Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(826) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,716,040)
11/9/2012
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (826)
Q and A (864)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by jeje003 | April 23 2011

BUG REPORT for VERSION 10.0.20318.14

There is unhandled "a regular expression parsing error" exception in this tool which causes crash of whole IDE immediately.

A regular expression parsing error (System.ArgumentException) occurs in case of try to use new Quick Find/Replace functionality while user enters an unparsable .NET Regular Expression into find/replace popup of this tool while Search option in this popup is set to Use Regular Expression.

For sample, try to use this expression without enclosing quotes:

"^({0,1}\s*(\d+)\s*(?:.|\))\s*(.+)$"

by Omie | April 21 2011

by SlavoIngilizov | April 20 2011

This thing has been bugging me for a while:

I've customized the color for highlighting the selected line, because I'm using a non-default color theme. This resets to the default color for the highlighted line (for the plugin) every time I restart VS. The problem is fixed if I go into the options for fonts and colors and just click OK.

Otherwise, a great extension.

by sudarsan srinivasan | April 20 2011

I like most of the features from the powertools, except the find replace window. The usability is very poor in this. Please update the find replace window's UI. Also there are a couple of bugs in the find replace window. Please fix it and release a patch as it is very annoying currently.

by Rob26 | April 18 2011

Fantastic power tools, install and use asap!

by toto2316 | April 14 2011

by aganariman | April 14 2011

Visual studio is crashed when an Apostrophe character is used in new Find box.

by Xatter | April 13 2011

by Michael Proctor | April 12 2011

The additions that are introduced with this is absolutely brilliant.

I would love to have an option for the tab well to have two rows, one for code and one for visual designers. At the moment I just pin code windows at the moment, however would be great to have it automatic.

Anyhow keep up the great work.

by Robert Koritnik | April 11 2011

BUG report:
Version: 10.0.20318.14

Whenever I try to do a Find&Replace (I'm using the top right corner simple F&R provided by PPT) on a SQL file and use Regular expressions PPT crashes Visual Studio 2010.

The first key I hit in the find text box Visual Studio crashes.

Can anybody else confirm that this is a bug?

P.S. I couldn't find any link for reporting bugs so I'm reporting it here.

by Capslock66 | April 09 2011

Version 10.0.20318.14

The enhanced scrollbar is good (copy of AllMargins plugin).

Always the SAME problem with Belgium keyboard : the "Alt Gr" key must be used to enter the "[" key.
It's no more possible to enter that key somewhere on a line, just on an empty line :
The power tools use this combination of key for "Align Assignments".

by free.fly | April 09 2011

this plugin messed up all my C++ intellisense that was remaining in Visual C++.... now it is like C++/CLI.

Great tools for C# development.

Please make this tool such a way that it will not mess up my Visual C++.

regards

by Andre at GreatSoft | April 07 2011

This is a neat set of tools and I this is indeed making me more productive with the exception one little annoying cotcha.
On a PC with two monitors running in extended dislpay mode and the Document Well 2010 Plus turned on with Floating Docs
settings: Enable floating tab well = True, Enable independeent floating tablwell = True, Float documents by default = False - When one drag an aspx page or xaml page to the secondary monitor and you close the solution without closing any open pags on the secondary monitor - or move it it back and dock it in the main IDE tabs, Visual studio crashes the next time you open the solution. - The work-around is to delete the solution .suo file.
Really annoying...

by sdehart | April 04 2011

The Find feature is really a problem for me.

- It hijacked my F3 and Ctrl+F shortcuts and routed them to its find dialog instead of the normal advanced one.
- it doesn't pre-populate the find text with my last search.
- worst of all: I can't use the up/down arrows on the text box to scroll through previous search terms. This is the main reason I get so mad that it's hard to get to the advanced dialog! Otherwise I would be fine with using this one.

I'm still rating 4 stars because the tools overall are excellent. I've been using them since I got VS 2010. I found them right away after I realized VS 2010 took away the close button on individual tabs and made you use the single close button on the right of the tab bar.

by RodolphoSa | April 02 2011

Show!

Rodolpho Sá
http://www.rodolphosa.net

by lostmsu | April 01 2011

Nice extension overall.

Sad things:
- Solution explorer expands all nodes after most actions
- new find dialog should have quick access button to open old-style one, otherwise it irritates from time to time

My suggestions:
- add an option "not checked in" after "all open unsaved edited" in solution explorer to show only files with pending changes in source control

by MarcBate | March 31 2011

I like it all except the Find replacement. It doesn't automatically fill itself in with the text that is highlighted in the code editor, making it a dealbreaker and disabled.

by Travis Spomer | March 30 2011

Five stars because there are a lot of awesome enhancements in here. It'd be more like two stars if you couldn't turn the more obnoxious ones off.

by MisterJames | March 30 2011

Another great release, thanks to the crew on this team! The shift+enter shortcut has quickly made it's way into my repertoire, as has triple click and a high level of use on solution navigator. Viewing specfic folders as root is super useful, especially when combined with filtering.

by Michael_Morris | March 30 2011

381 - 400 of 826 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • How to disable new line for getters and setters
    1 Posts | Last post July 13, 2014
    • Hello,
      I like my properties' getters and setters on one line like this:
       public string FileHash {get; set;}
      
      but PPT is forcing them on new lines like this:
              public string FileHash {
                  get;
                  set;
              }
      
      How do I disable this?
  • Disable #region autocompletion
    1 Posts | Last post July 08, 2014
  • Bug in align assignments keyboard short cut?
    1 Posts | Last post July 07, 2014
    • Hello I've installed productivity power tools, without problems about an hour ago and resumed writing code without a problem. That is, until I needed to access an element in an array: it was impossible for me to type the '[' character in visual studio. 
      
      I've got an French style keyboard (Azerty) and the '[' character is 'AltGr-^'. The '^' button is next to the 'p' (so its the same button as on a US Internatiol keyboard). 
      
      It took me a while to realise (and fix) the cause of the problem. Removing the keyboard shortcut for align assignmenst fixed it. 
      
      Note apparently windows treats 'Alt Gr' the same as 'Ctrl-Alt'.
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2013
    7 Posts | Last post July 04, 2014
    • The Shift + Enter that insert a semicolon and a break line does not work for VS2013 + Resharper.
    • Yes. What happened to that feature? I have gotten used to Shift + Enter key combo for coding. Finding myself having to "break" that (good) habit 0_o
    • This doesn't work for me either. I have to have this! Please bring it back!
    • Yes, please bring back.  One of the top reasons I use this extension.
    • Anybody has an idea how to work-around this? Really want this feature back :(
    • I would like this shift + enter  as well, arghhhhh
    • I actually don't have a chance to try this feature out since it never work. However, I believe it should be a really helpful.
  • Option Reset on every update
    1 Posts | Last post May 25, 2014
    • Please make it so that every update does not reset "Options -> Turn Extensions On/Off" options. It is so annoying to tweak them on every update...
      Thanks.
  • "Show All Files" button doesn't work with SSDT projects
    2 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • I'm getting a "Member not found" error with VS2013.2 RC when I attempt the following:
      
      1. Create a new SQL Server Database Project.
      2. Open Project Properties... SQLCLR tab... click Assembly Information...
      3. Enter 1.0 as the version number [OK].
      4. Click the "Show All Files" button on the SOX toolbar. Error is raised and external files do not show.
      
    • Please ignore this. I've since found out this is a problem in Visual Studio/SSDT and not PowerTools. Thanks.
  • Align Assignments for Javascript objects
    1 Posts | Last post May 08, 2014
    • The Align Assignments makes your (Javascript) code more readable by aligning the assignments when you type Ctrl+Alt+]. It would be nice if it worked for object properties too, so instead of:
      
      var obj = {
         firstName: 'John',
         lastName: 'Doe',
         email: 'john.doe@www.com'
      }
      
      you would have:
      
      var obj = {
         firstName: 'John',
         lastName:  'Doe',
         email:     'john.doe@www.com'
      }
      
      
  • Scroll bar full mode shows expanded macros.
    2 Posts | Last post April 18, 2014
    • Hey, my C++ uses a lot of code generation using macros. The side bar in full mode shows my files being many times larger than they are, so the scroll bar doesn't behave very nicely. Is there a way to prevent the macro expansion?
    • I'm an idiot. Disregard.
  • Remove editor guide lines
    1 Posts | Last post March 26, 2014
    • How can I remove Editor Guide Lines?
      I don't like seeing a lot of guide lines in the left side of my code. 
      Can you help me?
  • Change the Number of Spaces When Replacing Tabs
    2 Posts | Last post March 17, 2014
    • My team uses a default spacing of 3 spaces, which is set in VS, but when using the Tab replacement functionality, it seems to use 4 spaces. Is there a way to edit this setting?
    • Workaround Find four spaces replace with three. Just only do it once through the whole doc
1 - 10 of 864 Items