Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(824) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,694,768)
11/9/2012
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (824)
Q and A (858)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by SlavoIngilizov | April 20 2011

This thing has been bugging me for a while:

I've customized the color for highlighting the selected line, because I'm using a non-default color theme. This resets to the default color for the highlighted line (for the plugin) every time I restart VS. The problem is fixed if I go into the options for fonts and colors and just click OK.

Otherwise, a great extension.

by sudarsan srinivasan | April 20 2011

I like most of the features from the powertools, except the find replace window. The usability is very poor in this. Please update the find replace window's UI. Also there are a couple of bugs in the find replace window. Please fix it and release a patch as it is very annoying currently.

by Rob26 | April 18 2011

Fantastic power tools, install and use asap!

by toto2316 | April 14 2011

by aganariman | April 14 2011

Visual studio is crashed when an Apostrophe character is used in new Find box.

by Xatter | April 13 2011

by Michael Proctor | April 12 2011

The additions that are introduced with this is absolutely brilliant.

I would love to have an option for the tab well to have two rows, one for code and one for visual designers. At the moment I just pin code windows at the moment, however would be great to have it automatic.

Anyhow keep up the great work.

by Robert Koritnik | April 11 2011

BUG report:
Version: 10.0.20318.14

Whenever I try to do a Find&Replace (I'm using the top right corner simple F&R provided by PPT) on a SQL file and use Regular expressions PPT crashes Visual Studio 2010.

The first key I hit in the find text box Visual Studio crashes.

Can anybody else confirm that this is a bug?

P.S. I couldn't find any link for reporting bugs so I'm reporting it here.

by Capslock66 | April 09 2011

Version 10.0.20318.14

The enhanced scrollbar is good (copy of AllMargins plugin).

Always the SAME problem with Belgium keyboard : the "Alt Gr" key must be used to enter the "[" key.
It's no more possible to enter that key somewhere on a line, just on an empty line :
The power tools use this combination of key for "Align Assignments".

by free.fly | April 09 2011

this plugin messed up all my C++ intellisense that was remaining in Visual C++.... now it is like C++/CLI.

Great tools for C# development.

Please make this tool such a way that it will not mess up my Visual C++.

regards

by Andre at GreatSoft | April 07 2011

This is a neat set of tools and I this is indeed making me more productive with the exception one little annoying cotcha.
On a PC with two monitors running in extended dislpay mode and the Document Well 2010 Plus turned on with Floating Docs
settings: Enable floating tab well = True, Enable independeent floating tablwell = True, Float documents by default = False - When one drag an aspx page or xaml page to the secondary monitor and you close the solution without closing any open pags on the secondary monitor - or move it it back and dock it in the main IDE tabs, Visual studio crashes the next time you open the solution. - The work-around is to delete the solution .suo file.
Really annoying...

by sdehart | April 04 2011

The Find feature is really a problem for me.

- It hijacked my F3 and Ctrl+F shortcuts and routed them to its find dialog instead of the normal advanced one.
- it doesn't pre-populate the find text with my last search.
- worst of all: I can't use the up/down arrows on the text box to scroll through previous search terms. This is the main reason I get so mad that it's hard to get to the advanced dialog! Otherwise I would be fine with using this one.

I'm still rating 4 stars because the tools overall are excellent. I've been using them since I got VS 2010. I found them right away after I realized VS 2010 took away the close button on individual tabs and made you use the single close button on the right of the tab bar.

by RodolphoSa | April 02 2011

Show!

Rodolpho Sá
http://www.rodolphosa.net

by lostmsu | April 01 2011

Nice extension overall.

Sad things:
- Solution explorer expands all nodes after most actions
- new find dialog should have quick access button to open old-style one, otherwise it irritates from time to time

My suggestions:
- add an option "not checked in" after "all open unsaved edited" in solution explorer to show only files with pending changes in source control

by MarcBate | March 31 2011

I like it all except the Find replacement. It doesn't automatically fill itself in with the text that is highlighted in the code editor, making it a dealbreaker and disabled.

by Travis Spomer | March 30 2011

Five stars because there are a lot of awesome enhancements in here. It'd be more like two stars if you couldn't turn the more obnoxious ones off.

by MisterJames | March 30 2011

Another great release, thanks to the crew on this team! The shift+enter shortcut has quickly made it's way into my repertoire, as has triple click and a high level of use on solution navigator. Viewing specfic folders as root is super useful, especially when combined with filtering.

by Michael_Morris | March 30 2011

by vijayreddyy | March 29 2011

Great tools. I like most of the features.

I don't know if someone else already reported this, When I type double quote it is automatically adding closing quote, but not moving the cursor after the end quote. Same for braces () etc. It would have been very nice if cursor position is moved after the newly inserted character.

Thanks for providing great tool.

by RC Roeder SPX | March 28 2011

Problems, when downloading fro, VS2010 it fails because of digital signature, the download from the site it will only install in the Ultimate version not the preminum version. Any ideas?

381 - 400 of 824 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2013
    5 Posts | Last post Thu 10:57 AM
    • The Shift + Enter that insert a semicolon and a break line does not work for VS2013 + Resharper.
    • Yes. What happened to that feature? I have gotten used to Shift + Enter key combo for coding. Finding myself having to "break" that (good) habit 0_o
    • This doesn't work for me either. I have to have this! Please bring it back!
    • Yes, please bring back.  One of the top reasons I use this extension.
    • Anybody has an idea how to work-around this? Really want this feature back :(
  • Scroll bar full mode shows expanded macros.
    2 Posts | Last post April 18, 2014
    • Hey, my C++ uses a lot of code generation using macros. The side bar in full mode shows my files being many times larger than they are, so the scroll bar doesn't behave very nicely. Is there a way to prevent the macro expansion?
    • I'm an idiot. Disregard.
  • Remove editor guide lines
    1 Posts | Last post March 26, 2014
    • How can I remove Editor Guide Lines?
      I don't like seeing a lot of guide lines in the left side of my code. 
      Can you help me?
  • Change the Number of Spaces When Replacing Tabs
    2 Posts | Last post March 17, 2014
    • My team uses a default spacing of 3 spaces, which is set in VS, but when using the Tab replacement functionality, it seems to use 4 spaces. Is there a way to edit this setting?
    • Workaround Find four spaces replace with three. Just only do it once through the whole doc
  • I love the colorization of the tabs by project but can it be tied to the solution explorer too?
    1 Posts | Last post February 26, 2014
    • ...is there any way to tie that color to the solution explorer so that the project in the explorer is the same color text or background?
  • Navigate within the expression editor in the file .rdlc (Report) using the arrow keys
    1 Posts | Last post February 25, 2014
    • After installing Productivity Power Tools was not possible to navigate within the expression editor in the file .rdlc (Report) using the arrow keys. This impaired enough.
      This can be changed now or is an error that needs correcting?
  • Tab placements lost
    1 Posts | Last post February 15, 2014
    • This has been happening for years. If you pins tabs, they work fine while VS is running. But if you restart VS, they will appear correct on first load, but once you run the application and then stop it, you will lose all your tab pinnings.
      
      This happens more frequently in VS2013, so that you lost them not just on the initial run/stop.
  • align assignments shortcut conflicts with ] on french canadian keyboard
    1 Posts | Last post February 06, 2014
    • The align assignments shortcut prevents me from typing ] on a french canadian keyboard. Somehow the shorcut overrides the combination (alt Car + ¸ which gives ] on a canadian french keyboard).
  • Disable Tab colorization?
    2 Posts | Last post January 31, 2014
    • How I could disable the blue Tabs colorization? I preffer to see the default VS colorization. I tried to diable (turn OFF) ALL the Productivity Power Tools
      features but the tabs still colorizing... this seems a bug, to disable colorization the only way that I see is to uninstall Productivity Power Tools.
    • In VS click Tools --> Options --> Productivity Power Tools --> Custom Document Well.
      Now you can disable the Checkbox "Color tabs by project"
  • Cannot see Solution Navigator
    1 Posts | Last post January 27, 2014
    • Where's it? I've installed this add-in without doing anything else, but I cannnot see that....
1 - 10 of 858 Items