Reference Assistant for Visual Studio 2010

Free

Removes unused references from C#, F#, VB.NET or VC++/CLI projects in the Visual Studio 2010

(23) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (34,979)
5/9/2012
1.1.12130.850
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (23)
Q and A (7)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Tombstone47 | July 07 2014

This is a really kool tool. Don't know how I lived without it.

by Sunny _Kumar | October 15 2013

Works fantastic !!

by Ryan Cavanaugh | July 20 2013

Actually works! Note that you might need to clean up previously-unused "using" directives at the top of some files.

by Dhaval Heruwala | April 09 2013

Awesome!!!

by Matthias Friedrich | February 04 2013

If you had not written this great tool, I would do it (-:

by asdForever1990 | February 01 2013

Thank you!

by SkippingAdi | January 10 2013

Could be a good Tool. Unfortunately seems not to work with NuGet Packaged Web solutions like Asp.Net MVC. In my case I have such a solution. Tried the Tool on the web-project and it proposed to remove almost all assembly references.
Could you please create a version tha also works with NuGet Packaged projects/solutions?

by Binori | October 17 2012

by Mr. Wharty | June 08 2012

Great little utility

by Marc Sigrist | May 23 2012

A very useful tool. Looks good and works correct so far. Two suggestions:

1) Make it work with F# as well (Usage on F# projects currently produces
"An error has occurred while deleting unused references.")

2) Make it work not only on projects, but also on solutions.
This would make removing unused references even more efficient
in solutions who contain dozens of projects.

Edit (2012-05-23): The current version correctly handles F# projects. Thanks! However, I have found another issue:

3) All NuGet-managed references are simply removed, even if needed (at least in F# projects). Can you add support for NuGet package references? Or, at least, show the file path of each reference in the dialog, so that it is recognizable whether a reference belongs to a NuGet package or not.

Lardite Group May 28 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks Marc! We will try to elaborate this possibility.

by TejasJ | March 21 2012

Sometimes removes used references :P. This feature at solution level would be very nice...

by robalexclark | February 23 2012

Holy smoke it works!

by ozdemirerdem | January 16 2012

A useful extension

by meSut PİŞKİN | December 22 2011

Gerçekten harika.

by Bill Shannon | December 04 2011

Special thanks for F# projects. Great tool!

by JoshAtkins | November 24 2011

Amazing! It works for my Silverlight/WPF projects. Guys, thanks a lot!

by achristov.at.hotmail.com | November 03 2011

Some assemblies are reported as unused but they actually are, and the number is not very small :(. Anyway, could you provide a simple way, say another tab in the Unused References List, that excludes some assemblies that shouldn't be removed.
If you make it work on the whole solution, this might become even more useful feature.

by Kim Tranjan | October 31 2011

I used in a large project and worked better than I expected.
Highly recommended.
Thank you!

by myriammmmm | September 20 2011

Didn't work for me.
Removed directly a lot of references used by my web project.
(They were used in Global asax file).
Should display a confirm dialog box with references to remove instead of directly removing references

Lardite Group September 20 2011
| Edit |
Delete

The confirmation window exists (see second screenshot). If you didn't disable this option, the window appears always.
Make sure that the "Show Unused References Window before removing" option is enabled in the options (Tools->Options->Reference Assistant).
Could you please describe your problem and create work item in the issue tracker on project's page http://refassistant.codeplex.com or send us email (refassistant[at]lardite.com)

by Andrey Ch | September 19 2011

The only thing I desire is to process the whole solution at once. But anyway thank you guys! Keep it up!

Lardite Group September 20 2011
| Edit |
Delete

I believe it will be possible in the future version ;)

1 - 20 of 23 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • VS 2013
    1 Posts | Last post January 27, 2014
    • Are there any plans for migrating to VS2013?
  • Only works on startup project
    2 Posts | Last post April 15, 2013
    • May just be me and my other extensions, but I am running into this bug.
    • And then it's a bit inconsistent. It does not seem to work on the chosen project (there are nine in my current one) ever.
  • Visual Studio 2012 support??
    1 Posts | Last post January 17, 2013
    • When is this going to be made available for Visual Studio 2012?
  • Is ther any such module for Website Project
    1 Posts | Last post November 16, 2012
    • I have a solution where i have website project.I am use to using it for web application project but doesn't find any link from where i can remove unused reference for website project.
      Is it supported there?
  • Whats the advantage of removing the unused reference?
    1 Posts | Last post July 10, 2012
  • References marked as copy local
    2 Posts | Last post February 26, 2012
    • We have some references where copy local is set to true but the tool is saying they are not needed.
      
      Could there be an option to ignore references whose copy local property is set to true?
    • Hi ggerstein,
      
      We are going to implement this option next release (1.2). Thanks a lot.
  • Can't install
    2 Posts | Last post January 05, 2012
    • Hi,
      
      I can't seem to install this when I download it. I am using the Visual Studio Web Developer Express. Is this not supported for that product? In other words is it only for the full version of VS 2010? Thank you. 
      
      ggerstein
    • ggerstein,
      
      Thanks for you question!
      
      Please, download and install the Reference Assistant from our codeplex page: http://refassistant.codeplex.com/releases/view/73979 - it will work for your visual studio edition. 
      
      We support all editions of VS2010, but, unfortunately, it's not possible to publish here extensions for Express editions.