CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(141) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (366,372)
7/20/2014
0.7.3
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (141)
Q and A (110)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Elmut | July 18 2013

Usefull !

by Mahesh.Nalam | July 16 2013

very useful

by d347hm4n | July 09 2013

Excellent tool, perfect to maintain prjects from the get go. I would be careful doing it to large code bases as there are a few gotcha's that you will want to be sure you like the behaviour of before you go ahead and clean a whole solution.

by tutorbrain | July 08 2013

Very nice product, but the latest version (released 7/6/2013) is making my visual studio crash repeatedly and be much slower than i remember it being before the update.

Steve Cadwallader July 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry to hear it. In regards to the crash, please check https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/213/refactor-rename-starts-endless-clean-loop if you are seeing a crash during a rename operation.

As to performance, I wouldn't have expected any differences at this point but there are performance improvements in the works going forwards.

by kelvinkw83 | July 08 2013

Been using CodeMaid for nearly over a year...Excellent extension that help me reformat my codes and with the latest addition of formatting the comments really make my life easier...Thanks Steve

Steve Cadwallader July 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

You're welcome, that's wonderful that it is making life easier. :) The new comment formatting feature was built by Willem Duncan so I'll pass along the positive feedback to him.

by Rajiv_Rapid | July 01 2013

Great work! But I don't understand Y it is free!!! am happy anyways to get it for free!

Steve Cadwallader July 02 2013
| Edit |
Delete

lol - thanks I'm glad to hear you like it. :) It is free because I enjoy making it and knowing that it is helping others out.

by empty`void | June 28 2013

Visual Studio 2012 update 3 hangs waiting for a background operation when a C++ header is open.

Steve Cadwallader June 28 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry for the trouble. Yes, this is a known issue introduced in the VS2012 API and resolved by the Microsoft team for the next major release. They've offered a workaround which I am working towards implementing. For more details: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/142/spade-starts-endless-process-in-vs-2012-c

For VS2012 C++ projects, you can close the Spade tool window and still use the rest of the functionality of CodeMaid for now.

by JeremyCa | June 24 2013

I use CodeMaid on a day to day basis. It's one of the first extensions that I install along with Mads' Web Essentials.

I particularly like the code clean up and code digging features. They have saved me numerous hours.

Steve Cadwallader June 26 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Very glad to hear it :)

by carbonrobot | June 20 2013

I can no longer develop without this plugin. The best plugins do one thing really well, and CodeMaid does exactly what I need it to do, really well, without extra junk or fanfare involved.

Steve Cadwallader June 23 2013
| Edit |
Delete

What a fantastic review - thank you! :)

by soniche | June 13 2013

by SeanMars | June 08 2013

It is good!! but very slow with large file...
can improve that?Or can disable the code digging.
just want the code cleaning.

thank alot

Steve Cadwallader June 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

You're welcome. :). You can close the Spade tool window to disable code digging which will help with very large files. Performance improvements are in the works for future releases so stay tuned.

by jackofallcodes | June 07 2013

Fantastic! Finally a comprehensive code cleaner, that is free and does what it says on the tin!

by nugb00t | June 04 2013

by NeoN_Roma | May 18 2013

Good extension, but I have some remarks:
What for in VS2012 there "Find in solution" in context menu and "collapse all recursively" in solution explorer? VS2012 already has this functions.
There would be great if I can configure what buttons to display in context menu and solution explorer.
What do you think about updating icons to make them pixel-clear because thy are blurry?

Steve Cadwallader May 18 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the feedback.

CodeMaid has had and continues support for those commands since earlier editions of Visual Studio (ex: VS2010). You're right that Visual Studio has newly introduced them in VS2012.

I've added a backlog card for voting/comments on configuring toolbar and context menu visibility here: https://trello.com/c/O5ldkODW

I'd be very happy to update the icons, do you know any icon designers who might be interested?

by Kevin_Schilling | May 10 2013

by Stephan_MZ | May 01 2013

As a C# developer, this tool is a pretty good collection of most wanted tools: easy to learn, easy to customize (e.g. the reorganizing tool). I like the code map displaying regions, embedded methods, interfaces etc., so I easily can navigate between them. Congratulations to the developer of CodeMaid!

I have checked CodeMaid against VS10x CodeMap and I have to say that for my daily work and regarding to what I really need: CodeMaid is on the same Level like VS10x CodeMap.

Steve Cadwallader May 02 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Thank you. :)

by Mhmmd | April 21 2013

No more cut-and-paste code reorganization for me. Would happily pay for it if it weren't free.

by casper_wilkes | April 21 2013

by kvishalv | April 18 2013

Steve, This is an awesome extension to my VS. Thank you very much for making it free :)

Steve Cadwallader April 18 2013
| Edit |
Delete

You're very welcome! :)

by MatthewS2077 | April 11 2013

Great extension!

Can you please add an option to turn off Spade if file is larger than configurable threshold?

I have a file (auto-generated classes from XSD) that is 35,000 lines and Spade takes forever! If I could tell Spade to ignore files longer than say 1000 lines it would be helpful.

Steve Cadwallader April 12 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks! :)

Spade should fully run asynchronously - so although it may take a long time for it to load I wouldn't expect a performance hit except on a single core machine. I've created a Trello card for further discussion here: https://trello.com/c/ha1vFRS7

41 - 60 of 141 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Spade Background Color
    4 Posts | Last post Sun 3:18 PM
    • Is there a way to change the toolwindow backcolor of Spade? I just want to match it with my other windows. I'm using the color theme editor extension.
    • Currently CodeMaid has two themes (dark and light) to match the Visual Studio themes.  The tool window backgrounds are #FF252526 and #FFF6F6F6 respectively.  By default CodeMaid will auto-detect the IDE tool window background color and choose one of the two themes from there.
      
      Feature requests can be added to the backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog
      
      Or the relevant source code is available here:
      https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/src/844a130514d96981bc8d0c21f01718d9242e5249/CodeMaid/UI/ThemeManager.cs?at=default
      
      Hope it helps.
    • Thanks! just edited the code and it worked perfectly. :)
    • Cool, glad to hear it. :)
      
      We've moved over to GitHub this weekend, so if you've got something you think is generic enough you'd like to include in the main code line you can submit a pull request there.  If not no worries too.
  • Remove whitespace on blank line.
    3 Posts | Last post July 15, 2014
    • I have "Remove end of line whitespace" checked, but that option doesn't delete whitespace that exists on a blank line.  (i.e. a line with whitespace only.)  Is there a way to tell CodeMaid that I want ALL trailing whitespace to be removed?  CodeMaid version is 0.7.1.  Visual Studio version is Professional 2012 Update 4.
    • Nevermind.  It's working correctly, it just doesn't look like it is...
    • Glad you figured it out.  Visual Studio does have the concept of a virtual cursor position - that's how the next line of code looks to be indented to the same level before you start writing anything.  If you press the 'end' key you'll see it toggle between the virtual end of line and actual end of line, or you can enable viewing whitspace.
  • Where do i report a bug ?
    3 Posts | Last post June 26, 2014
    • I believe I've found an issue, where do I report bugs? 
      
      The boards on Trello (which I also love) don't look like an appropriate place...
    • BitBucket is where the source code and issue tracker lives: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issues
      
      If you can include a code sample and what edition of VS that will be very helpful.
    • Issue posted at https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/309/vs2013-update-2
  • reorganize code
    2 Posts | Last post June 20, 2014
    • Why doesn't this reorganize vb.net codes?
    • There hasn't been a lot of interest, but there is a card in the backlog you can vote up here: https://trello.com/c/TD0jaAab/141-reorganization-support-for-vb
  • hi used variables are not highlighted
    2 Posts | Last post June 10, 2014
    • hi used variables are not highlighted after installing this extension or do we need any further settings for this.?
    • CodeMaid shouldn't(tm) be related to any settings about highlighting unused variables.  I don't know that Visual Studio does that by default, I think it comes from other third party extensions like ReSharper.
  • CodeMaid settings get reset every week or two.
    6 Posts | Last post May 14, 2014
    • This is really frustrating.  Every couple of weeks, my CodeMaid settings get set back to defaults.
      
      I don't want the defaults, that's why I changed my settings.
    • Sorry to hear it.  I haven't seen that issue or had any other users report it.  Have you noticed any patterns about when your settings are getting reset, such as it happens after performing an operation in another extension?  My best guess would be that the shared space where user preferences are stored are getting overwritten.
      
      As a workaround until we can identify the source of the reset, I'd recommend exporting your settings when they're valid so you can quickly re-import them once you've noticed they have been reset.
    • I have the same problem, just today! And before I found the codemaid settings lost, I made an update of Visual Studio 2013 (Update 1). Thus, although I can not say this for sure, the lost settings may correspond to updates made in VisualStudio.
    • Thanks for the details.  Has anybody else noticed a similar issue when applying the VS2013 Update 1?
    • I can now say for sure that the same problem also happens after updating to VS 2013 Update 2. All Settings were lost again.
    • Thanks for reporting it, and I saw the same thing occur with VS2013 Update 2.  Card created in the backlog here: https://trello.com/c/Iwgn3De3
  • can't find Microsoft.VisualStudio.Package.LanguageService.10.0
    2 Posts | Last post May 09, 2014
    • When i right click a solution and click 'clean all code...' i get below error message. This is in VS2013 update 1
      
      ---------------------------
      Microsoft Visual Studio
      ---------------------------
      Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.VisualStudio.Package.LanguageService.10.0, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
      ---------------------------
      OK   
      ---------------------------
      
    • This is a known Microsoft bug in VS2013.  They've promised to fix it in VS2013 Update 2.
      
      Please follow through this issue for details on a workaround: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/220/vs2013-cleanup-all-code-shows-error
  • My CodeMaid isn't effect in javascript file
    2 Posts | Last post May 02, 2014
    • the code map is ok in .cs file, but it is not effect in js file.
      ps.when I open a project,the spade show it refresh the js file,but then it show nothing ,my IDE is vs2013 
    • VS does not have a code model available through its API for JavaScript files.  So what you are seeing is expected - Spade does support C# but does not support JavaScript.
  • visual studio stop running after use codemaid
    2 Posts | Last post March 14, 2014
    • After install codemaid, i'm using visual studio 2010, and use the extension my visual studio stop running and  when i start again, i got the same result. I have uninstalled the codemaid extensioni and there is not any problem again. Do you have some setting or patch for this issue?
    • I'm not sure if this will help the problem you are describing, but there is a known issue that some users have encountered with multithreading performance.  You can disable that optimization through CodeMaid->Configuration->General->"Multithread options".  This is the default in the latest BETA release.
      
      If that isn't the problem, please open an issue on BitBucket (https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issues) including some details such as what you are doing when the error occurs, any relevant screenshots, and if the issue occurs consistently or erratically.
  • CodeMaid Window
    2 Posts | Last post March 08, 2014
    • My codemaid window was closed. Now I can't find how to re-open it.  Am I missing something simple?
    • The Spade tool window can be opened by selecting the CodeMaid menu across the top and then selecting the Spade menu item.
1 - 10 of 110 Items