Microsoft Team Foundation Server 2010 MOSS Configuration Tool

Microsoft Free

This tool automates the configuration of MOSS with TFS 2010

Microsoft
(10) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (7,817)
8/3/2010
1.0
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (10)
Q and A (2)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Rex Whitten | January 17 2012

Poor quality app, doesnt use validation, will fail to detect sharepoint instance, your login, and fails basic tasks. Would have rated it lower then 1 star if possible, do not bother to use.

by Craig Lussier | September 23 2011

Also crashed at the configuration step...

by Ryan Hanisco | September 16 2011

Application crashed on the configure step on a SharePoint 2010 setup. Completely unusable.

by FlickZ | August 30 2011

by PunisherX75 | July 20 2011

e

by M.Radwan-MVP | July 15 2011

it supposed to save my time to configure TFS 2010 with SharePoint 2010 but it was a nightmare because it crashed and I fix this crash as the Q and A, after long time and complete fix the crash it doesn't work and I needed to reconfigure it from the beginning, really it west my time, if I know it will take this time, I was follow the manual process

by B. Huard i | May 03 2011

Tried to use it in 3 different TFS installation.
Two MOSS 2007, one sharepoint server 2010. All cases trying to integrated TFS into existing infrastucture.
All crash on start up or as soon as button is pressed

Quality of this is much much too low. Indicating that this was beta tested is not an acceptable excuse.
The TFS MOSS dashboard configuration is way too complicated. An updated tool that works should have been published by now.


Last crash is this
2011-05-02 11:09:53.0060 AM : The type initializer for 'Microsoft.TeamFoundation.SharePoint.Configure.Cmd' threw an exception.
2011-05-02 11:09:53.0060 AM : at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.SharePoint.Configure.Cmd.ExecuteCommand(String command, String arguments)
at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.SharePoint.Configure.SharedService..ctor()
at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.SharePoint.Configure.SharedService.GetInstance()
at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.SharePoint.Configure.Moss12DataStore..ctor()
at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.SharePoint.Configure.Moss12Control..ctor()
at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.SharePoint.Configure.MOSS12.get_Control()
at

by Micky D | April 14 2011

i knew i was onto a bad thing when the installer had several things wrong with it at the start - like incorrect path and no start menu shortcut.

the fact that the app crashes when run is no surprise

by kaviar | January 24 2011

According to me, the tool does not do it's job 100% correct configuring the SSS. I have the feeling the 'credentials' are not set + also config through tool doesn't match the config when you do it manually. See also
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/jjameson/archive/2010/05/04/upgrade-team-foundation-server-2008-to-tfs-2010-and-sharepoint-server-2010.aspx

and several posts on the Reporting & Warehousing forum:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-GB/tfsreporting/thread/d51ec7dd-daa7-4f91-b01c-72acdfceb76a

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en/tfsreporting/thread/eae652c1-db63-4668-bd9a-57779fef4897

by Protactinium | November 21 2010

Hey,
I'm trying since some days integrating TFS 2010 with Sharepoint but I'm still getting TFSOLAPReport error within TFS Dashboard in sharepoint portal.
I checked and tied a lot of proposed solutions found in blogs and msdn but no one has resolved my trouble. I'm getting crazy with this installation.
Then, I found this program but infortunatly it didn't work ! I'm getting an error and the program stop suddenly.
What can I do ?
Any solution ?

Sign in to start a discussion


  • Workaround to fix crashes
    6 Posts | Last post August 13, 2011
    • Hello,
      
      Sorry for the late reply, because I always had the workaround by could not try it myself to prove it worked. Till day I was never able to reproduced the issue myself.
      
      Basically it is CLR .net 3.5 bug(Fixed in newer versions). Workaround steps are below
      1. Run the command prompt with elevated privilages
      2. cd to %systemdrive%\windows\Microsoft.net\Frameworkx64\v2.0.50727
      3. Run the below:
      ngen uninstall "Microsoft.SqlServer.OlapEnum, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89845dcd8080cc91"
    • This workaround needs to happen on the Micrsofot office SharePoint Server 2010 machine.
    • H
    • Hi Smitha,
      I get the error "Object reference not set to an instance of an object".
      
      I did try the work around and got the following confirmation.  Please suggest what I should try next.
      
      C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727>
      C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727>ngen uninstall "Microsoft.SqlSer
      ver.OlapEnum, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89845dcd8080cc91
      "
      Microsoft (R) CLR Native Image Generator - Version 2.0.50727.5420
      Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
      Uninstalling assembly Microsoft.SqlServer.OlapEnum, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=ne
      utral, PublicKeyToken=89845dcd8080cc91
    • After several reboots and windows updates, I still can't get the crash to stop happening.
      
      Note, I get confirmation that the workaround un-installed.
      
      This is what I am seeing:
      http://screencast.com/t/lmGX0jmfbNcs
      Please contact me at my website contact us Form: http://www.optechmarketing.com/email-us/
      
      
      
      Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
      
      C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727>ngen uninstall "Microsoft.SqlSer
      ver.OlapEnum, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89845dcd8080cc91
      "
      Microsoft (R) CLR Native Image Generator - Version 2.0.50727.5420
      Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
      Error: The specified assembly is not installed.
      
      C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727>
      
      
      
      
    • Solution:->>>>>
      After noticing the excel services were missing on a manual configuration attempt, I ggl it and found that the regular install of MOSS 2010 does the standard install and then you have to upgrade it to Enterprise under the options.  After doing this the Configuration tool works. 
      MOSS Central Admin Website...
      "Central Administration > Operations > Enable Enterprise Features"  Put in Same Product Key and then reboot.
      That needs to be spelled out as a pre-req.
      
      After rebooting, the TFS 2010 MOSS Configuration Tool does not crash.
  • Sequence of events
    6 Posts | Last post February 09, 2011
    • Hello,  I would like to give this tool a try however, I'm not sure where in the process it should be used.
      My plan is to restore my TFS 2008 databases on a fresh install of MSSQL 2008 R2 then run the sharepoing 2010 install on my app server as well as the TFS 2010 upgrade install on the app server.  
      
      At this point do I run the configuration tool or should I configure the templates etc.. first?
      
      Thanks for the tool and info.
    • When To Run the Tool?
      
      1.SharePoint Server (2007 or 2010) installed and configured
      2.Team Foundation Server 2010 installed and configured (Integrated with SharePoint Server install in Step 1)
      3.Run the tool on SharePoint Server machine. 
      The tool does not depend on Team Foundation Server installation, so you can run the tool after Step 1. above, but you will need below 2 accounts from the Team Foundation Server 2010 installation, which is also mentioned in the Pre-requisite section of the help document.
      
      1.A domain group account of all users of Team Foundation Server who will require access to the team portal (PortalUsers)
      2.The data sources reader account for Team Foundation Server (referred to in the documentation as TFSReports)
      
      
    • Thank you!  Worked great!
    • Hi this might be a dumb question but after installing this one I cant seem to find the tool? Where do I run it from
    • Ooops I found it now its here C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Team Foundation Server 2010 SharePoint Configure, no shortcut made on Start menu
    • Crashes for me after clicking verify on the secure store service configuration.  win 2k8r2 running as admin or not.