Web Essentials 2012


Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(194) Review
Visual Studio
Download (1,122,064)
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (194)
Q and A (328)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Michael Obermeyer | January 25 2013

Incredibly useful. This extension is worth getting even if you just want it for LESS editing and nothing else. It might be nice if in the LESS editor, the CSS panel scrolled with the LESS panel, or if it had a search bar.

by Damodar.Karmacharya | January 22 2013

by Paul M. Callaghan | January 22 2013

by SDFprowler | January 22 2013

@Kommundsen You can change the location of the menu item by going into Tools > Customize > Commands, select Build from the "Menu bar" dropdown, select Web Essentials and Move Down (or do whatever else you want to it).

by Kim Ommundsen | January 17 2013

Very nice extension with a lot of good features. I would give this five stars if not for the extremly annoying location of the Web Essentials item in the BUILD menu. I would prefer it to be located further down or as a separate menu.

Mads Kristensen January 24 2013
| Edit |

This was fixed in version 2.4

by grundt | January 16 2013

by cyoung4213 | January 15 2013

Helped me a ton with a lot of things. I am looking forward to how far this can help my day to day tasks with CSS to be more streamline and simplified coding. In the past CSS has been daunting, web essentials is helping things be more fluid in my process.

by Matt Lavallee | January 12 2013

by AlanCai | January 11 2013

The less files save as UTF-8 with BOM will got "LESS: Syntax Error on line 1" error.
The less files save as UTF-8 without BOM is OK.

Mads Kristensen January 11 2013
| Edit |

You can save any .LESS file without the BOM by doing File -> Save foo.less As... -> Save with Encoding...

by johnlouros | January 11 2013

Awesome extension for Web Developers. Finally Visual Studio have something to pair up with the competition regarding Web Development.

A must have!

by Bahtiyar Özdere | January 11 2013

Firstly thanks for great extension.

In last upadate (v 2.3) I had an issue on less file compiling.
When I use this @import url('../../../../../Content/dizayn/css/i.less');
in my less file it gives an error that it cannot find the file. In earlier version (2.0) it compiles successfully. So I have installed 2.0 back again.

best regards

by Cruentus | January 11 2013

Great tool!
Finally good support to Zen Conding in Visual Studio. Though it would be nice to update it to use the lastest version, which was renamed to Emmet: http://emmet.io


by PB-Dev | January 09 2013

Absolutley fantastic!

by Mark Broadhurst | January 02 2013

Excellent tool set which keeps getting better and better.

by patryk.golus | December 30 2012

by AndreyVeselov | December 28 2012

Great tool. Waiting for full Sass support :)

by Peter87 | December 25 2012

When this extension isn't installed I'm constantly wondering, 'Now isn't it supposed to do...'
JavaScript regions are fantastic.

by mangran | December 24 2012


Mads Kristensen December 24 2012
| Edit |


You don't have to install every update. Just take the ones with features you like

by Ivan Stus | December 19 2012

Really great extension, but after the latest update I got the following error when trying to sort properties:

Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.Web.Languages, Version=, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=24771839d8d21066' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.

Mads Kristensen December 23 2012
| Edit |

This is fixed in version 2.2

by Tiscs | December 19 2012

A very usefull extension, like it very much.

81 - 100 of 194 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • Markdown preview not showing anymore
    1 Posts | Last post November 11, 2015
    • When editing a markdown file, I used to have a split screen that shows the source and then the "generated" file in preview mode. However, ever since I closed and reopen the solution, I don't see the preview anymore. Is there a command to get it back?
  • Can't get Markdown to work
    3 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • Which MarkDown dialect is used by WebEssentials?
    • While trying to install it tells me:
      "The extension 'Web Essentials 2012' requires a version of the .NET Framework that is not installed."
      Which one is required?
    • Hi try install extension throw visual studio menu Tools / Extension and updates and there search for Web Essentials 2012
      This works for me
  • .net framework
    2 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • While trying to install it tells me:
      "The extension 'Web Essentials 2012' requires a version of the .NET Framework that is not installed."
      Which one is required?
    • Hi try install extension throw visual studio menu Tools / Extension and updates and there search for Web Essentials 2012
      This works for me
  • Region in JS doesn't work if @ is inside
    1 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • //region SomeRegion
      in JS doesn't work if i have js code with @ inside tags. Does anyone have solution for this?
  • Error when using Re-Minify all CSS/JS files
    1 Posts | Last post March 17, 2015
    • I get this error:
      Microsoft Visual Studio
      Not implemented (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004001 (E_NOTIMPL))
  • Permission Denied
    1 Posts | Last post March 12, 2015
    • I work in an environment where we have very limited permissions on our computer. I installed Web Essentials 2012 and created a blank .less file. The preview window is showing
      Compile Error.  See error list for details
      I pulled up the error list and it's showing
      LESS: Permission denied
      I can't find the error in any log or the event viewer so I don't know which account needs permissions to what folder. I tried giving everyone all permissions to the folder that contains the .less file just to see if that was where the error is, but that didn't do it. Does anybody know which folder it writes to? The temp asp.net folder maybe? Do you also know what account needs permissions? I don't have rights to modify the temp asp folder, so I'd have to put in a request with my IT department, so I can't really just play around and figure it out via trial and error.
      I've spent a few days trying to find an answer to this, but I'm not getting anywhere. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome.
  • Good
    1 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • One of the best.
  • SASS Compile Error Link
    1 Posts | Last post October 14, 2014
    • When you compile a not valid SASS files a Link Error is generated.
      This link is not connected to a running Web server.
      How can I customize this link.
      e.g. http://localhost:80/error.aspx
      Something went wrong reaching:
  • Recompile all less files doesn't work
    3 Posts | Last post October 11, 2014
    • Recompile all less files worked just fine, but when I've checkout fresh version into another folder it stop working (including recompile after build).
      If I open less file, change it and save (css is created) then this file works automatically since then just fine.
      Should I open each time I create a new repository all less files, or there is another way?
    • I have comitted only .less files, once I add corresponded .css, Web Essentials start works with it as expected.
    • The only way, find out for now is to commit .css files too. Though all my .css files are autogenerated and therefore it is a pitty, that I should commit .css along with .less and checkin .css on change of less too.
  • Minify CSS
    1 Posts | Last post September 30, 2014
    • On CSS minify, should there be an option to remove empty selectors?
1 - 10 of 328 Items