LightSwitch Metro Theme

Microsoft Free

A contemporary theme for Visual Studio LightSwitch applications.

Microsoft
(29) Review
Visual Studio
2012, 2010
Download (43,215)
6/18/2012
1.2
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (29)
Q and A (8)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Marden LR | August 24 2011

when we import a csv or excel file the program crashes, please correct this error, because the theme is beautiful

LightSwitch Team October 06 2011
| Edit |
Delete

We've just released an updated version (1.1). Please give it a try. Thanks!

by bhuven | August 24 2011

This is great - Thanks

by jjuanfb | August 21 2011

Beautiful contemporary theme!, the only con are the capital letters in labels.

by Manimaran | August 20 2011

Nice refreshing theme, but some simple UX guidelines like making the Required Property labels highlighed, is missing.

by Simon Jones [MSDL] | August 19 2011

ALL CAPITALS is hard to read - it takes 30% longer to read and understand compared to sentence or title case.

Grids are very undefined without any lines and buttons such as AddNew are missing from grid controls making applications that rely on those buttons unusable.

by Jan Van der Haegen | August 19 2011

Clean & modern theme, awesome job!

Also, really nice to see that the LS theme is not limiting the new features to new versions of LS, but also flooding us with awesome templates, themes, ...

by Alessandro Del Sole [MVP] | August 19 2011

by ADefwebserver | August 19 2011

Well done!

by wstrasse | August 19 2011

Thanks LightSwitch Team!
Extremely cool theme!

21 - 29 of 29 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • VS2013
    1 Posts | Last post December 03, 2013
    • Hi, 
      
      This theme is great!, do you know if it will be available for VS2013?
      
      Regards, 
      
      Gabriel
  • v1.2 problem
    1 Posts | Last post April 08, 2013
    • Great theme – small problem!. With the theme enabled the Output window shows “Unable to disable loading of ngen images from app-local native image cache. Failed with error 0x8004001”. Disabling the theme removes the message. It may be related to a bug in the theme where it references the SaveSmall_Hover.png icon as SaveSmallHover.png (using the theme with the Standard Shell this shows up as a 404 error in Fiddler). 
      
      Unlike the thread on Connect with the same message the app appears to run fine.
  • HTML version of this theme
    1 Posts | Last post November 15, 2012
    • I love this theme and am wondering if an HTML version will be available to download.
  • trouble with < character error
    2 Posts | Last post September 21, 2012
    • I'm experiencing the following message when I load up the LightSwitch project. MetroThemeExtension is not loaded succesfully.
      
      "Could not load the following extensions
      MetroThemeExtension
      Name cannot begin with the '<' character, hexadecimal value 0x3C, Line 24, position 2."
      
      I am using VS2012 RTM English version on Windows 8 Pro RTM Korean.
    • sorry, my SVN conflict marker sucks.
  • metro and SL5
    2 Posts | Last post February 15, 2012
    • I didn't test it in different scenario, but i'm currently facing following problem.
      
      I upgraded to silverlight 5 on my development machine and now, in development time, the ribbon buttons are invisible. When you hover over them, they become visible. 
      Didn't had the occasion to test it in a deployed app.
      
      kind regards
      paul.
    • Hello, I am experiencing the same behavior indicated by Paul, but let me add some information:
      - on my developer machine I have the Silverlight 5 runtime installed and shell icons in the Metro Theme are not visible (unless I mouse-over) neither in debug/development on local machine or on deployment server. 
      
      - on a different machine, which has Silverlight 4 runtime, Metro Theme shell icons work as expected on the deployment server.
      
      Any informations about where to change this behavior in the Metro extension you released at the following address:http://code.msdn.microsoft.com/silverlight/LightSwitch-Metro-Theme-b1bfce24  ?
      
      Thank you 
      
      Giovanni
  • AddNew Button missing
    5 Posts | Last post November 16, 2011
    • Oh, no. Where is the AddNew button. As mentioned by Simon Jones, no AddNew button visible. Only the default AddNewAndEdit bound to the default method displays the button image. I think if the button code is overriden, the icon disappears. Have not tried that, but will do so soon and update this discusson.
    • It's not only the AddNew. I tried to use a custom image for one of the buttons (which previously had text only), the button is not shown when the Metro Theme is used. Upon simply selecting a different theme, all is fine. So, looks like this is some deep rooted problem, or the scenario of custom buttons and images has not been taken into consideration when developing this theme.
    • when we import a csv or excel file the program crashes, please correct this error, because the theme is beautiful
    • We've just released an updated version (1.1). Please give it a try. Thanks!
      * Fixed issues where customers cannot use commands with custom images 
      * Fixed issues where AddNew button does not appear when overriden 
      * Fixed issues where screen does not load when using a custom control with a combobox
    • mrP
      hi,
      is it possible to set the datagrid alternating color for teh theme, without re-compiling it? and if i have to re-complie the theme, is the source - code for v1.1 available ?
      
      Thanks
  • Source
    2 Posts | Last post August 30, 2011
    • Hi,
      
      Would it be possible to get the source for this theme so we can customize it?
      
      Kind Regards,
      Andrew
    • I think they have already released the source code. Check this out: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/lightswitch/archive/2011/08/25/extensibility-metro-theme-sample-code-released.aspx
      
      
  • Required Property highlight
    1 Posts | Last post August 20, 2011
    • In the default lightswitch theme, the required properties were highlighted in bold in the screens. Can't seem to find an equivalent in this new theme. Am I missing something here?