Image Optimizer

Free

A Visual Studio extension that optimizes PNG, GIF and JPG file sizes without quality loss. It uses SmushIt and PunyPNG for the optimization.

(39) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (75,179)
6/16/2013
2.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (39)
Q and A (24)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by DavidDeSloovere | October 09 2013

Can't get easier than this.
Mads for president!

by Gundepuneni Mahender | September 13 2013

by eldiosyeldiablo | August 14 2013

by Charlie Shen | June 17 2013

by D. Chatterjee | May 20 2013

Helps a lot with Images

by bas klvn | March 07 2013

very handy tool. Thanks!

by Waqas M | February 08 2013

Nice tool

by Caio Vilas Boas | December 07 2012

Works great! Reduces 30% (average) of images size.

by Scott Wylie | November 29 2012

Great tool when it works but I get a lot of Operation Timeouts (which I know is not the tools fault). After about 500 images it crashed VS 2012 Update 1.

by Susant sahu | November 22 2012

it optimizes 20- 40%...very nice tool

by Bobby Cannon (CSI) | November 08 2012

Excellent!

by Joe Wilson in Denver | November 03 2012

by Bennor McCarthy | October 04 2012

Works great and is super easy to use.

by AAKoken | September 03 2012

Nice extension!

by Rob Reynolds (FerventCoder) | August 26 2012

Literally one of the biggest time saver extensions I have. Fantastic!

by Sean Gephardt | August 06 2012

This is a great extension, very handy and easy to use.

by dale_janssen | August 01 2012

I found many times the PunyPNG and Smushit websites either timed out or returned 500 errors. While I realize this is not the tool's fault, it does limit the usefulness.

In addition, while working with Assembla as a code repository, it will often delete images that do not need optimizing. Those that were optimized are saved properly. Can't seem to see a pattern, but once again this really limits the usefulness. If you optimize a folder, you have to figure out what images are deleted that should not have been from others that were optimized.

by John R. Cutburth II | April 22 2012

This is a great tool. I wish more Web developers would think about how much bandwidth we are wasting.

by Trevor Forrester | April 13 2012

I am having exception errors using it with VS 2010 Sp1

by Titatuh | April 01 2012

As I tried - works super!

1 - 20 of 39 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • SVG next?
    1 Posts | Last post January 16, 2014
    • Expanding optimizations to also include SVG would be sweet. SVGO is an available library for this, or this one: http://petercollingridge.appspot.com/svg_optimiser
  • An exception occurred during a WebClient request.
    3 Posts | Last post January 03, 2014
    • Hi Mads, 
      I'm getting the following error when trying your extension.  I'm guessing it might be a firewall issue but I don't have much information to go on.  Any clue?
      Thanks
    • An exception occurred during a WebClient request.
    • I am having this same issue ("An exception occurred during a WebClient request"), but I don't believe it is a firewall problem.  I watched the request/response in Fiddler, and it very clearly gets a response of 200 with a JSON object in the payload describing how much the image was "smushed" and where the new image resides.  I don't see a follow-up request that actually retrieves the smushed image, though, so I'm guessing this is where the error is occurring.  Any ideas?
      
      Running v2.0
  • PunyPNG Pro License
    1 Posts | Last post December 05, 2013
    • Is there a way to enter a pro account for PunyPNG?
  • VS 2013 Support
    1 Posts | Last post November 28, 2013
    • Will VS 2013 be supported soon?
      
      Thanks
  • Support for Visual Web Developer 2012 Express
    2 Posts | Last post October 06, 2013
    • Hello,
      
      Looks like the product I need right away. However, there doesn't seem to be support for Visual Web Developer 2012 Express (I attempted to install and it failed. Is this the case? If so, is there a similar product out there that I can use? Will there be support in the near future?
      
      Thanks,
      
      James
    • As far as I know, extensions can't be used on the Express-editions of Visual Studio. So this probably won't happen.
  • Proxy Issues
    1 Posts | Last post August 08, 2013
    • My company uses proxy for security.
      
      My proxy settings work fine for Visual Studio itself, but Image Optimizer doesnt seem to use those settings.
      
      Error:
      "The remote server returned an error: (407) Proxy Authentication Required."
      
      Not sure if some of the responses to this question might help fix this.
      http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2581609/the-remote-server-returned-an-error-407-proxy-authentication-required
      
      
      
  • Image Optimizer - Project opened through FTP
    1 Posts | Last post July 28, 2013
    • Is it right that Image Optimizer is not working when the project is opened through FTP or it is just me?
      
      If it is not working, can this be added?
      
      ..it optimized only cached image on local drive but don't know if it was uploaded back to ftp but definitely it wasn't optimizing remote images..
      
      Otherwise great job!!!
      
      Thank you :-)
      
      
  • Smushit
    1 Posts | Last post May 28, 2013
    • When the service cannot be reached the image will be deleted. :(
  • Proxy issues
    2 Posts | Last post March 21, 2013
    • Awesome extension however I can't get past my network's proxy server. The system settings are fine which has me wondering if the extension attempts to use the proxy when connecting to the web services. Any ideas?
    • same error here... Mads Kristensen or someone can fix it?
  • Auto Optimization
    1 Posts | Last post October 31, 2012
    • Tool works great, my website have an option for users to upload their own images and build content. I want to auto optimize those everday, is there an option.
1 - 10 of 24 Items