Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(192) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (1,093,401)
9/10/2014
3.8
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (192)
Q and A (325)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by rafakato | July 15 2013

Great extension, but you could allow to change the JS Minifier Engine, I often the Google Closure Compiler rather than YUI Compressor.

by RichBern | June 28 2013

I had to disable this extension because it essentially made Ctrl+Comma unresponsive. I've got a web solution with about 47 projects, and I use Ctrl+Comma a lot to jump between files. But with this extension installed, I have to wait up to a minute for files to appear in the Navigate To window. I'm wondering if it has to do with the Ctrl+Comma stuff briefly mentioned in the 2.7 change notes, but I'm not sure.

by Callander | June 26 2013

CSS and javascript bundle feature is so simple, yet so great.

by mhasling | June 21 2013

by sjnaughton | June 20 2013

Love it can't live without it now

by LEllingsen | June 18 2013

Most valuable extension I have for VS2012. Excellent additions for CSS, HTML and JavaScript, as well as LESS and TypeScript

by KatarzynaBP | June 05 2013

Pointless...wanted to check reviews to decide if I want to install it, but you need to leave review first to view other reviews!!!

by Jacco M | May 18 2013

Great tool. Esspecialy Less support! Thanks!

by D. Chatterjee | May 17 2013

I try to download this but an error shows "The extension manifest is Invalid"

by Fduch | May 14 2013

This "thing" pollutes the context menu for the non-web projects by adding a top menu item where the "Build" item used to be.

Why do some developers think that their shiny gizmo needs to jump at the user at every click?

Uninstalling.

by christensen.rob | May 10 2013

Love this extension!

by Allco | May 07 2013

GREAT, simplesmente, GREAT!!!!!

by EdSF1 | May 01 2013

Pretty awesome! Particularly cool with TypeScript!

by casper_wilkes | April 21 2013

Love this extension!

by Sebastian Hösl | April 18 2013

Absolutely essential for web-development in Visual Studio!

by WPCoder | April 07 2013

Unfortunately, it causes crashes nearly every time I start to debug the web project. I've tried the latest version and have the latest update to VS 2012. (When this is installed, can't debug, and VS2012 crashes, when it's not, everything works smoothly).

by Marcel Raad | April 05 2013

by GlobeCoder | March 31 2013

In theory this plugin would easily earn 5 stars, but it seems there are some issues with the js bundle plugin/minifier and JSHint.
Two things:
1.) The minified version doesn't seem to work all the time (I mean it might be something I could fix if I would "optimize" the JS code a bit more, but for small web project I just want something that works out of the box). One thing it "broke", e.g. was the jQuery plugin jTruncate.
2.) While it seem to compress better than YUI, Google Closure Compiler seems to make a better job even with the Simple optimzations. So maybe Web Essentials could use GCC and allow a new preference, something like "advanced=true" to achieve even better minification.
3.) And possibly the most important thing: JSHint should become more customizable. E.g. there is this other VS Extension JSLint that imo does a much better job (though I don't really want another VS extension installed): You can set your custom namespaces, it is possible to check a single file on save (much better than checking all files on build, which can get really annoying if you work on big JS projects).
Anyway, thanks for this quite helpful extension and up the good work.

by Altuğ Duygulu | March 27 2013

Good extension. Thanks.

by Lyamine | March 14 2013

so nice

41 - 60 of 192 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Region in JS doesn't work if @ is inside
    1 Posts | Last post Tue 9:28 AM
    • //region SomeRegion
      //endregion
      
      in JS doesn't work if i have js code with @ inside tags. Does anyone have solution for this?
  • Error when using Re-Minify all CSS/JS files
    1 Posts | Last post March 17, 2015
    • I get this error:
      
      ---------------------------
      Microsoft Visual Studio
      ---------------------------
      Not implemented (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004001 (E_NOTIMPL))
      ---------------------------
      OK   
      ---------------------------
      
  • Permission Denied
    1 Posts | Last post March 12, 2015
    • I work in an environment where we have very limited permissions on our computer. I installed Web Essentials 2012 and created a blank .less file. The preview window is showing
      
      /*
      
      Compile Error.  See error list for details
      
      */
      
      I pulled up the error list and it's showing
      
      LESS: Permission denied
      
      I can't find the error in any log or the event viewer so I don't know which account needs permissions to what folder. I tried giving everyone all permissions to the folder that contains the .less file just to see if that was where the error is, but that didn't do it. Does anybody know which folder it writes to? The temp asp.net folder maybe? Do you also know what account needs permissions? I don't have rights to modify the temp asp folder, so I'd have to put in a request with my IT department, so I can't really just play around and figure it out via trial and error.
      
      I've spent a few days trying to find an answer to this, but I'm not getting anywhere. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome.
  • Good
    1 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • One of the best.
  • SASS Compile Error Link
    1 Posts | Last post October 14, 2014
    • When you compile a not valid SASS files a Link Error is generated.
      This link is not connected to a running Web server.
      How can I customize this link.
      e.g. http://localhost:80/error.aspx
      
      Something went wrong reaching: http://127.0.0.1:6642/?service=SCSS&sourceFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.scss&targetFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.css&mapFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.css.map&precision=5&outputStyle=expanded&sourceMapURL&
      
  • Recompile all less files doesn't work
    3 Posts | Last post October 11, 2014
    • Recompile all less files worked just fine, but when I've checkout fresh version into another folder it stop working (including recompile after build).
      
      If I open less file, change it and save (css is created) then this file works automatically since then just fine.
      
      Should I open each time I create a new repository all less files, or there is another way?
    • I have comitted only .less files, once I add corresponded .css, Web Essentials start works with it as expected.
    • The only way, find out for now is to commit .css files too. Though all my .css files are autogenerated and therefore it is a pitty, that I should commit .css along with .less and checkin .css on change of less too.
  • Minify CSS
    1 Posts | Last post September 30, 2014
    • On CSS minify, should there be an option to remove empty selectors?
  • Less compiling after Publish???
    1 Posts | Last post September 10, 2014
    • So, after clicking one-click publishing, I see this in my output put window in VS2012: 
      
      ========== Build: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 1 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
      ========== Publish: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 0 skipped ==========
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportMixins.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-ui-tabs-from-bulleted-list.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportVariables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: variables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-custom-controls.less compiled
      .
      .
      .
      
      This appears to me to be compiling LESS files after publishing my site.
      
      Is there a way to ensure compilation before publishing other than doing a manual build prior to hitting publish?
  • SCSS: unparsable compilation error:
    2 Posts | Last post July 31, 2014
    •  SCSS: Compiling style.scss
       SCSS: unparsable compilation error: 
      
      but no indication of the line # in the file. any help?
    • I am having this issue now as well. I have one site.scss file that imports various other partials. It was working fine until a few days ago when (seemingly) at random they started failing to compile on save. Now the partials require the other partials to be imported into them before they will compile. I've triple-checked my @import flow and it is perfect! Sassmeister and other compilers have no issue.
      
      Specifically, I get the "unparsable compilation error" as well as meaningless "(X)101" errors in the Error List. No line numbers or suggestions to be found.
      
      Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  • V2.2.7 fails to install on VS2013wU2
    1 Posts | Last post July 23, 2014
    • Complains that this version of product is not supported... 
1 - 10 of 325 Items