Visual Studio Achievements For VS2010

Microsoft Free

Bring some game to your code with Visual Studio Achievements!

Microsoft
(117) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (131,628)
12/7/2012
3.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (117)
Q and A (86)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Code Chief | January 28 2012

What a fantastic idea! Here's some others for fun:

"Shame On You" - Broke an automated build for a TFS project with more than 5 active developers or testers.

"Public Enemy #1" - Broke an automated build for a TFS solution with more than 25 active developers or testers.

Looking forward to when it's smart enough to award MCPs without having to go take the exam! LOL

by fiskebasse | January 27 2012

by Inoverse | January 27 2012

Great Plugin! Let's play Visual Studio 2010! Good work MS :)

by Scott Wylie | January 26 2012

Pretty cool idea but a few bugs on getting the actual achievements prevents this from 5 stars.

by J M Baughman | January 26 2012

Ummm...

Y U No Give Me "Install and Register For Visual Studio Achievements"?

It's a REQUIREMENT to use the extension!!!

by Marcio_Nogueira | January 26 2012

Very nice.

by pmoretti | January 26 2012

This morning I lost a couple of hours, because the current version of this extension (1.1) is keeping locked every dll/exe in the bin folder.

I was able to find this problem using Process Monitor and disabling/enabling every suspected extension.

This is the error I'm getting when i try to compile a dll:
"Unable to copy file "obj\Debug\xxx.dll" to "bin\Debug\xxx.dll". The requested operation cannot be performed on a file with a user-mapped section open."

by lauerk | January 25 2012

Fun addition to VS!

by Pascal Hubert | January 25 2012

Great and fun !!

by Animaonline - Roman Alifanov | January 25 2012

I love it!
Haters can go ....

by DavidDeSloovere | January 23 2012

Great idea, but some achievements might promote bad code if you ask me.
(and Print Source code? NOT COOL)

by GoshaFTN | January 23 2012

by Fate.AKong | January 22 2012

Cool.. and greetings from china

by Matthew Manela | January 21 2012

Very fun!

by dark13th | January 21 2012

A little buggy.

The problem is the following. I have ReSharper installed, and after it shows a tip on startup, Visual Studio hangs and just tells me that it's busy. Maybe that's a problem with extensions. I have the following extensions installed:

ReSharper
vs10x CodeMap
Regex Editor
AnkhSVN
MySQL Tools
CollabNet Tools for Subversion Edge
VMware tools

If I start two instances of VS, one hangs and one works.

by RedDreamStar | January 21 2012

by Les_NZ | January 21 2012

A very clever (and fun) idea. Kudos to the person who came up with this.

by Zooba | January 20 2012

Nice!

by beCee | January 20 2012

Very, very hot tool!!! Thx to Microsoft. So let's "play" VST2010 now. Greetings from Berlin

by Tainted Rice | January 20 2012

I agree with AlexanderSt, this could potentially be a wonderful way to promote good coding and encourage us programmers and developers to write more efficient code.

61 - 80 of 117 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • c# widows Phone Support
    1 Posts | Last post February 11, 2014
    • Hello,
      
      I am getting an error while installing coding4fun-toolkit complete.
      The error is
      
      Attempting to resolve dependency 'Coding4Fun.Toolkit.Audio'.
      Attempting to resolve dependency 'Coding4Fun.Toolkit.Controls'.
      Attempting to resolve dependency 'Coding4Fun.Toolkit.Net'.
      Attempting to resolve dependency 'Coding4Fun.Toolkit.Storage'.
      Successfully installed 'Coding4Fun.Toolkit.Audio 2.0.7'.
      'Coding4Fun.Toolkit.Controls 2.0.7' already installed.
      'Coding4Fun.Toolkit.Net 2.0.7' already installed.
      'Coding4Fun.Toolkit.Storage 2.0.7' already installed.
      'Coding4Fun.Toolkit.Complete 2.0.7' already installed.
      Successfully uninstalled 'Coding4Fun.Toolkit.Audio 2.0.7'.
      Install failed. Rolling back...
      Could not install package 'Coding4Fun.Toolkit.Audio 2.0.7'. You are trying to install this package into a project that targets 'WindowsPhone,Version=v8.0', but the package does not contain any assembly references that are compatible with that framework. For more information, contact the package author.
      
      can any one help me to come out of this problem??? Plzzzz...
  • Expand the Running With Scissors Section!
    1 Posts | Last post October 10, 2013
    • We don't have thorough code review or fxcop on check-in at work and I would love to show a few more rws I've earned after opening team members' projects!
      
      pFfft - Use Hungarian notation on ten or more variables.  Who cares if it's maintainable?
      
      Loose Cannon - Have a "project" based on the Website Project Template with both VB and C# codefiles.
      
      You're Not Helping - Have an inheritable class that contains nothing but static methods.
      
      Child of the World - Create 5 classes in the global namespace.
  • Doesn't function anymore
    1 Posts | Last post August 22, 2013
    • After some time I started Visual Studio again, noticing all my extensions with exception of MySQL had been deactivated.
      I activated Achievments, restarted VS and tried to get some new achievments. It couldn't get any of them. I tried goto and playing in the settings of VS, so there should have been "Go To Hell" and "Gotta Be Different" achieved.
  • This extension doesn't play nice with WiX
    4 Posts | Last post June 30, 2013
    • 2012, WIX 3.6 and 3.7, version 2.1 of this extension.
      
      Recently Visual Studio started locking up when cleaning or building.  Determined by unloading my WIX projects that they were involved in the crashes.
      
      The exception thrown was AccessViolationException, but the call stack didn't show any obvious culprits.
      
      I upgraded from WIX 3.6 to 3.7, but that didn't work.  I then went through all my extensions, enabling/disabling them in turn until I found the one that, when disabled, fixed the crash.
      
      And that extension was this one.
      
      I suggest you guys try to repro. 
    • Thanks for reporting; we are investigating.
    • I have the same issue with Wix 3.7. VS crashes after cleaning or building. 
      
      Guess that will teach me not to install unnecessary plugins...
    • thanks for reporting
  • VSAchievements RuntimeBinderException on VS start
    2 Posts | Last post April 17, 2013
    • Hi Everybody,
      
      i got a following execption after installing VSAchievements extension. it seems that the extension could not connect to the user profile i think (but ton't no).
      
      Here's the exception text:
      
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackageinitialize
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Visual Studio Version: 10.0
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Loading plugins.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.DebugEventsListener initialized.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.VsSolutionEventsListener initialized.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.PopupManager initialized.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.VsDocumentEventsListener initialized.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.FxCopAchievements.FxCopManager initialized.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.SrcAchievementsCommon.SourceAnalyzer initialized.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Microsoft.CSharp.RuntimeBinder.RuntimeBinderException: Die Laufzeitbindung kann für einen NULL-Verweis nicht ausgeführt werden.
         bei CallSite.Target(Closure , CallSite , Object )
         bei System.Dynamic.UpdateDelegates.UpdateAndExecute1[T0,TRet](CallSite site, T0 arg0)
         bei AchievementService.Client.AchievementClient.GetAchievements()
         bei Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.AchievementManager.LoadControllers()
         bei Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.AchievementManager.Login()
         bei Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.AchievementManager.Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.IAchievementManager.Initialize(IAchievementManagerSettings settings)
         bei Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPac
    • I'm using VS Studio 2010 (German), FXCop 10 and Metrics.
      
  • Disable Output Window Text
    3 Posts | Last post April 09, 2013
    • Fun addon, however one thing that irks me is all the bumf I get in the output window when loading a solution. It creates an Output Pane of "VSAchievements" and spams all this:
      
      FxCopHelper: Install FxCop Resolver
      FxCopHelper: FxCop Path:c:\Program Files\Microsoft Fxcop 10.0\FxCopCmd.exe
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackageinitialize
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Visual Studio Version: 10.0
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Loading plugins.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.DebugEventsListener initialized.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.VsSolutionEventsListener initialized.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.PopupManager initialized.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Core.VsDocumentEventsListener initialized.
      Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage: Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.FxCopAchievements.FxCopManager initialized.
      
      And so on...
      
      Any way to tell it NOT to do so? I really don't need to see all that every time I open a solution etc. An option to surpress it in the Tools / Options / VS Achievements menu would be perfect.
    • Do you have logging turned on? You shouldn't see this by default.
    • Hmm not that I know of. Where do I check?  The only item in the Tools / Options window for this is "Enable FX Cop". I have the latest version from the gallery, and definitely haven't tweaked any config files or anything (if there are any).
  • Able to download v2.x
    2 Posts | Last post March 29, 2013
    • Is it possible to download version 2.x somewhere since 3.0 crashes the first time you open it?
    • No, we don't have 2.0 available. What errors are you getting?
  • Exception loading version 3.0 - SetSite failed for package
    9 Posts | Last post January 30, 2013
    • I've just upgraded to version 3.0, and I get a failed to load error. I added the /log command line switch and got the error in the ActivityLog.xml file as follows:
      
      Description:
      SetSite failed for package [Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage, Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Package, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=7ea9aff8f26d837d] 
      
      GUID:
      {2C44B77C-3814-4094-AA99-B1E35ECDD5FE} 
      
      Hr:
      80004003 - E_POINTER 
      
      Any ideas?
    • Thanks for reporting. We are currently investigating and will keep you posted.
    • What other extensions do you have installed? Thanks
    • I had a similiar error, but after trying to reload a couple times VS loaded okay. I also recently installed VS Powertools via nuget.
    • I had the same error. After installing FxCop problem disappear.
    • This matches my error as well, I posted above but I will post again my log:
      
      <entry>
          <record>43</record>
          <time>2013/01/15 14:08:48.044</time>
          <type>Error</type>
          <source>VisualStudio</source>
          <description>SetSite failed for package [Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage, Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Package, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=7ea9aff8f26d837d]</description>
          <guid>{2C44B77C-3814-4094-AA99-B1E35ECDD5FE}</guid>
          <hr>80004003 - E_POINTER</hr>
          <errorinfo>Object reference not set to an instance of an object.</errorinfo>
        </entry>
        <entry>
          <record>44</record>
          <time>2013/01/15 14:08:48.053</time>
          <type>Error</type>
          <source>VisualStudio</source>
          <description>End package load [Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage, Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Package, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=7ea9aff8f26d837d]</description>
          <guid>{2C44B77C-3814-4094-AA99-B1E35ECDD5FE}</guid>
          <hr>80004003 - E_POINTER</hr>
          <errorinfo>Object reference not set to an instance of an object.</errorinfo>
        </entry>
      
    • This is totally broken for Visual Studio 2010. Does anyone have any idea what the issue is? I have already tried un-installing and re-installing FxCop with no success.
    • I had the same issue and it was solved after installing FX Cop 10 and Windows SDK 7.1 - get it here http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8279
      
      If you also have trouble installing the SDK 7.1 (as I did) get rid of the newer C++ redistributables as described here:
      http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/windowssdk/thread/8f3350f9-0b47-40ae-b070-f2ccbf041875/
    • @Wintermute79 Confirming that this solved the problem for me, I would suggest everyone give this a try
  • Complex achievement not unlocking
    5 Posts | Last post January 18, 2013
    • Any idea why the Complex achievement (50+ projects in a solution) would not unlock? Project has 62 projects and it won't unlock. There is a bunch of solutions folders though, so maybe it is 50 in the root?
    • I have a solution with 103 projects and have Build it, Rebuilt It and Cleaned and Built it but have never gotten this Complex Achievement.
    • I personally have gotten this achievement as have a number of others, so it does work; you just have to figure out out how/when it is triggered...
    • Any update on this?
    • Never worked this achievement, regardless of the number of projects in the solution of more than 50. Does anyone in the know on what trigger it work?
  • Null Pointer Exception
    1 Posts | Last post January 15, 2013
    • I get the following two errors when I start Visual Studio (this is from ActivityLog.xml) 
      
      <entry>
          <record>43</record>
          <time>2013/01/15 14:08:48.044</time>
          <type>Error</type>
          <source>VisualStudio</source>
          <description>SetSite failed for package [Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage, Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Package, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=7ea9aff8f26d837d]</description>
          <guid>{2C44B77C-3814-4094-AA99-B1E35ECDD5FE}</guid>
          <hr>80004003 - E_POINTER</hr>
          <errorinfo>Object reference not set to an instance of an object.</errorinfo>
        </entry>
        <entry>
          <record>44</record>
          <time>2013/01/15 14:08:48.053</time>
          <type>Error</type>
          <source>VisualStudio</source>
          <description>End package load [Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.VSAchievementsPackage, Coding4Fun.VSAchievements.Package, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=7ea9aff8f26d837d]</description>
          <guid>{2C44B77C-3814-4094-AA99-B1E35ECDD5FE}</guid>
          <hr>80004003 - E_POINTER</hr>
          <errorinfo>Object reference not set to an instance of an object.</errorinfo>
        </entry>
      
      Is there a way to fix this? Let me know if you need more info
1 - 10 of 86 Items