratedPattern") always returns null and hence identity columns are not marked as identity.
This libraries preview ctp came out around may 2011 and it is 1 1/2 years and is still in beta, doesn't support entities based on view and buggy.

by Heribert Pfeiffer | October 08 2012

by joeLopez | October 03 2012

Only problem I have is the inability to select the tables for which to generate POCO classes. All tables are processed so you have to delete the ones you don't want.

101 - 120 of 156 Items