CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(149) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010, 14
Download (396,746)
8/19/2014
0.7.4
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (149)
Q and A (115)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Senthil Ramanathan | November 12 2013

Just learnt about this tool today reading a SO answer. Awesome utility to reformat a huge bunch of files that I had to import from another system. And managed to get it done in all of 2 mins.. Great work.

Steve Cadwallader November 12 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks! :)

by DaFlame | October 25 2013

I have to reiterate a point brought up by a previous reviewer.

I like cleaning up the code to add the this keyword in front of class members and methods. It helps to make the code more unified because you NEED to use the this keyword when applying extension methods to the local class. I agree it is not needed in most cases, but it does clarify the target of the request.

StyleCop has this rule for a good reason: code transparency and consistency.
Please support this in CodeMaid. it is the last item only thing it doesn't do for me.

Only 4 stars until it is supported.

Steve Cadwallader October 26 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the suggestion. Personally I always remove them, but there's arguments for both directions.

To implement adding/removing "this." requires a richer code model than what is currently exposed through the Visual Studio API. The Roslyn project promises to expose a code model rich enough to add this kind of functionality in the future, but it has not been released. To get that behavior today you'll need to use a commercial tool (e.g. ReSharper) that has its own static compilation engine.

by IsenGrim 613 | October 23 2013

You need a new function:
Cleanup all checked out.

Steve Cadwallader October 24 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Good idea, thanks. :) Added to the backlog: https://trello.com/c/wKayMxcc

by UldisV | September 17 2013

Perfect tool.
A must if you want to get quick overview of your class.

by Michal Smola | Thu 7:48 AM

by Ovidiu Ionescu | August 17 2013

by Gil Yoder | August 06 2013

Steve has done a great job with this free utility, and supports it as if he was getting rich from it. Thanks Steve.

Steve Cadwallader August 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Rich on ego, Thanks Gil. :)

by Mike Paterson | July 19 2013

I use Code Maid on a daily basis. Really great job! You should setup a place where we can donate.

$20 donated!

Steve Cadwallader July 19 2013
| Edit |
Delete

That was very generous - thank you! :)

by Elmut | July 18 2013

Usefull !

by Mahesh.Nalam | July 16 2013

very useful

by d347hm4n | July 09 2013

Excellent tool, perfect to maintain prjects from the get go. I would be careful doing it to large code bases as there are a few gotcha's that you will want to be sure you like the behaviour of before you go ahead and clean a whole solution.

by tutorbrain | July 08 2013

Very nice product, but the latest version (released 7/6/2013) is making my visual studio crash repeatedly and be much slower than i remember it being before the update.

Steve Cadwallader July 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry to hear it. In regards to the crash, please check https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/213/refactor-rename-starts-endless-clean-loop if you are seeing a crash during a rename operation.

As to performance, I wouldn't have expected any differences at this point but there are performance improvements in the works going forwards.

by kelvinkw83 | July 08 2013

Been using CodeMaid for nearly over a year...Excellent extension that help me reformat my codes and with the latest addition of formatting the comments really make my life easier...Thanks Steve

Steve Cadwallader July 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

You're welcome, that's wonderful that it is making life easier. :) The new comment formatting feature was built by Willem Duncan so I'll pass along the positive feedback to him.

by Rajiv_Rapid | July 01 2013

Great work! But I don't understand Y it is free!!! am happy anyways to get it for free!

Steve Cadwallader July 02 2013
| Edit |
Delete

lol - thanks I'm glad to hear you like it. :) It is free because I enjoy making it and knowing that it is helping others out.

by empty`void | June 28 2013

Visual Studio 2012 update 3 hangs waiting for a background operation when a C++ header is open.

Steve Cadwallader June 28 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry for the trouble. Yes, this is a known issue introduced in the VS2012 API and resolved by the Microsoft team for the next major release. They've offered a workaround which I am working towards implementing. For more details: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/142/spade-starts-endless-process-in-vs-2012-c

For VS2012 C++ projects, you can close the Spade tool window and still use the rest of the functionality of CodeMaid for now.

by JeremyCa | June 24 2013

I use CodeMaid on a day to day basis. It's one of the first extensions that I install along with Mads' Web Essentials.

I particularly like the code clean up and code digging features. They have saved me numerous hours.

Steve Cadwallader June 26 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Very glad to hear it :)

by carbonrobot | June 20 2013

I can no longer develop without this plugin. The best plugins do one thing really well, and CodeMaid does exactly what I need it to do, really well, without extra junk or fanfare involved.

Steve Cadwallader June 23 2013
| Edit |
Delete

What a fantastic review - thank you! :)

by soniche | June 13 2013

by SeanMars | June 08 2013

It is good!! but very slow with large file...
can improve that?Or can disable the code digging.
just want the code cleaning.

thank alot

Steve Cadwallader June 08 2013
| Edit |
Delete

You're welcome. :). You can close the Spade tool window to disable code digging which will help with very large files. Performance improvements are in the works for future releases so stay tuned.

by jackofallcodes | June 07 2013

Fantastic! Finally a comprehensive code cleaner, that is free and does what it says on the tin!

41 - 60 of 149 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Spade Configuration
    1 Posts | Last post Mon 8:40 AM
    • Hello, i love that tool. Two requests :
      
      1. Would it be possible to add configuration of spade default layout, because i had always to re-select alphabetically which i use in general.
      
      2. I use the alphabetically mainly because i don't want to see the region information in the list, would it be possible to deactivate 'region' view in the layouts.
      
      Thanks,
      regards
      Marcus
      
  • Visual Studio 2010
    2 Posts | Last post Thu 5:11 PM
    • Is this extension no longer supported in Visual Studio 2010? I cannot get the menu bar item to show.
    • The latest version (v0.7.4) requires .NET 4.5.  That wasn't marked in the installer so it didn't prompt to install it like it should.
      
      If you can't install .NET 4.5 for some reason, the previous version (v0.7.3) is available on GitHub.
  • Running other 3rd-party cleaner
    2 Posts | Last post August 23, 2014
    • Hi,
      GREAT extension. I noticed the possibility to run the "silent cleanup" of the ReSharper extension. It would be awesome if one could just give CodeMaid a shortcut, which it should perform before or after the cleanup. Maybe I could trigger a silent cleanup of the Telerik-Extension "JustCode" as well?
      
      Marc
      
    • Hi Marc -
      
      Glad you like it, and that's a great suggestion - thank you!  :)  I've added it to the backlog here for comments/voting: https://trello.com/c/rLdN2VeT
      
      -Steve Cadwallader
  • Cleanup and Collapse missing from Solution Explorer
    4 Posts | Last post August 11, 2014
    • Hi,
      
      I seem to have lost the Cleanup and Collapse buttons in the Solution Explorer window. Is there an option to switch them back on? I recently installed VS2013 Update 3 - but I can't be 100% sure that this removed them.
      
      Thanks,
      
      Ben
    • Hi Ben -
      
      They were deliberately removed in the v0.7.3 update as Microsoft has a native collapse all button already in the solution explorer toolbar from VS2012 and up.  There's been a number of people asking that question though so I'll roll back that change and re-introduce them in the next release.
      
      As a VS2013 user, were you aware of the native collapse button?  Do you use the cleanup all code button regularly that it's easier to have it present there vs. the menu?
      
      Thanks,
      -Steve Cadwallader
    • Doh! No, I didn't notice the native Collapse button!
      
      I tend to CleanUp on Save rather than use CleanUp All option - so it was just Collapse that I was missing really. Don't reintroduce them on my account...
      
      Thanks for your help Steve - CodeMaid is really useful!
    • No worries, thanks for the details.  It's mostly for VS2010 users but I was curious if there were other reasons they would still be helpful in VS2013.
      
      Really glad to hear you're finding CodeMaid useful. :)
  • Switching not only file extensions
    2 Posts | Last post August 05, 2014
    • Hi there,
      it would be great to configure the switching between defined classes matched by regex or something. In our case we have something like FooService.cs that is thightly bound to FooServiceContract.cs. It would be nice to define some sort of switching between these two.
      
      Thanks, 
      Malte
    • Thanks for the suggestion.  Added to the public backlog on Trello for voting/comments: https://trello.com/c/14TU2J1g
  • Spade Background Color
    4 Posts | Last post July 20, 2014
    • Is there a way to change the toolwindow backcolor of Spade? I just want to match it with my other windows. I'm using the color theme editor extension.
    • Currently CodeMaid has two themes (dark and light) to match the Visual Studio themes.  The tool window backgrounds are #FF252526 and #FFF6F6F6 respectively.  By default CodeMaid will auto-detect the IDE tool window background color and choose one of the two themes from there.
      
      Feature requests can be added to the backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog
      
      Or the relevant source code is available here:
      https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/src/844a130514d96981bc8d0c21f01718d9242e5249/CodeMaid/UI/ThemeManager.cs?at=default
      
      Hope it helps.
    • Thanks! just edited the code and it worked perfectly. :)
    • Cool, glad to hear it. :)
      
      We've moved over to GitHub this weekend, so if you've got something you think is generic enough you'd like to include in the main code line you can submit a pull request there.  If not no worries too.
  • Remove whitespace on blank line.
    3 Posts | Last post July 15, 2014
    • I have "Remove end of line whitespace" checked, but that option doesn't delete whitespace that exists on a blank line.  (i.e. a line with whitespace only.)  Is there a way to tell CodeMaid that I want ALL trailing whitespace to be removed?  CodeMaid version is 0.7.1.  Visual Studio version is Professional 2012 Update 4.
    • Nevermind.  It's working correctly, it just doesn't look like it is...
    • Glad you figured it out.  Visual Studio does have the concept of a virtual cursor position - that's how the next line of code looks to be indented to the same level before you start writing anything.  If you press the 'end' key you'll see it toggle between the virtual end of line and actual end of line, or you can enable viewing whitspace.
  • Where do i report a bug ?
    3 Posts | Last post June 26, 2014
    • I believe I've found an issue, where do I report bugs? 
      
      The boards on Trello (which I also love) don't look like an appropriate place...
    • BitBucket is where the source code and issue tracker lives: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issues
      
      If you can include a code sample and what edition of VS that will be very helpful.
    • Issue posted at https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/309/vs2013-update-2
  • reorganize code
    2 Posts | Last post June 20, 2014
    • Why doesn't this reorganize vb.net codes?
    • There hasn't been a lot of interest, but there is a card in the backlog you can vote up here: https://trello.com/c/TD0jaAab/141-reorganization-support-for-vb
  • hi used variables are not highlighted
    2 Posts | Last post June 10, 2014
    • hi used variables are not highlighted after installing this extension or do we need any further settings for this.?
    • CodeMaid shouldn't(tm) be related to any settings about highlighting unused variables.  I don't know that Visual Studio does that by default, I think it comes from other third party extensions like ReSharper.
1 - 10 of 115 Items