VSCommands for Visual Studio 2012

VSIP Partner Free

VSCommands for Visual Studio 2012

(70) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (766,469)
9/23/2014
11.3.0.10
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (70)
Q and A (86)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by TS-Micah | June 28 2013

VSCommands is a MUST-HAVE fantastic productivity tool-set additions for Visual Studio. I couldn't live without it and was glad to see it available in VS2012 as I've been using it for years in VS2010.

Squared Infinity [Jarek Kardas] has been top-notch when it comes to feature requests. I'm sure it's no easy task, so thank you! Keep it up!

by Shimmy Weitzhandler | June 10 2013

Best extension on gallery for sure.

by Stampos | June 04 2013

Worth it just for the drag and drop protection to anyone running SVN.

by Matt DiTrolio | May 31 2013

One of my favorites!

by Richard Dutton | May 31 2013

Essential Visual Studio extension from an awesome developer, always the first thing I install on any machine I work on.

by Paiden36 | April 30 2013

Very useful extension that is one of the first extensions I always install after installing VisualStudio. Makes life for many not so common development tasks (e.g. edit project/solution file, ...) so much simpler.

One tip for the developer of this extension (if you don't know already). The extension now has about ~8.5MB in size (The largest I've seen till today, if I remember correctly). If you extract the VSIX and rezip it with for e.g. 7-Zip in Ultra compression mode it will only have ~3.8MB and will still simply work. I know in times where nearly everybody has DSL it doesn't matter that much. But why download 8.5MB when you can achieve the same thing with 3.8MB :-).

Keep up the good work.

by Xperiandri | March 09 2013

Very useful set of tools.
But it would be better to integrate settings into native Visual Studio setting window.

by Selçuk Ermaya | March 05 2013

Awesome tool! Thanks!

by Karel Kral | March 04 2013

With 11.2.5.0 all of my last items in taskbar are gone forever!

If VS 2012 is pinned to taskbar, there should be recent items displayesd on right click. But after installing 11.2.5.0 all items are gone and all I can see is Startup Modes!

Uninstalled VS Commands but recent items are still gone.

Quick fix: Unistall VS Commands and delete C:\Users\<profile>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\CustomDestinations\aff2ffdd0862ff5c.customDestinations-ms

Squared Infinity [Jarek Kardas] March 05 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Thank you for reporting this bug, the fix will be ready later today.

UPDATE: Fix has been published with 11.2.5.1
Here's more information about what has been changed: http://vscommands.squaredinfinity.com/blog

by WillFoster | January 30 2013

This is a fantastic tool which no developer should be without; Jarek also responds faster than the speed of light to any issues encountered!

by thnk2wn | January 30 2013

Exception Type : Microsoft.Practices.Unity.ResolutionFailedException&#x000D;&#x000A;Exception Message : Resolution of the dependency failed, type = &quot;SquaredInfinity.Foundation.Configuration.Services.IConfigurationService&quot;, name = &quot;(none)&quot;.&#x000D;&#x000A;Exception occurred while: while resolving.&#x000D;&#x000A;Exception is: InvalidOperationException - The current type, SquaredInfinity.Foundation.Configuration.Services.IConfigurationService, is an interface and cannot be constructed. Are you missing a type mapping?&#x000D;

Squared Infinity [Jarek Kardas] January 30 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Hi, I believe latest version (11.2.4.3) should fix this issue.

by JimMarq | January 30 2013

UPDATE: Putting this back up to a 5. I sent Jarek an email, and he had already (within 10 minutes) updated the extension to address my issue. I can't complain about that kind of turn-around!!!

For reference, 11.2.4.3 fixed the problem found in the issue below.
==========================================================

Exception Type : Microsoft.Practices.Unity.ResolutionFailedException Exception Message : Resolution of the dependency failed, type = "SquaredInfinity.Foundation.Configuration.Services.IConfigurationService", name = "(none)". Exception occurred while: while resolving. Exception is: InvalidOperationException - The current type, SquaredInfinity.Foundation.Configuration.Services.IConfigurationService, is an interface and cannot be constructed. Are you missing a type mapping?

by pioners | January 03 2013

Can't live without this extension :)

by TechoNeto | December 27 2012

Like it

by Ofir Shemesh | December 19 2012

this version for VS2012 is not yet mature, lots of the features are not working at all (zoom saving for example), and some are not fitted to VS2012 new look (black text for example).

Squared Infinity [Jarek Kardas] March 04 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Hi, I believe that zoom saving should be fixed now. As for black text issue, could you point me to the window in which it happens? Thank you in advance,
Jarek

by bobfox | November 30 2012

1) Installed latest build 11.2.4.1 today on latest DevExpress bits and problem is not fixed!

2) Options pages display with dark/black foreground on dark VS skin.
Have to switch to light VS skin just to be able to change options!

Squared Infinity [Jarek Kardas] November 30 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Hi, by problem not fixed do you mean that Visual Studio still crashes? Could you please email me at jarek@squaredinfinity.com so we can try to figure out what is wrong?

Thank you in advance,
Jarek

by LFLF | November 28 2012

Crashed VS 2012

Several hours missed because of this plugin.

Not installing again

Squared Infinity [Jarek Kardas] November 28 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Hi There, Last build didn't play well with DevExpress addin due to compatibility issue. It has been fixed now, so you can either get latest version of VSCommands or latested build of DevExpress addin from http://www.devexpress.com/Support/Center/Issues/ViewIssue.aspx?issueid=B230186

by Dexter L | November 26 2012

Crashing to Desktop on all 4 of my boxes

Squared Infinity [Jarek Kardas] November 26 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Hi Dexter, latest version has known compatibility issue with DevExpress addin. Fix for this will be available tomorrow. Thanks, Jarek

by milasch | November 26 2012

Getting an exception when starting visual studio 2012 premium.

Have to uninstall, it's unusable as it is.

Exception Type : Microsoft.Practices.Unity.ResolutionFailedException&#x000D;&#x000A;Exception Message : Resolution of the dependency failed, type = &quot;SquaredInfinity.Foundation.Configuration.Services.IConfigurationService

Where can I report this bug?

EDIT: Yeah, it's fixed. I'm yet to explore the goodies and then I'll give my rating =]. Thanks Jarek

by Sevanmarc | November 20 2012

21 - 40 of 70 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • attach to iis button disabled
    2 Posts | Last post July 24, 2014
    • hello,
      
      the attach to iis button disabled in my visual studio 2012 installation.
      manually attaching via DEBUG > Attach to process > w3wp.exe (with correct apppool) works 
      
      visual studio 2012 is started as administrator.
      
      any ideas?
      
      thanks!
    • solved it :)
      
      the problem was a corrupt vscommands settings file (C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\VSC 11\vscommands.vsc11.settings) - i renamed it, reinstalled vscommmands and then everything worked again.
  • Code Block End Tagger
    4 Posts | Last post June 23, 2014
    • File Structure must be open and analyse one c# document (on each instance of VS) to Code Block End Tagger works, otherwise Code Block End Tagger not working
    • and also File Structure will not be clear if current file closed, and an error occurred when click an item after close it's file
    • Thank you for the feedback!
      I'll address this issues in next few days.
    • I noticed this too in VS2012, Win7x64. I opened File Structure once and now the Code Block End Tagger works again.
  • What happened to file groups in solution explorer
    1 Posts | Last post May 13, 2014
    • 
      The group feature is missing in 11.3.0.5
      
      I tried looking for an option for it, but that also doesn't exist.
      
      http://vscommands.squaredinfinity.com/Features-SolutionExplorer#solutionexplorer-group
  • Output coloring stopped working
    1 Posts | Last post April 16, 2014
    • I currently have VS2012 with VSCommands installed. I don't know if installing VS2013 side-by-side has anything to do with this, but I notice today that in VS2012, the output coloring is no longer taking place. I tried recreating the fonts and colors category in VS options, but that didn't help.
      
      What happened and how do I resolve this??
  • vsc:BranchName
    1 Posts | Last post April 03, 2014
    • One thing that I searched for that wasn't obvious in the help for Solution Badges was how to change from "default" branch when hitting Alt+Tab and in the custom Start Page.
      
      I finally found {vsc:branchName} and put it in my Mercurial Branch Name Pattern. I am now very happy with the product and if all goes well will be presenting it to the team for purchase.
      
      It would be very helpful to have a documented list of these tags and link to them in the help for Solution Badges.
      
      Thanks! I love the product.
      
  • R# Incompatability?
    1 Posts | Last post February 12, 2014
    • I have R# installed and as soon as I install VSCommands, the intellisence in XAML stops working. For example, when I am trying to add the design datasource 'd:DataContext' and 'd:DesignInstance', after ':' it does not provide me with the possible choices. I need to uninstall VSCommands and reinstall R#, only then I get the functionality back. Does anyone have the same problem, or know how to fix it?
  • Solution Badges not shown
    1 Posts | Last post December 10, 2013
    • The solution badge not shown since yesterday's crash of VS2012, after that, even if I remove/reinstall this extension, the solution badge will not show, it always appears as a loading symbol like this snapshot: http://postimg.org/image/ll4j55ms1/
  • File Structure not opening in VS2012-U4 on Windows Server 2012
    1 Posts | Last post November 21, 2013
    • Haven't had any luck getting File Structure to work at all on this 2012 server OS. Just updated VS to Update 4 and File Structure didn't work. Uninstalled VSCommands, reinstalled... still nothing. The window doesn't open at all. Tried both from the Tools menu and the key command to launch it. Bummed.
  • View Code/Desgigner buttons
    4 Posts | Last post November 14, 2013
    • Now that you've added the 'Disable Graph Provider' feature, could you also add 2 buttons to the Solution Explorer: 'View Code', 'View Designer'. 
      
      (I should say put back because they somehow were removed in VS2012 but I really do not see how you're supposed to easily open the code of a form for example without first expanding the tree...)
      
      Thanks for a great extension...
    • Hmm I actually see this new feature is only in the VS2013 edition? Is it coming to VS2012?
    • Hi!
      
      Yes, 2012 version will be updated by Monday.
      
      as for 'View Code', 'View Designer', I can see them in 2012.
      What project type do you use (I tried with WPF).
      
      
    • Standard winforms...
  • Code block end tagger: switch blocks
    1 Posts | Last post November 14, 2013
    • Switch blocks don't appear to have the code tag end blocks.
      
      http://i.imgur.com/wiX8t3b.png
1 - 10 of 86 Items