Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(824) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,693,041)
11/9/2012
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (824)
Q and A (857)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Brendon123 | March 01 2011

Useful tool. If find that "In Current Block" and, as others have said "In Selection" are are missed when using the new Find feature - even showing them under the options drop-down would improve things. Yes you can disable a feature if you don't like it, but I'm sure it's useful to have feedback on all the features if any case. This is more productive than the majority of users disabling the feature and not saying anything about it.

by ChrisPfohl | February 28 2011

Useful tool, makes very small improvements to the Visual Studio UI.

"Highlight Current Line" alone makes this tool worth it, although the Tabbing and Solution Navigator features are awesome as well.

Note: Contrary to other reviews, *every* feature can be turned on or off, including the new search feature: Tools//Options: Productivity Power Tools//All Extensions allows you to turn each new feature on or off. "Quick Find" is the new search functionality. I have it currently disabled.

Second note: Replace in Selection is still usable from the normal Find and Replace tool bar which is even usable while the Quick Find is enabled.

by Pankaj Lathiya | February 28 2011

Awesome and 'must have' tool !!

by Ulrich Proeller | February 28 2011

by Tuomas Hietanen | February 28 2011

Enhanced Scrollbar has now the same ability to show errors as ReShaper Marker Bar.

This is the feature I have waited most to be a part of Visual Studio editor. It is a must when you try to refactor class variables away from an old big legacy class.

by Chisp | February 28 2011

Replace in selection is gone, and the new find (which I don't like) can't be turned off.

by Keith Lloyd | February 27 2011

IDE hangs with Version 10.0.20214.15 installed, hence the 1 star rating. Previous version I would give 4 stars. The hang would happen when Silverlight Designer was showing and started a debug session. If I switched to a cs file and debugged then no hang. I would love to go back to the previous version.

by MrtnZ | February 27 2011

The new find and scrollbar tools are very useful. I use scroll bar in full mode without any performance problem.
A very great behavior of the new search is that you can leave open one on each file. I like it.

by qck1 | February 25 2011

I have disabled this because the newest version replaces the find and replace with something without the flexibility. It now becomes a hinderance to my work just because of the new find and replace feature. Cannot even go to the old find and replace dialog from the new one, let alone set the attributes for find and replace. Fix this and I will start using it.

by CodeShark | February 25 2011

it is nice the new version has the enhance scroll bar feature that is very similarly to metalscroll.

by grakgrak | February 25 2011

Excellent really like the new Find tool.

How about using the up and down arrow keys to move to the Next and Previous find results while typing into the text box.

GrakGrak

by AimeR | February 25 2011

The Enhanced scroll bar "Full Mode" is a great idea, but performance is horrific. Scrolling an xml file 500 lines long can become extremely slow.

by Kensai_ | February 24 2011

Simply superb.

by Benjamin Bertin | February 24 2011

Brilliant

by SolanumVexus | February 24 2011

Most of the nice little things you've always wished Visual Studio would do get done here.

by Atchoum21 | February 24 2011

The enhanced scrollbar is fantastic! Thank you so much.

by Mr. Kashif Khan | February 24 2011

i love all the features. whoooo. no IDE can beat VS2010. cant even think beating this IDE either. whooooo

by Sebastian Ferrari | February 24 2011

by Jeremy Sullivan | February 24 2011

Great product! This add-in saved me tons of time every day. blondie99: You can turn off the 'Fix Mixed Tab' functionality by toggling of Tools:Options:Productivity Power Tools:Fix Mixed Tabs.

by CodeJockey1313 | February 24 2011

441 - 460 of 824 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Remove editor guide lines
    1 Posts | Last post March 26, 2014
    • How can I remove Editor Guide Lines?
      I don't like seeing a lot of guide lines in the left side of my code. 
      Can you help me?
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2013
    4 Posts | Last post March 24, 2014
    • The Shift + Enter that insert a semicolon and a break line does not work for VS2013 + Resharper.
    • Yes. What happened to that feature? I have gotten used to Shift + Enter key combo for coding. Finding myself having to "break" that (good) habit 0_o
    • This doesn't work for me either. I have to have this! Please bring it back!
    • Yes, please bring back.  One of the top reasons I use this extension.
  • Change the Number of Spaces When Replacing Tabs
    2 Posts | Last post March 17, 2014
    • My team uses a default spacing of 3 spaces, which is set in VS, but when using the Tab replacement functionality, it seems to use 4 spaces. Is there a way to edit this setting?
    • Workaround Find four spaces replace with three. Just only do it once through the whole doc
  • I love the colorization of the tabs by project but can it be tied to the solution explorer too?
    1 Posts | Last post February 26, 2014
    • ...is there any way to tie that color to the solution explorer so that the project in the explorer is the same color text or background?
  • Navigate within the expression editor in the file .rdlc (Report) using the arrow keys
    1 Posts | Last post February 25, 2014
    • After installing Productivity Power Tools was not possible to navigate within the expression editor in the file .rdlc (Report) using the arrow keys. This impaired enough.
      This can be changed now or is an error that needs correcting?
  • Tab placements lost
    1 Posts | Last post February 15, 2014
    • This has been happening for years. If you pins tabs, they work fine while VS is running. But if you restart VS, they will appear correct on first load, but once you run the application and then stop it, you will lose all your tab pinnings.
      
      This happens more frequently in VS2013, so that you lost them not just on the initial run/stop.
  • align assignments shortcut conflicts with ] on french canadian keyboard
    1 Posts | Last post February 06, 2014
    • The align assignments shortcut prevents me from typing ] on a french canadian keyboard. Somehow the shorcut overrides the combination (alt Car + ¸ which gives ] on a canadian french keyboard).
  • Disable Tab colorization?
    2 Posts | Last post January 31, 2014
    • How I could disable the blue Tabs colorization? I preffer to see the default VS colorization. I tried to diable (turn OFF) ALL the Productivity Power Tools
      features but the tabs still colorizing... this seems a bug, to disable colorization the only way that I see is to uninstall Productivity Power Tools.
    • In VS click Tools --> Options --> Productivity Power Tools --> Custom Document Well.
      Now you can disable the Checkbox "Color tabs by project"
  • Cannot see Solution Navigator
    1 Posts | Last post January 27, 2014
    • Where's it? I've installed this add-in without doing anything else, but I cannnot see that....
  • Great, but I'd like one extra feature...
    1 Posts | Last post December 09, 2013
    • I love this extension, but could you guys just add one more feature: disable dragging tabs off the tab bar and floating them.  I keep doing it accidentally and it's very annoying.  When you drag tabs, they should just move left or right.  To float them you should have to right-click and click "Float".  :-)
1 - 10 of 857 Items