Snippet Designer

Free

Snippet Designer is a Visual Studio plug in which allows you to create and search for snippets inside the IDE

(36) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (107,521)
8/31/2013
1.5.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (36)
Q and A (16)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Rinaldo De Paolis | January 11 2012

Fantastic project will save me hours, great work :)

by Grey Ham | January 06 2012

Exactly what I was looking for. A great experience and a huge productivity boost for our team.

by Igby Dalziel | January 03 2012

Useful program. But I had to knock off two stars due to a serious bug which caused me to lose all the work I'd just done on a snippet. Clicking save produced no errors, caused the "*" to be removed from the editor tab and allowed it to be closed. But the changes were lost. On closer investigation I noticed that it had appended the snippet path to itself. This happened a few times but I haven't figured out how to reproduce it.

Matthew Manela January 03 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry that you had issues. Thanks for making me aware of this though. Can you file a bug on http://snippetdesigner.codeplex.com/ with repro steps. Thanks!

by Paul Keister | November 10 2011

Snippet editor is the best I've seen, and snippet explorer is a great idea. With these 2 tools, it's easy to integrate snippet creation and usage smoothly into your workflow.

by M.Radwan-MVP | July 15 2011

It’s very useful

by PikachuEXE | July 01 2011

I always forget to use it :P
built-in code snippet = zzzzzzzz

by Development Dude | June 30 2011

by Francois Nel | June 21 2011

by Steven Wilssens MSFT | June 09 2011

by Peter Spillman | May 13 2011

So I wanted to see what snippets I could start using in VS 2010, and realized there was no way to browse the built-in snippet collections. What??

Snippet Designer to the rescue. Not only does it allow you to create new snippets on the fly from your code, but it also includes a much-needed Snippet Explorer, to browse what snippets are currently available.

It was like a soothing salve applied directly to my brain. Thanks!

by pAyA x360 | August 14 2010

by Shimmy Weitzhandler | July 12 2010

Great project.

Please add more
- Syntax highlighting
- Snippet library management
- The grid has a bug that when something is selected it gets sticky and doesn't unselect

by Softlion | July 02 2010

perfect !!!!!

by Paul Cavacas | June 08 2010

by OliverKurowski | May 05 2010

by Rick Rat | April 17 2010

21 - 36 of 36 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Snippet Designer not working in ASP.NET project
    3 Posts | Last post August 02, 2014
    • Firstly thanks for developing fantastic extension for Visual Studio.
      
      Found a bug where when we click on 'Export as snippet' in code-behind file it shows 'Add new item' dialog. I guess its only happening in ASP.NET project and I'm using VS 2010.
    • Yes, that is a known issue when you a website project.
    • How does one work around this "known issue?"
  • Snippet tags?
    2 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • I would like to create a code snippet that automatically inserts the sub or function name.  For example, if my shorcut to my snippet is Loge, then I would like it to automatically insert:
      
      Log.Info("Entering MethodType FunctionName(params)")
      - where MethodType could be Function or Sub depending on the type
      - where FunctionName is the name of the function or subroutine
      
      Is this possible?  I see where we can use tags delimited with $tag$, but not sure how to map this to represent what I want.
      
      Kindest Regards
    • You can do a $replacementName$ variable but that is just textual. There is not a way that I know of to do it dynamically based on method type.
  • All my snippets are not valid
    2 Posts | Last post May 29, 2014
    • so far i have tried to create and import about 3 snippets.
      after making all three using the right click and export option when i go to import them (after opening them in the editor and adding in some replacement vars) i get the message selected snippets are not valid.
      
      not really a pro at making snippets (why i am really looking forward to this tool =]) so i have tried some simple steps, looking for illegal chars ect.
      
      Note: all are language="sql"
      
      so i made another one with a very simple body, 
      <Code Language="sql"><![CDATA[select *
      from eventtracker]]></Code>
      
      still getting the same error message, not sure what i am missing. hope its not a simple step that is in a doc that i missed....
      
      
      Thanks in advance for any help!
    • What version of VS?
      Where do you see the error message that it is invalid?
  • Back ground Replacement color
    2 Posts | Last post April 28, 2014
    • Installed this on VS 2013 and it works like a champ, will save me many hours of time.
      
      Only bugger i have noticed is the replacement back ground color 
      The default is to light on the dark theme making them unreadable.
      I noticed there is a theme color identified for this however it seems to be ignoring the updates for the theme. so I am not sure where it is drawing that color from. 
    • That is odd. I can take a look at it.
  • VS 2012 and SQL snippets
    1 Posts | Last post April 16, 2013
    • I'm using Visual Studio 2012 Update 2 version 4.5.50709.
      
      By default, the snippet folder it is watching for My Code Snippets is at:
      C:\Users\<USERNAME>\Documents\Visual Studio 11\Code Snippets\SQL_SSDT\My Code Snippets
      (It is using SQL_SSDT rather than SQL as part of the folder name)
      
      Also, if you view the XML of the snippet created by Snippet Designer, it is showing Code Language="sql" rather than Code Language="SQL_SSDT".  If you manually change a saved snippet to "SQL_SSDT" (and make sure the snippet is in a folder watched by VS) it shows up in the list of SQL snippets.
      
      If you can make these 2 changes then SQL snippets should work in VS 2012.  Thanks!
      
      
  • suggestion
    1 Posts | Last post January 12, 2013
    • Could you please make it possible to change the title of the snippet, as well as to switch to using the original XML editor for making snippets? Thank you.
  • Will VS 2012 Express be supported anytime soon?
    2 Posts | Last post January 08, 2013
    • I read VS 2012 Express RC is supported, but now I have tried installing it into actual VS 2012 Express (no RC) and got this:
      
      Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows 8
      Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop
      ...
      VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
      
      Am I doing something wrong, or has there been some change in VS from RC to official release?
    • As far as I know extensions are not supported in Visual Studio Express Skus.
  • No Template
    5 Posts | Last post November 29, 2012
    • When I go to add a new file, the Snippet designer template is not shown.  This is the only extension I installed other than the NuGet Package manager update.  I'on Windows 64 bit, VS 2012, in a website project.
    • Were you inside of a Web Site solution? There is a known issue with web site solution not showing the template.
    • Yes, I said so in my original post :)  SO I should just create some other type of project and go form there?
    • Besides my inability to read you are right. You would need to use a different project type. I am hoping one day to figure a way around this issue.
    • I see it now, thanks for the tip!
  • C++?
    3 Posts | Last post June 19, 2012
    • This extension looks great! Any plans for C++ support?
    • Definitely, I am currently working on adding support. Barring any unforeseen complication I should have it released soon.
    • I just released an update which adds C++ support for VS 2012. 
  • Error exporting
    4 Posts | Last post June 02, 2012
    • I have installed snipped designer but when i try to export the snipped code changes, (Via Export snipped option),its doesn't open the file in usual .snippet format. Tool asks me to provide a extension for the file to be saved.I have tried even simple thing like console.Readline()( just to avoid any code mistakes) but nothing works. Any idea what might be wrong ?
    • Some more information might help me.
      1. Visual Studio Version 
      2. What project type where you in (Website, Web Application, Console App,... etc)?
      3. What other extensions do you have installed?
      4. What language is your VS in (e.g. english)?
    • its vs 2010, console app, 1033 ( us-en) locale.
    • Do you have any other extensions installed?
1 - 10 of 16 Items