Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(824) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,693,214)
11/9/2012
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (824)
Q and A (858)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Jeff Klosinski | July 19 2010

Love the new Solution Navigator, the ability to turn any of the features off, and the Tab Well UI is amazing. Thanks!

by Tobias Käs | July 19 2010

Would love to use it but it breaks the WinForms designer for my projects. Scenario is in Q/A

by Anton Afanasyev | July 19 2010

by Mike Danes | July 19 2010

by Lukasz Wolowiec | July 19 2010

by bankoh | July 19 2010

Just great and keeps getting better! Love the Solution Navigator!

by K Shane | July 19 2010

Very helpful set of tools. I espesially like the Tab enhancements for the editor windows.

by Guihua Zheng | July 19 2010

Great extension. Automatic Brace Completion is my favorite. Thanks much!

by Tomáš Skála | July 19 2010

by Abo Omar | July 19 2010

Can the newly added Auto Brace Completion behave more intelligently in cases like this code :

{
MessageBox.Show("test");
}

and if I delete the first curly brace and re-write it, it shouldn't add the closing one because itis already exists ?


Thanks

This is AWESOME ext.

by Martin Lemburg | July 19 2010

I'm a pure C++ developer and even finding many features very helpful, the missing C++ support in some important features is really "sad".

by Christoph Nahr | July 19 2010

Great toolkit, must-have for all VS2010 users! The intelligent brace completion added in the last update is something I wanted in Visual Studio for a long time, and it works amazingly well.

by aelij | July 19 2010

by Paul Domag | July 19 2010

A must-download if your a VS user. The new solution explorer rocks!

by zimmy from germany | July 19 2010

That's quite great. A pleasure to use it.

Is there any option to have a additional feature? I'm looking for a "feature explorer" for my solutions. It's a list of named features, where a feature is a collection of source files (including bookmarks as explicit points or methods or so). When I open a feature, then all source files I defined for that are opened (all others are closed) and positioned. That would be a great help for developing our distributed WCF application where a use case is spreaded out over many source files.

Best regards,
Torsten Zimmermann

by Miro Miroslavov | July 19 2010

by HHenn | July 16 2010

Top !

by DonovanPA | July 15 2010

This is a must have. The tab grouping and colors in addition to the pinning is incredible.

by gundaroobusybee | July 15 2010

Since I have been using the power tools I've noticed a few bugs.
1. Sometimes the documents seems to get into CTRL-click definition tool mode unintentioinally, so that if I subsequently click with the mouse on the document (anywhere on the document) it tells me that the definition is not available. This is really annoying and I can only stop it trying to resolve definitions by closing the document.

2. Sometimes when I click on a document in the solution explorer, I get shown a previously opened document from the document well.

Otherwise I like:
1. The document well.
2. The full line highlight.

by Giovanni Bassi - MVP | July 15 2010

Awesome. Nice adds. Must have.

721 - 740 of 824 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Scroll bar full mode shows expanded macros.
    2 Posts | Last post Fri 2:21 PM
    • Hey, my C++ uses a lot of code generation using macros. The side bar in full mode shows my files being many times larger than they are, so the scroll bar doesn't behave very nicely. Is there a way to prevent the macro expansion?
    • I'm an idiot. Disregard.
  • Remove editor guide lines
    1 Posts | Last post March 26, 2014
    • How can I remove Editor Guide Lines?
      I don't like seeing a lot of guide lines in the left side of my code. 
      Can you help me?
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2013
    4 Posts | Last post March 24, 2014
    • The Shift + Enter that insert a semicolon and a break line does not work for VS2013 + Resharper.
    • Yes. What happened to that feature? I have gotten used to Shift + Enter key combo for coding. Finding myself having to "break" that (good) habit 0_o
    • This doesn't work for me either. I have to have this! Please bring it back!
    • Yes, please bring back.  One of the top reasons I use this extension.
  • Change the Number of Spaces When Replacing Tabs
    2 Posts | Last post March 17, 2014
    • My team uses a default spacing of 3 spaces, which is set in VS, but when using the Tab replacement functionality, it seems to use 4 spaces. Is there a way to edit this setting?
    • Workaround Find four spaces replace with three. Just only do it once through the whole doc
  • I love the colorization of the tabs by project but can it be tied to the solution explorer too?
    1 Posts | Last post February 26, 2014
    • ...is there any way to tie that color to the solution explorer so that the project in the explorer is the same color text or background?
  • Navigate within the expression editor in the file .rdlc (Report) using the arrow keys
    1 Posts | Last post February 25, 2014
    • After installing Productivity Power Tools was not possible to navigate within the expression editor in the file .rdlc (Report) using the arrow keys. This impaired enough.
      This can be changed now or is an error that needs correcting?
  • Tab placements lost
    1 Posts | Last post February 15, 2014
    • This has been happening for years. If you pins tabs, they work fine while VS is running. But if you restart VS, they will appear correct on first load, but once you run the application and then stop it, you will lose all your tab pinnings.
      
      This happens more frequently in VS2013, so that you lost them not just on the initial run/stop.
  • align assignments shortcut conflicts with ] on french canadian keyboard
    1 Posts | Last post February 06, 2014
    • The align assignments shortcut prevents me from typing ] on a french canadian keyboard. Somehow the shorcut overrides the combination (alt Car + ¸ which gives ] on a canadian french keyboard).
  • Disable Tab colorization?
    2 Posts | Last post January 31, 2014
    • How I could disable the blue Tabs colorization? I preffer to see the default VS colorization. I tried to diable (turn OFF) ALL the Productivity Power Tools
      features but the tabs still colorizing... this seems a bug, to disable colorization the only way that I see is to uninstall Productivity Power Tools.
    • In VS click Tools --> Options --> Productivity Power Tools --> Custom Document Well.
      Now you can disable the Checkbox "Color tabs by project"
  • Cannot see Solution Navigator
    1 Posts | Last post January 27, 2014
    • Where's it? I've installed this add-in without doing anything else, but I cannnot see that....
1 - 10 of 858 Items