Snippet Designer

Free

Snippet Designer is a Visual Studio plug in which allows you to create and search for snippets inside the IDE

(34) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (100,783)
8/31/2013
1.5.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (34)
Q and A (12)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Igby Dalziel | January 03 2012

Useful program. But I had to knock off two stars due to a serious bug which caused me to lose all the work I'd just done on a snippet. Clicking save produced no errors, caused the "*" to be removed from the editor tab and allowed it to be closed. But the changes were lost. On closer investigation I noticed that it had appended the snippet path to itself. This happened a few times but I haven't figured out how to reproduce it.

Matthew Manela January 03 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry that you had issues. Thanks for making me aware of this though. Can you file a bug on http://snippetdesigner.codeplex.com/ with repro steps. Thanks!

by Paul Keister | November 10 2011

Snippet editor is the best I've seen, and snippet explorer is a great idea. With these 2 tools, it's easy to integrate snippet creation and usage smoothly into your workflow.

by M.Radwan-MVP | July 15 2011

It’s very useful

by PikachuEXE | July 01 2011

I always forget to use it :P
built-in code snippet = zzzzzzzz

by Development Dude | June 30 2011

by Francois Nel | June 21 2011

by Steven Wilssens MSFT | June 09 2011

by Peter Spillman | May 13 2011

So I wanted to see what snippets I could start using in VS 2010, and realized there was no way to browse the built-in snippet collections. What??

Snippet Designer to the rescue. Not only does it allow you to create new snippets on the fly from your code, but it also includes a much-needed Snippet Explorer, to browse what snippets are currently available.

It was like a soothing salve applied directly to my brain. Thanks!

by pAyA x360 | August 14 2010

by Shimmy Weitzhandler | July 12 2010

Great project.

Please add more
- Syntax highlighting
- Snippet library management
- The grid has a bug that when something is selected it gets sticky and doesn't unselect

by Softlion | July 02 2010

perfect !!!!!

by Paul Cavacas | June 08 2010

by OliverKurowski | May 05 2010

by Rick Rat | April 17 2010

21 - 34 of 34 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • VS 2012 and SQL snippets
    1 Posts | Last post April 16, 2013
    • I'm using Visual Studio 2012 Update 2 version 4.5.50709.
      
      By default, the snippet folder it is watching for My Code Snippets is at:
      C:\Users\<USERNAME>\Documents\Visual Studio 11\Code Snippets\SQL_SSDT\My Code Snippets
      (It is using SQL_SSDT rather than SQL as part of the folder name)
      
      Also, if you view the XML of the snippet created by Snippet Designer, it is showing Code Language="sql" rather than Code Language="SQL_SSDT".  If you manually change a saved snippet to "SQL_SSDT" (and make sure the snippet is in a folder watched by VS) it shows up in the list of SQL snippets.
      
      If you can make these 2 changes then SQL snippets should work in VS 2012.  Thanks!
      
      
  • suggestion
    1 Posts | Last post January 12, 2013
    • Could you please make it possible to change the title of the snippet, as well as to switch to using the original XML editor for making snippets? Thank you.
  • Will VS 2012 Express be supported anytime soon?
    2 Posts | Last post January 08, 2013
    • I read VS 2012 Express RC is supported, but now I have tried installing it into actual VS 2012 Express (no RC) and got this:
      
      Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows 8
      Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop
      ...
      VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
      
      Am I doing something wrong, or has there been some change in VS from RC to official release?
    • As far as I know extensions are not supported in Visual Studio Express Skus.
  • No Template
    5 Posts | Last post November 29, 2012
    • When I go to add a new file, the Snippet designer template is not shown.  This is the only extension I installed other than the NuGet Package manager update.  I'on Windows 64 bit, VS 2012, in a website project.
    • Were you inside of a Web Site solution? There is a known issue with web site solution not showing the template.
    • Yes, I said so in my original post :)  SO I should just create some other type of project and go form there?
    • Besides my inability to read you are right. You would need to use a different project type. I am hoping one day to figure a way around this issue.
    • I see it now, thanks for the tip!
  • C++?
    3 Posts | Last post June 19, 2012
    • This extension looks great! Any plans for C++ support?
    • Definitely, I am currently working on adding support. Barring any unforeseen complication I should have it released soon.
    • I just released an update which adds C++ support for VS 2012. 
  • Error exporting
    4 Posts | Last post June 02, 2012
    • I have installed snipped designer but when i try to export the snipped code changes, (Via Export snipped option),its doesn't open the file in usual .snippet format. Tool asks me to provide a extension for the file to be saved.I have tried even simple thing like console.Readline()( just to avoid any code mistakes) but nothing works. Any idea what might be wrong ?
    • Some more information might help me.
      1. Visual Studio Version 
      2. What project type where you in (Website, Web Application, Console App,... etc)?
      3. What other extensions do you have installed?
      4. What language is your VS in (e.g. english)?
    • its vs 2010, console app, 1033 ( us-en) locale.
    • Do you have any other extensions installed?
  • Snipets repository path
    5 Posts | Last post April 02, 2012
    • Can you please add some light how snipets explorer finds snipets files. Is it from the settings of Snippets Manager? Because it does't seems to me so. If only I have broken paths or so. Thanks. Regards. 
      Many thanks for nice tool. 
    • Ok. I find out. Path's are added to collection which is in snippet designer options. It has nothing to do what is in snippets manager settings. Thanks again. 
    • The Snippet Explorer uses an initial list of paths to search for snippets. This initial list is found through the VS registry settings but you can customize it after the initial set up.
    • Thanks again. There is some collection in Tools/Options and then 'Snippet Designer', 'General Options' and then 'Snippet Index Location'. It seems like it adds these paths to default. Isn't it?
      And aka tip - if snippet is not "working" check if xml document is valid with some redactor (notepad++).
    • In the options menu there is an open called IndexedSnippetDirectories. These are additional directories you can have the Snippet Explorer index in addition to the default directories. The default directories are the ones which Visual Studio is configured out of the box to use for snippets.
  • Shortcuts to File and View submenus
    2 Posts | Last post February 24, 2012
    • Is there a way to create shortcuts to the two submenus you need to use to create and retrieve the snippets?
      
      BTW, thanks for the program, its really good.
      
      Robert Homes
      rohomes@gmail.com
    • I am not sure what you mean. Do you want a shortcut to the snippet editor and the snippet explorer?
  • Installing in VS2008?
    2 Posts | Last post February 04, 2011
    • I'm kind of embarrased to ask this, but I have not been able to google my way out of it: How do you install this addin in Visual Studio 2008? I've downloaded the .vsix file, but double clicking on it does nothing.
      
      Coming to this page from Tools > Find More Extensions in VS just lets me download the .vsix...
      
      Thanks.
    • The download from this site only contains the Visual Studio 2010 version of the Snippet Designer.  For the 2008 version visit this page: http://snippetdesigner.codeplex.com/releases/view/43862 and download SnippetDesignerFor2008
      
  • Reopening a snippet after saving/closing
    2 Posts | Last post January 06, 2011
    • Is there any way to reopen a snippet with this tool after I've closed the window?  I feel like I'm missing something obvious here.  Does anyone know?
      
      So far, I'm loving this tool though...
    • Yep, I was missing something obvious...had a read the bottom half of the description, I would have seen that.
      
      Duh.
1 - 10 of 12 Items