JScript Editor Extensions

Free

Contains a number of extensions for the JScript editor in Visual Studio 2010.

(72) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (240,171)
3/31/2011
1.1.2
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (72)
Q and A (20)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Hedgic | May 10 2011

by miketrin | May 05 2011

by ruionwriting | April 28 2011

For regions use JSEnhancements extension.

by Can Bilgin | April 21 2011

Was using an older version and made my life much easier with js/jquery intensive projects.

Perhaps a custom folding for a custom comment line like "//#region" and "//#endregion" would make it even nicer.

by silent__thought | April 19 2011

by BenSgroi | April 07 2011

Great extension. A must-have for dealing with big js files.

by rbullT | March 10 2011

by bychkoff | March 02 2011

by MCM14 | February 07 2011

This is very helpful.

I would like to 2nd the uppercase "F" in Function complaint though. Really annoying to have to constantly watch for that.

>> Thank you for the fix!

by Hans Guan | February 03 2011

Great tool. It would be greater to add #region -- #endregion feature to this extension. I think #region s/b a basic feature of code editor

by foz1284 | February 01 2011

Great tool,

Is there a way to collapse all? - in a c# file it would be ctrl + m + o

keep up the good work!

by EliteMike | January 16 2011

I love this and have been waiting for this and wondering why the feature wasn't built in, but one thing I hate is it makes it too easy to select Function with a capital F instead of the lowercase one.

Add go to definition support for functions that reside in the file then it will be great

by MikeReeder | January 11 2011

great software! However i'm noticing that my arrow keys stop working in the editor at times and i don't know whats causing it.

by Jeff Klosinski | December 22 2010

by Geert VL | December 22 2010

by Jim Daly [MSFT] | December 17 2010

These are great.

However the <para> support only seems to work if you are editing a .js file. If you are editing JScript within a <script> element of an HTML page - they don't seem to work.

by RichBern | December 13 2010

Good start, but missing some key features of other products in this space.

I've got 3 suggestions:
1) Make the Para extension not break IntelliSense. I've got a function that has 6 inputs, but no matter what parameter I'm entering, the first parameter is always highlighted in the IS window.
2) Instead of installing as 5 separate extensions, use the example of your MS brethren and add a window to the Options window for turning things on and off. It's super annoying to have to restart VS everytime I try to figure out what's wrong with the extensions. (See the Productivity Power Tools extension for an example of the Option window)
3) Include support for Regions.

A nice feature would be to extend the outlining to CSS as well, but that's outside the realm of "JScript", I suppose.

by Matthew Hintzen | December 12 2010

I really liked this extension until it suddenly stopped working! Not sure what's up with it... but now seems to be dead in my system since the latest update.

by J. Lucas | December 12 2010

by Ashraf Sabry | December 12 2010

Is it legal to modify the addon to work with Visual Studio Express editions?

41 - 60 of 72 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • What about VS 2013?
    2 Posts | Last post March 10, 2014
    • I have been using this on VS 2013. I was unable to install the same on VS 2013.   Why?
      
      thanks,
      Saurabh
      
    • type. I have been using this on VS 2010. But, unable to install on VS 2013.
  • VS 2012
    2 Posts | Last post August 02, 2013
    • Is VS2012 supported too?
    • When I ran the installer it only found my VS2010 installation.  So it might if you can work around the installer.
  • collapse to definitions
    2 Posts | Last post April 29, 2013
    • Is there a way to collapse everything to their definitions? That would be great..
    • press control + M, L with the js file open in the editor
  • Custom collapsible regions
    4 Posts | Last post April 29, 2013
    • Like regular .Net languages, does this extension support custom collapsible code blocks, e.g.
      //#region My block
      Code here
      //#endregion
      
      or 
      //region My Block
      Code here
      //endregion
    • Yes, it does.  It should be documented but it is not.
    • @rich: how does it work? I tried 
      
      
      //#region My block
      Code here
      //#endregion
      
      and
      
      //region My Block
      Code here
      //endregion
      
      I didn't have success with either one of these ... 
      
      Thanks
      
    • I made this account just to answer this question as I've had the same problem. So in case anybody else runs into this, this is my solution.
      Use javascript curly brackets to enclose your code and place a comment above to know what you are making collapsible.
      //My region
      {
      //lines of code
      //lines of code
      //lines of code
      }
      
      these will collapse and don't appear to affect anything else. javascript just treats this a simple compound statement.
  • Is this avaliable for Visual Studio 2012
    7 Posts | Last post April 19, 2013
    • I really like the jscript word highlighting extension. However it is not working in Visual Studio 2012. Will there be an updated version of the suite.
    • I second this. 
      Tried to force it into VS 2012 with no success. I feel crippled without it..
    • I'm with you guys. It's driving me a little nuts.
    • +1 for the 2012 support
    • Could really use this in 2012.
    • Yes, I'm waiting too for it to be available in Visual Studio 2012...
    • +1, really useful extension!
  • jQuery vsdoc generator is outdated
    2 Posts | Last post September 13, 2012
    • The last version of jQuery offered by that vsdoc generator (http://damianedwards.com/vsdoc) is 1.6.2, which is two major revisions out of date.  I'd either find a new tool, incentivize that guy to update his tool, or just offer your own vsdoc file for the newest version of jQuery.
    • you can download the latest vsdocs here:
      http://appendto.com/community/jquery-vsdoc
  • Link to source is invalid?
    1 Posts | Last post August 23, 2012
    • I'm looking to find the source code for the extension, but the link on the project home is invalid.
      
      Thanks!
  • do u update vesion to support sth like this!
    1 Posts | Last post January 17, 2012
    • I want like this:/// <returns type="Array/Number" />
      <param name="a" type="String/undefined"></param>
  • Visual Web Developper 2010 Express
    1 Posts | Last post December 22, 2011
    • Doesn't seem to install on visual webdevelopper express 2010 (SP1).
      Error: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
  • If commentary has Chinese,you will see garbled if you reference!
    1 Posts | Last post November 16, 2011
    • 
      function $(tag) {
          /// <summary>
          /// return:ele
          /// </summary>
          /// <param name="tag" type="str">标签名</param>
          return document.getElementById(tag);
      }
      /// <reference path="tools.js"/>
      Reference tools.js, the $ commentary has Chinese; Write $ ,you will see garbled;
      if tools.js is not utf-8,it`s wrong.Now I can not set 'utf-8' with tool.js
      $(tag)
      return:ele
      ???K???
      
      
1 - 10 of 20 Items