Web Standards Update for Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 SP1

Free

Adds CSS3 support and updates the HTML5 intellisense and validation including new JavaScript API's

(113) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (401,675)
6/4/2012
1.0.4
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (113)
Q and A (26)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Brajam | February 20 2014

Why the link doesn't work? It's fail

by DKB | December 30 2013

Why?

by CodeMonkeysR Us | March 28 2013

Works as designed for me. Nice to have it. Note I am installed in the default location for VS2010.

by Chris Culver | February 21 2013

this thing made me want to punch my monitor

by Waqas M | February 08 2013

Great to have this fix

by Norseman4 | February 02 2013

Please let us know when this works, as per the channel9 video when the VS install directory is not drive C. (Boot [C] is a relatively small SSD, installs are in D, data is in E)

Mads, this looks like it would be great if it would work for me, but I've already spent a bunch of time dealing with the 'SP1 is required' issue, then seeing people reviewing about the problems with a typical, but apparently non-standard, installation location.

Since the video and hype is great, but the installation and usage has such issues, I've voted 3. It isn't crap or vaporware [1] and it isn't gold [5] (at least for me, get the installs fixed, then maybe).

by Srigopal Chitrapu | January 11 2013

by P. Verberne | December 11 2012

As you might see in the other reviews, some like some hate.
This software is not compatible. Unworthy.

by Ralph Burleson | December 05 2012

by Exe.Cute | October 31 2012

unworthy

by Ghukas | September 10 2012

It works perfectly. I had to reinstall this extension to be able to edit CSS files after installing security updates on SP1.

by RWGr | July 26 2012

Unfortunately, I had to uninstall this. After installing I could no longer edit CSS files in Visual Studio getting the same "unspecified error" that others are mentioning. Once I uninstalled, I could edit CSS files again.

by Felicemente | July 23 2012

Do NOT use this. After installing it, Visual Studio lost all ability to recognize CSS files, let alone have intellisense function. Uninstalling and trying to fix Visual Studio was a nightmare. Bad, bad, BAD extension.

by Wahel Bouguesmia | July 11 2012

It works perfectly.

by M. R. - Canada | June 19 2012

Do NOT install this!

1. Installed the new version, dated 6/4/2012
2. Once installed, I wasn't able to open a CSS file anymore...
3. Uninstalled it; waiting for the next version.

by Jesse Harlin | May 31 2012

I had terrible luck with this, as my VS installation is on a different drive. The thing would not detect that I had installed Service pack 1

by XflaGo | May 27 2012

If you don't have your VS 2010 installed in the default directory, this tool will waste your time.

by The Thinker | May 19 2012

Thanks will be useful for my web projects!

by uggty | May 14 2012

Works amazing, thanks guys.

IMPORTANT WARNING : if you installed your visual studio to a different directory DO NOT INSTALL THIS !

by Sofwarer | May 01 2012

1 - 20 of 113 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Installer Broken
    3 Posts | Last post January 31, 2014
    • I cannot install this msi.  100% of the time gets error that it cannot read from source:
      
      The file '_0F782C482DDA47E9ABF16884D1369F94' cannot be installed because the file cannot be found in cabinet file '_80D683DD59333E5CC8E528639A9A7F06'. This could indicate a network error, an error reading from the CD-ROM, or a problem with this package.
      
      Please fix ASAP!  These is no real HTML5 support in VS2010 without this!
      
    • Setup doesn't detects VS SP1 on my computer because its installed on D:. How to solve this problem 
    • This looks similiar to the error I had. The error I received was that it could not read from file 'Web_Standards_Update[1].msi'. The file name I downloaded was 'Web Standards Update.msi'. To fix this I made a copy of the msi file and named it to what it was looking for. The install ran correctly.
  • It is not working
    3 Posts | Last post December 20, 2013
    • i tried like 5 times on visual studio 2010 and it not showing up!!!!!!!
    • i installed this add-on today too, doesnt appear in extension manager or anything even though its installed.
    • Same issue and since no one has replied since March I don't have much hope. 
      I checked and it doesn't install to the extensions folder.
      
      
  • Service Pack 1 for Visual Studio 2010 must be installed
    3 Posts | Last post April 04, 2013
    • Still haven't been able to get by this screen, it is installed and doesn't matter if I install and uninstall.
    • The solution is here: http://www.cnblogs.com/donghongtao/archive/2012/05/23/2515315.html
      (Use Google Translate to translate the post from Chinese to English)
    • That link gets a Chinese 404 error.
  • why is the install signed by scott hanselman and not microsoft?
    2 Posts | Last post June 05, 2012
    • why is the install signed by scott hanselman and not microsoft?
    • My understanding is it's because this is an unofficial project.  From the extension description: "Note: This extension is created by a bunch of folks within Microsoft in their spare time.  This is NOT an official Microsoft product."
  • After install, CSS files open in HTML editor by default
    1 Posts | Last post April 20, 2012
    • The CSS Source Editor is flagged as the default in the Open With dialog, but double-clicking a css file opens it in the HTML Editor.
  • installs but not listed in Extension manager
    1 Posts | Last post March 29, 2012
    • re4
      I can install the msi without problems, but I don't see anything listed in VS 2010 SP1 under Tools->Extension Manager.  Shouldn't there be something about "Web Standards Update" listed?
  • -webkit-box-shadow && -moz-box-shadow
    3 Posts | Last post March 23, 2012
    • -webkit-box-shadow and -moz-box-shadow generate warnings, even when following the example provided by intellisense...
    • Thanks for reporting the bug. It will be fixed for the next update. 
    • This is still an issue - any idea on when there will be an update?
  • Media Queries and *
    2 Posts | Last post March 20, 2012
    • Does anyone know when media queries and properties starting with * will be added.
    • In Visual Studio 11
  • Even in Visual Studio SP1 installed, MSI setup just requests SP1
    26 Posts | Last post March 07, 2012
    • When I click the MSI setup file, it pops up a dialog message as follows,
      
      "
      Web Standards Update for Visual Studio 2010 SP1
      Service Pack 1 for Visual Studio 2010 must be installed. Do you want to download it now?
      "
      
      Unfortunately, I've installed SP1 for VS2010 already.
      The following text are in my Visual Studio 2010 About dialog.
      
      =========================================================================
      
      Microsoft Visual Studio 2010
      Version 10.0.40219.1 SP1Rel
      Microsoft .NET Framework
      Version 4.0.30319 SP1Rel
      
      Installed Version: Ultimate
      
      Microsoft Office Developer Tools   01019-532-2002102-70101
      Microsoft Office Developer Tools
      
      ...[omitted]...
      
      Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate - ENU Service Pack 1 (KB983509)   KB983509
      This service pack is for Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate - ENU.
      If you later install a more recent service pack, this service pack will be uninstalled automatically.
      For more information, visit http://support.microsoft.com/kb/983509.
      
      ...[omitted]...
      
      Windows Azure Tools   Version 1.3
      Windows Azure Tools for Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 v1.3.31122.1601
      
      ====================================================================
      
    • I have the same problem as SeongTae Jeong on one machine, although it works on another. Re-installing Service Pack 1 has no effect. The machine with the issue does not have IIS installed, but that's the only significant difference I can think of between the two machine.
    • I am having the same issue. When I try to install, the dialog says, "Service Pack 1 for Visual Studio 2010 must be installed. Do you want to download it now?" I already had SP1 installed. I tried re-installing it and received the same message. 
    • "Service Pack 1 for Visual Studio 2010 must be installed. Do you want to download it now?"  +1
      
      
    • I have the same problem. I noticed, however, that the download link goes to a page where the Web Platform Installer is launched. Maybe the Web Standards Update only works if VS2010 SP1 has been installed via WebPI? My WebPI also shows the SP1 update as "available". Too bad that I installed SP1 right after the release, before it showed up in WebPI. :-(
    • Somehow the SP1 installer is interfering with this update for a small number of people. We are trying to come up with a solution to this asap!
    • I now did reinstall VS2010 with Web Platform Installer (using the link the Web Standards Update installer pointed me to). It installed 12 packages overall and took an hour - but then I could install the Web Standards Update. Maybe this helps others, too. 
    • The cause isn't the Web PI. I have VS 2010 + SP1 and installed SP 1 with the standard download for it and no issue here installing it.
      
      Had issues with other addin's around the VS SDK, so if you had that installed previously maybe make sure that is also at SP1 (it's a seperate install)
    • If you have trouble installing it because it requires you to have SP1 installed while it already is you could do the following:
      Get the ORCA tool from Microsoft (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa370557(v=VS.85).aspx) this is a MSI editor.
      
      Once you have it, start it and Open the downloaded "Web Standards Update.msi" package.
      
      In the Tables, select the "CustomAction" entry, 
      
      Once selected, in the right pane, select the "VSDCA_VsdLaunchConditions" line, right-click and select "Drop Row".
      
      Then Save the package and run it.
      
    • Same problem here. Windows 7, 64bit.
      @Wouter vanEck: Installing the ORCA tool is only available for Windows SDK Components for Windows Installer Developers (a 2.5 GB download, 4.5 GB installation). I'll wait for a different solution...
    • "Service Pack 1 for Visual Studio 2010 must be installed. Do you want to download it now?" +1
    • Since I'm watching this thread for solutions, I figure I may as well throw a bump in, too. 
      
      "Service Pack 1 for Visual Studio 2010 must be installed. Do you want to download it now?" +1
    • One other thought: I'm running Visual Studio from a solid state drive mounted in a directory other than Program Files. Is the MSI looking for SP1 to be installed there?
    • Same problem here. Is anyone of the developers interested in a logfile produced by the following command?
      msiexec /l*vx "Web Standards Update.log" /i "Web Standards Update.msi"
    • Have a look at Wouter vanEck's comment on Reviews tab. It helped me getting this installed.
    • +1 The same problem.
      Could be that the mentioned solution on Reviews tab work, but I don't want to install a whole new SDK just to get this working.
    • I'm glad there exists a workaround to the problem, but like the others said, installing a 2.5GB SDK to modify the MSI doesn't seems reasonable. Maybe someone with the SDK installed already can do the mod and post the MSI on the DL? 
    • Hi,it can't work in vs2010 10.0.40219.1 SP1Rel zh-CN version.
      i can't open css file when i install the installed.
      how can i fix it?
    • +1
    • I had the same problem. I've used "InstEd It!" (http://www.instedit.com/home.html, 5.6MB) rather than Orca to edit the MSI following Wouter's directions and I've been able to install the MSI properly after that.
    • @Rhanan didn't know about that tool, thanks. It will for sure come in handy in the future.
    • Did the Wouter fix via instEdit to work around the SP1 is not installed bug. Got the "Operation could not be completed" bug when attempting to open any css file. My installed folder is not on C:\ OS drive, so copied the contents of C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Packages to the Packages folder in my installed folder, ovewriting any existing files, which resolved the issue. Seems to work but cannot say if this is valid!
    • Had installed CSS 3 intellisense (http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/7211bcac-091b-4a32-be2d-e797be0db210), later installed VS SP1 and started getting the "Operation could not be completed" bug. 
      Uninstalled CSS3 Intellisense, tried to install this package but ran into the "Service Pack 1 for Visual Studio 2010 must be installed" problem, worked around it with Wouter's directions via instEdit and now I can edit CSSs again uff...
    • Edit the msi with InstEd did works perfectly for me! Brilliant.
    • A solution to the installation problem:
      save the msi installation on the drive you've installed Visual Studio 2010. Then open it and enjoy CSS3 and HTML5 support :)
    • I was having the same problem. ORCA msi tool method works.
  • Default to CSS3?
    2 Posts | Last post February 28, 2012
    • For HTML, under Tools->Options->Text Editor->HTML->Validation, we can choose "Target" to be "HTML5".
      
      Unfortunately, there seems to be no such setting for CSS.  How do I tell VS.NET to default to CSS3 for CSS files?
    • Check in
      http://www.hanselman.com/blog/AnnouncingTheWebStandardsUpdateHTML5SupportForTheVisualStudio2010Editor.aspx
      or see -> Toolbars -> style sheet and change the CSSX.X for CSS3.0 and ready.
      
      Revisa en http://www.hanselman.com/blog/AnnouncingTheWebStandardsUpdateHTML5SupportForTheVisualStudio2010Editor.aspx
      o ver -> barra de herramientas -> hoja de estilos y cambia el CSSX.X por CSS3.0 y listo.
      
1 - 10 of 26 Items