CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(149) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010, 14
Download (412,990)
8/19/2014
0.7.4
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (149)
Q and A (117)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Senthil Ramanathan | November 12 2013

Just learnt about this tool today reading a SO answer. Awesome utility to reformat a huge bunch of files that I had to import from another system. And managed to get it done in all of 2 mins.. Great work.

Steve Cadwallader November 12 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks! :)

by DaFlame | October 25 2013

I have to reiterate a point brought up by a previous reviewer.

I like cleaning up the code to add the this keyword in front of class members and methods. It helps to make the code more unified because you NEED to use the this keyword when applying extension methods to the local class. I agree it is not needed in most cases, but it does clarify the target of the request.

StyleCop has this rule for a good reason: code transparency and consistency.
Please support this in CodeMaid. it is the last item only thing it doesn't do for me.

Only 4 stars until it is supported.

Steve Cadwallader October 26 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the suggestion. Personally I always remove them, but there's arguments for both directions.

To implement adding/removing "this." requires a richer code model than what is currently exposed through the Visual Studio API. The Roslyn project promises to expose a code model rich enough to add this kind of functionality in the future, but it has not been released. To get that behavior today you'll need to use a commercial tool (e.g. ReSharper) that has its own static compilation engine.

by IsenGrim 613 | October 23 2013

You need a new function:
Cleanup all checked out.

Steve Cadwallader October 24 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Good idea, thanks. :) Added to the backlog: https://trello.com/c/wKayMxcc

by UldisV | September 17 2013

Perfect tool.
A must if you want to get quick overview of your class.

by Michal Smola | August 29 2013

by Ovidiu Ionescu | August 17 2013

by Gil Yoder | August 06 2013

Steve has done a great job with this free utility, and supports it as if he was getting rich from it. Thanks Steve.

Steve Cadwallader August 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Rich on ego, Thanks Gil. :)

by Mike Paterson | July 19 2013

I use Code Maid on a daily basis. Really great job! You should setup a place where we can donate.

$20 donated!

Steve Cadwallader July 19 2013
| Edit |
Delete

That was very generous - thank you! :)

by Elmut | July 18 2013

Usefull !

by Mahesh.Nalam | July 16 2013

very useful

by d347hm4n | July 09 2013

Excellent tool, perfect to maintain prjects from the get go. I would be careful doing it to large code bases as there are a few gotcha's that you will want to be sure you like the behaviour of before you go ahead and clean a whole solution.

by tutorbrain | July 08 2013

Very nice product, but the latest version (released 7/6/2013) is making my visual studio crash repeatedly and be much slower than i remember it being before the update.

Steve Cadwallader July 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry to hear it. In regards to the crash, please check https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/213/refactor-rename-starts-endless-clean-loop if you are seeing a crash during a rename operation.

As to performance, I wouldn't have expected any differences at this point but there are performance improvements in the works going forwards.

by kelvinkw83 | July 08 2013

Been using CodeMaid for nearly over a year...Excellent extension that help me reformat my codes and with the latest addition of formatting the comments really make my life easier...Thanks Steve

Steve Cadwallader July 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

You're welcome, that's wonderful that it is making life easier. :) The new comment formatting feature was built by Willem Duncan so I'll pass along the positive feedback to him.

by Rajiv_Rapid | July 01 2013

Great work! But I don't understand Y it is free!!! am happy anyways to get it for free!

Steve Cadwallader July 02 2013
| Edit |
Delete

lol - thanks I'm glad to hear you like it. :) It is free because I enjoy making it and knowing that it is helping others out.

by empty`void | June 28 2013

Visual Studio 2012 update 3 hangs waiting for a background operation when a C++ header is open.

Steve Cadwallader June 28 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry for the trouble. Yes, this is a known issue introduced in the VS2012 API and resolved by the Microsoft team for the next major release. They've offered a workaround which I am working towards implementing. For more details: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/142/spade-starts-endless-process-in-vs-2012-c

For VS2012 C++ projects, you can close the Spade tool window and still use the rest of the functionality of CodeMaid for now.

by JeremyCa | June 24 2013

I use CodeMaid on a day to day basis. It's one of the first extensions that I install along with Mads' Web Essentials.

I particularly like the code clean up and code digging features. They have saved me numerous hours.

Steve Cadwallader June 26 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Very glad to hear it :)

by carbonrobot | June 20 2013

I can no longer develop without this plugin. The best plugins do one thing really well, and CodeMaid does exactly what I need it to do, really well, without extra junk or fanfare involved.

Steve Cadwallader June 23 2013
| Edit |
Delete

What a fantastic review - thank you! :)

by soniche | June 13 2013

by SeanMars | June 08 2013

It is good!! but very slow with large file...
can improve that?Or can disable the code digging.
just want the code cleaning.

thank alot

Steve Cadwallader June 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

You're welcome. :). You can close the Spade tool window to disable code digging which will help with very large files. Performance improvements are in the works for future releases so stay tuned.

by jackofallcodes | June 07 2013

Fantastic! Finally a comprehensive code cleaner, that is free and does what it says on the tin!

41 - 60 of 149 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Excluding Files and Directories from Cleaning
    3 Posts | Last post 12:33 PM
    • Hi Steve,
      
      I am using CodeMaid on a very large project and it is running out of memory when I get to large auto generated files. They are all CS file. I have tried to exclude these files with these regular expressions and the file name but neither works.
      
      .*\FileToExclude\.cs
      FileToExclude\.cs
      
      What is the correct regular expression to accomplish this? Can entire directories be excluded also?
    • The second example is correct syntax.  Have you made sure it is on a separate line from other exclusion lines?
      
      Entire directories cannot currently be excluded, but it's in the backlog here: https://trello.com/c/PludijKv
      
      If you're still having problems, please open an issue on GitHub with an export of your CodeMaid settings so we can figure it out together.
    • Yes, they are on separate lines. The two expressions I mentioned earlier was what I tried to exclude a file by name. I tried using them each separately and together but did not get the result I wanted.
      
      I can still use CodeMaid by explicitly selecting the files to clean but will not be able to use it on the entire solution for now. When support is added for directory exclusion it should work for me since all the files I want to exclude are in the same directory.
  • CodeMaid Spade does not seem to work on shared projects
    2 Posts | Last post September 23, 2014
    • Hi Steve,
      Just installed CodeMaid in VS2013 update3. It looks very nice but when I open a C# file from a shared project (As in universal apps) the codemaid spade window stays empty, opening files in regular projects works fine. I am missing something ?
      
      Lex
      
    • Hi Lex -
      
      Have you installed CodeMaid v0.7.4?  That version contained a fix specifically for shared projects.  If you have that version installed and are still seeing an issue will you open a GitHub issue with a code sample?
      
      https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues
      
      Thanks,
      -Steve Cadwallader
  • Customize font size
    7 Posts | Last post September 20, 2014
    • Hi Steve,
      Thanks for the great addin!
      Could you add a way to customize font size for Spade window?
    • You're welcome - glad you like it!
      
      Spade supports zooming - you can hold down the Ctrl-key and use the mouse wheel to zoom-in or zoom-out. :)  Holding down the Ctrl-key and clicking the middle button will reset the zoom to 100%.
    • True that! That was what I tried at first.
      Turns out reducing zoom level messes up font rendering, give it a try, or I can send you a screenshot if you like.
    • Sure if you would like to send a screenshot that would be good (codemaid on gmail).  Since it is a full window scale transform vs. a font size change the appearance may not remain as crisp depending on the font.
    • Sent!
    • "Depending on font"
      I tried several fonts, but all fonts look blurry when the Spade is zoomed. How about just letting us to choose the font size? Currently it is too small.
    • There is a card in the backlog for that here: https://trello.com/c/eXWy1DMA  Please feel free to visit and vote-up or comment further there.
  • Cleanup and Collapse missing from Solution Explorer
    6 Posts | Last post September 08, 2014
    • Hi,
      
      I seem to have lost the Cleanup and Collapse buttons in the Solution Explorer window. Is there an option to switch them back on? I recently installed VS2013 Update 3 - but I can't be 100% sure that this removed them.
      
      Thanks,
      
      Ben
    • Hi Ben -
      
      They were deliberately removed in the v0.7.3 update as Microsoft has a native collapse all button already in the solution explorer toolbar from VS2012 and up.  There's been a number of people asking that question though so I'll roll back that change and re-introduce them in the next release.
      
      As a VS2013 user, were you aware of the native collapse button?  Do you use the cleanup all code button regularly that it's easier to have it present there vs. the menu?
      
      Thanks,
      -Steve Cadwallader
    • Doh! No, I didn't notice the native Collapse button!
      
      I tend to CleanUp on Save rather than use CleanUp All option - so it was just Collapse that I was missing really. Don't reintroduce them on my account...
      
      Thanks for your help Steve - CodeMaid is really useful!
    • No worries, thanks for the details.  It's mostly for VS2010 users but I was curious if there were other reasons they would still be helpful in VS2013.
      
      Really glad to hear you're finding CodeMaid useful. :)
    • There is a way to obtain a past version from CodeMaid (before v0.7.3)?
      
      By some reasons directly related to the project where I'm working, I cannot update .NET Framework to v4.5, being limited to use v4.0 (and prior), and I really love/need the collapse function (*badum tss*).
      
      Thanks in advance.
    • v0.7.4 was the first version that requires .NET 4.5.  You can download v0.7.3 which does not require .NET 4.5 from GitHub here: https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/releases/tag/v0.7.3
  • Spade Configuration
    2 Posts | Last post September 02, 2014
    • Hello, i love that tool. Two requests :
      
      1. Would it be possible to add configuration of spade default layout, because i had always to re-select alphabetically which i use in general.
      
      2. I use the alphabetically mainly because i don't want to see the region information in the list, would it be possible to deactivate 'region' view in the layouts.
      
      Thanks,
      regards
      Marcus
      
    • Hi Marcus -
      
      Very glad to hear you love it. :)
      
      Your first suggestion is already present on the public backlog here: https://trello.com/c/ZvCliKnH
      
      Your second suggestion I have added here: https://trello.com/c/1WTL58Lb
      
      Please visit to vote them up and add any other comments.
      
      Thanks!
      -Steve Cadwallader
  • Visual Studio 2010
    2 Posts | Last post August 28, 2014
    • Is this extension no longer supported in Visual Studio 2010? I cannot get the menu bar item to show.
    • The latest version (v0.7.4) requires .NET 4.5.  That wasn't marked in the installer so it didn't prompt to install it like it should.
      
      If you can't install .NET 4.5 for some reason, the previous version (v0.7.3) is available on GitHub.
  • Running other 3rd-party cleaner
    2 Posts | Last post August 23, 2014
    • Hi,
      GREAT extension. I noticed the possibility to run the "silent cleanup" of the ReSharper extension. It would be awesome if one could just give CodeMaid a shortcut, which it should perform before or after the cleanup. Maybe I could trigger a silent cleanup of the Telerik-Extension "JustCode" as well?
      
      Marc
      
    • Hi Marc -
      
      Glad you like it, and that's a great suggestion - thank you!  :)  I've added it to the backlog here for comments/voting: https://trello.com/c/rLdN2VeT
      
      -Steve Cadwallader
  • Switching not only file extensions
    2 Posts | Last post August 05, 2014
    • Hi there,
      it would be great to configure the switching between defined classes matched by regex or something. In our case we have something like FooService.cs that is thightly bound to FooServiceContract.cs. It would be nice to define some sort of switching between these two.
      
      Thanks, 
      Malte
    • Thanks for the suggestion.  Added to the public backlog on Trello for voting/comments: https://trello.com/c/14TU2J1g
  • Spade Background Color
    4 Posts | Last post July 20, 2014
    • Is there a way to change the toolwindow backcolor of Spade? I just want to match it with my other windows. I'm using the color theme editor extension.
    • Currently CodeMaid has two themes (dark and light) to match the Visual Studio themes.  The tool window backgrounds are #FF252526 and #FFF6F6F6 respectively.  By default CodeMaid will auto-detect the IDE tool window background color and choose one of the two themes from there.
      
      Feature requests can be added to the backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog
      
      Or the relevant source code is available here:
      https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/src/844a130514d96981bc8d0c21f01718d9242e5249/CodeMaid/UI/ThemeManager.cs?at=default
      
      Hope it helps.
    • Thanks! just edited the code and it worked perfectly. :)
    • Cool, glad to hear it. :)
      
      We've moved over to GitHub this weekend, so if you've got something you think is generic enough you'd like to include in the main code line you can submit a pull request there.  If not no worries too.
  • Remove whitespace on blank line.
    3 Posts | Last post July 15, 2014
    • I have "Remove end of line whitespace" checked, but that option doesn't delete whitespace that exists on a blank line.  (i.e. a line with whitespace only.)  Is there a way to tell CodeMaid that I want ALL trailing whitespace to be removed?  CodeMaid version is 0.7.1.  Visual Studio version is Professional 2012 Update 4.
    • Nevermind.  It's working correctly, it just doesn't look like it is...
    • Glad you figured it out.  Visual Studio does have the concept of a virtual cursor position - that's how the next line of code looks to be indented to the same level before you start writing anything.  If you press the 'end' key you'll see it toggle between the virtual end of line and actual end of line, or you can enable viewing whitspace.
1 - 10 of 117 Items