Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(828) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,731,135)
11/9/2012
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (828)
Q and A (867)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Sham Singh | July 20 2010

Fantastic. One of the features I missed from Eclipse was the Auto Brace Completion feature. And the Solution Navigator..very cool and handy.

Well done.

by Yetao Chen | July 20 2010

You guys are genius!

by draculus | July 20 2010

by cpmcgrath | July 20 2010

Love the new version, just a couple of requests for how to improve it. Implement the functionality of my solution explorer tools - http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/ef4ac3e9-d056-4383-8ca2-11721bd879b4

You've got the collapse all but a button to go to the current item, and one to collapse all then go to current item.
This is incredibly useful with the added expansions to see members the navigator can get really long fast. by doing this you no longer have to track active item and it keeps it clean.

Also, you add my btns on the solution navigator, they still work but they do the work on solution explorer.

Finally, I, like most developers keep my classes to 1 per file, It would make navigation much faster (and take up less space) if when there is only 1 class in a file doesn't bother with...
MyClass.cs
--MyClass
----MyMethod
----MyMethod2

and instead have...
MyClass.cs
----MyMethod
----MyMethod2

by Jeff Klosinski | July 19 2010

Love the new Solution Navigator, the ability to turn any of the features off, and the Tab Well UI is amazing. Thanks!

by Tobias Käs | July 19 2010

Would love to use it but it breaks the WinForms designer for my projects. Scenario is in Q/A

by Anton Afanasyev | July 19 2010

by Mike Danes | July 19 2010

by Lukasz Wolowiec | July 19 2010

by bankoh | July 19 2010

Just great and keeps getting better! Love the Solution Navigator!

by K Shane | July 19 2010

Very helpful set of tools. I espesially like the Tab enhancements for the editor windows.

by Guihua Zheng | July 19 2010

Great extension. Automatic Brace Completion is my favorite. Thanks much!

by Tomáš Skála | July 19 2010

by Abo Omar | July 19 2010

Can the newly added Auto Brace Completion behave more intelligently in cases like this code :

{
MessageBox.Show("test");
}

and if I delete the first curly brace and re-write it, it shouldn't add the closing one because itis already exists ?


Thanks

This is AWESOME ext.

by Martin Lemburg | July 19 2010

I'm a pure C++ developer and even finding many features very helpful, the missing C++ support in some important features is really "sad".

by Christoph Nahr | July 19 2010

Great toolkit, must-have for all VS2010 users! The intelligent brace completion added in the last update is something I wanted in Visual Studio for a long time, and it works amazingly well.

by aelij | July 19 2010

by Paul Domag | July 19 2010

A must-download if your a VS user. The new solution explorer rocks!

by zimmy from germany | July 19 2010

That's quite great. A pleasure to use it.

Is there any option to have a additional feature? I'm looking for a "feature explorer" for my solutions. It's a list of named features, where a feature is a collection of source files (including bookmarks as explicit points or methods or so). When I open a feature, then all source files I defined for that are opened (all others are closed) and positioned. That would be a great help for developing our distributed WCF application where a use case is spreaded out over many source files.

Best regards,
Torsten Zimmermann

by Miro Miroslavov | July 19 2010

721 - 740 of 828 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Is there a way to disable the highlight of a symbol under the cursor?
    1 Posts | Last post Sun 12:15 PM
    • It seems that whenever I put my cursor over a symbol, the same name will get highlighted in the whole file instantly. The same happens when selecting code.
      
      Is there a way to disable this? I find that I already have a lot of colors in my setup, and this makes it a bit more confusing :( The default VS behavior doesn't seem to be highlighting that much.
  • word separators?
    1 Posts | Last post September 03, 2014
    • I use the extension with native C++ mainly. Works great but when I use CTRL+F3 to search a word, it takes to many characters into the word.
      
      Ex: str+='L' will search for "str+=" instead of resolving the word as "str".
      
      How can I define the word delimiter list?
  • 自动补全
    1 Posts | Last post August 26, 2014
    • 这个插件我已经使用很长一段时间了,很好用。最近突然发现自动补全失灵了,重装后依旧如此。有什么方法可以修复吗?
  • ctrl+l doesn't work on multiple lines
    2 Posts | Last post July 31, 2014
    • ctrl+l doesn't work on multiple selected lines after installing this plugin. ctrl+l DOES work on a single line however if you select multiple lines it will leave behind text artifacts. 
      
      typical use case is to select multiple lines of text, BUT NOT the entire start and finish of the first and last line and press ctrl+l. expected result is all content from all selected lines will be cut from the document. actual result is that text that was not fully selected on the first and last line of the multi-line selection is then left behind and another ctrl+l is required to get rid of it.
      
      if the productivity power tools plugin is disabled or uninstalled the default visual studio behavior is restored so this plugin is definitely causing this bug.
    • For this feature, I discovered that it's a bug that comes from HTML Copy feature, simply turning it off, solved my problem.
  • How to disable new line for getters and setters
    1 Posts | Last post July 13, 2014
    • Hello,
      I like my properties' getters and setters on one line like this:
       public string FileHash {get; set;}
      
      but PPT is forcing them on new lines like this:
              public string FileHash {
                  get;
                  set;
              }
      
      How do I disable this?
  • Disable #region autocompletion
    1 Posts | Last post July 08, 2014
  • Bug in align assignments keyboard short cut?
    1 Posts | Last post July 07, 2014
    • Hello I've installed productivity power tools, without problems about an hour ago and resumed writing code without a problem. That is, until I needed to access an element in an array: it was impossible for me to type the '[' character in visual studio. 
      
      I've got an French style keyboard (Azerty) and the '[' character is 'AltGr-^'. The '^' button is next to the 'p' (so its the same button as on a US Internatiol keyboard). 
      
      It took me a while to realise (and fix) the cause of the problem. Removing the keyboard shortcut for align assignmenst fixed it. 
      
      Note apparently windows treats 'Alt Gr' the same as 'Ctrl-Alt'.
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2013
    7 Posts | Last post July 04, 2014
    • The Shift + Enter that insert a semicolon and a break line does not work for VS2013 + Resharper.
    • Yes. What happened to that feature? I have gotten used to Shift + Enter key combo for coding. Finding myself having to "break" that (good) habit 0_o
    • This doesn't work for me either. I have to have this! Please bring it back!
    • Yes, please bring back.  One of the top reasons I use this extension.
    • Anybody has an idea how to work-around this? Really want this feature back :(
    • I would like this shift + enter  as well, arghhhhh
    • I actually don't have a chance to try this feature out since it never work. However, I believe it should be a really helpful.
  • Option Reset on every update
    1 Posts | Last post May 25, 2014
    • Please make it so that every update does not reset "Options -> Turn Extensions On/Off" options. It is so annoying to tweak them on every update...
      Thanks.
  • "Show All Files" button doesn't work with SSDT projects
    2 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • I'm getting a "Member not found" error with VS2013.2 RC when I attempt the following:
      
      1. Create a new SQL Server Database Project.
      2. Open Project Properties... SQLCLR tab... click Assembly Information...
      3. Enter 1.0 as the version number [OK].
      4. Click the "Show All Files" button on the SOX toolbar. Error is raised and external files do not show.
      
    • Please ignore this. I've since found out this is a problem in Visual Studio/SSDT and not PowerTools. Thanks.
1 - 10 of 867 Items