Visual Studio PerfWatson

Microsoft Free

Microsoft Visual Studio PerfWatson tracks the responsiveness of the Visual Studio process and collects diagnostic information when unresponsive.

Microsoft
(24) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (14,974)
5/24/2012
1.1
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (24)
Q and A (4)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Kratz | May 03 2011

Can't wait for the next service pack based on this.

This is a great idea and I give 5 stars just for that.
It would be great to see some feedback from you guys once you have enough data collected to draw conclusions about VS performance.

by Jsamuel | May 03 2011

by dotnet__coder | May 01 2011

21 - 24 of 24 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • A single instance of PrefWatson could monitor multiple instances of Visual Studio
    2 Posts | Last post March 28, 2012
    • I've got PrefWatson installed, and I unfortunately sometimes have to use about ten running instances of Visual Studio (for ten different solutions). For each instance of devenv, there is a PrefWatson instance. Ten instances of PrefWatson can alone take as much as a quarter of a gigabyte of memory! This seems silly - I'm sure a single process can monitor several instances of devenv, reducing the memory footprint.
    • I agree with Taz0, there should only be one instance of the perfwatson process that can cover all instances of the devenv application! The memory footprint gets huge when using more than 2-3 instances of devenv!!
  • How did PrefWatson help improve performance in Visual Studio 2012?
    1 Posts | Last post March 13, 2012
    • I've been PrefWatson for quite some time. It mostly sits silently in the background, but we are told it helps Microsoft improve the performance of Visual Studio. Now that Visual Studio 2012, with its improved performance, is at beta, could you please tell us how the contributions of those using PrefWatson, if any, help achieve performance improvement in VS2012?
  • Suggestion to help user have information about the problem
    1 Posts | Last post December 07, 2011
    • I like the idea of this perf watson.  I would also like to have a direct benefit of this as a developer using visual studio.  I think it would be great if the report give us a clue about what was going on, especially for extensions by giving what visual studio is waiting for (stack trace would be great) and that way it would be possible for us to disable the extension if necessary and report a bug to the developers of that extension.
  • Is Flash required for PerfWatson?
    1 Posts | Last post August 26, 2011
    • I saw a message that said that msdev needed flash.ocx for the first time after installing PerfWatson.   Was PerfWatson the cause of that error message?
      
      (On my development machine, I try not to add potential problems)