Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(192) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (1,088,705)
9/10/2014
3.8
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (192)
Q and A (324)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by RichardKeller | March 08 2013

Very useful extension!
It helps productivity a lot and turn viable to use LESS in Visual Studio.
I'm looking forward for sass full integration too.

by Anita Malmö | March 07 2013

I've installed Web Essentials 2012 and Web Tools 2012.2 Update.

In my VS2k12, I don't see Web Essentials as in this picture
http://madskristensen.net/image.axd?picture=image_55.png

What gives? Can anybody advise?

by Jafin | March 06 2013

Thank you for elevating Visual Studio from out of the dark ages!! Awesome stuff.

by Tarek Ayna - appSmarts.com | March 01 2013

by Keith5150 | March 01 2013

by yakupipek | February 18 2013

Most usefull extension. Thanks.

I just want to report that latest WE 2012 update to version 2.5.1 does not recognize .less and type script files. I have been tried to uninstall WE and delete settings file then install hadn't fixed anything. Reset whole visual studio settings hadn't too.

Anyone experienced same problem ? How can i fix this problem ? :((

Update: Now i understand that those features currently removed at 2.5 version : (((

Mads Kristensen February 18 2013
| Edit |
Delete

We just released the ASP.NET and Web Tools 2012.2 which restores and improves both LESS and CoffeeScript. Get it here: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=282650

by danny_su | February 18 2013

V2.4.5 supports .coffee file, but doesn't support .less file, v2.5 doesn't support both. why?

Mads Kristensen February 18 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Because both LESS and CoffeeScript will be rolled into an official release going out tomorrow morning.

by Stan Thomas | February 09 2013

Very useful addition to Visual Studio. Works well in combination with TypeScript. Thanks Mads.

by miminor | February 08 2013

Code manipulations in the TypeScript editor make this extension to hang the VS 2012. Had to uninstall it. Piece of shit.

by Brandon Wittwer | February 08 2013

Fantastic tooling improvements for web developers. Quickly becoming my most cherished extension for VS 2012. Thanks for your hard work!

by Adamlay12233 | February 08 2013

This greatly increases efficiency, and saves time. All these features are combined and integrated really well with Visual Studio, and I've never had any issues with it.
Many thanks for this extension!

by Waqas M | February 08 2013

Nice work

by Tomasz von Oertzen | February 04 2013

I love it. It's very useful and helped me a lot!

by jkarp | January 31 2013

by zymara | January 31 2013

by José Barba | January 30 2013

Excellent

by drobertson | January 28 2013

Love it, very useful stuff. It fits right into the web work I am doing and is a great help. Would have given you 5 stars, but the incessant updates are killing me. I can't believe I am actually asking for this, but please don't update so often. It seems like every few days Visual Studio is nagging me about another update.

Please don't stop doing the improvements, they are great, but please push them out less frequently. I often just barely notice any difference but I have to reset my system when I do the update. It really kills my flow and when I realize the update didn't have anything useful for me it is frustrating.

I give this an Almost Perfect with a few reservations.

by Sedat Kapanoğlu | January 27 2013

I like Web Essentials 2012 a lot in terms of functionality. However the updates have been so frequent recently that it's getting annoying. It's not that I don't appreciate the effort to fix issues timely but the update notification of VS is so intrusive that I feel obliged to do it right away. So suddenly I find myself installing updates and restarting VS, far distanced from the actual work I was about to do. All for a bugfix I don't experience and a feature I won't use. Please go back to releasing major updates only.

by Michael Obermeyer | January 25 2013

Incredibly useful. This extension is worth getting even if you just want it for LESS editing and nothing else. It might be nice if in the LESS editor, the CSS panel scrolled with the LESS panel, or if it had a search bar.

by Damodar.Karmacharya | January 22 2013

61 - 80 of 192 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Error when using Re-Minify all CSS/JS files
    1 Posts | Last post March 17, 2015
    • I get this error:
      
      ---------------------------
      Microsoft Visual Studio
      ---------------------------
      Not implemented (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004001 (E_NOTIMPL))
      ---------------------------
      OK   
      ---------------------------
      
  • Permission Denied
    1 Posts | Last post March 12, 2015
    • I work in an environment where we have very limited permissions on our computer. I installed Web Essentials 2012 and created a blank .less file. The preview window is showing
      
      /*
      
      Compile Error.  See error list for details
      
      */
      
      I pulled up the error list and it's showing
      
      LESS: Permission denied
      
      I can't find the error in any log or the event viewer so I don't know which account needs permissions to what folder. I tried giving everyone all permissions to the folder that contains the .less file just to see if that was where the error is, but that didn't do it. Does anybody know which folder it writes to? The temp asp.net folder maybe? Do you also know what account needs permissions? I don't have rights to modify the temp asp folder, so I'd have to put in a request with my IT department, so I can't really just play around and figure it out via trial and error.
      
      I've spent a few days trying to find an answer to this, but I'm not getting anywhere. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome.
  • Good
    1 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • One of the best.
  • SASS Compile Error Link
    1 Posts | Last post October 14, 2014
    • When you compile a not valid SASS files a Link Error is generated.
      This link is not connected to a running Web server.
      How can I customize this link.
      e.g. http://localhost:80/error.aspx
      
      Something went wrong reaching: http://127.0.0.1:6642/?service=SCSS&sourceFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.scss&targetFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.css&mapFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.css.map&precision=5&outputStyle=expanded&sourceMapURL&
      
  • Recompile all less files doesn't work
    3 Posts | Last post October 11, 2014
    • Recompile all less files worked just fine, but when I've checkout fresh version into another folder it stop working (including recompile after build).
      
      If I open less file, change it and save (css is created) then this file works automatically since then just fine.
      
      Should I open each time I create a new repository all less files, or there is another way?
    • I have comitted only .less files, once I add corresponded .css, Web Essentials start works with it as expected.
    • The only way, find out for now is to commit .css files too. Though all my .css files are autogenerated and therefore it is a pitty, that I should commit .css along with .less and checkin .css on change of less too.
  • Minify CSS
    1 Posts | Last post September 30, 2014
    • On CSS minify, should there be an option to remove empty selectors?
  • Less compiling after Publish???
    1 Posts | Last post September 10, 2014
    • So, after clicking one-click publishing, I see this in my output put window in VS2012: 
      
      ========== Build: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 1 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
      ========== Publish: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 0 skipped ==========
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportMixins.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-ui-tabs-from-bulleted-list.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportVariables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: variables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-custom-controls.less compiled
      .
      .
      .
      
      This appears to me to be compiling LESS files after publishing my site.
      
      Is there a way to ensure compilation before publishing other than doing a manual build prior to hitting publish?
  • SCSS: unparsable compilation error:
    2 Posts | Last post July 31, 2014
    •  SCSS: Compiling style.scss
       SCSS: unparsable compilation error: 
      
      but no indication of the line # in the file. any help?
    • I am having this issue now as well. I have one site.scss file that imports various other partials. It was working fine until a few days ago when (seemingly) at random they started failing to compile on save. Now the partials require the other partials to be imported into them before they will compile. I've triple-checked my @import flow and it is perfect! Sassmeister and other compilers have no issue.
      
      Specifically, I get the "unparsable compilation error" as well as meaningless "(X)101" errors in the Error List. No line numbers or suggestions to be found.
      
      Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  • V2.2.7 fails to install on VS2013wU2
    1 Posts | Last post July 23, 2014
    • Complains that this version of product is not supported... 
  • Web Essentials context menu on .js files
    1 Posts | Last post June 19, 2014
    • Why is it when I right click some statndard js files, in the web essentials context menu everything but "Run JSHint" and "Run JSCS" is grayed out and cannot be used?
1 - 10 of 324 Items