Team Foundation Server Power Tools December 2011

Microsoft Free

Power Tools are a set of enhancements, tools and command-line utilities that increase productivity of Team Foundation Server scenarios.

Microsoft
(92) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (675,265)
7/9/2012
10.0.41206.0
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (92)
Q and A (198)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Sebastien De Greef | May 20 2011

by Mohammad Chavoshi | May 06 2011

by Micky D | April 28 2011

Five (5) stars alone for the Process Editor; everything else is just as brilliant!

well done

by Pranav Singh | April 07 2011

Very useful for custom checkin policies & TFS access is very easy with extra features.

by Etienne_Tremblay | March 24 2011

by Mike R. Caron | March 14 2011

-2 stars because the cmdlets are NOT present in x64 or x32.

by Brandon Kelly | March 11 2011

As a whole the power tools are very useful, thank you for continuing to update and release these!

The process editor, on the other hand, really needs a big overhaul. I think you probably already know what we need -- the hotness basically -- a fully WYSIWYG editor for forms, better attribute explorer, a tree/repositiory type view for process guidance, etc..

Once again, thanks for continuing to put out this valuable release!

by ontario1971 | March 09 2011

by arachnode.net | March 09 2011

Thanks for the update. The additions to the shell are much appreciated! :)

by Tottmar | March 08 2011

by G-B | March 04 2011

by Ed Blankenship | March 03 2011

by stc | March 03 2011

Powerfull tool

But updating from a previous version is not simple.
If i run the installer from the latest version it says that it is already installed (an old version)

Please change the upgrade code of the installer

by Brian60659 | December 27 2010

Not ready for prime time.

I'm trying to use the backup tool to migrate our data tier.

AdminPTHelper.exe crashes to desktop with a "System.OutOfRangeException."

No bounds checking? No error handling? Absolutely pathetic.

by MJL6514 | December 15 2010

by Ravikumar Govindaraju | December 15 2010

Looks like a good set of tools and backup is most important. Thanks for the tool set. However for me the backup is not working for just one collection and every other collection gets backed up. I even tried to change the SQL Server connection timeout parameter. Exact error that I get is timeout for one of collections.

by Paul Cranness | December 14 2010

Clearly the backup and restore power tools are a great step forward from the original documented way on the MSDN site, but I found some glaring oversights in the documentation for a novice such as myself, when performing a complete restore of all the data to a replacement server (to replicate a complete server failure).

1. When I installed the Power Tools on the TFS server, it didn’t install the help files, I had to install the Power Tools on and Win 7 client machine to get the help documentation
2. Lack of information about what permissions are needed to restore the backup. I had to grant the account I used to create the backup SysAdmin rights on the whole SQL instance. This might not be the recommended method, but it worked for me.
3. Once the restore has finished you still need to configure the TFS Server. Despite the documentation stating ‘After the data is restored, the Success page appears, and your deployment of Team Foundation Server is ready to use.’, it isn’t. You need to run the Application Tier configuration wizard.

by Mladen Mihajlovic | December 14 2010

by China Shop | November 29 2010

Excellent addition to TFS.

Documentation request: Templates can be exported/imported simply using cut/copy/paste functions. I searched for a long time for menu-driven functions for that task before trying to use the clipboard on a lark. It's awesome that it works, but please make that fact more obvious.

by Ewald Hofman - MSFT | November 23 2010

61 - 80 of 92 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • VS2013
    1 Posts | Last post June 04, 2014
    • does it work with VS 2013 ?
      
      thanks
      
  • Error 1334 upon installation
    1 Posts | Last post May 19, 2014
    • I downloaded and tried to install, but then I get: Error 1334. The file 'AlertsExplorer.mht' cannot be installed .....
      
      Am I the only one ?
  • Forward Compatibility
    1 Posts | Last post April 16, 2014
    • Can an older version of TFS Power Tools (for VS 2010) work against a newer version of TFS (like TFS 2013)?  Or is there an updated version of the Power Tools required?
  • TFPT annotate error
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2014
    • TFPT annotate displays all lines with latest changeset for all files. In actually each of the lines in the file is edited with diffferent changesets. Has any one faced this issue here. I am using power tools 2010. 
    • TFPT annotate wrongly displays all lines with latest changeset for all files. But each of the lines in the file is added with diffferent changesets. As one faced this issue before while using annotate cmd. I have tried in power tools 2010 and 2012.
  • TFS Backup plan - ConfigPT.xml and SCVMM
    1 Posts | Last post August 12, 2013
    • Hi everyone,
      Could any of you indicate me the name of the XML node for SCVMM in ConfigPT.xml, file which is located either in your backup path or "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Team Foundation\Server Configuration".
      This is because PT Backup plan does not recognize my SCVMM database because SCVMM is installed on another server.
      
      Thanks beforehand !
  • Restore to new hardware failing
    1 Posts | Last post July 18, 2013
    • Hello,
      
      I've used the TFS Power Tools recovery capabilities to new hardware successfully before. However, on a separate TFS 2010 instance, when testing the recovery to new hardware I get the following error for all databases:
      
      Error while restoring the database Tfs_Configuration. Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.FailedOperationException: Restore failed for Server 'xxx-yy-zz01'.  ---> Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.SmoException: System.Data.SqlClient.SqlError: This differential backup cannot be restored because the database has not been restored to the correct earlier state.
         at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.ExecutionManager.ExecuteNonQueryWithMessage(StringCollection queries, ServerMessageEventHandler dbccMessageHandler, Boolean errorsAsMessages)
         at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.BackupRestoreBase.ExecuteSql(Server server, StringCollection queries)
         at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.Restore.SqlRestore(Server srv)
         --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
         at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.Restore.SqlRestore(Server srv)
         at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Admin.Helpers.RestoreFactory.RestoreFullUsingSMO(String serverName, String databaseName, String path, String bakFile, Boolean noRecovery, Boolean renameExistingDatabases, Int32 statementTimeout)
         at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Admin.RestoreConfigurator.DoRestore(OperationContext context)
      
      I tried restoring selecting various transaction and differential backups, same error each time. I'm between a rock and a hard place if the Backup tools cannot restore :( Any one seen this before?
  • Error after install
    1 Posts | Last post June 18, 2013
    • I am seeing two errors in the event log, this is a constant thing.  Are these two things related?  What can I do to fix it?
      
      The first is:
      TFS Shell Extension event:\n Failed to create COM provider for notification event.
      
      Followed by the second:
      Faulting application name: TfsComProviderSvr.exe, version: 10.0.40219.0, time stamp: 0x4edeeb5c
      Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
      Exception code: 0xc0000005
      Fault offset: 0x7577492b
      Faulting process id: 0xba8
      Faulting application start time: 0x01ce6c2b85918e33
      Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Team Foundation Server 2010 Power Tools\TfsComProviderSvr.exe
      Faulting module path: unknown
      
  • Customizing a work item gloabally using TFS Power Tool
    1 Posts | Last post March 05, 2013
    • Hello,
      
      I would like to customize my work item say, Bug for capturing more information for reporting purpose. I am successfull in customizing the bug work item using TFS Power Tool for a particular Project / Application available under one project collection.
      
      Now, i want the same customized fields to be available to the work item (Bug) across my TFS, regardless of under which the project collection it is created. How can i do it. Any help is highly appreciated.
      
      Regards,
      
      Arun Nambiar
  • Download previous versions
    1 Posts | Last post February 27, 2013
    • I'm trying to install the December 2011 version, but setup keeps asking for the MSI of the August 2011 version which I don't have any more.
      Where can I get it so I can uninstall it?
      Any other ideas?
  • Test Attachment Cleaner times out
    2 Posts | Last post January 29, 2013
    • When I attempt to run the tcmpt.exe command, my query always times out:
      
      C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft\Test Attachment Cleaner>tcmpt.exe attachmentcle
      anup /collection:http://server:8080/tfs/defaultcollection /teamproject:"Project" /settingsfile:"SampleSettings\Scenario1-SizeGreaterThan100MB.xml" /mode:
      "preview"
      Logging output to defaultcollection_Project_2012-08-08.025115.log
      ..........Team Foundation services are not available from server Server\Def
      aultCollection.
      Technical information (for administrator):
        The operation has timed out
      
      I'm running this against TFS 2010.
    • Was there an answer on this thread?  We have just migrated to a 2010 server and now I’m getting the same message.  Works fine in VS2010 but I cannot connect with the 2010 TFS MSSCCI Provider.
      
      What is the solution?  Downgrade back to the 2008 FTS Server?
      
1 - 10 of 198 Items