Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(828) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,731,057)
11/9/2012
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (828)
Q and A (867)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Just_Another_Developer | February 09 2011

This is a fantastic add-on, however it kills the speed of my App completely when I run it from within VS. It's like full tracing, logging and who knows what else, is on. If it didn't interfere with VS's speed, I would have given it 5 stars.

by aaubry | February 09 2011

This extension, like most extensions on this gallery makes Visual Studio unstable and leads to crashes.

I believe that Visual Studio should execute extensions in isolation to prevent crashes, but until they do it, each extension should be really careful not to crash ever.

by contextfree. _ | February 08 2011

I love what this extension does, but sadly it also results in a much less stable Visual Studio. At one point it somehow got into a state where VS was crashing every time I opened a C# file; this extension was definitely the culprit since disabling it fixed the problem. The problem didn't come back when I tried re-enabling it, and I guess it goes to show how much I like the extension, or maybe just how dumb I am, but I still have it enabled today. Really, really, really hope you guys fix the bugs soon though! I was hoping maybe SP1 beta would improve things but it hasn't =(

by Melyurt | February 04 2011

by ozdemirerdem | February 04 2011

An excellent tool which has useful features

by hornerj99 | February 02 2011

by RickCole | February 01 2011

Great tool! Adds a lot of nice functionality to the IDE.
Downside is that it gets sluggish with a large number of projects and files in the solution and on large source code files. Not to mention other latencies in doing nearly everything in the IDE. Can't wait till a release comes out that fixes these issues.

by Michal Zalewski | January 29 2011

excellent work!

by ltlJohn40 | January 28 2011

I liked this extention until it caused me several hours of trouble shooting. I didn't see a place to submit bugs so I'm letting people know here. If you have this extention, do not drag a tab off to another monitor and close Studio. On opening that project, it will cause a CLR exception (0xE0434F4D) and crash studio.

by Stefan Vogel | January 27 2011

A great toolbox!

by Manfred Lange | January 26 2011

By and large I love this set of tools.

However, for some reason, I found the following issue in my installation: Selecting code, then copying, it won't paste into notepad.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Select code
2. select "Copy" from menu "Edit" (or use Ctrl+C)
3. Switch to notepad.exe and paste (or use Ctrl+V)
4. It doesn't bring the code across.

Maybe copying text was accidentially dropped when adding support for copying HTML?

Here is a work around. In Tools-Options-Productivity Power Tools select "All Extensions", then switch off "HTML Copy".

by AnirudhBakore | January 17 2011

Request VS team to make this tool as a part of standard install

by dagma20_ | January 17 2011

There are some nice features that make this a worthy download, however my experience of using this has caused alot of time wasting chasing errors with this set of tools, more specifically is the 'add reference' utility tool, which is pretty neat but causes problems / corrupts applications so have had to delete the power tools as a result, waiting for a new release that will hopefully resolve alot of the problems I had.

by Jean-Claude Bertrand | January 12 2011

Since I installed it I got crash issue with VStudio 2010...

by Brent Bordelon | January 10 2011

I had an open ticket for 3 months with MS related to the IDE freezing while stepping through code. It would happen randomly almost every time. Ultimately, they told me to disable all extensions (this was the only extension I had installed). I was skeptical, but that was back in September 2010. Now in January 2011 I've yet to have a single problem. Diagnosis? This extension was causing the problem.

by mvermef | January 07 2011

Solution Navigator -- just did a search for FrameworkElement wanted to know where it was located assembly wise and well it brought my i7 to its knees. Almost 1gig in memory was absorbed by devenv.exe. Search function appears slightly ineffecient.

by Khanna Gaurav | January 06 2011

Productivity Power Tools are a great extension to increase developers productivity. Auto Brace Completion, HTML Copy, Solution Navigator, Searchable Add Reference Dialog are few very good additions.

But "Ctrl + Click Go To Definition" is one feature which need some attention. Although its a good feature to have but often when trying to cut or copy the code (using Ctrl+C or Ctrl+X) instead of copying it opens the definition which is quite annoying.

But overall great work!

by JJP98798014 | January 04 2011

by PrimeCipher | January 02 2011

This was an excellent and welcomed response to some of the changes in vs2010 which don't coincide well with the way in which I work.

by Mladen Mihajlovic | December 23 2010

481 - 500 of 828 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Is there a way to disable the highlight of a symbol under the cursor?
    1 Posts | Last post Sun 12:15 PM
    • It seems that whenever I put my cursor over a symbol, the same name will get highlighted in the whole file instantly. The same happens when selecting code.
      
      Is there a way to disable this? I find that I already have a lot of colors in my setup, and this makes it a bit more confusing :( The default VS behavior doesn't seem to be highlighting that much.
  • word separators?
    1 Posts | Last post September 03, 2014
    • I use the extension with native C++ mainly. Works great but when I use CTRL+F3 to search a word, it takes to many characters into the word.
      
      Ex: str+='L' will search for "str+=" instead of resolving the word as "str".
      
      How can I define the word delimiter list?
  • 自动补全
    1 Posts | Last post August 26, 2014
    • 这个插件我已经使用很长一段时间了,很好用。最近突然发现自动补全失灵了,重装后依旧如此。有什么方法可以修复吗?
  • ctrl+l doesn't work on multiple lines
    2 Posts | Last post July 31, 2014
    • ctrl+l doesn't work on multiple selected lines after installing this plugin. ctrl+l DOES work on a single line however if you select multiple lines it will leave behind text artifacts. 
      
      typical use case is to select multiple lines of text, BUT NOT the entire start and finish of the first and last line and press ctrl+l. expected result is all content from all selected lines will be cut from the document. actual result is that text that was not fully selected on the first and last line of the multi-line selection is then left behind and another ctrl+l is required to get rid of it.
      
      if the productivity power tools plugin is disabled or uninstalled the default visual studio behavior is restored so this plugin is definitely causing this bug.
    • For this feature, I discovered that it's a bug that comes from HTML Copy feature, simply turning it off, solved my problem.
  • How to disable new line for getters and setters
    1 Posts | Last post July 13, 2014
    • Hello,
      I like my properties' getters and setters on one line like this:
       public string FileHash {get; set;}
      
      but PPT is forcing them on new lines like this:
              public string FileHash {
                  get;
                  set;
              }
      
      How do I disable this?
  • Disable #region autocompletion
    1 Posts | Last post July 08, 2014
  • Bug in align assignments keyboard short cut?
    1 Posts | Last post July 07, 2014
    • Hello I've installed productivity power tools, without problems about an hour ago and resumed writing code without a problem. That is, until I needed to access an element in an array: it was impossible for me to type the '[' character in visual studio. 
      
      I've got an French style keyboard (Azerty) and the '[' character is 'AltGr-^'. The '^' button is next to the 'p' (so its the same button as on a US Internatiol keyboard). 
      
      It took me a while to realise (and fix) the cause of the problem. Removing the keyboard shortcut for align assignmenst fixed it. 
      
      Note apparently windows treats 'Alt Gr' the same as 'Ctrl-Alt'.
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2013
    7 Posts | Last post July 04, 2014
    • The Shift + Enter that insert a semicolon and a break line does not work for VS2013 + Resharper.
    • Yes. What happened to that feature? I have gotten used to Shift + Enter key combo for coding. Finding myself having to "break" that (good) habit 0_o
    • This doesn't work for me either. I have to have this! Please bring it back!
    • Yes, please bring back.  One of the top reasons I use this extension.
    • Anybody has an idea how to work-around this? Really want this feature back :(
    • I would like this shift + enter  as well, arghhhhh
    • I actually don't have a chance to try this feature out since it never work. However, I believe it should be a really helpful.
  • Option Reset on every update
    1 Posts | Last post May 25, 2014
    • Please make it so that every update does not reset "Options -> Turn Extensions On/Off" options. It is so annoying to tweak them on every update...
      Thanks.
  • "Show All Files" button doesn't work with SSDT projects
    2 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • I'm getting a "Member not found" error with VS2013.2 RC when I attempt the following:
      
      1. Create a new SQL Server Database Project.
      2. Open Project Properties... SQLCLR tab... click Assembly Information...
      3. Enter 1.0 as the version number [OK].
      4. Click the "Show All Files" button on the SOX toolbar. Error is raised and external files do not show.
      
    • Please ignore this. I've since found out this is a problem in Visual Studio/SSDT and not PowerTools. Thanks.
1 - 10 of 867 Items