Image Optimizer

Free

A Visual Studio extension that optimizes PNG, GIF and JPG file sizes without quality loss. It uses SmushIt and PunyPNG for the optimization.

(39) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (75,274)
6/16/2013
2.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (39)
Q and A (24)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Daniel Carey | March 29 2012

by NateClark | March 09 2012

Awesome. Thanks for taking it to VS11!

by denhul01 | January 16 2012

looks nice but it seems it screws up my positioning of team explorer and other stuff.. I constantly have to move the windows to what I'm used to.
Once uninstalled the problem stopped?

Anyone else with this problem?

@Mads Kristensen
(oddly I didn't find a way to reply.. maybe I overlooked it :) )
The Team Foundation window, pending changes,... did a new install and now it's working fine.. must have been a Visual Studio hiccup :)

by MosaliR | December 30 2011

by Prontoware | December 23 2011

Excellent!

by nigwoko | December 21 2011

by Cengiz Gür | November 02 2011

Programatik olarak eklenen bazı resimleri görmüyor, fakat genel olarak kullanışlı bir uygulama.

by tmcconechy | October 28 2011

So useful...Love it

by Froogabadoodle | October 27 2011

Awesome, awesome, awesome. The optimization is great, but my favorite thing about this is the mouseover thumbnails of images in Solution Explorer.

Thanks!

by Mufasa245 | October 20 2011

by Ehsan Mohammadi | October 07 2011

by CssGuru | September 30 2011

Sounds very promising, but I couldn't get it to work.

Mads Kristensen September 30 2011
| Edit |
Delete

This is probably because you're image files are under source control. Check them out first and then run Image Optimizer. I'm working on an update that will check out the files from source control automatically

by AlexDrel | September 01 2011

Embedding images in CSS is not working for me, but great anyway.

Mads Kristensen October 20 2011
| Edit |
Delete

That feature was moved to the Web Essentials extension http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/6ed4c78f-a23e-49ad-b5fd-369af0c2107f

by Waxime | July 20 2011

Good tool

by Christian Metz | May 16 2011

Easy to use and realy helpfull

by Jochem Bökkers | April 24 2011

Simple but so brilliant!

by rushfrisby | November 23 2010

by ChrisHuckle | November 18 2010

Absolutely brilliant! I've been using SmushIt! for a while now and your inclusion in this extension just makes things a lot easier.

by trocphunc | November 11 2010

21 - 39 of 39 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • SVG next?
    1 Posts | Last post January 16, 2014
    • Expanding optimizations to also include SVG would be sweet. SVGO is an available library for this, or this one: http://petercollingridge.appspot.com/svg_optimiser
  • An exception occurred during a WebClient request.
    3 Posts | Last post January 03, 2014
    • Hi Mads, 
      I'm getting the following error when trying your extension.  I'm guessing it might be a firewall issue but I don't have much information to go on.  Any clue?
      Thanks
    • An exception occurred during a WebClient request.
    • I am having this same issue ("An exception occurred during a WebClient request"), but I don't believe it is a firewall problem.  I watched the request/response in Fiddler, and it very clearly gets a response of 200 with a JSON object in the payload describing how much the image was "smushed" and where the new image resides.  I don't see a follow-up request that actually retrieves the smushed image, though, so I'm guessing this is where the error is occurring.  Any ideas?
      
      Running v2.0
  • PunyPNG Pro License
    1 Posts | Last post December 05, 2013
    • Is there a way to enter a pro account for PunyPNG?
  • VS 2013 Support
    1 Posts | Last post November 28, 2013
    • Will VS 2013 be supported soon?
      
      Thanks
  • Support for Visual Web Developer 2012 Express
    2 Posts | Last post October 06, 2013
    • Hello,
      
      Looks like the product I need right away. However, there doesn't seem to be support for Visual Web Developer 2012 Express (I attempted to install and it failed. Is this the case? If so, is there a similar product out there that I can use? Will there be support in the near future?
      
      Thanks,
      
      James
    • As far as I know, extensions can't be used on the Express-editions of Visual Studio. So this probably won't happen.
  • Proxy Issues
    1 Posts | Last post August 08, 2013
    • My company uses proxy for security.
      
      My proxy settings work fine for Visual Studio itself, but Image Optimizer doesnt seem to use those settings.
      
      Error:
      "The remote server returned an error: (407) Proxy Authentication Required."
      
      Not sure if some of the responses to this question might help fix this.
      http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2581609/the-remote-server-returned-an-error-407-proxy-authentication-required
      
      
      
  • Image Optimizer - Project opened through FTP
    1 Posts | Last post July 28, 2013
    • Is it right that Image Optimizer is not working when the project is opened through FTP or it is just me?
      
      If it is not working, can this be added?
      
      ..it optimized only cached image on local drive but don't know if it was uploaded back to ftp but definitely it wasn't optimizing remote images..
      
      Otherwise great job!!!
      
      Thank you :-)
      
      
  • Smushit
    1 Posts | Last post May 28, 2013
    • When the service cannot be reached the image will be deleted. :(
  • Proxy issues
    2 Posts | Last post March 21, 2013
    • Awesome extension however I can't get past my network's proxy server. The system settings are fine which has me wondering if the extension attempts to use the proxy when connecting to the web services. Any ideas?
    • same error here... Mads Kristensen or someone can fix it?
  • Auto Optimization
    1 Posts | Last post October 31, 2012
    • Tool works great, my website have an option for users to upload their own images and build content. I want to auto optimize those everday, is there an option.
1 - 10 of 24 Items