Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(827) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,722,241)
11/9/2012
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (827)
Q and A (864)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Mohammad Sufiyan Shaikh | June 16 2012

AWESOME THANKS

by PrinzEugen | June 15 2012

Really nice tool!

by jeepfan | June 13 2012

by Mr. Wharty | June 08 2012

Great add-in. Can;t believe I didn't find this earlier!

by rnbergren | May 31 2012

It works for some things but not others. Complete hoses up expression building if you have to build any reports with SSRS.

by maxima | May 30 2012

would like to have triple click customisable and / or have ctrl-shift-click for "Find All References" command

by Kerem Kat | May 30 2012

VS 11 support for Enhanced Scrollbar would be awesome.
Solution Navigator does not support drag-scroll.

by Bruno de A. Monteiro | May 30 2012

This is great add-in!
Thks guys!

by Ingo Gambin | May 24 2012

Tab UI - Color tabs: I really like them ... maybe it would be nice if the entries in the solution explorer would get the same background-color the according tabs have... just an idea

by akjoshi | May 21 2012

Very useful, pinning tabs and coloured tabs features are great. Solution navigator also looks very useful.

by The Thinker | May 19 2012

Good set of powertools!

by Umair - m_umair_85 | May 11 2012

Awesome extension !

by Daniel W. Thomas | May 10 2012

The new Add reference dialog is absolutely fantastic. I've been writing a lot of demo apps lately, and I've been spending a lot of time adding references. Every time I open the standard Add reference dialog, I have to wait for it to populate. Again and again. And again. And again. Finally got fed up and did a search, and found this. OH ... MY ... GOD. Thank you so much to the people who created this.

Now that I'm starting to look at the other parts of this toolkit, I'm amazed even further. The Scroll Bar "Full Mode"! The Vertical Tabs! The HTML Copy - no longer do I have to copy, paste into Word, copy back out of Word, then paste into OneNote.

I'm sure I'm forgetting other things I like. Bottom line, this toolkit is fantastic. I hope all these features make it into the next version of VS, but if not, I hope you release this toolkit for it. I WON'T GO BACK!!!

by valamas | May 09 2012

by JamWils | May 09 2012

by ezien | May 08 2012

great and useful!

by Mattias Sköld | May 05 2012

Many usefull improvments, should be a part of every VS deployment

by J.Verdurmen | May 04 2012

by johnlouros | May 03 2012

Nice tool, just disable "Quick Search", "Mixed tabs", "HTML Copy", "Solution Navigator".

by Sofwarer | April 30 2012

101 - 120 of 827 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • ctrl+l doesn't work on multiple lines
    2 Posts | Last post July 31, 2014
    • ctrl+l doesn't work on multiple selected lines after installing this plugin. ctrl+l DOES work on a single line however if you select multiple lines it will leave behind text artifacts. 
      
      typical use case is to select multiple lines of text, BUT NOT the entire start and finish of the first and last line and press ctrl+l. expected result is all content from all selected lines will be cut from the document. actual result is that text that was not fully selected on the first and last line of the multi-line selection is then left behind and another ctrl+l is required to get rid of it.
      
      if the productivity power tools plugin is disabled or uninstalled the default visual studio behavior is restored so this plugin is definitely causing this bug.
    • For this feature, I discovered that it's a bug that comes from HTML Copy feature, simply turning it off, solved my problem.
  • How to disable new line for getters and setters
    1 Posts | Last post July 13, 2014
    • Hello,
      I like my properties' getters and setters on one line like this:
       public string FileHash {get; set;}
      
      but PPT is forcing them on new lines like this:
              public string FileHash {
                  get;
                  set;
              }
      
      How do I disable this?
  • Disable #region autocompletion
    1 Posts | Last post July 08, 2014
  • Bug in align assignments keyboard short cut?
    1 Posts | Last post July 07, 2014
    • Hello I've installed productivity power tools, without problems about an hour ago and resumed writing code without a problem. That is, until I needed to access an element in an array: it was impossible for me to type the '[' character in visual studio. 
      
      I've got an French style keyboard (Azerty) and the '[' character is 'AltGr-^'. The '^' button is next to the 'p' (so its the same button as on a US Internatiol keyboard). 
      
      It took me a while to realise (and fix) the cause of the problem. Removing the keyboard shortcut for align assignmenst fixed it. 
      
      Note apparently windows treats 'Alt Gr' the same as 'Ctrl-Alt'.
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2013
    7 Posts | Last post July 04, 2014
    • The Shift + Enter that insert a semicolon and a break line does not work for VS2013 + Resharper.
    • Yes. What happened to that feature? I have gotten used to Shift + Enter key combo for coding. Finding myself having to "break" that (good) habit 0_o
    • This doesn't work for me either. I have to have this! Please bring it back!
    • Yes, please bring back.  One of the top reasons I use this extension.
    • Anybody has an idea how to work-around this? Really want this feature back :(
    • I would like this shift + enter  as well, arghhhhh
    • I actually don't have a chance to try this feature out since it never work. However, I believe it should be a really helpful.
  • Option Reset on every update
    1 Posts | Last post May 25, 2014
    • Please make it so that every update does not reset "Options -> Turn Extensions On/Off" options. It is so annoying to tweak them on every update...
      Thanks.
  • "Show All Files" button doesn't work with SSDT projects
    2 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • I'm getting a "Member not found" error with VS2013.2 RC when I attempt the following:
      
      1. Create a new SQL Server Database Project.
      2. Open Project Properties... SQLCLR tab... click Assembly Information...
      3. Enter 1.0 as the version number [OK].
      4. Click the "Show All Files" button on the SOX toolbar. Error is raised and external files do not show.
      
    • Please ignore this. I've since found out this is a problem in Visual Studio/SSDT and not PowerTools. Thanks.
  • Align Assignments for Javascript objects
    1 Posts | Last post May 08, 2014
    • The Align Assignments makes your (Javascript) code more readable by aligning the assignments when you type Ctrl+Alt+]. It would be nice if it worked for object properties too, so instead of:
      
      var obj = {
         firstName: 'John',
         lastName: 'Doe',
         email: 'john.doe@www.com'
      }
      
      you would have:
      
      var obj = {
         firstName: 'John',
         lastName:  'Doe',
         email:     'john.doe@www.com'
      }
      
      
  • Scroll bar full mode shows expanded macros.
    2 Posts | Last post April 18, 2014
    • Hey, my C++ uses a lot of code generation using macros. The side bar in full mode shows my files being many times larger than they are, so the scroll bar doesn't behave very nicely. Is there a way to prevent the macro expansion?
    • I'm an idiot. Disregard.
  • Remove editor guide lines
    1 Posts | Last post March 26, 2014
    • How can I remove Editor Guide Lines?
      I don't like seeing a lot of guide lines in the left side of my code. 
      Can you help me?
1 - 10 of 864 Items